DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/410025 filed on January 11, 2024 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 11, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, lines 5-6, “wherein fluid flows from the fluid inlet to the fluid to cool windings” should be -- wherein fluid flows from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet to cool windings --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 6 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 1.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
Claims 10-13 and 16 are also rejected due to dependence on claim 9.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
The term “high-voltage” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-voltage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner will interpret “high-voltage terminal” as -- a terminal --.
Claim 20 is also rejected due to dependence on claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim 1, 2, 4-9 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumagai (US 20230134155).
Regarding claim 1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 below) an electric machine (1) (Abstract; ¶ 21) comprising:
a housing (4) or housing cover (4c) (¶ 23; ¶ 24);
a distribution member (95) supported by the housing (4) or housing cover (4c), the distribution member (95) having a fluid inlet (see annotated fig. 1 below) and a fluid outlet (96a, 96b) (¶ 22; ¶ 23; ¶ 74 to ¶ 77; ¶ 81 to ¶ 85);
a high-voltage terminal (5) supported by the housing (4) or housing cover (4c); one or more busbars (10-13) associated with the high-voltage terminal (5) (¶ 38; ¶ 46 to ¶ 48; ¶ 61); and
one or more guides (6c, 91a) formed within the high-voltage terminal (5) to direct fluid from the fluid outlet (96a) to the one or more busbars (10-13) (¶ 78; ¶ 86; ¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the one or more busbars (10-13) comprises a plurality of bus bars (10-13) (¶ 38; ¶ 46 to ¶ 48; ¶ 61), and
the one or more guides (6c, 91a) comprises a plurality of windows (6c, 91a) (¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102).
Regarding claim 4/2/1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the high-voltage terminal (5) includes a discrete mounting pocket (90) for each busbar (10-13) (¶ 62).
Regarding claim 5/1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) each guide includes an inclined surface (6c) that directs fluid onto an associated busbar (¶ 100; ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 6/1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the distribution member (95) comprises one or more guide paths to direct fluid to the fluid outlet (96a, 96b) (¶ 22; ¶ 23; ¶ 74 to ¶ 77; ¶ 81 to ¶ 85).
Regarding claim 7/6/1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the high-voltage terminal (5) comprises an arcuate body that is associated with a lowermost portion of the distribution member (95) (fig. 6; ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the high-voltage terminal (5) is comprised of a plastic material (holder 90 is an insulating resin, see ¶ 62) and the one or more busbars (10-13) are comprised of a metal material (since it is a busbar, see ¶ 62).
Regarding claim 9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) an electric machine (1) (Abstract; ¶ 21) comprising:
a housing (4) or housing cover (4c) defining an internal cavity (¶ 23; ¶ 24);
a stator (2) and a rotor (3) positioned within the internal cavity (¶ 22 to ¶ 24);
a distribution member (95) supported by the housing (4) or housing cover (4c), the distribution member (95) having a fluid inlet (see annotated fig. 1 above) and a fluid outlet (96a, 96b) (¶ 22; ¶ 23; ¶ 74 to ¶ 77; ¶ 81 to ¶ 85),
wherein fluid flows from the fluid inlet to the fluid to cool windings (30) associated with the stator (2) and the rotor (3) (¶ 77 to ¶ 79; ¶ 89);
a high-voltage terminal (5) supported by the housing (4) or housing cover (4c); a plurality of busbars (10-13) associated with the high-voltage terminal (5) (¶ 38; ¶ 46 to ¶ 48; ¶ 61); and
a plurality of guides (6c, 91a) formed within the high-voltage terminal (5) to direct fluid from the fluid outlet (96a) to the plurality of busbars (10-13) (¶ 78; ¶ 86; ¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102).
Regarding claim 12/9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) each guide comprises an inclined surface (6c) that directs fluid onto an associated busbar (¶ 100; ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 13/9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the distribution member (95) comprises one or more guide paths to direct fluid to the fluid outlet (96a, 96b) (¶ 22; ¶ 23; ¶ 74 to ¶ 77; ¶ 81 to ¶ 85).
Regarding claim 14/13/9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the high-voltage terminal (5) comprises an arcuate body that is associated with a lowermost portion of the distribution member (95) (fig. 6; ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 15/14/13/9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) each busbar (11-13) has a first end fixed to the high-voltage terminal and a second end (see annotated fig. 4 above) that comprises a phase busbar attachment (11d, 12d, 13d) (¶ 38; ¶ 55; ¶ 61).
Regarding claim 16/15/14/13/9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) each second end (see annotated fig. 4 above) extends out radially relative to a center axis defined by the rotor (figs. 2 and 4; ¶ 38; ¶ 55; ¶ 61).
Regarding claim 17/15/14/13/9, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) each second end (see annotated fig. 4 above) extends in a direction that is parallel relative to a center axis defined by the rotor (figs. 2 and 4; ¶ 38; ¶ 55; ¶ 61).
Regarding claim 18, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) a method comprising: distributing a fluid through an electric machine housing (4) from a fluid inlet (see annotated fig. 1 above) to a fluid outlet (96a, 96b) (¶ 77 to ¶ 85);
directing fluid exiting the fluid outlet (96a) toward a high-voltage terminal (5) supported by the electric machine housing (4) (¶ 81 to ¶ 85; ¶ 90 to ¶ 92); and
guiding the fluid through the high-voltage terminal (5) to cool one or more busbars (10-13) associated with the high-voltage terminal (5) (¶ 90 to ¶ 102).
Regarding claim 19/18, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) forming one or more windows (6c, 91a) in the high-voltage terminal (5) to direct fluid from the fluid outlet (96a) to the one or more busbars (10-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 3, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai.
Regarding claim 3/2/1, Kumagai teaches the device of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach each busbar is associated with one or more windows of the plurality of windows.
However, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) a busbar (10) is associated with one or more windows (6c, 91a) of the plurality of windows (6c, 91a) (¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102) in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kumagai and provide each busbar is associated with one or more windows of the plurality of windows as taught by Kumagai in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87).
Regarding claim 10/9, Kumagai teaches the device of claim 9 but does not explicitly teach the plurality of guides comprises at least one window that is associated with each busbar.
However, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the plurality of guides comprises at least one window (6c, 91a) that is associated with a busbar (10) (¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102) in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kumagai and provide the plurality of guides comprises at least one window that is associated with each busbar as taught by Kumagai in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87).
Regarding claim 11/9, Kumagai teaches the device of claim 9 but does not explicitly teach the plurality of guides comprises more than one window that is associated with each busbar.
However, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) the plurality of guides comprises more than one window (6c, 91a) that is associated with a busbar (10) (¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102) in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kumagai and provide the plurality of guides comprises more than one window that is associated with each busbar as taught by Kumagai in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87) (¶ 78; ¶ 86; ¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102).
Regarding claim 20/19/18, Kumagai teaches the device of claim 19 but does not explicitly teach at least one window with each busbar and directing fluid through each window to cool an associated busbar.
However, Kumagai teaches (see figs. 1, 4 and 6 above) at least one window (6c, 91a) with a busbar (10) and directing fluid through each window (6c, 91a) to cool an associated busbar (10) (¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102) in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kumagai and provide at least one window with each busbar and directing fluid through each window to cool an associated busbar as taught by Kumagai in order to improve cooling and overall efficiency (Kumagai, ¶ 86; ¶ 87) (¶ 78; ¶ 86; ¶ 91; ¶ 92; ¶ 99 to ¶ 102).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang (US 10523094) teaches a power inverter with liquid cooled busbars includes multiple AC power outlets. The power inverter also includes a busbar having a busbar arm connected to one of the AC power outlets, and a busbar leg having a first end connected to the busbar arm. The busbar leg is at least partially situated in a cooling channel of the power inverter, which may be a built-in cooling channel or a detachable cooling channel. A second end of the busbar leg extends beyond the cooling channel and is exposed for electrical connection.
Nagumo (US 20150061426) teaches a rotating electrical machine is provided with: a plurality of bus bars that provide an electrical relay between an external power line, which is positioned on the outside of a housing, and a multiphase coil; an insulation cover that is mounted on the plurality of bus bars with a prescribed gap between each, and covers at least part of the bottom surface of each bus bar; and a coolant supply means that supplies a cooling fluid, which cools a stator, inside the housing. A through-hole, which vertically penetrates a bottom surface, is formed on the bottom surface of the insulation cover.
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834