DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 7 and 13 are amended. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 13 and 15-17 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
With regards to applicant’s arguments, filed on 4/24/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant asserts, with respect to claims 1, 7 and 13, that the combination of Park and Gohari does not teach or suggest: “reporting capability of supporting using partial bandwidth among system bandwidth of a single carrier to receive and transmit data to a network during a process of setting up connection with the network”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The combination of Park and Gohari, specifically, Park teaches a method, in which, a plurality of terminals having various sizes of bands may be controlled to use resources evenly in the operating bandwidth of the system. In addition, the terminal can perform the scheduling, the modulation and coding scheme (MCS), the channel state indication (CSI) report, the measurement, and within the configured partial bands, and the reduction in scheduling and handover performance for the whole bandwidth may be minimized. In addition, if the terminal causes the connection problem within the configured partial bands, it is possible to recover the connection within a short delay. (See Park. Par. [26]) Park teaches that the base station may configure the band and the control sub-bands for the common/terminal in the terminal from the base station during the switching from the idle mode to the connected mode. The base station may configure the band information or the control sub-band connected to the band in the terminal through a random access response (RAR) or a message 4 (Msg4) (e.g., RRC connection complete) during a random access procedure. In order to configure the band and sub-band configuration and the numerology information required for the operation, the terminal may transmit UE capability information to the network during a procedure of connecting to the network (e.g., random access or RRC (re)configuration). The terminal performs the paging message reception on narrowband. (See Park. Par. [174]) The UE capability information may include at least one of the following information: The number of radio frequencies (RFs), a maximum operating bandwidth of one RF, a maximum operating bandwidth of the terminal, RF retuning latency of the terminal at which the center frequency is maintained, and RF retuning latency of the terminal at which the center frequency is switched, a type of operable numerology, etc. [Therefore, the terminal transmits a capability report to the base station. The capability report indicates, among other elements. The UE’s capability of supporting partial BW]. (See Park. Par. [82], [93], [140]-[141])
On the other hand, Gohari teaches adaptation of network side infrastructure (eNB 110) to provide the foregoing cross-carrier scheduling may comprise deploying logic adapted to invoke existing cross-carrier scheduling functionality with respect to SCells for which Partial Bandwidth Carrier Aggregation is to be implemented. For example, eNB 110a may be adapted to provide a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration command to UE 120b providing the parameters that apply with respect to the SCell for implementing UE wireless communication on the SCell. Such a configuration command may include a command for invoking cross-carrier scheduling functionality by the UE when Partial Bandwidth Carrier Aggregation is implemented. Controller/processor 440 executes partial bandwidth assignment logic 641 stored in memory 442 to provide partial bandwidth assignment with respect to a UE for which Partial Bandwidth Carrier Aggregation is to be provided. Accordingly, partial bandwidth assignment logic 641 operates to assign a portion of the communication bandwidth of a SCell to a UE, wherein the portion of the SCell bandwidth assigned may be less than the full bandwidth available from the SCell,
As shown in block 801 of flow 800 in FIG. 8. Partial bandwidth assignment logic 642 may operate to determine an amount of capability with respect to communication bandwidth remaining available (e.g., unused bandwidth capability) for the UE, as may be reported by the UE via receiver 630, and to determine a cell which can be utilized to serve the communication bandwidth as a SCell through Carrier Aggregation. [Therefore, a capability report is reported by the UE via receiver 630, during an RRC connection process with the base station. The capability report indicates, among other elements. The UE’s capability of supporting partial bandwidth] (See Gohari. Par. [62], [72]-[74] and Fig. 8)
Therefore, and for the reasons set above, the combination of Park and Gohari teaches the claimed invention. The rejection of claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 13 and 15-17 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (EP 3520525 A1; PG Pub. No 2018/0124687 A1 is used for citation) in view of Gohari et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0063259 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a partial bandwidth radio transmission method, applied to a narrowband User Equipment (UE) applied to a narrowband User Equipment (UE) and (See Abstract, Fig. 2 of Park for a reference to configuring multiple sub-bands; each sub-band being a part of a bandwidth, Fig. 20 and Par. [174]; second node (a terminal) that performs the paging message reception on narrowband), and comprising:
decoding a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (See Par. [81]-[82], [91], [93] of Park for a reference to the UE understands/translated [Decodes] the subband configuration information received [obtained] from the base station. The subband configuration is received through an RRC message); and
obtaining a frequency domain position, a numerology and a time slot structure of at least one sub-band other than anchor sub-bands (See Par. [81], [90], [93], [129]-[130] of Park for a reference to configuration information includes frequency domain location of the P-Band and the S-band, the numerology, TDD DL/UL bands frequency location and the RE [frequency domain position and Time Slot] structure of the configured sub-bands, and secondary sub-band may be defined by the frequency offset) and obtaining a time domain position and a frequency domain position of a second common control channel transmitted on the at least one sub-band other than the anchor sub-bands (See Par. [76], [90], [168], [264], [0267] of Park for a reference to the location and range of the secondary sub-band may be defined by the frequency offset, bandwidth, and TX duration at which configured by the synchronization signal in PBCH [common control signal]. The location and the range of the band may be set by the frequency offset and the bandwidth of the band with respect to the center frequency at which a synchronization signal detected by the terminal is located, and as a reference band for synchronization).
Although Park discloses (Par. [0082]) terminal may transmit UE capability information to the network during a procedure of connecting to the network (e.g., random access or RRC (re)configuration). However, Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises reporting capability of supporting using partial bandwidth among system bandwidth of a single carrier to receive and transmit data to a network during a process of setting up connection with the network.
However, Gohari discloses wherein the method further comprises reporting capability of supporting using partial bandwidth among system bandwidth of a single carrier to receive and transmit data to a network (See Par. [56], [62], [72]-[74] of Gohari for a reference to partial bandwidth assignment logic 642 may operate to determine an amount of capability with respect to communication bandwidth remaining available [unused bandwidth capability among aggregated system’s bandwidth] for the UE. A capability report is reported by the UE via receiver 630. The capability report indicates, among other elements. The UE’s capability of supporting partial bandwidth) during a process of setting up connection with the network (See Par. [62], [64], [72]-[74] of Gohari for a reference to a capability report is reported by the UE via receiver 630, during an RRC connection process with the base station. The capability report indicates, among other elements. The UE’s capability of supporting partial bandwidth).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gohari to Park. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by improving the UE throughput, by using of a portion of the secondary cell bandwidth to accommodate bandwidth limitations of the UE and thereby facilitates the aggregation of component carriers. (Gohari; Par. [39]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park and Gohari, specifically Park discloses wherein data is received and transmitted based on the frequency domain position, the numerology and the time slot structure of the at least one sub-band other than the anchor sub-bands (See Par. [90], [146]-[147], [236]-[237] and Fig. 15of Park for a reference to that in an RRC message, the BS transmits the configuration information of the second control channel, included in the SS to the terminal. Based on the transmission duration configuration received from the BS, the transmission duration of the reference signal is determined and the data is transmitted [Fig. 15; 1540]).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1, including a partial bandwidth User Equipment (UE) (See Park; Fig. 20; Terminal) comprising a memory (See Park; Fig. 20; Memory 2030) and a processor (See Park; Fig. 20; Controller 2020).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions (See Par. [62] of Park for a reference to a storage medium storing software executed by the processor).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 5.
6. Claims 3-4, 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over park et al. in view of Gohari et al. in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0048413 A1) and further in view of Islam et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0303265 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park and Gohari does not explicitly disclose performing time and frequency tracking, beam tracking and measurement to a reference signal Z of the second common control channel on the at least one sub-band other than the anchor sub-bands; and monitoring a radio link based on the measurement.
However, Liu discloses performing time and frequency tracking, beam tracking and measurement to a reference signal Z of the second common control channel on the at least one sub-band other than the anchor sub-bands (See Par. [55], [64], [71], [80], [82] and Fig. 2 of Liu for a reference to the mobile device (Terminal) 115 performs Coarse time/frequency tracking, fine time/frequency tracking, RRM measurement, CSI measurement, PDCCH demodulation, and PDSCH demodulation on the common reference signal (CRS) of the secondary component carrier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Liu to the combination of Park and Gohari. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by reducing interference and improving coverage, throughput and flexibility of network nodes. (Liu; Par. [66]).
The combination of Park, Gohari and Liu does not explicitly disclose monitoring a radio link based on the measurement.
However, Islam discloses monitoring a radio link based on the measurement (See Par. [93], [122], [125] of Islam for a reference to monitoring the radio link quality [Detecting a radio link failure] based on measurements , performed by the terminal, on the received reference signal on a secondary component carrier).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Islam to the combination of Park, Gohari and Liu. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by supporting mobile broadband access through improved spectral efficiency, lowered costs, and improved services . (Islam; Par. [4]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park, Gohari and Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein said monitoring the radio link based on the measurement comprises: determining whether a measured value of the reference signal Z is smaller than a predetermined value; if the measured value of the reference signal Z is smaller than the predetermined value, initiating a radio link reconstruction mechanism; and if the measured value of the reference signal Z is not smaller than the predetermined value, not initiating the radio link reconstruction mechanism.
However, Islam discloses determining whether a measured value of the reference signal Z is smaller than a predetermined value (See Par. [125] of Islam for a reference to the UE 604 may measure one or more metrics (e.g., signal quality, received power, RSSI, SNR, etc.) associated with the first reference signal 644 to determine whether the one or more metrics are less than or equal to a threshold); if the measured value of the reference signal Z is smaller than the predetermined value, initiating a radio link reconstruction mechanism (See Par. [122], [125], [215] of Islam for a reference to the UE measures one or more metrics associated with the reference signal to determine whether the one or more metrics are less than or equal to a threshold. If one or more metrics are less than or equal to a threshold, then a link failure is detected and a new active beam/link is initiated); and if the measured value of the reference signal Z is not smaller than the predetermined value, not initiating the radio link reconstruction mechanism (See Par. [122], [125]-[126], [215] of Islam for a reference to the UE measures one or more metrics associated with the reference signal to determine whether the one or more metrics are less than or equal to a threshold. If one or more metrics are greater than a threshold, then a link failure is not detected and the same active beam/link is maintained [No reconstruction is initiated]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Islam to the combination of Park, Gohari and Liu. The motivation of combination is improving the system’s efficiency, by supporting mobile broadband access through improved spectral efficiency, lowered costs, and improved services . (Islam; Par. [4]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seo et al. (US 2019/0306847 A1) discloses methods of transmitting and receiving downlink control information through transmission/reception beams and devices therefor.
Nam et al. (US 2018/0262313 A1) discloses reference signal operation in next generation wireless communication systems.
Onggosanusi et al. (US 2017/0026938 A1) discloses beam-level radio resource management and mobility methods.
/R. F./
Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413