DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --CAM AND BLOCK TAP ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR--.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 7 in line 19, the phrase “distal end portions 205” should read --distal end portions 105--, since 205 is used to label an extension.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by La Salvia et al. (2013/0078873).
With regard to claim 1, La Salvia teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “An electrical power connector assembly 100 comprising: a frame 110 having opposing conductor securing contact sections 120 and 130; a cam member 150 rotatably mounted to the frame between the opposing conductor securing contact sections; and a pair of blocks 160 and 162, wherein the pair of blocks (as shown in figure 6) are provided between the cam member 150 and conductors 12 and 14 to be secured in the opposing conductor securing contact sections and when the cam member 150 is rotated, the pair of blocks press against the conductors securing the conductors in the opposing conductor securing contact sections”.
With regard to claim 2, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cam member 150 comprises an oblong shaft”.
With regard to claim 4, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 2”, as shown above.
La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cam member 150 further comprises a head having a hexagonal shaped hole 172”.
With regard to claim 6, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cam member 150 further comprises at least one detent 162B”.
With regard to claim 9, La Salvia teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “An electrical power connector assembly 100 comprising: a frame 110 having opposing conductor securing contact sections 120 and 130; and a cam member 150 rotatably mounted to the frame 110 between the opposing conductor securing contact sections, wherein the cam member 150 includes contact surfaces 160B and 162B for contacting the conductors 12 and 14to be secured in the opposing conductor securing contact sections and when the cam member 150 is rotated, the contact surfaces press against the conductors securing the conductors in the opposing conductor securing contact sections”.
With regard to claim 10, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 9”, as shown above.
La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cam member 150 comprises an oblong shaft”.
With regard to claim 12, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 10”, as shown above.
La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cam member 150 further comprises a head having a hexagonal shaped hole 172”.
With regard to claim 14, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 9”, as shown above.
La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein the cam member 150 further comprises at least one detent 162B”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Salvia et al. (2013/0078873).
With regard to claim 3, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 2”, as shown above.
That embodiment of La Salvia does not teach: “wherein the cam member further comprises a hexagonal shaped head”. However, La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 7: “wherein the cam member 250 further comprises a hexagonal shaped head (shown below)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hexagonal head in order to hold the cam member to the frame (La Salvia, paragraph 73).
With regard to claim 5, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 2”, as shown above.
La Salvia does not specifically teach: “wherein the cam member further comprises a hexagonal shaped head including a hexagonal shaped hole”. However, La Salvia does teach a hexagonal shaped head (shown below) and a head having a hexagonal shaped hole (172, as shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cam member comprising a hexagonal-shaped head and with a hexagonal-shaped hole in order to be able to insert a hexagonal tool or else insert the head into the socket of a tool.
With regard to claim 7, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 6”, as shown above.
La Salvia does not teach: “wherein the at least one detent comprises 4 detents”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the detents on the cam member so there are 4 detents in order to allow more engagement positions with the conductors. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regard to claim 11, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 10”, as shown above.
That embodiment of La Salvia does not teach: “wherein the cam member further comprises a hexagonal shaped head”. However, La Salvia also teaches, as shown in figures 7: “wherein the cam member 250 further comprises a hexagonal shaped head (shown below)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a hexagonal head in order to hold the cam member to the frame (La Salvia, paragraph 73).
With regard to claim 13, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 10”, as shown above.
La Salvia does not specifically teach: “wherein the cam member further comprises a hexagonal shaped head including a hexagonal shaped hole”. However, La Salvia does teach a hexagonal shaped head (shown below) and a head having a hexagonal shaped hole (172, as shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cam member comprising a hexagonal-shaped head and with a hexagonal-shaped hole in order to be able to insert a hexagonal tool or else insert the head into the socket of a tool.
With regard to claim 15, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 14”, as shown above.
La Salvia does not teach: “wherein the at least one detent comprises 4 detents”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the detents on the cam member so there are 4 detents in order to allow more engagement positions with the conductors. Also, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Salvia et al. (2013/0078873) in view of Galli (EP2685561A1).
With regard to claim 8, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 1”, as shown above.
La Salvia does not teach: “wherein at least one of the opposing conductor securing contact sections, the cam member, and the pair of blocks further comprise insulation piercing members”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Galli teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein at least one of the opposing conductor securing contact sections 21, the cam member, and the pair of blocks further comprise insulation piercing members 20”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Galli with the invention of La Salvia in order to penetrate the insulation of a cable conductor to make contact with the conductor (Galli, paragraph 35).
With regard to claim 16, La Salvia teaches: “The electrical power connector assembly according to claim 9”, as shown above.
La Salvia does not teach: “wherein at least one of the opposing conductor securing contact sections and the cam member further comprise insulation piercing members”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Galli teaches, as shown in figures 1-6: “wherein at least one of the opposing conductor securing contact sections 21 and the cam member further comprise insulation piercing members 20”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Galli with the invention of La Salvia in order to penetrate the insulation of a cable conductor to make contact with the conductor (Galli, paragraph 35).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831