DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the
suitable beam deflection elements (not shown), the beam-generating unit 4 is controlled by means of a control unit (not shown), a construction material application and/or metering unit (not shown) for applying and/or metering construction material 3 into the process chamber 7, the apparatus 1 can furthermore comprise a further detection unit for acquiring melting region information, in particular melting region information describing the dimensions and/or the shape and/or the temperature, of a melted construction material layer region (“melt pool”) produced by means of the at least one energy beam 5, a collecting unit (not shown) for collecting partially consolidated and/or unconsolidated construction material 3 which, as a result of the construction process, separates from a construction material layer 9 to be consolidated and is accelerated in an uncontrolled manner into the process chamber 7 as described in the specification and claimed. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered, and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 22 – 27 & 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippi et al. (US 20090152771 A1, hereinafter Philippi)Regarding claim 22,
An apparatus for the additive manufacturing of a three- dimensional object, the apparatus comprising
a coating unit movable across a construction plane within a process chamber to perform a coating process to apply sequential layers of a metal powdered construction material to the construction plane;
a detection unit mounted to or structurally integrated into the coating unit such that the detection unit moves with the coating unit relative to the construction plane, and
the detection unit comprises an image acquisition unit;
a radiation-generating unit configured to generate an energy beam onto the respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material; and
a control unit configured to control one or more properties of the energy beam; and
wherein, during the coating process while applying a respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material:
the detection unit is configured to detect layer information describing a quality characteristic of the respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material,
wherein the quality characteristic comprises smoothness;
the radiation-generating unit is configured to direct the energy beam onto the respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material that the detection unit has already acquired the layer information; and
the control unit is configured to control the one or more properties of the energy beam based at least in part on the layer information.
Philippi teaches the following:
([0017]) teaches a layering device 8 for applying powder material is provided. For instance, the layering device includes a container which extends across the build-up area and can be filled up with powder, and it includes a discharge opening 5 at the lower side thereof, which extends across the build-up area. ([0017]) adds that other materials like metal powder, ceramic powder, fine sand and any other materials can be used, which are suitable for laser sintering. Where, the layering device 8 acts as applicant’s coating unit movable across a construction plane within a process chamber to perform a coating process to apply sequential layers of a metal powdered construction material to the construction plane.
& c.) ([0018]) teaches that there is provided an infrared camera 15 above the built-up area such that the infrared camera 15 views the whole built-up area. The infrared camera 15 according to the embodiment is sensitive within a range of wavelengths of 1 μm to about 14 μm. Thereby, the infrared camera 15 is suitable for temperatures which occur during laser sintering of synthetic powders. Where the infrared camera 15 provides for a detection unit comprises an image acquisition unit. Highlighting, while the infrared camera 15 is not noted to be mounted to or structurally integrated into the coating unit such that the detection unit moves with the coating unit relative to the construction plane. However, the case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, it has generally been recognized by the courts that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400, MPEP 2144. Adding, that the layering device 8 / coating unit is found in a position such that the infrared camera 15 still views the whole built-up area.
([0017]) teaches that a solidifying means is arranged as a laser 6 and a beam deflection means 7. Where, the a laser 6 and a beam deflection means 7 provide for and act as applicant’s radiation-generating unit configured to generate an energy beam onto the respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material.
([0017]) teaches that a laser 6, the beam deflection device 7, the layering device 8 and the vertical drive 4 are controlled by a control device 9. ([0019]) adds that the object is solidified by means of the laser beam at locations corresponding to the object to be fabricated. ([0028]) teaches although the method of laser sintering and the method of laser smelting have been described above, the method according to the present invention may be realized by other methods of selectively applying energy onto a powder layer. (Claim 16) teaches that setting a newly applied powder layer on a working temperature by heat radiation or by another energy supply. Where, the control device 9 is understood to control one or more properties of the energy beam in particular its position and temperature.
([0019]) teaches that according to the method of the present invention, the powder material is applied layer by layer onto the stage 3 and onto a layer, which has been solidified before, and it is solidified by means of the laser beam at locations corresponding to the object. ([0019]) adds that when the layering device 8 is moved over the built-up area and applies a new powder layer, there may occur defects in the newly applied layer, or irregularities may be formed. For instance, the layering device may irregularly apply the powder along the width or the length of the built-up area, so that there is a side where more powder is applied than at another side, and the thickness of the applied powder layer will be changed in the built-up area. Specifically, the coating process is understood to comprise applying a respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material.
([0019]) teaches that if defects or irregularities are detected, an additional layering step may be performed by the layering device while compensating these irregularities, or instead, the layer parameters for the following layers may be adapted in a manner that the irregularities of the whole formed object have no or substantially no effect at all. Specifically, detection unit is configured to detect layer information describing a quality characteristic of the respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material.
([0019]) teaches that if defects or irregularities are detected, an additional layering step may be performed by the layering device while compensating these irregularities, or instead, the layer parameters for the following layers may be adapted in a manner that the irregularities of the whole formed object have no or substantially no effect at all. Specifically, detection unit is configured to detect layer information describing a quality characteristic, in particular the smoothness of a layer and take corrective actions required to address any defects in the smoothness of the layer detected, providing for an in-situ (real-time) quality control for the smoothness of the deposited layers.
([0019]) teaches that further, irregularities may be formed in the newly applied powder layer by rough powder impurities or by solidified areas, for instance, which protrude from the layer level due to heat distortion effects such as curl. These defects and/or irregularities in the newly applied powder layer will be detected based on different temperatures and/or different degrees of emission and/or different degrees of reflection by means of the infrared camera after having applied the powder. At the same time, areas having different layer thicknesses are reproduced by different colours indicating the surface properties of the layer. Hence, each newly applied layer may be observed by image processing of the coloured pictures by comparing the actual values with the target values for each layer. If defects or irregularities are detected, an additional layering step may be performed by the layering device while compensating these irregularities, or instead, the layer parameters for the following layers may be adapted in a manner that the irregularities of the whole formed object have no or substantially no effect at all. ([0020]) adds that the determination of the IR-beam picture by means of the infrared camera can be performed either at each newly applied layer or only for particular layers by observing particular samples. Namely, prior to the radiation-generating unit directing the energy beam onto the respective one of the sequential layers of the metal powdered construction material the detection unit has already acquired the layer information, including defects regarding the smoothness of a layer such that if defects or irregularities are detected, an additional layering step may be performed by the layering device while compensating these irregularities, prior to the radiation-generating unit directing the energy beam onto the respective one of the sequential layers.
([0028]) teaches that although the method of laser sintering and the method of laser smelting have been described above, the method according to the present invention may be realized by other methods of selectively applying energy onto a powder layer. For instance, other light sources such as lamps may be used instead of a laser. (Claim 17) teaches that detecting the IR-radiation image of the newly applied layer during a heat-up time and regulating a heating power when an inhomogeneity is present. Specifically, the control unit is configured to control the one or more properties of the energy beam based at least in part on the layer information.
Regarding claim 23 as applied to claim 22,
Wherein the quality characteristic further comprises thickness and/or defects.
Philippi teaches the following:
([0010]) teaches that even when the temperature throughout a recently applied layer keeps the same, there are, however, differences in the colour of the IR-image. This is because the irregularities in a layer (for instance edges or deviations in the layer thickness) result to different degrees of emissions and reflections. As such, the differences in the colour may be used to determine thickness and/or defects / irregularities in a layers.
Regarding claim 24 as applied to claim 22,
Wherein the detection unit is configured to detect the layer information in one or more dimensions.
Philippi teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 2) the infrared camera 15 above the built-up area such that the infrared camera 15 views the whole built-up area. Where, the infrared camera 15 is understood to be collecting information at least in 2 dimensions, the X and Y planes.
Regarding claim 25 as applied to claim 22,
Wherein the radiation-generating unit is configured to cause the energy beam to track and/or follow the coating unit.
Philippi teaches the following:
([0017]) teaches that the laser 6, the beam deflection device 7, the layering device 8 and the vertical drive 4 are controlled by a control device 9. ([0019]) teaches that the powder material is applied layer by layer onto the stage 3 and onto a layer, which has been solidified before, and it is solidified by means of the laser beam at locations corresponding to the object. As best illustrated in (Fig. 1), the laser 6, the beam deflection device 7
Regarding claim 26 as applied to claim 22,
Wherein the image acquisition unit comprises a line scan camera with a focus directed towards the sequential layers of construction material on the construction plane.
Philippi teaches the following:
([0018]) teaches that there is provided an infrared camera 15 above the built-up area such that the infrared camera 15 views the whole built-up area. The infrared camera 15 according to the embodiment is sensitive within a range of wavelengths of 1 μm to about 14 μm. Thereby, the infrared camera 15 is suitable for temperatures which occur during laser sintering of synthetic powders. Where the infrared camera 15 acts as applicant’s image line scan camera with a focus directed towards the sequential layers of construction material on the construction plane.
Regarding claim 27 as applied to claim 22,
Wherein the detection unit is configured to detect damage or defects of the coating unit.
Philippi teaches the following:
([0019]) teaches that when the layering device 8 is moved over the built-up area and applies a new powder layer, there may occur defects in the newly applied layer, or irregularities may be formed. For instance, the layering device may irregularly apply the powder along the width or the length of the built-up area, so that there is a side where more powder is applied than at another side, and the thickness of the applied powder layer will be changed in the built-up area. Hence, each newly applied layer may be observed by image processing of the coloured pictures by comparing the actual values with the target values for each layer. If defects or irregularities are detected, an additional layering step may be performed by the layering device while compensating these irregularities, or instead, the layer parameters for the following layers may be adapted in a manner that the irregularities of the whole formed object have no or substantially no effect at all. Namely, the detection unit is configured to detect damage or defects of the coating unit.
Regarding claim 31 as applied to claim 22,
Further comprising at least one further detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam.
Philippi teaches the following:
([0009]) teaches that the information about irregularities/defects in the applied powder layer are exclusively acquired on the basis of an IR-radiation image (Infrared-radiation image) of the powder layer. The advantage is used that the infrared radiation from an area does not only depend on the temperature of that area, but also from the degrees of its emission and reflection. ([0026]) teaches that as a further modification, already illuminated areas may be checked in their correct positions of the components. Since the optically measured temperature of the sintered components is higher than that of not sintered powder, the position thereof within the built-up area can be accurately determined within the IR-radiation image. Specially, checking the position of the article within the built-up area by implementing the optically measured temperature of the sintered components provides for detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam. Highlighting, while the same detection unit / infrared camera is implemented to acquire melting region information. The case law for the duplication of parts may be recited regarding implementing a second detection unit / infrared camera for acquire melting region information. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.
B.) Claim(s) 28 – 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippi in view of Cheverton et al. (US 20150165683 A1, hereinafter Cheverton)
Regarding claim 26 as applied to claim 22,
Wherein the image acquisition unit comprises a line scan camera with a focus directed towards the sequential layers of construction material on the construction plane.
Regarding Claim(s) 28 – 29, Philippi as modified by is silent on the image acquisition unit comprises a line scan camera with a focus directed towards the sequential layers of construction material on the construction plan. In analogous art for a method for assessment of operational performance of a 3D manufacturing apparatus is provided. Images are obtained, in real-time during a 3D polymer printing build process in which at least one structure is built by the 3D manufacturing apparatus, (Abstract), Cheverton suggests details regarding image acquisition unit comprises a line scan camera with a focus directed towards the sequential layers of construction material on the construction plan, and in this regard, Cheverton teaches the following:
([0040]) teaches mounted to arm 104 are line scan camera 106 and light source 108 (in this example a light emitting diode (LED) light source). While a line scan camera is illustrated in this example, other imaging devices can be utilized as detailed herein. ([0044]) adds that various types of cameras may be used. In general, line scan cameras can produce very high-resolution images, enabling detection of features that would otherwise go undetected with lower resolution equipment. Many line scan cameras are capable of producing images having resolution of 12K at 50 um per pixel, though even small pixel width of 5-15 um is possible in some case. ([0092]) notes that with a camera capable of imaging 10-120 microns/pixel (or even finer resolution) across the build area, the images show the fine features that enable the root cause analysis to identify the problem and/or help to optimize the design.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and an apparatus (1) for the additive manufacturing of at least one three-dimensional object (2) by selectively compacting layer by layer at least one compactible building material (3) by means of at least one energy beam (5) generated by at least one radiation generating device (4) of Herzog. By modifying the additive manufacturing apparatus to comprise a line scan camera 106 as it provides for an unparallel degree of resolution to detect defects and enable the root cause analysis to identify the problem and/or help to optimize the design, ([0092]).C.) Claim(s) 28 – 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippi in view of Stecker et al. (US 20110061591 A1, hereinafter Stecker)
Regarding claim(s) 28 – 29 as applied to claim 22 and claim 28 respectively,
Further comprising a cleaning unit, assigned to the at least one detection unit, configured to remove removing contaminants from at least one detection element of the detection unit.
Wherein the cleaning unit is configured to allow a fluid cleaning medium to flow onto or along the at least one detection element.
Regarding Claim(s) 28 – 29, Philippi as modified by is silent on the apparatus comprising a cleaning unit, assigned to the at least one detection unit, configured to remove removing contaminants from at least one detection element of the detection unit and the cleaning unit is configured to allow a fluid cleaning medium to flow onto or along the at least one detection element. In analogous art for a process and apparatus for free form fabrication of a three-dimensional work piece comprising (a) feeding raw material in a solid state to a first predetermined location, (Abstract), Stecker suggests details regarding the apparatus comprising a cleaning unit, assigned to the at least one detection unit, configured to remove removing contaminants from at least one detection element of the detection unit and the cleaning unit is configured to allow a fluid cleaning medium to flow onto or along the at least one detection element, and in this regard, Stecker teaches the following:
– 29a.) ([0061]) teaches that a vapor may deposit upon a lens of the system, and/or upon another optical element (e.g. a mirror). Accordingly, with reference to FIGS. 3A and 3B, the apparatus may include a suitable vapor protection device 32, which functions to impose a protective barrier (e.g., a solid barrier, a fluid barrier, or both) forward of one or more of the vulnerable exposed components. Preferably, the vapor protection device 32 will be such that it resists vapor disposition build-up onto the exposed componentry so that the vapor does not build up and adversely affect measurement integrity. The vapor protector device may include one or any combination of a relatively low surface energy coating (which may be substantially transparent to the radiation being detected) that delays vapor deposition build-up onto a surface as compared with a surface without the coating; a solid physical barrier (e.g., a shutter, a curtain, or other barrier that can be opened and closed to expose the componentry as desired); a fluidic barrier (e.g., a gas stream that can be controllably flowed to expose the componentry as desired); or a combination thereof. As such, implementing a vapor protection device 32 comprising a fluidic barrier provides and acts as applicant’s a cleaning unit, assigned to the at least one detection unit, configured to remove vapor / contaminants from at least one detection element of the detection unit, and the vapor protection device 32 / cleaning unit allows a fluid cleaning medium to flow onto or along the at least one detection element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and an apparatus (1) for the additive manufacturing of at least one three-dimensional object (2) by selectively compacting layer by layer at least one compactible building material (3) by means of at least one energy beam (5) generated by at least one radiation generating device (4) of Herzog. By modifying the additive manufacturing apparatus to comprise a cleaning unit, assigned to the at least one detection unit, configured to remove removing contaminants from at least one detection element of the detection unit and the cleaning unit is configured to allow a fluid cleaning medium to flow onto or along the at least one detection element, as taught by Stecker. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a cleaning unit, assigned to the at least one detection unit, configured to remove removing contaminants from at least one detection element of the detection unit and the cleaning unit is configured to allow a fluid cleaning medium to flow onto or along the at least one detection element as it allows for forming a layer that provides vapor protection, which functions to impose a protective barrier (e.g., a solid barrier, a fluid barrier, or both) forward of one or more of the vulnerable exposed components, ([0061]).
D.) Claim(s) 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippi in view of Frank Herzog (DE 102010052206 A1, hereinafter Herzog)
Regarding claim 30 as applied to claim 22,
Further comprising a deflection unit configured to deflect a protective gas stream flowing into the process chamber of the apparatus in at least one deflection direction different from an inflow direction.
Regarding Claim(s) 30, Philippi as modified by is silent on the apparatus comprising a deflection unit configured to deflect a protective gas stream flowing into the process chamber of the apparatus in at least one deflection direction different from an inflow direction. In analogous art for a device for manufacturing a three-dimensional object (1) by successive solidification of layers of a powdery building material (2) solidifyable by radiation (Abstract), suggests details regarding the apparatus comprising a deflection unit configured to deflect a protective gas stream flowing into the process chamber of the apparatus in at least one deflection direction different from an inflow direction, and in this regard, Herzog teaches the following:
([0021]) teaches the device provides a protective gas injection 13, with which a protective gas stream 14 is injected laterally into the process chamber 6. ([0022]) adds that In the process chamber 6, at least one motor-driven deflecting device 15 in the form of a one-piece deflecting element 29 is arranged, which deflects the laterally injected protective gas flow 14 in such a way that the protective gas flow 14 first leads downwards and then against the injection direction 16, i.e. in the direction 17, back above the construction area to a protective gas extraction system 18. Specifically, the at least one motor-driven deflecting device 15 provides for a deflection unit configured to deflect a protective gas stream flowing into the process chamber of the apparatus in at least one deflection direction different from an inflow direction
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and an apparatus (1) for the additive manufacturing of at least one three-dimensional object (2) by selectively compacting layer by layer at least one compactible building material (3) by means of at least one energy beam (5) generated by at least one radiation generating device (4) of Herzog. By modifying the additive manufacturing apparatus to comprise a deflection unit configured to deflect a protective gas stream flowing into the process chamber of the apparatus in at least one deflection direction different from an inflow direction as it provides for deflecting the laterally injected protective gas flow 14 in such a way that the protective gas flow 14 first leads downwards and then against the injection direction 16, i.e. in the direction 17, back above the construction area to a protective gas extraction system 18, ([0022]).
E.) Claim(s) 31, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippi in view of Das et al. (US 20140163717 A1, hereinafter Das)Regarding claim 31 as applied to claim 22,
Further comprising at least one further detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam.
Regarding Claim(s) 31, Philippi as modified by is silent on the apparatus comprising at least one further detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam. In analogous art for a layer-by-layer additive manufacturing process that allows for the fabrication of three-dimensional objects with specified microstructure through the controlled melting and re-solidification of a metal powders placed atop a base substrate, (Abstract), Das suggests details regarding the apparatus comprising at least one further detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam, and in this regard, Das teaches the following:
([0218]) teaches that during operation, at least three instruments can be used to collect data: a thermal imaging camera, a video microscope, and laser processing machine vision camera. The thermal imaging camera can be used to measure the temperature field of a sample during operation, among other things. Specifically, the thermal imaging camera provides for and acts as applicant’s at least one further detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and an apparatus (1) for the additive manufacturing of at least one three-dimensional object (2) by selectively compacting layer by layer at least one compactible building material (3) by means of at least one energy beam (5) generated by at least one radiation generating device (4) of Herzog. By modifying the additive manufacturing apparatus to comprise at least one further detection unit configured to acquire melting region information describing at least one of a dimension, a shape, or a temperature of a melted construction material layer region produced by the energy beam as it provides for measuring the temperature field of a sample during operation, among other things, ([0218]).
F.) Claim(s) 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philippi in view of Carter et al. (US 20200269353 A1, hereinafter Carter)
Regarding claim 32 as applied to claim 22,
Further comprising a collecting unit configured to collect partially consolidated or unconsolidated construction material.
Regarding Claim(s) 32, Philippi as modified by is silent on the apparatus comprising a collecting unit configured to collect partially consolidated or unconsolidated construction material. In analogous art for methods and systems for fabricating a component by consolidating a particulate include a build platform configured to receive the particulate, a particulate dispenser configured to deposit the particulate onto the build platform, and a consolidation device configured to consolidate at least a portion of the particulate to form a component, (Abstract), Carter suggests details regarding the apparatus comprising a collecting unit configured to collect partially consolidated or unconsolidated construction material, and in this regard, Carter teaches the following:
([0041]) teaches that excess particulate 106 from build platform 104 is transferred through a conduit 145 into a hopper 147 where particulate 106 is collected. In some embodiments, the collected particulate 106 may be processed and/or used to fabricate a subsequent component. Excess particulate 106 is removed from build platform 104 as described further with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6. In alternative embodiments, excess particulate 106 is handled in any manner that enables additive manufacturing system 100 to operate as described herein. ([0047]) adding that a particulate collection system includes a gutter 165 surrounding the rotating build chamber to allow for collection of excess particulate 106 during fabrication of the component. The additive manufacturing system 100 may also include any particulate collection system that enables additive manufacturing system 100 to operate as described herein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and an apparatus (1) for the additive manufacturing of at least one three-dimensional object (2) by selectively compacting layer by layer at least one compactible building material (3) by means of at least one energy beam (5) generated by at least one radiation generating device (4) of Herzog. By modifying the additive manufacturing apparatus to comprise a collecting unit configured to collect partially consolidated or unconsolidated construction material as it provides for excess particulate 106 from build platform 104 to be removed with the collected particulate 106 may be processed and/or used to fabricate a subsequent component, ([0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johannes et al. (US 20180200948 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Additive manufacturing device for manufacturing a three-dimensional object, having a foil substrate (2) and a resin depositor (4) for depositing a layer of curable resin (6) on a first side (2 a) of the foil substrate (2), wherein the resin depositor (4) comprises an input side resin storage unit (5).
Li et al. (US 20210370401 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A 3-D printing method and a 3-D printout are provided. In an embodiment, the 3-D printing method includes laser-scanning a printing material according to a 3-D printing model so that the printing material starts to be sintered into a printout in a shape, layer by layer from the bottom up.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743