DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 21, 22, 25 and 29 in the reply filed on August 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 16, 18, 20 and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 29, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stemme et al. (“Stemme”) (US 2016/0279634 A1) in view of Abu-Rabie et al. (“A-B”) “Method of Applying Internal Standard to Dried Matrix Spot Samples for Use in Quantitative Bioanalysis” (cited on IDS).
With respect to claim 21, Stemme discloses a microfluidic device comprising (see Figs. 1-2):
an inlet 102 for application of a fluid test sample (e.g. bodily fluid, see [0093]);
a metering channel 103 arranged in fluid communication with the inlet 102 for receiving at least a portion of the fluid test sample from the inlet 102, the metering channel 103 having a predetermined volume defined by its dimensions; and
a substrate 112 arranged to receive a metered volume of the fluid test sample from the metering channel 103.
The device differs from the claimed invention in that Stemme does not disclose that the substrate comprises a predetermined amount of internal standard molecules.
However, Stemme discloses that the substrate 112 is intended to absorb a precise volume of the fluid test sample (see [0004]) such that the substrate 112 containing the absorbed fluid test sample can be cut out of the device for analysis (see [0099]). In light of the disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the substrate 112 with internal standard molecules for calibrating the results of the analysis, as taught by A-B (see left column of p. 8779 disclosing that using an internal standard for sample analysis is well-known, and incorporating the internal standard into a dried matrix spot [e.g. substrate 112 taught by Stemme] obviates the need to correct for variability that occurs with extraction of the dried matrix).
Regarding claims 25 and 29, they are directed to optional subject matter. Consequently, prior art need not teach it to reject the claims.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stemme in view of A-B as applied to claims 21, 25 and 29 above, and further in view of Murphy et al. (“Murphy”) (US 2014/0208836 A1) and Alsaab et al. (“Alsaab”) (US 2022/0389490 A1).
With respect to claim 22, the substrate 112 is a liquid-absorbing material (see [0095]). However, Stemme does not disclose that the substrate is a disc comprising the claimed dimensions.
Regarding the shape of the substrate, dried blood spot (DBS) paper incorporated into microfluidic devices (i.e. substrate 112) conventionally comes in the shape of a disc (see Fig. 5 of Murphy). Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a conventional DBS paper in the form of a disc as the substrate 112 in the device taught by Stemme.
Regarding the dimensions of the substrate 112, given that the substrate is intended to absorb a precise amount of the fluid test sample for analysis (see [0004]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the substrate 112 with dimensions falling within the claimed ranges. The claimed dimensions are considered to encompass absorbance capacity (microliter range) that is considered conventional and suitable for analysis of biological fluid (e.g. blood) collected using an absorbent such as DBS (see [0032] of Alsaab).
Conclusion
/PAUL S HYUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796