DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention because:
Claims 8 and 19 recite the limitation "the" starting polyvinyl alcohol. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and therefore the scope of the claim is unclear. For purposes of examination, claim 8 will be interpreted as "wherein the cationically polyvinyl alcohol is produced from a starting polymer with a weight average molecular weight of the starting polyvinyl alcohol of from 10 to 300 kDa".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,645,794 to Davis et al. (as found on the IDS dated 6/10/2024).
Regarding Claim(s) 1-2, 9-16 Davis teaches polyvinyl alcohol polymer having pendant cationic quaternary nitrogen containing groups [abstract] (i.e., cationic polyvinyl alcohol) that is silent on a structure comprising monomer units in instantly claimed bracket “a”, thereby reading on “a” is 0 and e is 3.0-18. Davis’s Example 10 comprises PVA (polyvinyl alcohol) that is 90% hydrolyzed [Example 10] wherein PVA is a commercially available product prepared by hydrolysis of polyvinyl acetate [col3, L55-59]. As such, the polymer of example 10 comprises 90 mol% PVA groups (reading on c is from 40-98 mol%) and 10 mol% polyvinyl acetate groups (reading on d is from 1.0 to 25 mol%). The sum of d and e add up to 100 and therefore read on a+b+c+d add up to at least 90. Davis teaches the structure of example 10 of
that corresponds to the instantly claimed monomer in bracket “b” wherein Rx Ry and Rz are CH3 groups (reading on C1 and methyl of claims 9-14).
Although Davis does not explicitly teach “b” is from 0.1-20 mol%, Davis teaches the nitrogen content of the final product ranges from 0.01% - 7% by weight [col2, L63-65] thereby reasonably reading on “b” is from 0.1-20 mol%.
Davis does not particularly teach the segment in bracket “f” as a CH2 unit or that f is an average of from 2.0 to 5.0.
However, Davis teaches a C02 moiety [example 10] and ethylene, propylene, butylene, pentylene (i.e., f is an average of from 2.0-5.0) as suitable examples of “R” [col1, L66-68]. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a C02 moiety for a ethylene, propylene, butylene, or pentylene moiety used in Davis’s disclosure. The motivation would have been that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. (MPEP 2144.06) Davis discloses that both C02 and ethylene, propylene, butylene, or pentylene are suitable R groups for use in linking groups, thus providing evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in such polyvinyl alcohol copolymers.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Davis teaches the cationic polyvinyl alcohol of claim 1, wherein the hydrolysis of polyvinyl acetate may have from 0-25% residual acetate groups [Col3, L55-59] (i.e., d is 8.0-15). As such, it is reasonably calculated that the polyvinyl alcohol groups then account for 75-100 mol% of the instantly claimed copolymer, thereby reasonably reading on c is from 75-85 mol%.
Regarding Claim(s) 4-5, Davis teaches the cationic polyvinyl alcohol of claim 1, wherein “a” is 0 (reading on “a” is less than 0.5 of claim 4 and “a” is 0 of claim 5) and the nitrogen content of the final product ranges from 0.01% - 7% by weight [col2, L63-65] thereby reasonably reading on “b” is from 0.1-20 mol% of claim 4 and b is 1.0-10.0 mol% of claim 5.
Although Davis does not explicitly state this copolymer is hydrophilic, instant application states a copolymer with the instantly claimed ranges of claims 4 and 5 are considered to be hydrophilic [instant specification, [0045]]. Therefore it is reasonably expected that Davis’s cationically polyvinyl alcohol is hydrophilic.
Regarding Claim(s) 8 and 19, Davis teaches the cationic polyvinyl alcohol of claim 1, wherein the PVA has a number average molecular weight of 2,000 to 200,000 [col3, L60] reasonably reading on a range of 10-300kDa of claim 8 and 100 to 220kDa of claim 19.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,645,794 to Davis et al. in view of US2001/0056301 to Goupil et al.
Regarding Claim(s) 6-7 and 17-18, Davis teaches the cationic polyvinyl alcohol of claim 1, wherein the final polymer comprises 0.01% - 7% by weight [col2, L63-65] thereby reasonably reading on “b” is from 0.5-20 of claim 6 and 4.0-6.0 of claim 7 and 18.
Davis is silent regarding the cationically modified polyvinyl alcohol is hydrophobically modified and wherein “a” is from 0.5 to 5.0 of claim 6 and “a” is from 2.0 to 3.0 of claim 7.
However, Goupil teaches polyvinyl alcohol with pendant chains [abstract] wherein 0-25% of pendant ester groups are substituted by butyraldehyde acetals [0062]. Davis and Goupil are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely modified polyvinyl alcohols applied to skin.
Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add 0-25% of butyraldehyde acetals (corresponding to the monomer in bracket “a”) into Davis’s polyvinyl alcohol copolymer thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
The motivation would have been that butyraldehyde acetals can increase hydrophobicity [0062] and can impart a certain degree of strength to the PVA [0017].
Though the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range, it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
Double Patenting
Claims are 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/407,490. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of co-pending application comprises the same copolymer as in instant claim 1 with minor differences in components “a” and “b”.
Claims are 1-19 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-5 of copending Application No. 18/407,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 4 and 5 of co-pending application comprises the same copolymer as in instant claim 1, wherein the copolymer is constituent of a liquid hand dishwashing detergent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764