DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-15, 20, 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No.11,878,738. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are broader than the patented claims without adding additional limitations.
Claims 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,878,738 in view of Muteau et al. (US 2006/0008615). The patent does not claim the specifics of the walls and ribs. Muteau et al., in reference to claim 16, teaches the transverse walls are connected with longitudinal ribs, as shown in Figure 3. The transverse walls are the vertical portions of walls (3) and the longitudinal ribs are the horizontal portions of walls (3), as shown in Figure 3. In reference to claim 17, the longitudinal wall and transverse walls form the reinforcement cavities (2), as shown in Figure 1. In reference to claim 18, the longitudinal ribs and the transverse ribs form the reinforcement cavities (2), as shown in Figures 1-3. The transverse ribs are the vertical portions of walls (3) and the longitudinal ribs are the horizontal portions of walls (3), as shown in Figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the walls and ribs as claimed, as taught by Muteau et al., to provide a strong and lightweight device to reinforce the vehicle structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muteau et al. (US 2006/0008615).
Muteau et al., in reference to claim 1, discloses a device (1) for reinforcing a cavity including a carrier (1) with a length extending between a first end and a second end, as shown in Figure and disclosed in paragraph [0004]. The carrier (1) includes one or more longitudinal structures, one or more transverse structures, and a secondary material disclosed as the “overmoulded material”, as disclosed in paragraph [0046]. The carrier (1) includes one or more rib structure (3) forming one or more reinforcement cavities (2), as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 2, the device (1) is configured to attach to the cavity with one or more mechanical fasteners (8) and the secondary material, as shown in Figures 3-5 and disclosed in paragraph [0028].
In reference to claim 4, the one or more mechanical fasteners (8) are located on the carrier, as shown in Figures 3-5.
In reference to claim 5, the carrier (1) has one or more attachment portions for accepting the one or more mechanical fasteners (8), as shown in Figures 3-5.
In reference to claim 7, at least one transverse structure at reference number (6) is free from secondary material, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 8, at least one longitudinal structure is coated with the secondary material, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 9, the transverse structures (3) are positioned to form one or more channels (4) on the carrier (1), as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed in paragraph [0045].
In reference to claim 10, the secondary material is guided by the one or more channels (4) to a desired location on the device (1), as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed in paragraph [0045].
In reference to claim 11, the carrier has a longitudinal profile, as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 12, the carrier has a curved profile, as shown in Figures 6-9.
In reference to claim 13, the carrier includes one or more guides for locating the device into the cavity, as shown in Figures 1-5. The angled lower surfaces form the guides, as shown in Figures 1-5.
In reference to claim 14, the carrier (1) includes one or more longitudinal walls forming the longitudinal structure and one or more transverse walls forming the transverse structures, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 15, the longitudinal wall is connected with one or more transverse ribs (3), as shown in Figure 3. The transverse ribs are the vertical portions of walls (3), as shown in Figure 1-3.
In reference to claim 16, the transverse walls are connected with longitudinal ribs, as shown in Figure 3. The transverse walls are the vertical portions of walls (3) and the longitudinal ribs are the horizontal portions of walls (3), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 17, the longitudinal wall and transverse walls form the reinforcement cavities (2), as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 18, the longitudinal ribs and the transverse ribs form the reinforcement cavities (2), as shown in Figures 1-3. The transverse ribs are the vertical portions of walls (3) and the longitudinal ribs are the horizontal portions of walls (3), as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 20, the carrier includes one or more holes (5), as shown in Figure 2.
In reference to claim 21, the holes (5) are through holes, as shown in Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muteau et al. (US 2006/0008615) in view of Enderich et al. (US 2009/0152896).
Muteau et al. discloses the device has fasteners (8) connected through holes in walls of the cavity. The device is considered to be configured to be slid into the cavity since the device is placed within a hollow and requires fasteners to hold the device in place before activating the foam to fill the gap between the device and the vehicle component. However, Muteau et al. does not disclose the fasteners are placed through walls of the cavity from an outside of the device.
Enderich et al. teaches placing fasteners (16,17) through walls (1) of a cavity from an outside into the device, as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed in paragraph [0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the fasteners taught by Enderich et al. for the fasteners of Muteau et al., with a reasonable expectation for success, such that the fasteners are placed through walls of the cavity from an outside of the device to allow removal of the fasteners to reduce weight from the finished vehicle and allow reuse of the fasteners in the assembly process to reduce assembly costs.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 January 20, 2026