DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner appreciate the time and the effort of the Applicant in the compact prosecution of this case. The Application argues that the prior art fails to disclose “a length of the closed slot is from 27mm to 33mm, and a width of the closed slot is from 2mm to 4mm”. However, as shown below, the size of the resonating slot is an optimum value selected or set to achieve a result effective variable. To support this, Han et al. (US 20180342794) has been presented to disclose a closed slot sized as claimed.
If further efforts are made to clarify and fully define the invention, Applicant is advised to consider referencing specific paragraphs, column and line numbers, and/or figures from the cited prior art. While the citations provided are representative and mapped to individual claim limitations, other portions of the references may also be relevant. Incorporating such disclosures may assist the Applicant in preparing a more complete response to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20050153756) in view of Han et al. (US 20180342794).
Regarding claim 1:
Sato et al. disclose (in Fig. 7B) an antenna structure (7), comprising: a feeding radiation element (70), having a feeding point (11); a first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L), having a first grounding point (74R), wherein the first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L) is adjacent to the feeding radiation element (70); a second grounding radiation element (73L), having a second grounding point (74L); a connection radiation element (75L), coupled between the first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L) and the second grounding radiation element (73L); an extension radiation element (72L), coupled to the connection radiation element (75L), wherein a closed slot (See Fig.) is surrounded by the connection radiation element (75L) and the extension radiation element (72L); and a dielectric substrate (1), wherein the feeding radiation element (70), the first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L), the second grounding radiation element (73L), the connection radiation element (75L), and the extension radiation element (72L) are disposed on the dielectric substrate (1).
Sato et al. are silent on that a length of the closed slot is from 27 mm to 33 mm, and a width of closed slot is from 2 mm to 4 mm.
However, Han et al. teaches a length of a closed slot (114) is from 20 mm to 250 mm, and a width of the closed slot is from 10 mm to 30 mm (Para. 0071, Lines 8-13).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to apply the teachings of Han and select the length of the closed slot from 27 mm to 33 mm, and a width of closed slot from 2 mm to 4 mm in Sato’s antenna structure for the benefit of optimizing setting that maximizes received signal strength (Para. 0082, Lines 27-30) thereby ensuring that antenna efficiency is satisfactory regardless of the frequency of operation and regardless of the environmental loading conditions of the antenna (Para. 0007, Lines 21-24).
Regarding claim 2:
Sato et al. disclose a notch region (See Fig.) is defined by the first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L), the connection radiation element (75L), and the second grounding radiation element (73L).
Regarding claim 4:
Sato et al. disclose a first loop path is formed by the first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L), the extension radiation element (72L), and the second grounding radiation element (73L).
Regarding claim 5:
Sato et al. disclose a second loop path is formed by the first grounding radiation element (7R and 7L), the connection radiation element (75L), and the second grounding radiation element (73L).
Regarding claim 6:
Sato et al. disclose a length of the first loop path is greater than that of the second loop path (See Fig.).
Claims 3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20050153756) in view of Han et al. (US 20180342794) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20190198975).
Regarding claim 3:
Sato is silent on that the feeding radiation element substantially has an L-shape and extends into the notch region.
Chen discloses (in Figs. 1, 4A-4C) the feeding radiation element (defined by 130 and 140) substantially has an L-shape (See Figs.) and extends into the notch region (defined by the area formed by 110, 120, 160 and 170).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feeding radiation element substantially as an L-shape and extend into the notch region as taught by Chen into the modified device of Sato for the benefit of ensuring an effective radiation element for reducing the total antenna size and increasing the antenna operation bandwidth (Para. 0044, Lines 7-9).
Regarding claims 8-10:
Sato is silent on that a length of the first loop path is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the first frequency band as required by claim 8;
a length of the second loop path is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the second frequency band as required by claim 9; and
a length of the feeding radiation element is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the second frequency band as required by claim 10.
Chen et al. disclose a length of the first loop path (420) is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the first frequency band (Para. 0043, Lines 6-8; See Fig. 4B);
a length of the second loop path (430) is substantially equal to 0.5 wavelength of the second frequency band (Para. 0043, Lines 9-12; See Fig. 4C);
a length of the feeding radiation element (defined by 130 and 140) is substantially equal to 0.25 wavelength of the second frequency band (Para. 0043, Lines 2-5; See Fig. 4A).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the loop paths and the feeding radiation element as 0.5 and 0.25 wavelength respectively at their respective bands as taught by Chen et al. into the device of Lin for the benefit of optimizing the operation frequency band and the impedance matching of the antenna structure of the mobile device (Para. 0043, Lines 12-14) for maximum power transfer.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20050153756) in view of Han et al. (US 20180342794) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yeh (US 20150280319).
Regarding claim 7:
Sato disclose the antenna structure covers a first frequency band and a second frequency band (Para. 0071, Lines 1-7).
Sato is silent on that the first frequency band is from 700 MHz to 800 MHz, and the second frequency band is from 1710 MHz to 2170 MHz.
Yeh discloses the antenna structure covers a first frequency band and a second frequency band, the first frequency band is from 700 MHz to 800 MHz, and the second frequency band is from 1710 MHz to 2170 MHz (Para. 0003, Lines 7-14; Para. 0010, Lines 3-5; Para. 0015, Lines 3-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna structure covers a first frequency band and a second frequency band, the first frequency band is from 700 MHz to 800 MHz, and the second frequency band is from 1710 MHz to 2170 MHz as taught by Yeh into the device of Sato for the benefit of allowing the mobile antenna to simultaneously support the existing low and high frequency bands (Para. 0005, Lines 1-3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845