DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinnai KK (JP2016109376(A)) and Sutardja et al. (US 2026/0133611).
Regarding claim 1, Rinnai (R) discloses a heating system (100, Figure 1), comprising: a heat source having a heating unit configured to heat a fluid (1,[0011]); a heating terminal of which a plurality can be installed (110); an inflow pipe connected to a fluid inlet of the heating unit (7); an outflow pipe connected to a fluid outlet of the heating unit (8); a branch supply pipe directly or indirectly connected to the outflow pipe and connected to a fluid inlet of the heating terminal (114); a branch recovery pipe connected to a fluid outlet of the heating terminal and directly or indirectly connected to the inflow pipe (116); a plurality of fluid flowing part configured to circulate the fluid by operating (80,112, i.e., pumps); and control means configured to control operation of the plurality of fluid flowing part (30,[0102]), wherein the fluid flowing part is provided to the inflow pipe or the outflow pipe and is provided to the branch supply pipe or the branch recovery pipe (Figure 1), the fluid flowing part provided to the inflow pipe or the outflow pipe is a pump (80), the fluid flowing part provided to the branch supply pipe or the branch recovery pipe is a pump (112) or an on-off valve.
Rinnai does not disclose that the control means repeatedly executes, in a predetermined cycle, a sequence to start the operation of the fluid flowing part , the predetermined cycle is divided into a plurality of operation start permitted intervals, and each of the operation start permitted intervals has a control configuration in which, among the fluid flowing part, only a specific fluid flowing part determined for each operation start permitted interval is permitted to start operating, and the other fluid flowing part other than the specific fluid flowing part is prohibited from starting to operate.
However, Sutardja (S) et al. (US 2026/0133611) discloses a system to control the startup of fans (Abstract, as a clarification the fan utilizes a motor to rotate and move air whish in analogous to a fluid and so is similar to a pump in operation and thus analogous art) wherein the control means repeatedly executes, in a predetermined cycle, a sequence to start the operation of the fluid flowing part ([0036], Figure 5), the predetermined cycle is divided into a plurality of operation start permitted intervals (Figure 5), and each of the operation start permitted intervals has a control configuration in which, among the fluid flowing part, only a specific fluid flowing part determined for each operation start permitted interval is permitted to start operating , and the other fluid flowing part other than the specific fluid flowing part is prohibited from starting to operate ([0040,0042]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the start-up of multiple pumps as disclosed by Sutardja for the purpose of presenting and inrush current spike that may damage the equipment.
Regarding claim 2, Rinnai (R), as modified, discloses the heating system according to claim 1, wherein an operation start prohibited interval for prohibiting all the fluid flowing part from starting to operate is provided between each the operation start permitted intervals ([0042], Figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Rinnai (R), as modified, discloses the heating system according to claim 2, wherein a period of the operation start prohibited interval is set to be equal to or longer than a time required for a current value of the fluid flowing part to become a steady-state current after operation of the fluid flowing part is started ([0041-0042], Figure 5).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rinnai KK (JP2016109376(A)), Sutardja et al. (US 2026/0133611), and Chen et al. (US 2007/0116577)
Regarding claim 4, Rinnai (R), as modified, discloses the heating system according to claim 2, but not that a period of the operation start permitted interval is set to be a shorter time than a period of the operation start prohibited interval.
However, Chen (C) discloses a seriate starting system for controlling multiple fans (Abstract, Figure 3) capable of having a period of the operation start permitted interval is set to be a shorter time than a period of the operation start prohibited interval ([0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the delay times (prohibited operational start and prohibited times) to any duration desired by the user for his particular desired results.
Regarding claim 5, Rinnai (R), as modified, discloses the heating system according to claim 3, but not that a period of the operation start permitted interval is set to be a shorter time than a period of the operation start prohibited interval.
However, Chen (C) discloses a seriate starting system for controlling multiple fans (Abstract, Figure 3) capable of having a period of the operation start permitted interval is set to be a shorter time than a period of the operation start prohibited interval ([0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify the delay times (prohibited operational start and prohibited times) to any duration desired by the user for his particular desired results.
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 ***
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762