DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-17 and 20-24 are currently pending. Claims 2-3 and 18-19 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes Fu which teach the newly amended limitations as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US PG Pub. 2017/0086125 A1) in view of Fu et al. (US 2023/0354144 A1) hereinafter Fu.
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches: A sidelink relaying method, ([0001], [0007] - Discloses method for relaying discovery signal for terminal-to-terminal (D2D) communication) comprises: performing, by a first electronic device, a first operation in a relay establishment process for a sidelink based on relay quantity-related information in the sidelink; ([0008] - UE detects discovery signals and determines whether to relay; [0010] - UE decides to relay one discovery signal; [0008], [0009] - Determining whether to relay based on first hop count contained in plurality of discovery signals) wherein the first electronic device is an electronic device in the sidelink. ([0058] and Fig. 8 - UE2 relays UE1 discovery signal; UE participating in D2D communication)
wherein the first electronic device is an electronic device in the sidelink, ([0058, 0073] UE participating in D2D communication that performs relaying)
wherein the relay quantity-related information comprises a maximum number of relays in the sidelink;([0062] - Upper limit of hop count may be limited to N to prevent discovery signal from being relayed during many hops)
wherein the maximum number of relays is configured by a network device, ([0068] - Each discovery signal may have upper limit of unique hop count; maximum hop count value added to current hop count, [0094-0095] further explain eNB may allocate resources and command UE to determine whether discovery signal will be relayed)
Seo broadly discloses: wherein the maximum number of relays is configured based on at least one of: a service type of the sidelink, and Quality of Service (QoS) of the sidelink. ([0068] - Coverage to be discovered for each UE may have different sizes, so each discovery signal may have unique hop count)
How Fu expliclity discloses wherein the maximum number of relays is configured based on at least one of: a service type of the sidelink, and Quality of Service (QoS) of the sidelink. ([0128] and Fig 2 a different maximum hop count set by the application and could vary based on the application needs, application layer needs are then connected to different PC5 QoS flows)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified hop counter disclosed by Seo to include the max hop count logic of Fu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because UE to UE relays require additional fields and logic to manage potential undesirable relays that or paths for some applications as suggested by Fu, [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the relay quantity-related information comprises at least one of: first hop counter in a first message, ([0008] - First hop count included in plurality of discovery signals; [0062] - Hop Count #0 for signal initially transmitted from source UE) a first hop device list in the first electronic device; wherein the first message is configured for a relay discovery process for a first sidelink,([0061] - Discovery signal relayed by another UE; [0058] - UE2 performs relaying so UE3 can discover UE1) and the first hop counter is configured to indicate a number of electronic devices that have forwarded the first message; ([0062] - Relaying of discovery signal corresponding to Hop Count #n defined as Hop Count #n+1) the first hop device list is determined based on a number of hops between the first electronic device and each of at least one device.
Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first message is a discovery message or a direct communication request (DCR) message. ([0054] - Discovery signal indicating presence of UE; [0059] - Discovery message includes UE identifier)
Regarding claim 6, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the performing, by a first electronic device, a first operation in a relay establishment process for a sidelink based on relay quantity-related information in the sidelink, comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, whether to forward the first message based on the relay quantity-related information, ([0073] - UE may use distribution of hop counts of discovery signals as reference for determining whether discovery signal will be relayed)
in response to receiving the first message. ([0058] - When UE2 receives discovery signal from UE1; [0075] - After UE A detects UE B discovery signal).
Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the determining, by the first electronic device, whether to forward the first message based on the relay quantity-related information, comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, whether a number of hops between the first electronic device and a target device of the first message is less than or equal to a third threshold based on the first hop device list; ([0062] - Discovery signal having “Hop Count=N” is no longer relayed; [0069] - Discovery signal having “Hop Count=0” is no longer relayed) forwarding, by the first electronic device, the first message, in response to the number of hops between the first electronic device and the target device being less than or equal to the third threshold; ([0062] - Signal relayed if current hop count not equal to maximum hop count) wherein the third threshold is determined based on a maximum number of relays in the first sidelink and/or the first hop counter in the first message. ([0062] - Maximum hop count (N) and current hop count determine if relaying continues; [0068] - If current hop count identical to maximum hop count, signal no longer relayed)
Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: updating, by the first electronic device, a first hop device list in the first electronic device, in response to receiving a second message from a second electronic device; wherein the second message is configured to indicate a second hop device list in the second electronic device. ([0094-0096] – Allocating resources to transmit both a source UE and a the discovery signal for a secondary UE)
Regarding claim 9, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the updating, by the first electronic device, a first hop device list in the first electronic device, comprises: updating, by first electronic device, the first hop device list based on at least one of related information of the second electronic device and related information of a third electronic device in the second hop device list. ([0097-0098] – In the event of multiple replaying and the same discovery signals may be used by different UE may be indicated by a signal having the same information regarding source UE)
Regarding claim 10, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the updating, by first electronic device, the first hop device list based on related information of the second electronic device, comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, a preset first value as a number of hops between the first electronic device and the second electronic device; ([0058] and Fig. 8 - UE2 relays UE1 discovery signal; UE participating in D2D communication) adding or updating, by first electronic device, the related information of the second electronic device into the first hop device list based on the number of hops between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the related information of the second electronic device is configured to indicate the number of hops between the first electronic device and the second electronic device; ([0062] - Relaying of discovery signal corresponding to Hop Count #n defined as Hop Count #n+1) wherein the updating, by first electronic device, the first hop device list based on related information of a third electronic device in the second hop device list, comprises: determining, by the first electronic device, a number of hops between the second electronic device and the third electronic device based on the related information of the third electronic device in the second hop device list; ([0097-0098] – In the event of multiple replaying and the same discovery signals may be used by different UE may be indicated by a signal having the same information regarding source UE) determining, by the first electronic device, a number of hops between the first electronic device and the third electronic device based on the number of hops between the second electronic device and the third electronic device; and updating, by first electronic device, the first hop device list based on the number of hops between the first electronic device and the third electronic device. ([0061] - Discovery signal relayed by another UE; [0058] - UE2 performs relaying so UE3 can discover UE1)
Regarding claim 11, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the relay quantity-related information comprises a number of relay devices in each link of at least one link forwarding a third message, ([0073] - Distribution of hop counts of discovery signals detected during time section; [0076] - Different hop count values for detected signals) and the third message is configured for a relay discovery process for a second sidelink. ([0058] - Discovery signal relayed for discovery process)
Regarding claim 12, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the performing, by a first electronic device, a first operation in a relay establishment process for a sidelink based on relay quantity-related information, comprises: determining, by first electronic device, the second sidelink from the at least one link based on the number of relay devices in each link of the at least one link. ([0073] - UE uses distribution of hop counts as reference for determining whether to relay; [0078] - UE decides to relay corresponding discovery signal)
Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the determining, by first electronic device, the second sidelink from the at least one link based on the number of relay devices in each link of the at least one link, comprises: determining, by first electronic device, the second sidelink from the at least one link based on the number of relay devices in each link of the at least one link and first information; ([0081] - Relaying determined based on Rx quality of discovery signal as alternative to hop count distribution) wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a link quality parameter ([0081], [0082] - Rx signal quality used to determine relaying; probability of relaying reduced proportional to increasing Rx signal quality), buffer capacity of a relay device, a channel busy ratio ([0084] - Overall interference level within discovery resource pool maintained), and a high-level indication.
Regarding claim 14, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: initiating, by first electronic device, a relay reselection process for a third sidelink. ( [0083] - If UE A detects UE-B discovery signal with hop count to be established in relaying signal, another UE performs relaying and may cancel scheduled relaying)
Regarding claim 15, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first electronic device is a source device of a fourth message or an electronic device close to a source device in a sub-link that triggers reselection in the third sidelink, wherein the fourth message is configured for a relay discovery process for the third sidelink. ([0075] - UE A located in vicinity of exterior border of hop (n) during relaying; [0078] - UE E or UE G may perform relaying)
Regarding claim 16, Seo teaches: The method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the relay reselection process is initiated by the first electronic device in response to at least one of following conditions being met: at least one sub-link of the third sidelink being disconnected; link quality of the at least one sub-link being lower than a second threshold; ([0082] - If Rx signal has high quality, more distant UE scheduled to perform relaying) and a fourth sidelink existing between a source device and a target device of the third sidelink; wherein a number of relay devices in the fourth sidelink is less than that in the third sidelink, or link quality of the fourth sidelink is higher than that of the third sidelink. ([0078] - Another UE located at border can relay; [0079] - Two UEs located close to each other based on Rx power level)
Regarding claim 17, Seo teaches: A first electronic device in a sidelink, comprising a processor and a memory, ([0107] - Communication device 1100 includes processor 1110 and memory 1120) wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, when called and run by the processor to execute: ([0108] - Processor configured to carry out operations; [0109] - Memory stores operating system, applications, program code) performing a first operation in a relay establishment process for the sidelink based on relay quantity-related information in the sidelink ([0108] - Processor performs operations of embodiments including relay determination; [0008], [0009] - Determining whether to relay based on first hop count contained in plurality of discovery signals)
wherein the first electronic device is an electronic device in the sidelink, ([0058, 0073] UE participating in D2D communication that performs relaying)
wherein the relay quantity-related information comprises a maximum number of relays in the sidelink;([0062] - Upper limit of hop count may be limited to N to prevent discovery signal from being relayed during many hops)
wherein the maximum number of relays is configured by a network device, ([0068] - Each discovery signal may have upper limit of unique hop count; maximum hop count value added to current hop count, [0094-0095] further explain eNB may allocate resources and command UE to determine whether discovery signal will be relayed)
Seo broadly discloses: wherein the maximum number of relays is configured based on at least one of: a service type of the sidelink, and Quality of Service (QoS) of the sidelink. ([0068] - Coverage to be discovered for each UE may have different sizes, so each discovery signal may have unique hop count)
How Fu expliclity discloses wherein the maximum number of relays is configured based on at least one of: a service type of the sidelink, and Quality of Service (QoS) of the sidelink. ([0128] and Fig 2 a different maximum hop count set by the application and could vary based on the application needs, application layer needs are then connected to different PC5 QoS flows)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified hop counter disclosed by Seo to include the max hop count logic of Fu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because UE to UE relays require additional fields and logic to manage potential undesirable relays that or paths for some applications as suggested by Fu, [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 20, Seo teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, wherein the computer program is capable of causing a computer in a sidelink to execute: ([0113] - Method implemented by firmware or software through modules, procedures, and/or functions; software code stored in memory unit) performing a first operation in a relay establishment process for the sidelink based on relay quantity-related information in the sidelink, ([0108] - Processor performs operations of embodiments including relay determination; [0008], [0009] - Determining whether to relay based on first hop count contained in plurality of discovery signals)
wherein the first electronic device is an electronic device in the sidelink, ([0058, 0073] UE participating in D2D communication that performs relaying)
wherein the relay quantity-related information comprises a maximum number of relays in the sidelink;([0062] - Upper limit of hop count may be limited to N to prevent discovery signal from being relayed during many hops)
wherein the maximum number of relays is configured by a network device, ([0068] - Each discovery signal may have upper limit of unique hop count; maximum hop count value added to current hop count, [0094-0095] further explain eNB may allocate resources and command UE to determine whether discovery signal will be relayed)
Seo broadly discloses wherein the maximum number of relays is configured based on at least one of: a service type of the sidelink, and Quality of Service (QoS) of the sidelink. ([0068] - Coverage to be discovered for each UE may have different sizes, so each discovery signal may have unique hop count)
How Fu explicitly discloses wherein the maximum number of relays is configured based on at least one of: a service type of the sidelink, and Quality of Service (QoS) of the sidelink. ([0128] and Fig 2 a different maximum hop count set by the application and could vary based on the application needs, application layer needs are then connected to different PC5 QoS flows)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified hop counter disclosed by Seo to include the max hop count logic of Fu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because UE to UE relays require additional fields and logic to manage potential undesirable relays that or paths for some applications as suggested by Fu, [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 21, Seo discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, which are taught by Fu, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a first hop device list comprises related information of M electronic devices, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, ([0163, 0167, 0125, 136] list of reachable neighbor list, multiple relay devices are listed) the related information comprises identification information of the electronic device. ([0150, 0152, 0157] includes relay ID, or Relay UE info).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified hop counter disclosed by Seo to include the max hop count logic of Fu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because UE to UE relays require additional fields and logic to manage potential undesirable relays that or paths for some applications as suggested by Fu, [0006-0007].
Regarding claim 22, Seo discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, which are taught by Fu, The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the first electronic device, that a number of hops between the first electronic device and a target device of a first message is less than or equal to a third threshold, ([0139, 0127-0128, 0133, 0140] multiple paths with different hop counts with a relationship between hops and relays, hop threshold and threshold checking, path evaluation occurs).
in response to a first hop device list comprising related information of the target device, ([0137, 0167] target device identifier present, UE can check neighbor lists to see which relay can reach target through reachable list)
wherein the first message is configured for a relay discovery process for a first sidelink, ([0125, 0163, 0165] broadcast direct communication request with relay discovery procedure) the third threshold is determined based on a maximum number of relays in the first sidelink and/or a first hop counter in the first message, ([0128-0127, 0131] relay_indication value max number of relays, hop counter field in the message)
the first hop counter is configured to indicate a number of electronic devices that have forwarded the first message. ([0128, 0131-0132] relay_indication tracks relay usage, each forwarding decrements counter)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified hop counter disclosed by Seo to include the max hop count logic of Fu . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because UE to UE relays require additional fields and logic to manage potential undesirable relays that or paths for some applications as suggested by Fu, [0006-0007].
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected based on a similar rationale of claims 21 and 22 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NICHOLAS JENSEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472