DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications filed on January 11, 2024. This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claims 1, 11, and 17 are independent claims.
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS(s)) submitted on 01/11/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Paragraph 00205 of the Specification recites “computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se, such as radio waves or other freely propagating electromagnetic waves, electromagnetic waves propagating through a waveguide, light pulses passing through a fiber optic cable, electrical signals communicated through a wire, and/or other transmission media.” Accordingly, claims 17-20 are interpreted to refer to non-transitory computer readable storage media.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the compiling component". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8-11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flammia, US Patent 12,488,170 (“Flamia”), and further in view of Ding et al., US Publication 2024/0169233 (“Ding”).
Claim 1:
Flammia teaches or suggests a system, comprising:
a memory that stores computer executable components; and a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise:
an identification component that identifies a quantum channel within a quantum circuit that is configured for execution at a quantum processor (see Fig. 1-3; col. 4, lines 5-41 - model, at block 104, noise channels for the individual gates of the quantum circuit. Pauli channels for a stochastic model are determined for gates of a quantum circuit; col. 5, lines 19-20 - multiple different sets of Pauli channel models are determined.);
an evaluation component that generates a reshaped quantum channel based on application of quantum twirling to the quantum channel (see Fig. 1-3; col. 4, lines 6-55 - noise channels for the individual gates of the quantum circuit are twirled into a standard form such that the quantum gates are limited in that the quantum gates are primarily subject to only noise which is in a noise channel. Pauli twirl (as described in more detail below) is applied to the quantum gates such that the quantum gates are only subject to noise which is in one of the Pauli channels; col. 5, lines 32-33 - Pauli twirl is applied to the gates of the quantum circuit that are to be modeled.).
Though Flammia teaches that twirling can be interpreted as the mean of a random process where a Pauli is selected uniformly at random (col. 7, lines 37-39), Ding more specifically teaches or suggests a distribution component that employs a fixed distribution of a specified set of twirl groups over which the quantum twirling is directed by the system (see para. 0085 - Clifford group C(d),;;;SU(d) and let the measure μc be the uniform distribution over C(d). of the uniform distribution over the Clifford group; para. 0086 - URB scheme can be found over other distributions over the Clifford group. This result can be extended to any unitary 2-design that is a uniform distribution over a finite set; para. 0127 - where the gate set is taken as a group tG'r , with the distribution μ being the uniform distribution over the group; para. 0134 - Each random element is chosen uniformly from the set of n-qubit Pauli operators.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ding with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently reducing the size of a twirl group, which reduces gate overhead/depth, sample complexity, and simplifies simulation, as taught by Ding (0085, 0086, 0127, 0134).
Claim(s) 11 and 17:
Claim(s) 11 and 17 correspond to claim 1, and thus, Flammia and Ding teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 11 and 17 as well.
Claim 4:
Flammia further teaches or suggests wherein the quantum channel is configured to be executed over a set of qubits of the quantum processor, wherein the … twirl … is employed for a first qubit of a set of qubits, and wherein the compiling component employs … for a second qubit of the set of qubits (see Fig. 1-3; col. 4, lines 5-41 - model, at block 104, noise channels for the individual gates of the quantum circuit. Pauli channels for a stochastic model are determined for gates of a quantum circuit; col. 4, lines 6-55 - noise channels for the individual gates of the quantum circuit are twirled into a standard form such that the quantum gates are limited in that the quantum gates are primarily subject to only noise which is in a noise channel. Pauli twirl (as described in more detail below) is applied to the quantum gates such that the quantum gates are only subject to noise which is in one of the Pauli channels; col. 5, lines 19-28 - multiple different sets of Pauli channel models are determined. Pauli channels for each gate; col. 5, lines 32-33 - Pauli twirl is applied to the gates of the quantum circuit that are to be modeled; col. 7, lines 2 - are single-qubit Paulis acting on qubit.).
Ding further teaches or suggests the specified set of twirl groups is a first specified set of twirl groups … employs a second fixed distribution of a second specified set of second twirl groups (see para. 0085 - Clifford group C(d),;;;SU(d) and let the measure μc be the uniform distribution over C(d). of the uniform distribution over the Clifford group; para. 0086 - URB scheme can be found over other distributions over the Clifford group. This result can be extended to any unitary 2-design that is a uniform distribution over a finite set; para. 0127 - where the gate set is taken as a group tG'r , with the distribution μ being the uniform distribution over the group; para. 0134 - Each random element is chosen uniformly from the set of n-qubit Pauli operators.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ding with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently reducing the size of a twirl group, which reduces gate overhead/depth, sample complexity, and simplifies simulation, as taught by Ding (0085, 0086, 0127, 0134).
Claim(s) 16:
Claim(s) 16 correspond to claim 4, and thus, Flammia and Ding teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 16 as well.
Claim 8:
Flammia further teaches or suggests wherein application of the quantum twirling comprises compiling, by a compiling component of the system, a set of modified quantum circuits comprising the twirl groups, wherein the modified quantum circuits of the set comprise the quantum channel bookended by an adjoint of a twirl group … before the quantum channel and by the twirl group after the quantum channel (see Fig. 1-3; col. 7, lines 36-40 - the Pauli error rates of a general channel are spoken of by considering its Pauli twirl. Note that twirling can be interpreted as the mean of a random process where a Pauli is selected uniformly at random and applied both before and after the channel.).
Ding further teaches or suggests of the fixed distribution (see para. 0085 - Clifford group C(d),;;;SU(d) and let the measure μc be the uniform distribution over C(d). of the uniform distribution over the Clifford group; para. 0086 - URB scheme can be found over other distributions over the Clifford group. This result can be extended to any unitary 2-design that is a uniform distribution over a finite set; para. 0127 - where the gate set is taken as a group tG'r , with the distribution μ being the uniform distribution over the group; para. 0134 - Each random element is chosen uniformly from the set of n-qubit Pauli operators.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ding with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently reducing the size of a twirl group, which reduces gate overhead/depth, sample complexity, and simplifies simulation, as taught by Ding (0085, 0086, 0127, 0134).
Claim(s) 13 and 19:
Claim(s) 13 and 19 correspond to claim 8, and thus, Flammia and Ding teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 13 and 19 as well.
Claim 9:
Flammia further teaches or suggests an execution component that directs execution of the set of modified quantum circuits at the quantum processor (see Fig. 1-3; col. 4, lines 10-66 - the noise channels are sampled using inputs that have a property such that the respective inputs are on average Eigen-operators of the noise channels for the respective quantum gates. overall eigenvalue for the quantum circuit is determined (e.g. estimated) based on an average of the measured outputs of the respective Pauli channels; col. 6, lines 54-56 - Averaged circuit eigenvalue sampling (ACES) allows for incoherent noise, modeled as a Pauli channel, to be learned extremely efficiently; col. 8, lines 12-22 – implementation of these circuits will be noisy, and it is desired to characterize the incoherent Pauli averaged noise in these circuits, specifically in the generators used to create the circuits. implements the same unitary operation. However, the noisy gates inside the physically implemented circuit ensemble are now, on average, subject only to noise which is a Pauli channel.).
Claim 10:
Flammia further teaches or suggests wherein the evaluation component averages expectation values resulting from the execution of the set of modified quantum circuits, wherein the reshaped quantum channel is based on an average of the expectation values (see Fig. 1-3; col. 4, lines 10-66 - the noise channels are sampled using inputs that have a property such that the respective inputs are on average Eigen-operators of the noise channels for the respective quantum gates. overall eigenvalue for the quantum circuit is determined (e.g. estimated) based on an average of the measured outputs of the respective Pauli channels; col. 6, lines 54-56 - Averaged circuit eigenvalue sampling (ACES) allows for incoherent noise, modeled as a Pauli channel, to be learned extremely efficiently; col. 8, lines 12-22 – implementation of these circuits will be noisy, and it is desired to characterize the incoherent Pauli averaged noise in these circuits, specifically in the generators used to create the circuits. implements the same unitary operation. However, the noisy gates inside the physically implemented circuit ensemble are now, on average, subject only to noise which is a Pauli channel.).
Claim(s) 14 and 20:
Claim(s) 14 and 20 correspond to claim 10, and thus, Flammia and Ding teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 14 and 20 as well.
Claim(s) 2, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flammia, in view of Ding, and further in view of Ji et al., US Publication 2021/0158094 (“Ji”).
Claim 2:
Ding further teaches or suggests wherein the distribution component determines the fixed distribution based on a set … of individual twirl groups of the specified set (see para. 0085 - Clifford group C(d),;;;SU(d) and let the measure μc be the uniform distribution over C(d). of the uniform distribution over the Clifford group; para. 0086 - URB scheme can be found over other distributions over the Clifford group. This result can be extended to any unitary 2-design that is a uniform distribution over a finite set; para. 0127 - where the gate set is taken as a group tG'r , with the distribution μ being the uniform distribution over the group; para. 0134 - Each random element is chosen uniformly from the set of n-qubit Pauli operators.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ding with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently reducing the size of a twirl group, which reduces gate overhead/depth, sample complexity, and simplifies simulation, as taught by Ding (0085, 0086, 0127, 0134).
Flammia does not explicitly disclose of sums … wherein the sum of any one index relative to a sum of any other index is less than a specified deviation threshold.
Ji teaches or suggests wherein the sum of any one index relative to a sum of any other index is less than a specified deviation threshold (see para. 0024 - pre-process the training data set to generate a balanced training data set such that each user-defined category includes a similar number of images for use in training the initial machine learning model (e.g., such that the difference between the number of images in a first user-defined category and the number of images in a second user-defined category is within a threshold amount). By pre-processing the training data set to generate the balanced training data set, feature map generator 142 can generate a training data set that does not bias classification towards a category.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ji with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently balancing a dataset so numbers of a specific category are within a threshold amount, reducing data bias, as taught by Ji (0024).
Claim(s) 12 and 18:
Claim(s) 12 and 18 correspond to claim 2, and thus, Flammia, Ding, and Ji teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 12 and 18 as well.
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flammia, in view of Ding, and further in view of Smith et al., US Publication 2022/0269975 (“Smith”).
Claim 3:
Ding further teaches or suggests wherein the twirl groups of the specified set comprises (see para. 0085 - Clifford group C(d),;;;SU(d) and let the measure μc be the uniform distribution over C(d). of the uniform distribution over the Clifford group; para. 0086 - URB scheme can be found over other distributions over the Clifford group. This result can be extended to any unitary 2-design that is a uniform distribution over a finite set; para. 0127 - where the gate set is taken as a group tG'r , with the distribution μ being the uniform distribution over the group; para. 0134 - Each random element is chosen uniformly from the set of n-qubit Pauli operators.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ding with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently reducing the size of a twirl group, which reduces gate overhead/depth, sample complexity, and simplifies simulation, as taught by Ding (0085, 0086, 0127, 0134).
Smith further teaches or suggests use and non-use of a bitflip corresponding to a quantum circuit generated for readout an aspect of a qubit of the quantum processor (see para. 0004 - mitigating the measurement error of the states of qubits that is accompanied as the number of qubits increases; para. 0006 - performing a bit-flip to invert a state of at least one qubit of the qubits; reading out output qubit values of bit-flipped qubits based on the performing of the bit-flip; para. 0012 - reading-out of the output qubit values may include measuring a state corresponding to 10) or a state corresponding to 11 ) for each of the qubits; para. 0015 - perform a bit-flip to invert a state of at least one qubit of the qubits; read out output qubit values of bit-flipped qubits based on the perform of the bit-flip; para. 0072 - reducing an error by correcting a measurement error of a qubit state; para. 0076 - invert a state measured with respect to at least one qubit that is randomly selected. bit-flip scheme may be performed to acquire an averaged probability of measurement errors by removing effects of error bias or quantum entanglement; para. 0086 - perform a bit-flip on a qubit state measured from at least one qubit of the entire n qubits. In this state, a qubit on which a bit-flip is to be performed may be randomly selected; para. 0088 - when a bit flip is arbitrarily performed on the measured qubit state, correlations by entanglement between qubits or error bias of qubit states are removed so that errors may be averaged; para. 0089 - as errors between qubits are averaged by performing a bit-flip through a random qubit selection, the generation of an error model may be simplified and streamlined; para. 0091 - performing a bit-flip of randomly selected qubits during measurement on n qubits; para. 0099 - performs error correction by generating a response matrix of an error model M within a relatively fast time through the measurement of a bit-flipped qubit value, even when the number of qubits increases, the processing speed, and performance of a qubit operation may be efficiently improved.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Smith with those of Flammia. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficiently removing correlations by entanglement between qubits or error bias of qubit states so that errors may be averaged, simplifying and streamlining generation of error models, improving quantum computing error correction, as taught by Smith (0072, 0076, 0088, 0089, and 099).
Claim(s) 15:
Claim(s) 15 correspond to claim 3, and thus, Flammia, Ding, and Smith teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 15 as well.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T MCINTOSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144