DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dietze (US 2022/0029141 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Dietze teaches a battery cell (102) (fig. 3; [0032]) comprising: a housing (104) (fig. 3; [0032]); and a tab terminal (106/108) that protrudes outwardly from the housing, wherein the tab terminal includes a tab end section having a shape including a crimp portion that provides a local thickness increase adapted for reducing weld spatter when welding the tab terminal to a busbar (fig. 3; [0037] & [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Dietze teaches the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the shape extends along a curved path that provides a barrier for protecting sensitive components from the weld spatter (see annotated fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 4, Dietze teaches the battery cell of claim 3, wherein the curved path establishes a convex shape of the tab end section (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claims 5-7, Dietze teaches the battery cell of claim 1, wherein a first bend connects the tab end section to a tab proximal section of the tab terminal and a second bend connects a distal tip portion of the tab end section to a proximal tip portion of the tab end section, wherein the distal tip portion is folded toward the proximal tip portion about the second bend (see annotated fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 8, Dietze teaches the battery cell of claim 7, wherein the second bend establishes at least a portion of a crimped portion of the tab end section (see annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 9, Dietze teaches the battery cell of claim 5, wherein a second bend positions a distal tip portion of the tab end section at an angle relative to a proximal tip portion of the tab end section (see annotated fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 10, Dietze teaches the battery cell of claim 9, wherein the distal tip portion extends toward the tab proximal section and is spaced therefrom (see annotated fig. 3 under the rejection of claims 5-7).
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727