DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see the Appeal Brief filed 11/25/2025, Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Bangolae (US 2018/0098370) and under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Bangolae and Tamaki (US 2023/0183971) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections are hereby withdrawn, and a new grounds of rejection is included herein.
Regarding Claims 29-33, particularly under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Bangolae and Mok (US 2020/0128470), Applicant argues, see Brief filed 11/25/2025 pgs 8-9, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bangolae does not explicitly teach “receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message from the remote UE via the relay communication link”, and Mok does not explicitly teach “receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message from the remote UE via the relay communication link,” therefore Bangolae and Mok, neither alone nor together, disclose or suggest the recited claim limitations therefore the claim is not obvious.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Bangolae discloses a terminal device, relay UE, and base station, where an exchange of configuration complete messages occurs between the relay UE and the base station once the connection is established ([0094]). Mok discloses the sending of configuration complete messages over from the terminal device over both a direct link to the base station ([0204]) and over a Uu link to the relay device. Bangolae already teaches that configuration complete messages can be communicated from the relay to the base station, and Mok teaches that configuration complete messages can be communicated from the terminal to the relay or from the terminal to the base station. There are only a limited number of configurations in which this configuration complete message can be sent between these three devices. While neither reference explicitly teaches this configuration, the combined teachings of these references make it clear that this information can be exchanged amongst all of these devices. It is unclear to examiner, and Applicant has yet to provide an argument, as to why it would not be obvious for the terminal device of Bangolae to incorporate the teachings of Mok and also transmit configuration complete message from the terminal through the relay link. For these reasons the rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 27, 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al (US 2018/0098370), in view of Tseng et al (US 2021/0136646).
Regarding Claim 21, Bangolae teaches an apparatus of a remote user equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry ([0066], Fig. 9, a remote UE 910), the apparatus configured to:
wherein the serving link is a sidelink between the remote UE and a base station ([0099], sidelink discovery configuration IE (IE SL-DiscConfig) can be communicated from the eNodeB to a remote UE. More specifically, the sidelink discovery configuration IE can be communicated via a SIB 18, a SIB 19, or an RRC connection reconfiguration or sidelink UE information message (SIB 18 inherently discloses a 5G network. SIB 18 is a system information block introduced in 3GPP Release 18 with the introduction of 5G advance and used to support network selection), [0079], RRC connection reconfiguration message can be communicated from an eNodeB to a relay UE, and used to initiate the UE's relay operation. When the eNodeB initiates the UE's relay operation in an existing RRC connection reconfiguration message, the RRC connection reconfiguration message can include a sidelink relay configuration field. The sidelink relay configuration field can include various parameters);
collect measurement data in accordance with the measurement configuration ([0066], Fig. 9, remote UE 910 can initially be in-coverage of the eNodeB 930. In other words, at least initially, a connection can be established between the remote UE 910 and the eNodeB 930, [0089], the remote UE can initially be connected to an eNodeB over a Uu interface. In other words, the remote UE can be in-coverage of the eNodeB. During this time, the remote UE can monitor a connection link quality (i.e., a link quality of the Uu interface) according to a legacy behavior. If the connection link quality (or serving channel quality) becomes less than a defined threshold, but the remote UE does not detect any neighboring cells for handover, the remote UE can perform a discovery procedure for relay UE selection); and
report the measurement data to a serving base station ([0067], the remote UE 910 can send a measurement report to the eNodeB 930 via the connection that is established between the remote UE. Based on the measurement report, the eNodeB 930 can transmit a relay initiation and configuration message to the relay UE 920, which instructs the relay UE 920 to act as a relay for the remote UE 910. In other words, the eNodeB 930 may determine that the connection between the remote UE 910 and the eNodeB 930 is below a defined threshold based on the remote UE's measurement report).
Bangolae fails to explicitly teach receive a measurement configuration for collecting measurement data for a serving link and a non-serving link, wherein the serving link is a fifth generation (5G) Uu link between the remote UE and a base station of a 5G network.
In the same field of endeavor, Tseng teaches receive a measurement configuration for collecting measurement data for a serving link and a non-serving link ([0121], further association between an SL CC on FR1 (e.g., CC #1) and an SL CC on FR2 (e.g., CC #2) may be configured. For example, a UE may be configured to deliver FR2 assistance information of SL operation on FR2 through the SL CC #1. In some implementations, the UE may transmit FR2 assistance information to the serving cell in FR1 (e.g., CC #1 in FIG. 2) through LTE/NR Uu interface. In some implementations, the UE may transmit FR2 assistance information to neighboring UEs (e.g., an SL group leader in an SL multi-cast (/group-cast) group, such as UE #1 in FIG. 2) through LTE/NR PC5 interface. In some implementations, FR2 assistance information may be transmitted to a serving cell (through (LTE/NR) Uu interface) or a paired UE (through PC5 RRC signaling (LTE/NR) PC5 interface) by transmitting an SL-measurement report), wherein the serving link is a fifth generation (5G) Uu link between the remote UE and a base station of a 5G network ([0122], UE may be configured with event-based SL measurement objects to provide SL-measurement reports after an SL radio link failure event (or SL physical layer problem) occurs. In the present disclosure, an additional timer, T312_SL, is introduced where the T312_SL may be configured to a UE with configured SL measurement objects. Moreover, in the present disclosure, the SL measurement objects may include the SL-measurement report to serving cell(s) (e.g., special cell, such as PCell and PSCell of the UE), the SL-measurement report to a paired UE in an SL unicast group, or other UEs. So, it is clear that an SL-measurement report corresponding to one SL-measObject may be transmitted through a (LTE/NR) Uu interface or a (LTE/NR) PC5 interface based on the target of an associated SL-measObject).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exchange of information over the Uu link with a base station when communicating in sidelink, as taught in Tseng, in the system of Bangolae, in order to enhance the reliability of carrier aggregation.
Regarding Claim 22, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 21 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches the non-serving link is between the remote UE and a non-serving base station or a non-serving relay UE ([0066], Fig. 9, remote UE 910 can initially be in-coverage of the eNodeB 930. In other words, at least initially, a connection can be established between the remote UE 910 and the eNodeB 930, [0089], the remote UE can initially be connected to an eNodeB over a Uu interface. In other words, the remote UE can be in-coverage of the eNodeB. During this time, the remote UE can monitor a connection link quality (i.e., a link quality of the Uu interface) according to a legacy behavior. If the connection link quality (or serving channel quality) becomes less than a defined threshold, but the remote UE does not detect any neighboring cells for handover, the remote UE can perform a discovery procedure for relay UE selection (~neighbor cells for handover indicate non-serving links)).
Regarding Claim 27, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng and Tamaki, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 21 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches wherein, when the remote UE is camped on the serving base station, the measurement data is reported to the serving base station via a serving link between the remote UE and the serving base station ([0067], the remote UE 910 can send a measurement report to the eNodeB 930 via the connection that is established between the remote UE. Based on the measurement report, the eNodeB 930 can transmit a relay initiation and configuration message to the relay UE 920, which instructs the relay UE 920 to act as a relay for the remote UE 910).
Regarding Claim 34, Bangolae teaches an apparatus of a relay user equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry ([0067], Fig. 9, Based on the measurement report, the eNodeB 930 can transmit a relay initiation and configuration message to the relay UE 920, which instructs the relay UE 920 to act as a relay for the remote UE 910), the apparatus configured to:
establish a relay communication link to a remote UE, wherein the relay UE receives information from the remote UE via the relay communication link and relays the information to a base station ([0099], sidelink discovery configuration IE (IE SL-DiscConfig) can be communicated from the eNodeB to a remote UE. More specifically, the sidelink discovery configuration IE can be communicated via a SIB 18, a SIB 19, or an RRC connection reconfiguration or sidelink UE information message (SIB 18 inherently discloses a 5G network. SIB 18 is a system information block introduced in 3GPP Release 18 with the introduction of 5G advance and used to support network selection)) via a 5G Uu link between the relay UE and the base station ([0079], RRC connection reconfiguration message can be communicated from an eNodeB to a relay UE, and used to initiate the UE's relay operation. When the eNodeB initiates the UE's relay operation in an existing RRC connection reconfiguration message, the RRC connection reconfiguration message can include a sidelink relay configuration field. The sidelink relay configuration field can include various parameters);
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for the remote UE from the base station, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message indicates that the remote UE is no longer to use the relay communication link ([0086], the sidelink relay control configuration (SLrelayControlConfiguration) parameter can indicate the relay UE to release or redirect a remote UE. This can be applicable during an out-of-coverage to an in-coverage scenario. Based on this parameter, the eNodeB can provide control to the relay UE to be able to release or direct remote UEs, such that the eNodeB is not involved in the release or direction of the remote UEs, [0079], RRC connection reconfiguration message can be communicated from an eNodeB to a relay UE, and used to initiate the UE's relay operation. When the eNodeB initiates the UE's relay operation in an existing RRC connection reconfiguration message, the RRC connection reconfiguration message can include a sidelink relay configuration field. The sidelink relay configuration field can include various parameters); and
send the RRC reconfiguration message to the remote UE ([0096], the relay UE can redirect the remote UE to establish a direct Uu connection with the eNodeB, as the relay UE has access to both the PC5 interface (i.e., the interface between the relay UE and the remote UE) and Uu link quality measurements (i.e., link quality measurements between the relay UE and the eNodeB). In this case, if the relay UE determines that the PC5 link quality is above a certain upper threshold, then the relay UE can recommend or initiate the remote UE to perform cell detection/measurements for establishing a direct link connection with the eNodeB. Once the remote UE has established communication with the eNodeB, the remote UE can request the relay UE to be released on the relay link for a graceful transition).
Bangolae fails to explicitly teach wherein the information is relayed to a base station of a fifth generation (5G) network via a 5G Uu link between the relay UE and the base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Tseng teaches wherein the information is relayed to a base station of a fifth generation (5G) network via a 5G Uu link between the relay UE and the base station ([0122], UE may be configured with event-based SL measurement objects to provide SL-measurement reports after an SL radio link failure event (or SL physical layer problem) occurs. In the present disclosure, an additional timer, T312_SL, is introduced where the T312_SL may be configured to a UE with configured SL measurement objects. Moreover, in the present disclosure, the SL measurement objects may include the SL-measurement report to serving cell(s) (e.g., special cell, such as PCell and PSCell of the UE), the SL-measurement report to a paired UE in an SL unicast group, or other UEs. So, it is clear that an SL-measurement report corresponding to one SL-measObject may be transmitted through a (LTE/NR) Uu interface or a (LTE/NR) PC5 interface based on the target of an associated SL-measObject).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the exchange of information over the Uu link with a base station when communicating in sidelink, as taught in Tseng, in the system of Bangolae, in order to enhance the reliability of carrier aggregation.
Regarding Claim 35, Bangolae, modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 34 above, Bangolae further comprising wherein the apparatus is further configured to: release the relay communication link when the remote UE and the relay UE receive the RRC reconfiguration message from the base station ([0086], the sidelink relay control configuration (SLrelayControlConfiguration) parameter can indicate the relay UE to release or redirect a remote UE. This can be applicable during an out-of-coverage to an in-coverage scenario. Based on this parameter, the eNodeB can provide control to the relay UE to be able to release or direct remote UEs, such that the eNodeB is not involved in the release or direction of the remote UEs, [0096], the relay UE can redirect the remote UE to establish a direct Uu connection with the eNodeB, as the relay UE has access to both the PC5 interface (i.e., the interface between the relay UE and the remote UE) and Uu link quality measurements (i.e., link quality measurements between the relay UE and the eNodeB). In this case, if the relay UE determines that the PC5 link quality is above a certain upper threshold, then the relay UE can recommend or initiate the remote UE to perform cell detection/measurements for establishing a direct link connection with the eNodeB. Once the remote UE has established communication with the eNodeB, the remote UE can request the relay UE to be released on the relay link for a graceful transition, [0079], RRC connection reconfiguration message can be communicated from an eNodeB to a relay UE, and used to initiate the UE's relay operation. When the eNodeB initiates the UE's relay operation in an existing RRC connection reconfiguration message, the RRC connection reconfiguration message can include a sidelink relay configuration field. The sidelink relay configuration field can include various parameters).
Regarding Claim 36, Bangolae, modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 35 above, Bangolae further comprising wherein the relay communication link is released when there are no non-relaying radio link control (RLC) channels on the relay communication link ([0042], the s-relay parameter (threshold relay lower) can represent a Uu link quality threshold above which a given UE can act as a relay. In other words, the given UE can have a link quality of a certain level in order to support acting as a relay for the remote UE 202. The Uu link quality threshold can be a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and/or a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) threshold. The s-relay parameter (threshold relay lower) can be used to ensure that UEs in poor coverage situations do not become relays, thereby avoiding excess use of the cell's resources to carry the relayed traffic between the eNodeB 206 and the relay UE 204. In one example, the s-relay parameter can be defined as thresholdLowRelayUE or discoveryThresholdLowRelayUE or in a similar manner. The s-relay parameter can be a lower threshold above which a particular UE can act as a relay, and the threshold upper parameter is a parameter below which a particular UE can act as a relay and above which the particular UE cannot act as a relay. In other words, both the s-relay parameter and the threshold upper parameter provide a range within which a particular UE can act as a relay).
Regarding Claim 37, Bangolae, modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 35 above, Bangolae further comprising wherein the apparatus is further configured to: Release the Uu link between the relay UE and the base station when the relay UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message from the base station ([0086], the sidelink relay control configuration (SLrelayControlConfiguration) parameter can indicate the relay UE to release or redirect a remote UE. This can be applicable during an out-of-coverage to an in-coverage scenario. Based on this parameter, the eNodeB can provide control to the relay UE to be able to release or direct remote UEs, such that the eNodeB is not involved in the release or direction of the remote UEs, [0096], the relay UE can redirect the remote UE to establish a direct Uu connection with the eNodeB, as the relay UE has access to both the PC5 interface (i.e., the interface between the relay UE and the remote UE) and Uu link quality measurements (i.e., link quality measurements between the relay UE and the eNodeB). In this case, if the relay UE determines that the PC5 link quality is above a certain upper threshold, then the relay UE can recommend or initiate the remote UE to perform cell detection/measurements for establishing a direct link connection with the eNodeB. Once the remote UE has established communication with the eNodeB, the remote UE can request the relay UE to be released on the relay link for a graceful transition).
Claims 23-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al (US 2018/0098370), in view of Tseng et al (US 2021/0136646), and further in view of Tamaki et al (US 2013/0183971).
Regarding Claim 23, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 21 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tamaki teaches wherein the measurement configuration configures the apparatus to collect measurement data on a per base station basis, a per relay UE basis or a per frequency band basis ([0072], the UE and/or RN may send measurement reports (e.g. as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B at 2 and 22 respectively according to the configuration received by an eNB (e.g. a source and/or target eNB). The eNB may configure intra-frequency measurement objects, inter-frequency measurement objects and/or inter-RAT measurement objects. The UE and/or RN may be configured with measurements gaps for inter-frequency measurements, during which gaps the UE and/or RN may not monitor any downlink signals and/or may not perform any uplink transmissions. In the IDLE mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations used for cell re-selection procedure via broadcast information. In the connected mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations via dedicated RRC signaling. The configuration of measurements may be partitioned by one or more of following parameters: measurement object where an object may be for a single E-UTRAN carrier frequency, either intra- or inter-frequency, and/or the object may include a list of cells to measure and/or a black list of cells (e.g. that may include cells that may be excluded from measurements); a reporting configuration where a configuration may include reporting criterion (e.g. periodic or single event) and/or a reporting format; measurement identities including, for example, a list of measurement identities that may link a measurement object with a reporting configuration; a quantity configuration that may define the measurement quantities and/or filtering that may be used for event (e.g. an all event) evaluation and reporting where, in embodiments, the quantity configuration may be defined for each radio access technology (RAT); a measurement gap such as a configuration for measurement gaps that UEs and/or RNs may use to perform measurements; and the like).
It would have been obvious to incorporate measurement configurations for both serving and non-serving links, as taught in Tamaki, in the system of Bangolae and Tseng, in order to expand the system to meet wireless demands while keeping costs reduced and maintaining system efficiency (See Tamaki [0002])
Regarding Claim 24, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 21 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tamaki teaches wherein the measurement configuration comprises an indication of when the remote UE is to provide the 5G network with the measurement data ([0072], the UE and/or RN may send measurement reports (e.g. as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B at 2 and 22 respectively according to the configuration received by an eNB (e.g. a source and/or target eNB). The eNB may configure intra-frequency measurement objects, inter-frequency measurement objects and/or inter-RAT measurement objects. The UE and/or RN may be configured with measurements gaps for inter-frequency measurements, during which gaps the UE and/or RN may not monitor any downlink signals and/or may not perform any uplink transmissions. In the IDLE mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations used for cell re-selection procedure via broadcast information. In the connected mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations via dedicated RRC signaling. The configuration of measurements may be partitioned by one or more of following parameters: measurement object where an object may be for a single E-UTRAN carrier frequency, either intra- or inter-frequency, and/or the object may include a list of cells to measure and/or a black list of cells (e.g. that may include cells that may be excluded from measurements); a reporting configuration where a configuration may include reporting criterion (e.g. periodic or single event) and/or a reporting format; measurement identities including, for example, a list of measurement identities that may link a measurement object with a reporting configuration; a quantity configuration that may define the measurement quantities and/or filtering that may be used for event (e.g. an all event) evaluation and reporting where, in embodiments, the quantity configuration may be defined for each radio access technology (RAT); a measurement gap such as a configuration for measurement gaps that UEs and/or RNs may use to perform measurements; and the like).
It would have been obvious to incorporate measurement configurations for both serving and non-serving links, as taught in Tamaki, in the system of Bangolae and Tseng, in order to expand the system to meet wireless demands while keeping costs reduced and maintaining system efficiency (See Tamaki [0002])
Regarding Claim 25, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng and Tamaki, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 24 above, wherein Tamaki further teaches wherein the measurement data is provided to the 5G network periodically in accordance with a schedule or a timer or based on a predetermined condition ([0072], the UE and/or RN may send measurement reports (e.g. as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B at 2 and 22 respectively according to the configuration received by an eNB (e.g. a source and/or target eNB). The eNB may configure intra-frequency measurement objects, inter-frequency measurement objects and/or inter-RAT measurement objects. The UE and/or RN may be configured with measurements gaps for inter-frequency measurements, during which gaps the UE and/or RN may not monitor any downlink signals and/or may not perform any uplink transmissions. In the IDLE mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations used for cell re-selection procedure via broadcast information. In the connected mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations via dedicated RRC signaling. The configuration of measurements may be partitioned by one or more of following parameters: measurement object where an object may be for a single E-UTRAN carrier frequency, either intra- or inter-frequency, and/or the object may include a list of cells to measure and/or a black list of cells (e.g. that may include cells that may be excluded from measurements); a reporting configuration where a configuration may include reporting criterion (e.g. periodic or single event) and/or a reporting format; measurement identities including, for example, a list of measurement identities that may link a measurement object with a reporting configuration; a quantity configuration that may define the measurement quantities and/or filtering that may be used for event (e.g. an all event) evaluation and reporting where, in embodiments, the quantity configuration may be defined for each radio access technology (RAT); a measurement gap such as a configuration for measurement gaps that UEs and/or RNs may use to perform measurements; and the like).
It would have been obvious to incorporate measurement configurations for both serving and non-serving links, as taught in Tamaki, in the system of Bangolae and Tseng, in order to expand the system to meet wireless demands while keeping costs reduced and maintaining system efficiency (See Tamaki [0002])
Regarding Claim 26, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng and Tamaki, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 25 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches wherein the predetermined condition comprises measurement data satisfying a predetermined threshold ([0066], Fig. 9, remote UE 910 can initially be in-coverage of the eNodeB 930. In other words, at least initially, a connection can be established between the remote UE 910 and the eNodeB 930, [0089], the remote UE can initially be connected to an eNodeB over a Uu interface. In other words, the remote UE can be in-coverage of the eNodeB. During this time, the remote UE can monitor a connection link quality (i.e., a link quality of the Uu interface) according to a legacy behavior. If the connection link quality (or serving channel quality) becomes less than a defined threshold, but the remote UE does not detect any neighboring cells for handover, the remote UE can perform a discovery procedure for relay UE selection).
Regarding Claim 28, Bangolae, as modified by Tseng, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 21 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tamaki teaches wherein, when the remote UE is camped on a serving relay UE, the measurement data is reported via a link to the serving relay UE which then relays the measurement data to the serving base station ([0072], the UE and/or RN may send measurement reports (e.g. as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B at 2 and 22 respectively according to the configuration received by an eNB (e.g. a source and/or target eNB). The eNB may configure intra-frequency measurement objects, inter-frequency measurement objects and/or inter-RAT measurement objects. The UE and/or RN may be configured with measurements gaps for inter-frequency measurements, during which gaps the UE and/or RN may not monitor any downlink signals and/or may not perform any uplink transmissions. In the IDLE mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations used for cell re-selection procedure via broadcast information. In the connected mode, the UE and/or RN may receive measurement configurations via dedicated RRC signaling. The configuration of measurements may be partitioned by one or more of following parameters: measurement object where an object may be for a single E-UTRAN carrier frequency, either intra- or inter-frequency, and/or the object may include a list of cells to measure and/or a black list of cells (e.g. that may include cells that may be excluded from measurements); a reporting configuration where a configuration may include reporting criterion (e.g. periodic or single event) and/or a reporting format; measurement identities including, for example, a list of measurement identities that may link a measurement object with a reporting configuration; a quantity configuration that may define the measurement quantities and/or filtering that may be used for event (e.g. an all event) evaluation and reporting where, in embodiments, the quantity configuration may be defined for each radio access technology (RAT); a measurement gap such as a configuration for measurement gaps that UEs and/or RNs may use to perform measurements; and the like).
It would have been obvious to incorporate measurement configurations for both serving and non-serving links, as taught in Tamaki, in the system of Bangolae and Tseng, in order to expand the system to meet wireless demands while keeping costs reduced and maintaining system efficiency (See Tamaki [0002])
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al (US 2018/0098370), in view of Mok et al (US 2020/0128470).
Regarding Claim 29, Bangolae teaches an apparatus of a relay user equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry ([0066], Fig. 9, relay user equipment (UE) 920), the apparatus configured to:
receive, from a base station, a configuration message comprising an indication that a relay communication link is to be established between the relay UE and a remote UE ([0067], Fig. 9, Based on the measurement report, the eNodeB 930 can transmit a relay initiation and configuration message to the relay UE 920, which instructs the relay UE 920 to act as a relay for the remote UE 910) , wherein the relay UE is to relay information sent from the remote UE to the base station ([0066], relay initiation signaling that enables a relay user equipment (UE) 920 to act as a relay between an eNodeB 930 and a remote UE 910);
configure the relay UE according to the configuration message ([0067], Fig. 9, Since the relay UE 920 has already received the relay configuration information message with the relay configuration parameters, the relay UE 920 can begin acting as a relay for the remote UE 910 after receiving the relay initiation and configuration message from the eNodeB 930);
send a message to the base station when the relay UE configuration is complete ([0094], after establishing a connection with the remote UE 1410, the relay UE 1420 can communicate a newly defined dedicated sidelink message or an existing sidelink UE information message to the eNodeB 1430, wherein this message may include information about the relay UE's connections to remote UEs. In particular, this message can include specific identifiers (IDs) of remote UEs that are connected to the relay UE 1420. Based on this information, the eNodeB 1430 can perform an RRC connection release with the remote UE 1410. In other words, the eNodeB 1430 can release a Uu connection with the remote UE 1410. Therefore, in this configuration, the release of the Uu connection can be initiated by the relay UE 1420 and/or the eNodeB 1430, as opposed to the remote UE 1410); and
establish the relay communication link to the remote UE ([0068], After a mutual authentication procedure is performed between the remote UE 910 and the relay UE 920, the relay UE 920 can act as a relay between the remote UE 910 and the eNodeB 930).
Bangolae fails to teach receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message from the remote UE via the relay communication link.
In the same field of endeavor, Mok teaches receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message from the remote UE via the relay communication link ([0203], Fig. 16, While performing the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure, the base station 120 may schedule the changed V2X radio path resource (sidelink scheduling resource or Uu radio path resource) and it may transmit the scheduled resource to the terminal 110 at operation 1630. As another embodiment, the base station 120 may compare the time when the base station 120 transmits the paging message to the terminal 110 at operation 1610 with the time when the RRC connection reconfiguration information is generated at operation 1630. If the interval between the two events is within the predetermine time gap, the base station 120 may allocate the scheduling resource designated to the terminal 110 (e.g., sidelink scheduling resource or Uu radio path resource) through the RRC connection reconfiguration to the terminal 110, [0204], At operation 1640, the terminal 110 may transmit the RRC connection reconfiguration setup complete message to the base station 120. Further, at operation 1650, the terminal 110 may transmit the V2X data through the scheduling resource designated to the terminal 110 (e.g., sidelink scheduling resource or Uu radio path resource, [0171], if the Uu radio path of the terminal 110 is in an idle mode, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request of the terminal 110 to the base station 120 through a relay terminal (UE) 140 that is directly communicable using the sidelink radio path. Here, with reference to FIGS. 13 to 16, an embodiment, in which the terminal 110 transmits the radio path change request to the base station using the relay UE 140 in a state where the Uu radio path of the terminal 110 is in an idle mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the receipt of RRC messages when connection links are established and transmitting RRC messages through a relay terminal in an idle mode, as taught in Mok, in the system of Bangolae, in order to heighten reliability in data transmission (See Mok [0002]).
Regarding Claim 30, Bangolae, as modified by Mok, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 29 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to: activate the relay communication link for relaying the information to the base station based on receiving the RRC reconfiguration complete message from the remote UE ([0123], embodiment of signaling capable of knowing whether the resource allocation in the change radio path is acquired may be a radio resource control (RRC) connection reconfiguration complete message or uplink grant (UL Grant) signaling, [0204], At operation 1640, the terminal 110 may transmit the RRC connection reconfiguration setup complete message to the base station 120. Further, at operation 1650, the terminal 110 may transmit the V2X data through the scheduling resource designated to the terminal 110 (e.g., sidelink scheduling resource or Uu radio path resource).
Regarding Claim 31, Bangolae, as modified by Mok, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 29 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to: activate the relay communication link for relaying the information to the base station based on a signal received from the base station ([0067], Fig. 9, Since the relay UE 920 has already received the relay configuration information message with the relay configuration parameters, the relay UE 920 can begin acting as a relay for the remote UE 910 after receiving the relay initiation and configuration message from the eNodeB 930).
Regarding Claim 32, Bangolae, as modified by Mok, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 29 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches wherein the apparatus is further configured to: activate the relay communication link for relaying the information to the base station based on a signal received from the remote UE ([0099], the remote UE can trigger the relay discovery procedure on its own based on the advertised thresholds in dedicated signaling or system information. In one example, these thresholds can be communicated to the remote UE via a sidelink discovery configuration information element (IE). The sidelink discovery configuration IE can be communicated from the eNodeB to the remote UE in a SIB 18, a SIB 19, or an RRC connection reconfiguration message. Based on the thresholds included in the sidelink discovery configuration IE, the remote UE can initiate a discovery procedure to identify a relay UE that is located in proximity to the remote UE).
Regarding Claim 33, Bangolae, as modified by Mok, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 29 above, wherein Bangolae further teaches wherein the configuration message comprises information associated with a radio link control (RLC) configuration and a bearer mapping configuration for a Uu link between the relay UE and the base station and the relay communication link between the relay UE and the remote UE ([0067], the eNodeB 930 may determine that the connection between the remote UE 910 and the eNodeB 930 is below a defined threshold based on the remote UE's measurement report. Therefore, the eNodeB 930 can instruct the relay UE 920 to act as a relay via the relay initiation and configuration message, which can be dedicated signaling that is specific to the relay UE 920 (i.e., not broadcast). Since the relay UE 920 has already received the relay configuration information message with the relay configuration parameters, the relay UE 920 can begin acting as a relay for the remote UE 910 after receiving the relay initiation and configuration message from the eNodeB 930, see also [0084] resource pool configuration).
Conclusion
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641