DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 3/5/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 11,881,837, US 11,909,378 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s terminal disclaimer has been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous non-statutory double patent rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. See the new double patent rejection and the new prior art rejection as followed.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,909,377 in view of Komatsu US 9,035,725.
Patent ‘377 claims a wireless communication device comprising: a filter comprising a surface acoustic wave device comprising: a piezoelectric layer; a (first) acoustic reflector; a (first) interdigital transducer electrode; a second interdigital transducer electrode between the first interdigital transducer electrode and the first reflector; a second acoustic reflector; a high speed layer (acoustic velocity adjustment structure arranged to increase an acoustic wave propagation velocity) over at least a portion of a first region between the first interdigital transducer and the first acoustic reflector (first region including a gap between the first and second interdigital transducers would effectively between the first interdigital transducer and first acoustic reflector as well); the high speed layer is at least partially embedded in a temperature compensation layer; the first region overlaps (includes) a portion of the first interdigital transducer electrode; a low speed layer over a third region over the (first) acoustic reflector; radio frequency circuit element including amplifier or switch, and the filter within a common module package; antenna; transceiver; front end or diversity receive module.
Patent ’377 does not explicitly disclose the first interdigital transducer electrode positioned between the first acoustic reflector and a/the second acoustic reflector.
Komatsu exemplarily discloses a surface acoustic wave device (Fig. 3, 5) with first interdigital transducer electrode between a first and a second acoustic reflectors.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the first interdigital transducer electrode positioned between the first and second acoustic reflectors. The modification would have been obvious because the reflectors can confine the acoustic wave and obvious positioning as taught by Komatsu (see Figs. 1, 3, 5; Col. 7 lines 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsu US 9,035,725.
2. Komatsu discloses a surface acoustic wave device (Figs. 3-6B, etc.) comprising:
a piezoelectric layer (11); and
first acoustic reflector (29C), a second acoustic reflector (29D), and at least a first interdigital transducer electrode (e.g., Fig. 3 item 12; Fig. 5 item 12 at the center) over the piezoelectric layer, the first interdigital transducer electrode positioned between the first acoustic reflector and the second acoustic reflector, a high speed layer (14; Col. 3 lines 46-49) over at least a portion of a first region between the first interdigital transducer electrode and the first acoustic reflector (e.g., see Figs. 4A, 6A; item 14 covers everything, thus covers the first region as claimed).
4. The surface acoustic wave device of claim 2 wherein further comprising a second interdigital transducer electrode (e.g., Fig. 5, one of item 12 on the left side) positioned between the first interdigital transducer electrode (Fig. 5, center item 12) and the first acoustic reflector (29C), the second interdigital transducer electrode being longitudinally coupled to the first interdigital transducer electrode (Fig. 5; Col. 7 lines 45-48).
5. The surface acoustic wave device of claim 4 wherein at least a portion of the first region is in between the first interdigital transducer electrode and the second interdigital transducer electrode (see Fig. 6A).
6. The surface acoustic wave device of claim 2 wherein the first region overlaps at least a portion of the first interdigital transducer electrode (see Figs. 4A, 6A).
7. The surface acoustic wave device of clam 2 further comprising a low speed layer (13; Col. 3 lines 38-42) positioned over the first acoustic reflector in a third region (see Figs. 4A, 6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-15, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu US 9,035,725 in view of Caron US 2018/0138892.
8, 11-15, 18-21. For brevity, Komatsu discloses a filter including a surface acoustic wave device having a piezoelectric layer, a first acoustic reflector, a second acoustic reflector, a first interdigital transducer electrode, a second interdigital transducer electrode, a high speed layer over a first region, a low speed layer over a third region, and the overlap/encompass of the first region as similarly discussed above (see claims 2, 4-7 above), but does not explicitly disclose for claim 8: a radio frequency module comprising the filter and a radio frequency circuit element coupled to the filter, the filter and the radio frequency element being enclosed within a common module package; for claim 15: a wireless communication device comprising: the filter; an antenna operatively coupled to the filter; a radio frequency amplifier operatively coupled to the filter and configured to amplifier a radio frequency signal; and a transceiver in communication with the radio frequency amplifier.
Caron exemplarily discloses a radio frequency module (Fig. 12, etc.) comprising: a filter (236) and a radio frequency circuit element (234, 232) coupled to the filter, the filter and the radio frequency element being enclosed within a common module package ([0136]); and/or a wireless communication device (Fig. 15) comprising: a filter (263); an antenna (261) operatively coupled to the filter; a radio frequency amplifier ([0141], within RF front end 262) operatively coupled to the filter and configured to amplifier a radio frequency signal; and a transceiver (264) in communication with the radio frequency amplifier.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the filter in a radio frequency module and/or wireless communication device of Caron. The modification would have been obvious as obvious implementation of filter in various module/device for RF signal processing as taught by Caron (Figs. 12, 15, etc.; [0136], [0140]).
10. The radio frequency module of claim 8 wherein the radio frequency circuit element is a radio frequency amplifier (Caron: Fig. 12 item 232) arranged to amplify a radio frequency signal, or a switch (234) configured to selectively coupled the filter to a port of the radio frequency module.
17. The wireless communication device of claim 15 wherein the filter is included in a radio frequency front end (Caron: Fig. 15 item 262), or a diversity receive module.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu US 9,035,725 in view of Yamaji US 2018/0041186.
3. Komatsu discloses the invention as discussed above, including a first dielectric layer (13) including silicon oxide (SiO2; Col. 5 lines 53-54) as a temperature compensation layer (Col. 5 lines 62-64) and a second dielectric layer (14) including silicon oxynitride (SiON; Col. 6 lines 1-5) as the high speed layer (Col. 3 lines 46-49).
Yamaji exemplarily discloses a surface acoustic wave device (Fig. 2A, etc.) including a piezoelectric layer (210); a first interdigital transducer electrode (211); a first dielectric film (221) including silicon oxide ([0030]); a second dielectric film (223) on the first dielectric film; and a third dielectric film (223) including silicon oxide ([0030]) on the second dielectric film; effectively, a second dielectric layer (223) of oxynitride is embedded in a first dielectric layer (221, 223) of silicon oxide.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the second dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer. The modification would have been obvious because moisture protection and oxidation prevention can be provided as taught by Yamaji ([0032]). As a result of the combination, the high speed layer (Komatsu: item 14) is at least partially embedded in a temperature compensation layer (13) between the high speed layer and the first interdigital transducer electrode (12).
Claim(s) 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Komatsu US 9,035,725 in view of Caron US 2018/0138892 as applied to claims 8 or 15 above, and further in view of Yamaji US 2018/0041186.
9, 16. The resultant combination discloses the invention as discussed above, including a first dielectric layer (Komatsu: item 13) including silicon oxide (SiO2; Col. 5 lines 53-54) as a temperature compensation layer (Col. 5 lines 62-64) and a second dielectric layer (14) including silicon oxynitride (SiON; Col. 6 lines 1-5) as the high speed layer (Col. 3 lines 46-49).
Yamaji exemplarily discloses a surface acoustic wave device (Fig. 2A, etc.) including a piezoelectric layer (210); a first interdigital transducer electrode (211); a first dielectric film (221) including silicon oxide ([0030]); a second dielectric film (223) on the first dielectric film; and a third dielectric film (223) including silicon oxide ([0030]) on the second dielectric film; effectively, a second dielectric layer (223) of oxynitride is embedded in a first dielectric layer (221, 223) of silicon oxide.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the second dielectric layer embedded in the first dielectric layer. The modification would have been obvious because moisture protection and oxidation prevention can be provided as taught by Yamaji ([0032]). As a result of the combination, the high speed layer (Komatsu: item 14) is at least partially embedded in a temperature compensation layer (13) between the high speed layer and the first interdigital transducer electrode (12).
Conclusion
Note that this Office Action is made Non-Final due to the new double rejection and new prior art rejection.
/A.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843