4Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1-16 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “431” has been used to designate both "first lead screw" and "first rotation transmission shaft" in figure 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 and 5 are indefinite as they recite “a 1-1 hinge end”, “a 1-2 hinge end”, “a 1-3 hinge end”, “a 2-1 hinge end”, “a 2-2 hinge end” and “a 2-3 hinge end”. It is not clear what these numbers refer to or if they describe a feature of the hinge ends.
Claim 16 is indefinite as it recites “the tilting link is rotated in the standing direction”. It is not clear what “standing direction” means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lücke (US 20220305965).
As concerns claim 1, Lücke teaches a vehicle seat position adjustment device comprising: a first fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3) and a second fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3) respectively mounted on front ends of a pair of seat rails (Lücke, fig. 2b: 3 and 4); a seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7) hinged to side frames (Lücke , see annotated fig. 2b) respectively mounted on rear ends of the seat rails (Lücke, fig. 2b: 3 and 4); a first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) hinged to the first fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3); a second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) hinged to the second fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3); and a driving device (Lücke , fig. 4: 10) connected to the first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and the second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and configured to transmit, to the first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and the second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22), rotational force to tilt the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7).
As concerns claim 2, Lücke teaches wherein the driving device (Lücke, fig. 4: 10) comprises: a first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) hinged to the first tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22) and configured to transmit the rotational force to the first tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22); a first lead screw (Lücke, fig. 3: 13.1) inserted into and coupled to the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) in a forward-and- rearward direction so as to move the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) forwards and rearwards, wherein the first lead screw (Lücke, fig. 3: 13.1) has a rear end hinged to a connection frame (Lücke, fig. 3: 12, see annotated fig. 3) configured to connect the pair of seat rails (Lücke, fig. 2b: 3 and 4); a second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14) hinged to the second tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22) and configured to transmit the rotational force to the second tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22); a second lead screw (Lücke, fig. 3: 14.1) inserted into and coupled to the second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14) in the forward- and-rearward direction so as to move the second gear box (Lücke , fig. 2a: 14) forwards and rearwards, wherein the second lead screw (Lücke, fig. 3: 14.1) has a rear end hinged to the connection frame (Lücke, fig. 3: 12, see annotated fig. 3) configured to connect the pair of seat rails (Lücke, fig. 2b: 3 and 4); and a double-shaft motor (Lücke, fig. 3: 30) connected to the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) and the second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14) so as to transmit the rotational force to the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) and the second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14).
As concerns claim 3, Lücke teaches a first front link (Lücke, fig. 2a: 15.2) having one end hinged to the first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and another end hinged to a first front end of the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7); and a second front link (Lücke, fig. 2a: 15.1) having one end hinged to the second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and another end hinged to a second front end of the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7).
As concerns claim 4, Lücke teaches wherein the first tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22) has a 1-1 hinge (Lücke, see annotated fig. 3) end formed at an upper end thereof and hinged to the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13), a 1-2 hinge (Lücke, see annotated fig. 3) end formed at a front end thereof and hinged to the first front link (Lücke, fig. 2a: 15.2), and a 1-3 hinge (Lücke, is a mirror of 2-3 hinge end, see annotated fig. 3) end formed at a lower end thereof and hinged to the first fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 3: 12, see annotated fig. 3).
As concerns claim 5, Lücke teaches wherein the second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) has a 2-1 hinge end (Lücke, see annotated fig. 3) formed at an upper end thereof and hinged to the second gear box (Lücke , fig. 2a: 14), a 2-2 hinge end (Lücke, see annotated fig. 3) formed at a front end thereof and hinged to the second front link (Lücke, fig. 2a: 15.1), and a 2-3 hinge end (Lücke, see annotated fig. 3) formed at a lower end thereof and hinged to the second fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3).
As concerns claim 6, Lücke teaches wherein the first lead screw (Lücke , fig. 3: 13.1) passing through the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) and the second lead screw (Lücke , fig. 3: 14.1) passing through the second gear box (Lücke , fig. 2a: 14) have stopper nuts (Lücke, fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3) respectively coupled to front ends thereof, wherein each of the stopper nuts (Lücke, fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3) limits a maximum forward distance of the first gear box (Lücke , fig. 2b: 13) and the second gear box (Lücke , fig. 2a: 14).
As concerns claim 7, Lücke teaches wherein the double-shaft motor (Lücke, fig. 3: 30) has a support plate (Lücke, fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3) mounted thereon, wherein the support plate (Lücke, fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3) is connected to the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) and the second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14) and supports the double-shaft motor (Lücke, fig. 3: 30).
As concerns claim 8, Lücke teaches wherein the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13) has a first cover bracket (Lücke, fig. 3: G) mounted on a circumferential portion thereof, wherein the first cover bracket (Lücke, fig. 3: G) comprises an outer plate hinged to an upper end of the first tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22) and a connection end coupled to one end of the support plate (Lücke, fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3).
As concerns claim 9, Lücke teaches wherein the second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14) has a second cover bracket (Lücke, fig. 3: G) mounted on a circumferential portion thereof, wherein the second cover bracket (Lücke, fig. 3: G) comprises an outer plate hinged to an upper end of the second tilting link (Lücke, fig. 3: 22) and a connection end coupled to another end of the support plate (Lücke, fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3).
As concerns claim 10, Lücke teaches wherein the connection frame (Lücke, fig. 3: 12, see annotated fig. 3) has hinge brackets mounted thereon and respectively hinged to the rear end of the first lead screw (Lücke , fig. 3: 13.1) and the rear end of the second lead screw (Lücke , fig. 3: 14.1).
As concerns claim 11, Lücke teaches wherein a flexible cable (Lücke, paragraph 0040, lines 8-9) is adopted for a first rotation transmission shaft (Lücke, fig. 3: 14.3) and a second rotation transmission shaft (Lücke, fig. 3: 13.3), wherein the first rotation transmission shaft (Lücke, fig. 3: 14.3) connects one output part of the double-shaft motor (Lücke, fig. 3: 30) to an input part of the first gear box (Lücke, fig. 2b: 13), and the second rotation transmission shaft (Lücke, fig. 3: 13.3) connects the other output part of the double-shaft motor (Lücke, fig. 3: 30) to an input part of the second gear box (Lücke, fig. 2a: 14).
As concerns claim 14, Lücke teaches a vehicle seat comprising the vehicle seat adjustment device (Lücke, paragraph 0003).
As concerns claim 15, Lücke teaches a vehicle comprising the vehicle seat adjustment device (Lücke, paragraph 0003).
As concerns claim 16, Lücke teaches a method of operating a vehicle seat position adjustment device, the method comprising: providing a vehicle seat position adjustment device comprising: a first fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3) and a second fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3) respectively mounted on front ends of a pair of seat rails (Lücke, fig. 2b: 3 and 4); a seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7) hinged to side frames (Lücke , see annotated fig. 2b) respectively mounted on rear ends of the seat rails (Lücke, fig. 2b: 3 and 4); a tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) comprising a first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) hinged to the first fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3) and a second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) hinged to the second fixing bracket (Lücke, fig. 4: 12, see annotated fig. 3); and a driving device (Lücke , fig. 4: 10) connected to the first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and the second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and configured to transmit, to the first tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) and the second tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22), rotational force to tilt the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7); performing a tilting operation of a seat cushion (Lücke , fig. 1c: 6) by rotating a tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) hinged to a gear box (Lücke , fig. 2b: 13 and fig. 2b:14) in a standing direction of the tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) while the gear box (Lücke , fig. 2b: 13 and fig. 2b: 14) is moved rearwards along a lead screw (Lücke , fig. 2b: 13.1 and 14.1); pushing up a front link (Lücke, fig. 2a: 15.1 and 15.2) hinged to the tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) while the tilting link (Lücke , fig. 3: 22) is rotated in the standing direction, and allowing the front link (Lücke, fig. 2a: 15.1 and 15.2) to push up a front end of the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lücke (US 20220305965) in view of Susko (US 12179636).
As concerns claim 12, Lücke teaches the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7) and lower ends respectively hinged to opposite rear ends of the side frames (Lücke , see annotated fig. 2b).
Lücke does not teach the first and second height adjustment links, a sector gear, a height adjustment motor, and a pinion.
However, Susko teaches first and second height adjustment links (Susko, fig. 5: 136) having upper ends respectively hinged to opposite rear ends; a sector gear (Susko, fig. 5: 148) formed at a front portion of the upper end of the first height adjustment link (Susko, fig. 5: 136); a height adjustment motor (Susko, fig. 3: 132) mounted on one rear end of the seat cushion frame; and a pinion (Susko, see annotated figure 5) mounted on an output shaft of the height adjustment motor (Susko, fig. 3: 132) and engaged with the sector gear (Susko, fig. 5: 148).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify Lucke with teachings of Susko in order to provide the seat with a rear actuator to allow the seat to be moved to different positions to provide better comfort. While Susko only shows one side of the seat, it would have been obvious to provide a height adjustment link on both sides of the seat, such that there are two links, to better support the seat and control the position of the seat.
As concerns claim 13, Lücke teaches the seat cushion frame (Lücke, fig. 2b: 7) as discussed above.
Lücke does not teach the first height adjustment link having a curved slot, wherein the curved slot limits a lifting distance of the seat cushion frame.
However, Susko does teach the first height adjustment link (Susko, fig. 5: 136) has a curved slot (Susko, fig. 7: 144) formed at an upper portion thereof and formed to penetrate the upper portion, wherein the curved slot (Susko, fig. 7: 144) limits a lifting distance of the seat cushion frame has a guidance pin (Susko, fig. 7: 140) formed to protrude from the one rear end thereof and movably inserted into the curved slot (Susko, fig. 7: 144).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to the invention, to modify Lucke with teachings of Susko in order to provide the seat with a rear actuator to allow the seat to be moved to different positions to provide better comfort. While Susko only shows one side of the seat, it would have been obvious to provide a height adjustment link on both sides of the seat, such that there are two links, to better support the seat and control the position of the seat.
Conclusion
JESSICA K THOMPSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636