DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobson (EP-3281873-A1).
Jacobson discloses an assembly for mounting a seat in an aircraft that allows for a motion in a first lateral direction, then a rotational motion, and then a motion in a second lateral direction based on the rotational direction.
Claims 1 and 8 – Jacobson teaches a passenger seat assembly (element 10 in figure 1), comprising:
a passenger seat (field paragraph of the description);
seat tracks (discussed in paragraph [0007]); and
a motion assembly coupled between the passenger seat and the seat tracks (figure 1), the motion assembly comprising:
a first subassembly for linear motion in a first direction (element 12 in figure 1), the first subassembly coupled to the seat tracks;
a second subassembly for linear motion in a second direction (element 16 in figure 1), the second subassembly coupled to the passenger seat; and
a third subassembly for rotational motion, the third subassembly positioned between and interconnecting the first and second subassemblies, wherein an amount of rotational motion of the third subassembly determines an angle of the second direction relative to the first direction (element 14 in figure 1).
Figure A
Claims 2 and 9 – Jacobson teaches the first subassembly comprises a platform (element A in Figure A above) translatably mounted to spaced beams (element B in Figure A above);
the third subassembly comprises a swivel plate (element 18 in figure 1) mounted to the platform and a swivel ring (element 20 in figure 1) rotatably mounted to the swivel plate; and
the second subassembly comprises a platform (element 44 in figure 1) mounted to the swivel ring and spaced beams (elements 34 and 36 in figure 1) translatably mounted to the platform.
Claims 3 and 10 – Jacobson teaches the spaced beams of the first subassembly are components of a first frame assembly attachable to seat tracks (element 12 in figure 1); and
the spaced beams of the second subassembly are components of a second frame assembly attachable to the passenger seat (element 16 in figure 1).
Claims 4 and 11 – Jacobson teaches the swivel ring is configured to rotate within the swivel plate (figure 2);
the swivel ring has a radially extending feature (element 72 in figure 2);
the swivel plate has an annular track of a predetermined length determinative of an amount of rotation of the swivel ring relative to the swivel plate (figure 2); and
the radially extending feature is configured, as the swivel ring rotates relative to the swivel plate, to travel within the annular track (figure 2).
Claims 6 and 13 – Jacobson teaches the motion assembly is configured for sequential operation in that the first subassembly is configured to operate first to provide linear motion in the first direction, the third subassembly is configured to operate second to provide rotational motion, and the second assembly is configured to operate third to provide linear motion in the second direction.
(In figure 1, it can be seen that Jacobson’s disclosure moves in the X direction using the elements pointed to by element B in Figure A above, then rotates using element 14, then moves in the Z direction using elements 34 and 36.)
Claims 7 and 14 – Jacobson teaches the third subassembly is configured to operate after linear motion of the first subassembly ceases, and the second subassembly is configured to operate after rotational motion of the third subassembly ceases.
(Jacobson describes throughout the specification braking systems for locking the assemblies in place. The brake systems allows each subassembly to cease operation prior to the operation of the next subassembly.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson (EP-3281873-A1).
Jacobson, disclosed above, teaches the third subassembly is configured for up to 90-degrees of rotation such that the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
Jacobson explains, in the background paragraph, that occupants have a desire to lock the seat in a particular position. With the desired position to lock a seat in being towards the entrance or exit of a vehicle for a person with limited mobility, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to lock the rotation to 90-degrees to face a user towards an entrance or exit of a vehicle.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobson (EP-3281873-A1) in view of Dowty (US-10421546-B2).
Claim 15 – Jacobson, disclosed above, teaches a passenger seat (field paragraph of the description) comprising a motion assembly configured to move the passenger seat from a first position within the interior space to a second position within the entrance, wherein movement from the first position to the second position includes at least one direction change (element 10 in figure 1), and wherein the motion assembly comprises:
a first assembly for linear motion in a first direction (element 12 in figure 1), the first assembly coupled to seat tracks of the passenger seat;
a second subassembly for linear motion in a second direction (element 16 in figure 1), the second subassembly coupled to the passenger seat; and
a third subassembly for rotational motion, the third subassembly positioned between and interconnecting the first and second subassemblies, wherein an amount of rotational motion of the third subassembly determines an angle of the second direction relative to the first direction (element 14 in figure 1).
Jacobson does not teach a passenger suite comprising upstanding walls defining an interior space and an entrance provided through one of the upstanding walls.
Dowty discloses an aircraft door and privacy panel assemblies for an aircraft occupant to have a private suite. Dowty teaches a passenger suite (figure 6) comprising upstanding walls (element 510 in figure 6) defining an interior space and an entrance (element 515 in figure 6) provided through one of the upstanding walls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the invention disclosed by Jacobson in a passenger suite such as the one disclosed by Dowty to provide a reduced mobility user with an accommodating seat in a private aircraft passenger suite.
Claim 16 – Jacobson teaches the first subassembly comprises a platform (element A in Figure A above) translatably mounted to spaced beams (element B in Figure A above);
the third subassembly comprises a swivel plate (element 18 in figure 1) mounted to the platform and a swivel ring (element 20 in figure 1) rotatably mounted to the swivel plate; and
the second subassembly comprises a platform (element 44 in figure 1) mounted to the swivel ring and spaced beams (elements 34 and 36 in figure 1) translatably mounted to the platform.
Claim 17 – Jacobson teaches the spaced beams of the first subassembly are components of a first frame assembly attached to the seat tracks (element 12 in figure 1); and
the spaced beams of the second subassembly are components of a second frame assembly attached to the passenger seat (element 16 in figure 1).
Claim 18 – Jacobson teaches the swivel ring is configured to rotate within the swivel plate (figure 2);
the swivel ring has a radially extending feature (element 72 in figure 2);
the swivel plate has an annular track of a predetermined length determinative of an amount of rotation of the swivel ring relative to the swivel plate (figure 2); and
the radially extending feature is configured, as the swivel ring rotates relative to the swivel plate, to travel within the annular track (figure 2).
Claim 19 – Jacobson teaches the motion assembly is configured for sequential operation in that the first subassembly is configured to operate first to provide linear motion in the first direction, the third subassembly is configured to operate second to provide rotational motion, and the second assembly is configured to operate third to provide linear motion in the second direction.
(In figure 1, it can be seen that Jacobson’s disclosure moves in the X direction using the elements pointed to by element B in Figure A above, then rotates using element 14, then moves in the Z direction using element 16.)
Claim 20 – Jacobson teaches the third subassembly is configured to operate after linear motion of the first subassembly ceases, and the second subassembly is configured to operate after rotational motion of the third subassembly ceases.
(Jacobson describes throughout the specification braking systems for locking the assemblies in place. The brake systems allows each subassembly to cease operation prior to the operation of the next subassembly.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on pages 10-12 of their remarks, that Jacobson fails to teach the platforms as claimed. A platform is defined as “a flat surface” and is being interpreted as such. Therefore, the flat surfaces of Jacobson, as described above, teach the platforms as originally claimed, as well as the amended claims stating the platforms are first and second platforms. Note that, while a lack of clarity was not mentioned by the applicant, Figure A has been updated to designate element letters to the first platform as well as the spaced beams of the first assembly rather than arrows to better clarify which elements are being referred to, however the elements directed to as the basis for rejection remain the same.
Applicant also argues, on pages 10-12, that Jacobson fails to teach the assembly structure as claimed. The assembly structure being: the first assembly (comprising a first platform mounted to spaced beams), the third assembly (comprising a swivel plate mounted to the first platform and a swivel ring mounted to the swivel plate), and the second assembly (comprising a second platform mounted to the swivel ring with spaced beams mounted to the second platform). Jacobson teaches the claimed structure, as explained in the rejection above.
Applicant acknowledges that Dowty teaches a passenger suite for an aircraft, but argues on page 13 that Dowty does not disclose the claimed motion assembly and that there would be no reasoning that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dowty and Jacobson, including moving a seat from its initial position to the entrance of the suite. Dowty was merely cited to teach the suite structure as claimed. Jacobson is the primary reference for moving the seat and it would have been obvious to move the seat from the initial position to the entrance of the suite using the structure of Jacobson in the suite of Dowty.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636