DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Amendment filed: 05/13/2026. This action is made Final.
B. Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 17-22 remain pending.
C. 35 USC 101 rejection withdrawn due to amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,8-12, 14-15 and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes, Cory et al. (US Pub. 2020/0202171 A1), herein referred to as “Hughes”.
As for claims 1 and 11, Hughes teaches. A method and corresponding executed by a document understanding engine implemented as a computer program within a computing environment, the method comprising (Fig. 2; par. 145 computer hardware environment; a computer architecture 200 to facilitate data annotation and creation of machine learning models, in accordance with an example embodiment of the disclosed technology. The computer architecture 200 includes an annotation server 202 that executes the annotation process described herein):
pre-annotating, by a specialized model of the document understanding engine, one or more files (par. 145 a specialized model is termed intermediate models herein, which include model types as further described in par. 156; these types are used to establish a second model called a baseline model; (e.g. Fig. 9, a sentence classifier is an intermediate model/ algorithm used to create a base line model wherein both are used in training pre-annotated data from data stack/file); For example, logistic regression with bigram features may be selected as a baseline algorithm for text classification, whereas a hidden markov model with spectrogram features may be selected as a baseline algorithm for automatic speech recognition. Beyond baselines, each model type has an associated list of applicable algorithms that are predetermined by the annotation server 202) with one or more color coded underlining or outlining of features in the one or more files with one or more annotation suggestions (fig. 20, colored feedback on annotations; par. 140 feature extraction; (specification clarifies that feature is sub-modules or features (e.g., a classification module) ; par. 145 Upon sufficient annotation of the unannotated data 102, as specified by one or more annotation training criteria (e.g., 20 annotations for each class), the annotation server 202 is configured to generate one or more intermediate models par. 156 Given training data and test data and a model type (e.g. text classifier, image classifier, semantic role labeling), the annotation server 202 selects an appropriate algorithm … For example, logistic regression with bigram features may be selected as a baseline algorithm for text classification, whereas a hidden markov model with spectrogram features may be selected as a baseline algorithm for automatic speech recognition. Beyond baselines, each model type has an associated list of applicable algorithms that are predetermined by the annotation server 202. Par. 215 A highlight 1804 of words or phrases found to be interesting is provided, where the highlights and colors may represent the direction and magnitude of the impact made on the final prediction. Surrounding context 1806 may also be provided with the example, such as a prior and following sentence. Additionally, a prediction 1808 is shown to the user along with a confidence score of that prediction. Par. 188 discusses a pre-annotating files and color coding the output into a map which will highlight feature of “unvaivate4d territories” and “mispredictions” to the user; low-dimensional representations can be presented visually a “map” by which the user can navigate his or her data, and find specific examples, as shown in FIG. 23. In one such embodiment, samples are represented as in a scatter plot, and previously annotated samples are presented with a color representing the user annotation. The “map” representation can enable the user to visually see “un-navigated territories”, as well as areas where mispredictions may be occurring);
Par. 145: The annotation server 202 interacts with the annotation client 206 through one or more graphical user interfaces to the facilitate generation of the annotated data 104. Upon sufficient annotation of the unannotated data 102, as specified by one or more annotation training criteria (e.g., 20 annotations for each class), the annotation server 202 is configured to generate one or more intermediate models.
Par. 146 These intermediate models generate predictions on unannotated data which may be communicated over the network 208 to the annotation client 206 or another client computer (not shown) to facilitate production annotation. During normal production operation on the client computer 206, additional production annotated data is generated and stored in a production annotation database 210. For example, as new data is entered or manipulated on the client computer 206, the baseline model presents a prediction of an annotation for the new data which is accepted or amended to generate additional production annotated data. Periodically, the production annotations are fed back to the annotation server 202 and used to generate an updated model that takes into account the additional production annotated data. The production annotations may be fed back to the annotation server 202 by importing a file with the production annotations or through a standard API exposed on the annotation server 202…
presenting, in a user interface by the document understanding engine, the one or more files with the one or more annotation suggestions for validation, the user interface comprising a scoring for the one or more files (par. 168-170, fig. 4 At 404, a prediction set is generated by a model 406 predicting an annotation for samples in the set of training candidates or a subset thereof. a sampled prediction set is generated by sampling the prediction set according to one of a plurality of sampling algorithms and arranging each sample in the sampled prediction sets in a queue in order of a sampling score. The sampling score may be equal to the confidence score or may be derived from a prediction vector to represent how well a prediction fits in the sampling algorithm. User input used in conjunction with a scoring (e.g. confidence score) for validation of predictions created by intermediate model to create baseline model); fig. 17 shows user interface example of user interaction with pre-annotated data for training the model) a document understanding project, the scoring indicating a quality of domain determination and pre-annotation across a collection of the one or more files (Par. 215 A highlight 1804 of words or phrases found to be interesting is provided, where the highlights and colors may represent the direction and magnitude of the impact made on the final prediction. Surrounding context 1806 may also be provided with the example, such as a prior and following sentence. Additionally, a prediction 1808 is shown to the user along with a confidence score of that prediction) and
training, by the document understanding engine, the specialized model based on one or more inputs to improve the scoring for the document understanding project and the pre-annotating, the one or more inputs being received in response to the one or more annotation suggestions (par. 150, 152 and 215 training data based upon pre-processed data (e.g. pre-annotating) to train the model creating updated baseline models that were originally created by intermediate model types (image, text, sentience, voice etc.).
As for claims 2 and 12, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein pre-annotating of the file is performed by the specialized model and a language model (par. 146 intermediate model and baseline model are used together to train by means of presents a prediction of an annotation for the new data which is accepted or amended to generate additional production annotated data).
As for claim 3, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 2, wherein the language model predicts a field from a common set of fields for a feature in the one or more files when the specialized model is unable to provide at least one suggestion of the one or more annotation suggestions (par. 146 the baseline model presents a prediction of an annotation for the new data which is accepted or amended to generate additional production annotated data. Periodically, the production annotations are fed back to the annotation server 202 and used to generate an updated model that takes into account the additional production annotated data).
As for claims 4 and 14, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein pre-annotating of the one or more files comprises one or more color coded underlining or outlining of features in the one or more files (par. 218 FIG. 20 illustrates an example graphical user interface 2000 depicting the ability to annotate adjacent entries, as well as colored feedback on annotations, in accordance with an example embodiment of the disclosed technology. For example, upon being presented an example, a user may highlight 2002 an adjacent entry and provide a selection from a menu 2004 to annotate the adjacent entry as a positive example, a negative example, or clear the highlight of the adjacent entry, for example).
As for claims 5 and 15, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises pre-annotating the one or more files after a domain of the file is determined (par. 156 Given training data and test data and a model type (e.g. text classifier, image classifier, semantic role labeling), the annotation server 202 selects an appropriate algorithm and loss function to use to establish a baseline).
As for claim 6 , Hughes teaches. The method of claim 5, wherein pre-annotating of the one or more files comprises receiving the one or more inputs during a browsing of the one or more annotation suggestions from the pre-annotating, the one or more inputs comprising one or more confirmations or clarifications that fine tune the document understanding engine during training (par. 152 At 312 and 318, a data review is performed on the annotated training set and the annotated test set. The data review includes annotation “cleaning” that identifies inconsistencies between annotations across multiple reviewers, even if the underlying samples are semantically similar but not identical).
As for claims 8 and 18, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more files are received from a device scanning one or more corresponding paper documents into a non-standardized format (par. 142 The text data may come from plain text files, such as from electronic communications through email or chat, flat files, or other types of document files (e.g., .pdf, .doc, etc.).
As for claims 9 and 19, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the document understanding engine provides the user interface to receive the one or more files (fig. 10 dataset selection user interface).
As for claims 10 and 20, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises digitizing the one or more files from non-standardized formats into usable data structures for the document understanding engine (par. 142, 201-202 image library and image model used to annotate sections/pieces of images of dataset).As for claim 21, Huges teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface further comprises a recommended action frame that instructs a user to review one or more unrecognized documents to assist with domain determination (par. 206 A selectable review button 1308 is provided for navigating to the graphical user interface of FIG. 25 to review and edit annotations. FIG. 18-23 to annotate samples according to one or more of the processes 300-800 described above. Likewise, as with the selectable review button 1308, a selectable review button 1324 is provided for navigating to the graphical user interface of FIG. 25 to review and edit annotations).
As for claim 22, Huges teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a classification model of the document understanding engine is scored across a first set of factors and an extraction model of the document understanding engine is scored across a second set of factors, and the scoring for the document understanding project being a combination of scores determined by one or more factors (par. 154 determines multiple scores and compares the scores along with other information in determining output for user; At 324, a contender model is generated as a result of the model building 320. At 328, reporting on the generated model may be presented. In some implementations, multiple models may be built and compared using common measures of quality against the annotated test set. Measures of quality may include precision, recall, average precision, receiver operator characteristic scores, and F-beta scores, for example. Other measures of quality may be used. Examples of predictions where the models agree, as well as disagree may be presented to a user through the reporting 328. Additional visualizations may be provided for precision recall curves, ROC curve, and samples of true/false positives/negatives at varying thresholds for each of the models to facilitate model selection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of Hodos, Rachel et al. (US Pub. 2023/0289619 A1), herein referred to as “Hodos”.
As for claims 7 and 17, Hughes teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more files are stored in a non-standardized format (par. 142 any format can be used which would include standardized and non-standardized).
Hughes does not specifically teach are received via a drag and drop operation; however in the same field of endeavor Hodos teaches in paragraph 57 that selection of models and files can be done so by a user may select the two or more desired data model configurations they believe might be effective using a graphical user interface. This may be performed for each designed data model configuration via a GUI process of dragging-and-dropping, or otherwise selecting data representative of desired parameters, attributes, relationships and/or configurations of the knowledge graph from a list of potential relationships, nodes, edges, attributes, filters and/or limits that may be used to generate a suitable subset of the knowledge graph.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hodos into Hughes because Hodos suggests in paragraph 5 there is a desire for a more efficient and robust system for generating and selecting a data model from a knowledge graph for optimizing the training of one or more ML predictive model(s) that result in the downstream workflow in robust ML predictive model(s) for inferring relationships and the like from an ever-changing and/or updated knowledge graph and the like.
(Note :) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A1. Applicant argues that Huges relates to model training performance not to a scoring that indicates quality of domain determination across a collection of files. Additionally stating that Hughes does not teach pre-annotating, by a specialized model of document understanding engine, one or more files with one or more color coded underlining or outlining of features in the one or more files in accordance with one or more annotation suggestions.
R1. Examiner does not agree, please refer to new analysis presented in claim 1; in addition teaches in paragraph 188 discusses a pre-annotating files and color coding the output into a map which will highlight feature of “unvaivate4d territories” and “mispredictions” to the user; low-dimensional representations can be presented visually a “map” by which the user can navigate his or her data, and find specific examples, as shown in FIG. 23. In one such embodiment, samples are represented as in a scatter plot, and previously annotated samples are presented with a color representing the user annotation. The “map” representation can enable the user to visually see “un-navigated territories”, as well as areas where mispredictions may be occurring. Further in figure 20, colored feedback on annotations. Paragraph 140 teaches feature extraction; (specification clarifies that feature is sub-modules or features (e.g., a classification module) ; par. 145 Upon sufficient annotation of the unannotated data 102, as specified by one or more annotation training criteria (e.g., 20 annotations for each class), the annotation server 202 is configured to generate one or more intermediate models. In paragraph 156 it is taught that given training data and test data and a model type (e.g. text classifier, image classifier, semantic role labeling), the annotation server 202 selects an appropriate algorithm … For example, logistic regression with bigram features may be selected as a baseline algorithm for text classification, whereas a hidden markov model with spectrogram features may be selected as a baseline algorithm for automatic speech recognition. Beyond baselines, each model type has an associated list of applicable algorithms that are predetermined by the annotation server 202. In paragraph 215 a highlight 1804 of words or phrases found to be interesting is provided, where the highlights and colors may represent the direction and magnitude of the impact made on the final prediction. Surrounding context 1806 may also be provided with the example, such as a prior and following sentence. Additionally, a prediction 1808 is shown to the user along with a confidence score of that prediction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 July 29, 2026