Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 17-20, 22, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0196381 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 30, Bagheri discloses an apparatus for wireless communication and method, comprising:
one or more memories (see memory [0117]), individually or in combination, having instructions; and one or more processors (see instructions and processors in [0140] ), individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: obtain a first-stage downlink control information (DCI) of a multi-stage DCI messaging scheme (see [0085], “receives a first-level DCI”), wherein the first-stage DCI is configured to schedule transmission of a second-stage DCI (see [0085], “The first-level DCI includes information the UE 126 uses to decode a second-level DCI received at 724, during the sixth sTTI of the subframe”); obtain the second-stage DCI (detect the second-dci [0088]); and start or restart a timer (see [0092], “starting a second timer that extends the active time by a second timer value”) after receiving at least one of the first-stage DCI or the second-stage DCI (see [0089], “ receiving the second-level DCI triggers an extension”).
Regarding claim 18, Bagheri discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (see memory [0117]), individually or in combination, having instructions (see instructions and processors in [0140]); and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
output, for transmission to a user equipment (UE) (UE receives, from BS, [0085]), a configuration message (UE receives configuration [0069]) configuring the UE to start or restart a timer (see starts timer [0092]) in response to reception of at least one of a first-stage downlink control information (DCI) or a second-stage DCI (see [0087], “a first- and second-level DCI”), wherein the first-stage DCI and the second-stage DCI are part of a multi-stage DCI messaging scheme (two part scheduling assignment [0087]); and
output the first-stage DCI for transmission to the UE, wherein the first-stage DCI is configured to schedule transmission of the second-stage DCI (see [0085], “The first-level DCI includes information the UE 126 uses to decode a second-level DCI received at 724, during the sixth sTTI of the subframe”).
Regarding claim 2, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a configuration message indicative of whether the start or restart of the timer occurs (see [0118], “control signal can be a radio resource control (RRC) signal, MAC-CE signal, or a sPDCCH/PDCCH signal indicating the TTI length) after receiving the first-stage DCI or after receiving the second-stage DCI (see [0087], “ reception of the second-level DCI at 724 alone serves as an indication”).
Regarding claims 3 & 19, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claims 2 & 18, wherein the configuration message is further indicative of at least one of a time at which the start or restart of the timer occurs (see second timer that extends the active time by a second timer value specifying an amount of time, [0094]).
Regarding claims 4 & 20, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claims 2 & 18, wherein the first-stage DCI is further configured to schedule transmission of multiple second-stage DCIs including the second-stage DCI, and wherein the configuration message is further indicative of the second-stage DCI triggering (see [0089], “DCI triggers an extension”) the start or restart of the timer (see “starting a second timer that extends” [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timer is configured with a duration of time (see on-duration time [0102]) for operations associated with both a single-stage DCI messaging scheme and the multi-stage DCI messaging scheme (see “ two-part scheduling assignment” in [0087], which is how instant application defines messaging scheme).
Regarding claim 6, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timer is configured with a first duration of time for operations associated with a single-stage DCI messaging scheme (see [0081], “[0081] As the on-duration timer again runs over a time interval 622 at the beginning of DRX cycle 620, the UE 126 receives a data transmission scheduling assignment from the eNB 102 at time 605. Reception of the data transmission scheduling assignment initializes the inactivity timer which runs over the time interval ”, therefore each one), wherein the timer is configured with a second duration of time for operations associated with the multi-stage DCI messaging scheme (see “second on-duration”, [0067]), and wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time (see [0067], “first on-duration timer value being larger than the second on-duration timer”).
Regarding claim 7, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timer is configured with a duration of time for both the first-stage DCI and the second-stage DCI (see [0081] duration of scheduling assignment is extended for both).
Regarding claim 8, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timer is configured with a first duration of time for operations associated with first-stage DCI, wherein the timer is configured with a second duration of time for operations associated with the second-stage DCI, and wherein the first duration of time is different than the second duration of time (see [0067], “first on-duration timer value being larger than the second on-duration timer”).
Regarding claim 9, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the timer is a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive timer (see [0049], “DRX inactivity timer”), and wherein the timer is started or restarted if at least one of the first-stage DCI or the second-stage DCI is indicative of a future transmission intended for the apparatus (see [0051], “A DRX Start”).
Regarding claim 17, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver configured to: receive the first-stage DCI (see [0080], “the UE 126 actively monitors for data transmission scheduling assignments”, therefore first included); and receive the second-stage DCI (see [0087], “the UE 126 does, however, receive the second part of the scheduling assignment”), wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 22, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the timer is a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive timer, and wherein the configuration message further configures the UE to start or restart (see start [0053]) the timer if at least one of the first-stage DCI or the second-stage DCI schedules a future transmission intended for the UE (DRX inactivity timer, [0049]).
Regarding claim 29, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a transceiver configured to: transmit the configuration message; and transmit the first-stage DCI, wherein the apparatus is configured as a network entity (see [0081], “the UE 126 receives a data transmission scheduling assignment from the eNB 102 at time 605”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12, 16, 23-25 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0196381 A1) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2024/0032062 A1).
Regarding claims 10 & 23, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and ,
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however MolavianJazi discloses wherein the timer is a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer (see [0219] BWP inactivity timer), and wherein the timer is started or restarted (see start [0219]) if at least one of the first-stage DCI or the second-stage DCI schedules (see two stages of DCI alighment [0070]) a downlink assignment or an uplink grant via an active BWP (see uplink grant is received on the active BWP, [0212]) associated with the apparatus;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 11 & 24, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 18,
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however MolavianJazi discloses wherein the timer is a secondary cell (SCell) deactivation timer (see [0096], “sCellDeactivation Timer timer”), and wherein the timer is started or restarted (see [0109], “start or restart the sCellDeactivationTimer”) if at least one of the first-stage DCI or the second-stage DCI is obtained via an active SCell link associated with the SCell deactivation timer (see [0096] sCellDeactivation Timer timer);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claims 12 & 25, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 25,
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however MolavianJazi discloses wherein the timer is a secondary cell (SCell) deactivation timer, and wherein the timer is started or restarted if: the first-stage DCI is obtained via an active primary cell (PCell) link (see [0005], “first DCI format is on a primary cell (PCell)”), and the first-stage DCI schedules a downlink assignment or an uplink grant (see downlink assignments and uplink grant [0261]) for a communication between the apparatus and an active SCell associated with the SCell deactivation timer (see [0096] sCellDeactivation Timer timer);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 16, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however MolavianJazi discloses wherein the first-stage DCI comprises an indication of whether to start or restart the timer after receiving the second-stage DCI, and wherein the indication of whether to start or restart the timer is realized via at least one of a field or a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) in the first-stage DCI (see [0212] RNTI indicating downlink assignment);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 28, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to: output the second-stage DCI for transmission intended for the UE, wherein the first-stage DCI comprises an indication configured to cause the UE to start or restart the timer after the UE receives the second-stage DCI (see [0089], “receiving the second-level DCI triggers an extension”), and
wherein the indication configured to cause the UE to start or restart the timer is at least one of a field or a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) in the first-stage DCI ((see [0212] RNTI indicating downlink assignment));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 13-14 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0196381 A1) in view of Lin et al. (US 2020/0389874 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however Lin discloses wherein the timer (see timer for search space sets [0278]) is a search space set group (SSSG) (see search space set group [0173]) timer, and wherein the timer is started or restarted (see timer “starts” [0282]) if of the first-stage or the second-stage DCI is obtained via an active search space (see [0200] monitored, “active search space set in the DL BWP”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 14, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 13,
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however Lin discloses wherein the active search space is a common search space (CSS) (see common search pace [0068]) or a user-equipment (UE) specific search space (USS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0196381 A1) in view of CN 112217587 A.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 18,
Bagheri does not explicitly disclose however CN 112217587 A1 discloses wherein the timer is a full-duplex switching timer, and wherein the timer is started or restarted if of the first-stage or second-stage DCI scheduled a full-duplex communication (see full-duplex timer for switching, process 2, page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of CN 112217587 A with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagheri et al. (US 2020/0196381 A1) in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2024/0032062 A1) in further view of Lin et al. (US 2020/0389874 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Bagheri discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the configuration message is further indicative of whether the timer is a discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive timer (see [0049], DRX inactivity timer),
Bagheri does not specifically disclose however MolavianJazi discloses a bandwidth part (BWP) inactivity timer (see [0220], BWP inactivity timer), a secondary cell (SCell) deactivation timer (see sCell Deactivation Timer [096]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of MolavianJazi with that of Bagheri. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Bagheri in view of MolavainJazi does not specifically disclose however Lin discloses a search space set group (SSSG) timer (see timer for search space sets [0278]), or a full-duplex switching timer;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Bagheri and MolavianJazi. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tseng et al. (US 2017/0332377 A1) – discloses 2 stage DCI design.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643