Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding the limitation “along the first direction, a distance D1 between the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and the second terminal through-hole in a third group of through-holes adjacent to the first group of through-holes is greater than a distance D3 between two adjacent third groups of through-holes” in claim 1, it is unclear whether the distance D1 pertains to:
a distance between the first terminal through-hole of the first group and the second terminal through-hole of third group being adjacent to one another, or
a distance between the first terminal through-hole of the first group and the second terminal through-hole of the third group being diagonal to one another
For examination purposes and in light of the [PG Pub 0165] and Fig 18, interpretation (1) has been considered.
Regarding the limitation “a distance between the second terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes and the first terminal through-hole in a third group of through-holes adjacent to the second group of through-holes is D2” in claim 4, it is unclear whether the distance D2 pertains to:
a distance between the second terminal through-hole of the second group and the first terminal through-hole of a third group being adjacent to one another, or
a distance between the second terminal through-hole of the second group and the first terminal through-hole of a third group being diagonal to one another
For examination purposes and in light of the [PG Pub 0154] and Fig 11, interpretation (1) has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the D1, D2, D3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toru (JP2012212605, IDS cited 01/11/2024, translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Toru discloses a battery module (battery connection structure 500 [0083]; Fig 18), comprising:
a plurality of cells (unit battery 100 in Fig 15), stacked along a first direction,
wherein each cell comprises a first terminal and a second terminal, and a polarity of the first terminal is opposite to a polarity of the second terminal (positive electrode extraction tab 120/tab member 125 and negative electrode extraction tab 130; [0012-0013]; Fig 1-3);
a bracket (holder member 200 [0022-0023]) comprising a plurality of groups of through-holes (drawer tab insertion holes 215 and recess 214),
wherein each group of through-holes comprises a first terminal through-hole and a second terminal through-hole (through-holes of the first row 211 and second row 212, respectively); [0023-0026]; [0074]; Fig. 4,5,12)
the first terminal and the second terminal of a same cell pass through the first terminal through-hole and the second terminal through-hole in a same group of through-holes respectively (see Fig 11-16);
wherein, the plurality of groups of through-holes comprise a first group of through-holes, a second group of through-holes, a plurality of third groups of through-holes located between the first group of through-holes and the second group of through-holes (see annotated Fig below)
along the first direction, a distance D1 between the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and the second terminal through-hole in a third group of through-holes adjacent to the first group of through-holes (i.e., distance between recess 214 to the second terminal through-hole in a third group of through-holes) is greater than a distance D3 between two adjacent third groups of through-holes (see annotated Fig below with D1 and D3).
Regarding claim 2, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein,
in the two adjacent third groups of through-holes, a distance between the first terminal through-hole in one of the two adjacent third groups of through-holes and the second terminal through-hole in the other of the two adjacent third groups of through-holes is D3 (see annotated Fig in claim 1 above)
the first terminal through-hole in the one of the two adjacent third groups of through-holes and the second terminal through-hole in the other of the two adjacent third groups of through-holes are disposed opposite to each other along the first direction (i.e., the first terminal through-hole and the second terminal through-hole are facing each other, thus opposite to each other, along the vertical direction in the annotated Fig in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein, along the first direction, a distance d1 between the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and the second terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes is equal to a distance d2 between the second terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and the first terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes.
Regarding claim 6, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein
the bracket further comprises a base plate (a second surface 250) and a plurality of groups of protruding portions (pull-out tab guide protrusion 220; see Fig 4; [0027]),
the plurality of groups of protruding portions are spaced apart from each other (see Figs 4,5);
the base plate comprises a first side and a second side, the first side and the second side are disposed opposite to each other along a second direction (i.e., thickness direction of the base plate), and the plurality of groups of protruding portions are located on the first side of the base plate (i.e., see Fig 5 with the surface 250 having a plurality of protruding portions);
viewed along the second direction, the plurality of groups of protruding portions comprise
a first group of protruding portions located between the first group of through-holes and the third group of through-holes adjacent to the first group of through-holes, a second group of protruding portions located between the second group of through-holes and the third group of through-holes adjacent to the second group of through-holes, and a third group of protruding portions located between the first group of protruding portions and the second group of protruding portions (See annotated Fig below).
the first group of protruding portions (see the annotated Fig above) comprises
a first part (i.e., left side of the first guide protrusion 220 in the first group of protruding portions) located between the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and the second terminal through-hole in the third group of through-holes adjacent to the first group of through-hole, and
a second part (i.e., right side of the first guide protrusion 220 in the first group of protruding portion) located between the second terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and the first terminal through-hole in the third group of through-holes adjacent to the first group of through-holes; and
projected along the second direction, a width of a projection of the first part on the base plate along the first direction is W1 (width of the protruded recess 214), a width of a projection of the second part on the base plate along the first direction is W2 (i.e., width of the upper portion of the tapered protrusion), and W1 is greater than W2 (see Fig 4,5).
Regarding claim 7, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein along the first direction, a distance between the first part and the second group of protruding portions is equal to a distance between the second part and the second group of protruding portions (i.e., since the first part and the second part are part of the same protruding portion, they are equidistant from the second group of protruding portions).
Regarding claim 8, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein each group of protruding portions gradually diminishes in size along an opposite direction of the second direction (i.e., tapered shape where the dimension decreases as it protrudes; see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 9, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6,
wherein when viewed along the second direction, the second group of protruding portions comprises a third part located between a second terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes and a first terminal through-hole in the third group of through-holes adjacent to the second group of through-holes, and a fourth part located between a first terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes and a second terminal through-hole in the third group of through-holes adjacent to the second group of through-holes (see annotated Fig below)
projected along the second direction, a width of a projection of the third part on the base plate along the first direction is W3, a width of a projection of the fourth part on the base plate along the first direction is W4, and W3 is less than W4 (see annotated Fig below).
Regarding claim 10, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein along the first direction, the base plate comprises a second lateral edge and a first lateral edge, a distance between the second terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes and the first lateral edge is d21, a distance between the first terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes and the first lateral edge is d22, and d21 is greater than d22 (see annotated Fig below).
Regarding claim 11, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein along the first direction, the base plate comprises a second lateral edge and a first lateral edge; and
an end of the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes is oriented away from the second group of through-holes (i.e., aligned on the end of the holder member 200 in the first direction) and penetrates the second lateral edge (i.e., forming recess).
Regarding claim 12, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein the bracket comprises a third side and a fourth side,
the third side and the fourth side are disposed opposite to each other along a third direction;
the bracket comprises an opening provided on the third side (i.e., see annotated Fig 5 below),
a plurality of groups of interstices are formed between the plurality of groups of protruding portions (see annotated Fig 5 below); and,
along the third direction, the opening communicates with the plurality of groups of interstices (note: the opening is in contact with the interstices, thus “communicates”).
Regarding claim 13, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 12, wherein a first beveled face and a second beveled face are disposed at an end of the plurality of groups of protruding portions, the end being an end located on the third side; and a distance between the first beveled face and the second beveled face of a same group of protruding portions along the first direction increases gradually (i.e., due to the tapered shape the distance between the two beveled face gradually increases).
Regarding claim 14, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein the cell further comprises:
a cell housing (battery body 110), wherein the cell housing comprises
an accommodation portion (i.e., a laminate film exterior material [0012]) and an edge sealing portion (i.e., heat-sealed [0113]) extending outward from the accommodation portion, and
the accommodation portion comprises a first surface (i.e., upper surface in Fig 2) and a second surface (i.e., lower surface in Fig 2), the first surface and the second surface are disposed opposite to each other along the first direction;
the first terminal and the second terminal protrude beyond the cell housing from the edge sealing portion (see electrode lead tab 120, 130; Fig 1-3; [0113]); and
an electrode assembly (i.e., electrode laminate [0113]), wherein the electrode assembly is accommodated in the accommodation portion, and
the first terminal and the second terminal are electrically connected to the electrode assembly [0020].
Regarding claim 15, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 14, wherein the edge sealing portion is disposed between a plane where the first surface is located and a plane where the second surface is located (see Fig 11, 15). However, Toru does not disclose wherein the edge sealing portion is closer to the first surface than the second surface. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 16, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 6, wherein
the first terminal and the second terminal are connected to each other by bending toward each other [0076-0077],
the first terminal comprises a first terminal connecting portion passing through the first terminal through-hole (i.e., thin film electrode portion 320a disposed between the first terminal through holes, thus “passing through”), and
the second terminal comprises a second terminal connecting portion passing through the second terminal through-hole (i.e., thin film electrode portion 320a disposed between the second terminal through holes, thus “passing through”);
the battery module further comprises a plurality of conductive pieces (i.e., electrode washer 322, 321 on substrate 300), and the plurality of conductive pieces are disposed on a side of the base plate, the side of the base plate being a side oriented facing away from the protruding portion (i.e., on substrate 300 and on the opposite side of the side comprising the protruding portions);
the first terminal connecting portion and the second terminal connecting portion are connected to the conductive piece [0044]
the bracket further comprises a partitioning portion located on the first side of the base plate, and the partitioning portion is disposed between the first terminal through-hole and the second terminal through-hole in a same group of through-holes (i.e., partition piece 260 between the first terminal through-hole and the second terminal through-hole in group 3 in the first direction; see Fig 5)
Regarding claim 17, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 16, wherein the battery module further comprises:
a sampling piece (connector 340 [0045]), and
the sampling piece is disposed on a side of the base plate (i.e., on substrate 300 which is on a side of the base plate),
the side of the base plate being a side oriented facing away from the protruding portion, and is connected to the conductive piece (i.e., substrate 300 is on the opposite side of the side comprising the protruding portions and is connected to the electrode washer 321, 322 [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 12, wherein the battery module further comprises:
a first connecting piece wherein one end of the first connecting piece is connected to the first terminal (thin film electrode part 320b on the first terminal side)
the first terminal passes through the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and another end of the first connecting piece comprises a first connecting portion (i.e., the first terminal passes through the first terminal through-hole 315 in the first group and bends towards the thin film electrode part 320b to connect; see also Fig 18); and
a second connecting piece, wherein one end of the second connecting piece is connected to the second terminal, the second terminal passes through the second terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes, another end of the second connecting piece comprises a second connecting portion (the second terminal passes through the second terminal though-hole 315 of the second group and bends toward the thin film electrode part 320 to connect; see also Fig 18)
the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are located on a same side of the base plate (i.e., same side of the substrate 300)
Regarding claim 19, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 18, wherein the bracket further comprises an insulation block (i.e., partition piece 260; see Fig 5),
the insulation block is disposed on the second side of the base plate and is located between the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes and an adjacent third group of through-holes (i.e., see partition piece 260 located on the left side of the side 250 and between the first terminal through-hole in the first group and the adjacent third group of through holes; see Fig 4(B), 5)
along the third direction (i.e., protruding direction), a length of the insulation block is greater than a length of the first terminal through-hole in the first group of through-holes (see the annotated Fig 8 below).
Regarding claim 20, Toru discloses an electrical device (i.e., battery pack 800 [0106-0111]; see Figs 23-26), wherein the electrical device comprises the battery module according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toru (JP2012212605, IDS cited 01/11/2024, translation attached).
Regarding claim 3, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 1. However, Toru does not disclose wherein a difference between D1 and D3 is greater than 6 mm. Examiner notes that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the battery module of Toru to include a D1 and D3 difference greater than 6mm as a change in form or shape that is an obvious design based on the size of the battery module.
Regarding claim 4, Toru discloses the battery module according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the second terminal through-hole in the second group of through-holes and the first terminal through-hole in a third group of through-holes adjacent to the second group of through-holes is D2 (see annotated Fig below). However, Toru does not explicitly disclose wherein D2 is less than D3.
Examiner notes that the change in size and proportion, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04, IV). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the D2 and D3 such that D2 is less than D3, as a change size and proportion that is an obvious design based on the size of the battery module.
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751