This action is responsive to Applicant’s amendments/remarks filed 01 September 2026.
The rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Veronique (US-20120128747-A1) in view of Traynor (US-20120107499-A1) is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Veronique (US-20120128747-A1) in view of Traynor (US-20120107499-A1) and further in view of Scholin (US-20190290762-A1) is maintained in view of the amendments.
The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Response to Arguments & Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Traynor fails to provide a basis to how to modify the shells permeability, nor to the claimed permeability range (page 2, para 3).
The argument is unpersuasive. As such, Traynor (US-20120107499-A1) teaches that the shell material is silica-based shell, wherein the shell can be made permeable, semi-permeable, or impermeable. A permeable shell can be a shell including one or more passageways that extend from an inner surface of the shell (which is around the core) and the outer surface of the shell. Semi-permeable shells can be made to be impermeable to the core material but permeable to low molecular-weight liquids and can be used to absorb substances from the environment and to release them again when brought into another medium. The impermeable shell encloses the core material. To release the content of the core material, the shell must be ruptured (para [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to include passageways for the desired permeability (para [0050]). Thus, Traynor offers the motivation to optimize the permeability of the shell due to its ability to be permeable, semi-permeable, or impermeable (para [0050]). Therefore, the amounts of shell permeability can be optimized to reach the desired retention of the liquid contents via a routine optimization. The case law has held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date, to adjust the shell permeability as disclosed by Traynor in the particles of Veronique to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applicant argues that there is no suggestion or motivation to combine Scholin. Additionally, Applicant argues that Scholin fails to provide a rupture strength of a single capsule, rather bulk material (page 2-3).
The argument is unpersuasive. As such, Scholin (US-20190290762-A1) teaches a colloidosome (e.g. encapsulated nanoparticles, para [0003]) comprising a shell (e.g. silica, para [0085]) and a core (e.g. active agent such as oils, para [0090]) encapsulated within (Abstract). Scholin teaches that the shell yields a strength of 1 kPa to 1 MPa measured by tensile testing (thereby reads on the rupture stress due to the overlapping range, paras. [0014 and 0083]). Scholin further teaches that the shell can resist premature response to a stimulus, thus yielding non-limiting examples of mechanical properties such as strength, tensile strength, toughness and fracture toughness, stiffness, strain hardening, uniform and non-uniform elongation, creep resistance, elongation at fracture, Young's modulus, loss and storage modulus, and strain energy (para [0083]), which reads on the rupture stress. The term “strength” as utilized in Scholin, can be interpretated to relate to fracture strength/fracture toughness/elongation at fracture/tensile strength which can functionally satisfy the structural limitation of “rupture stress” as recited in the instant claims.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Scholin teaches a shell strength yields an overlapping range with superior mechanical properties such as yield strength, tensile strength, toughness and fracture toughness, stiffness, strain hardening, uniform and non-uniform elongation, creep resistance, elongation at fracture, Young's modulus, loss and storage modulus, and strain energy (para [0083]). The references collectively teach encapsulated oil with a silica shell. It is noted that a prima facie of obviousness does not require the solution of the same problem or recognition of the same advantages as applicant’s invention. In re Dillion, 16 USPQ 2nd 1897. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date that the capsules of Veronique comprising an oil core and silica shell to yield a strength within the parameters established in Scholin.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 06 August 2026 and 07 October 2026. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veronique (US-20120128747-A1, located in Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Traynor (US-20120107499-A1, located in Information Disclosure Statement) and further in view of Scholin (US-20190290762-A1).
With regard to claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 10 Veronique teaches particles comprising a continuous shell confining at least one oil phase (representing an oil-based core comprising a benefit agent) (Abstract), and the shell consists of at least silicon oxide (representing the shell comprising metal oxide surrounding a core) (para [0016]). Veronique further teaches that the shell may comprise mineral or organic content, preferably mineral particles (para [0032). Specifically, Example 1 demonstrates a shell composition with 1.7% organic content (Example 1). This falls within the scope of the claimed limitation, which permits up to 5 wt.% of organic content and meets the requirement of being substantially free of organic material, as such content is entirely optional and can be omitted.
[Specifically, regarding the organic content calculation: Based on Example 1, 24mg of cetyltrimethylammonium bromide (CTAB, as an organic content) is combined with 1.38g of silica; resulting in a total mass of 1.404g (0.024g + 1.38g = 1.404g). Thus, the organic content is calculated as (0.024g/ 1.404g x 100= 1.7%, (thereby satisfying the claimed organic content)].
Furthermore, Veronique teaches that the particles have a diameter of 10 to 200 micrometers (thereby reading on the claimed diameter) (para [0014]), and shell thickness of 0.1 to 2µm which corresponds to 100 to 2,000nm (thereby reading on the claimed shell thickness) (para [0015]).
Veronique does not explicitly teach the shell permeability.
In the same field of endeavor, Traynor teaches an encapsulate comprising core-shell particles, wherein the core is an active material (e.g. oil, para [0041]) and shell is silica-based (para [0050]), thereby reading on the same capsule structure of oil-based core and silica shell.
Traynor further teaches that the silica-based shell can be engineered to be permeable, semi-permeable or impermeable. Permeable and semi-permeable shells can be used for release applications. A permeable shell includes one or more passageways extending from an inner surface to the outer surface of the shell. Semi-permeable shells can be impermeable to the core material while permitting the transport of low molecular-weight liquids, thereby enabling absorption of environmental substances and subsequent release upon transfer to another medium. An impermeable shell completely encloses the core. To release the core content, the shell must be ruptured (para [0050]).
With regard to the shell permeability, Traynor offers the motivation to optimize the permeability of the shell due to its ability to be permeable, semi-permeable, or impermeable (para [0050]). Therefore, the amounts of shell permeability can be optimized to reach the desired retention of the liquid contents via a routine optimization. The case law has held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date, to adjust the shell permeability as disclosed by Traynor in the particles of Veronique to arrive at the claimed invention.
Veronique or Traynor do not explicitly teach the rupture stress.
In the same field of endeavor, Scholin teaches a colloidosome comprising a porous shell (e.g. silica, para [0085]) and a core (e.g. active agent, para [0088]) encapsulated within (Abstract). Scholin teaches that the colloidosome yields a strength in the range of 1 kPa to 1 MPa measured by tensile testing (thereby can read on the rupture stress due to the overlapping range, paras. [0009 and 0083]). The term “strength” as utilized in Scholin, can be interpretated to relate to fracture strength which can functionally satisfy the structural limitation of “rupture stress” as recited in the instant claims. Additionally, tensile testing is a standard methodology for directly measuring rupture stress, thus the metrics are fundamentally directed to assessing the failure points of the material, thereby establishing equivalency to the claimed limitation. Scholin further teaches that the colloidosome exhibits excellent mechanical properties, such as strength, tensile strength, toughness and fracture toughness, stiffness, strain hardening, uniform and non-uniform elongation, creep resistance, elongation at fracture, Young's modulus, loss and storage modulus, and strain energy (para [0083]).
With regard to the fracture strength, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that Veronique’s particle could logically obtain the rupture stress established in the teachings of Scholin. The person having ordinary skill in the art would expect that since the cited references collectively teach overlapping blends of capsule components (e.g. core-shell, silica, agents), Veronique’s particles would exhibit comparable rupture stress. Veronique teaches that the silica shell must have a certain thickness that is sufficient to have a mechanical strength while being thin enough to be able to break (para [0015]). Therefore, Veronique’s particles could be optimized to retain the full suite of mechanical properties while obtaining the rupture stress established in Scholin.
With regard to claim 2, Veronique teaches the shell is silica oxide (para [0016]).
With regard to claim 6, Veronique teaches the core comprises triglycerides, fatty acids, rosins, waxes, plant oils, synthetic bitumens, and mixtures thereof (thereby reading on the claimed benefit agent) (para [0012]).
With regard to claim 7, Veronique teaches the core comprises fragrance (thereby reading on the claimed limitation) (para [0020]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 November 6, 2026