DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, line 1 “to the channels” lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kameoka et al. “One-step synthesis of a high performance Pt-Fe3O4 Catalyst: Intermetallic Al13Fe4 as a Platform and Precursor”.
Kameoka describes an intermetallic compound with the formula:
Al76.5-xFe23.5Ptx, where x= 0, 0.05, 0.5, 1 (abstract).
When x=0, this meets the composition of Claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameoka.
Claim 3 describes a product with product-by-process features. The catalyst, specifically, the intermetallic compound of Claim 1 was disclosed above. As to how that is made, these are product-by-process features.
Nonetheless, Kameoka does teach that the product is made by leaching (abstract).
As to Claim 9, Kameoka teaches that the solution includes a liquid medium (see table 1, “Al dissolved” column and NaOH aqueous solution).
As to Claim 10, Kameoka teaches that the catalyst is supported on a metal oxide support (introduction, right col, lines 5-6).
As to Claim 13, Kameoka teaches the same composition (see the rejection to Claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition can be considered to have the same effectiveness. Further, since the composition is the same, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition would be effective in the same way if used in the same manner.
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komeoka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mizuno (JP 2006/223985).
Kameoka teaches that their product can be used as a water-gas shift catalyst (page 1310, left col., para. 2). The reference does not teach that the composition includes an oxygen storage component from 20-50% or an inorganic oxide from 50-80wt%.
Mizuno teaches a water gas shift reaction catalyst (title) that is combined with an inorganic oxide that has a number of different components in an amount of 40-80% (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an inorganic oxide to the water gas shift catalyst, as taught by Mizuno for use with the water gas shift catalyst of Kameoka because these catalysts are known to be combined with inorganic oxide in an amount of 40-80%.
As to the inorganic oxide compound being an oxygen storage component, although Mizuno does not teach that the inorganic oxide is an oxygen storage component, since the composition is the same, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition used the same way would have the same effectiveness.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameoka as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Xiang (CN 112169590).
Kameoka teaches that their catalyst can be used for a number of uses, to include as a CO oxidation catalyst (page 1310, left col, lines 8-9), but does not teach the features of Claim 11.
Xiang teaches a CO oxidation catalyst that is coated onto a gas channel (abstract). The catalyst is sprayed as a coating onto the channel (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a CO oxidation catalyst to gas channels as a coating, as taught by Xiang for use with the catalyst of Kameoko because this is a known and effective method of applying these catalysts for use in catalytic function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 6, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Kameoko does not disclose the features of Claims 4, 5, 6 and 12. The surface area of Claim 4 in the reference are much lower. The composition does not claim Y or Rh (Claims 5 and 6) and loading described in not described to be from 0.5 to 5 g/ft3 (Claim 12).
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 3, 2026