DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-20 and ES2145641 as species election in the reply filed on 1/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 1-20 are examined on the merits.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
2. The specification is objected to for missing deposit information on page 44.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because ATCC Accession Number is missing.
Improper Markush Grouping
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternative. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-722 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. and Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or common use that flows from the substantial structural feature and/or common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons:
In claim 1, 6, 11,13-15 and 18, the elected species, soybean variety ES2145641, has distinct genome structures compared with other varieties listed in the claim.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or groupings of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 USC 134 and 37 CFR 41.31 (a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected (claims 1, 2, 8 and 15 are rejected and, therefore, claims 3-7, 9-14 and 16-20 which depend therefrom are also rejected) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 refers to “ATCC Accession Number PTA-____”. While it is acknowledged that Applicant will/has made a deposit of soybean variety ES2145641 seed in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.801-1.809 (page 44 of the specification, copied herein below), because the Accession Number information is incomplete within the claims, it is unclear what soybean variety ES2145641 refers to. The metes and bounds are not clear.
The claims which are dependent on claim 1 are also rejected.
Claims 7-9 recited “an F1 soybean seed/plant”, however it is unclear what is the F0 soybean seed/plant the F1 soybean refers to. It is suggested to recite –an F1 soybean seed/plant of ES2145641--.
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The instant Specification fails to satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S. Code § 112(a) because it does not provide a description sufficient to conduct an examination, including search of the prior art, nor does it provide enough description to be sufficient to aid in the resolution of questions of infringement.
35 USC 112 (a) states that “The specification shall contain a written description of the invention”. In evaluating written description, the threshold question is what is “an adequate written description”. This is question of fact that is evaluated by the factfinder (examiner). MPEP 2163.04 clearly states that “The inquiry into whether the description requirement is met must be determined on a case-by-case basis and is a question of fact. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 262, 191 USPQ 90, 96 (CCPA 1976).”
The instant invention is a new soybean variety ES2145641. So, the examiner will evaluate what is an adequate written description for a new soybean variety. In reviewing this question of fact, the examiner analyzed how plant varieties are evaluated in the public domain. The review concluded that generally the minimum requirements for an adequate description of a new plant variety has a trait table and genetic information (via a breeding history). In reviewing applicant’s specification there is a phenotypic description as is seen in tables 15-16. However, there is no accompanying breeding history in the specification. Because the specification lacks a breeding history and that breeding history is part of the minimum description of a plant variety the applicant has not fulfilled the requirement of 35 USC 112(a) to provide a written description in the specification. The office’s reasonable basis for challenging the adequacy of written description is informed by a review of the following:
With regard to Plant Patents, MPEP 1605 states that a complete detailed description of a plant includes “the origin or parentage”.
A breeding history, including information about parentage and breeding methodology, is part of the requirements of Plant Variety Protection (PVP) applications. That information is used to “determine if development is sufficient to consider the variety new” (See “Applying for a Plant Variety Certificate of Protection”, USDA, https://www.ams.usda.gov/services/pv po/application-help/apply, downloaded 05/01/2023, (U)).
The International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) considers breeding history and methodology part of its evaluation of essentially derived plant varieties (UPOV, Explanatory Notes on Essentially Derived Varieties Under the 1991 Act of the UPOV Convention, April 6, 2017, See UPOV EDV Explanatory Notes 14 and 30 (V)).
Historically, the USPTO has considered breeding history information when determining the patentability of a new plant variety. (See Ex Parte C (USPQ 2d 1492 (1992) (W) and Ex Parte McGowen Board Decision in Application 14/996,093, decided June 15, 2020 (X)). In both of these cases, there were many differences cited by the Applicant when comparing the prior art and the new plant variety. However, because the breeding history was available, these differences were deemed to be obvious and within the natural variation expected in a backcrossing breeding process. Without a breeding history in these cases, a complete comparison with the prior art could not have been possible.
As seen above in Ex Parte C and Ex Parte McGowan, a trait table is insufficient to differentiate varieties by itself. It has been long established that intracultivar heterogeneity exists in crop species. Haun et al. (Plant Physiology, Feb. 2011, Vol. 155, pp. 645-655 (Y)) teaches that the assumption that elite cultivars are composed of relatively homogenous genetic pools is false. (p. 645, left column). Segregation, recombination, DNA transposition, epigenetic processes, and spontaneous mutations are some of the reasons elite cultivar populations will maintain some degree of plant-to-plant variation (p. 645, right column and p. 646, left column). In addition to genetic variation, environmental variation may lead to phenotypic variation within a cultivar. (Großkinsky et al., J. Exp. Bot., Vol. 66, No. 11, pp. 5429-5440, 2015 (Z), p. 5430, left column, 1st full paragraph, and right column, 2nd full paragraph). In view of this variability, a breeding history is an essential and the least burdensome way to provide genetic information needed to adequately describe a newly developed plant.
The above factual evidence provides a reasonable basis that a breeding history is necessary written description. With this information the examiner has met the initial burden of presenting by a preponderance of evidence why a person of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize in an applicant’s disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. (See MPEP 2163.04). Please note, the citations above are not for legal authority, the legal authority relied upon by the examiner is the 35 USC 112(a) statute. The citations are presented to support the finding of fact that a breeding history is necessary to the adequate description of a plant.
Although not directly relied upon for the above written description position, a complete written description additionally helps drive examination and help with infringement verification.
MPEP 2163 (I) states “The written description of the deposited material needs to be as complete as possible because the examination for patentability proceeds solely on the basis of the written description. See, e.g., In re Lundak, 773 F.2d 1216, 227 USPQ 90 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also 54 Fed. Reg. at 34,880 ("As a general rule, the more information that is provided about a particular deposited biological material, the better the examiner will be able to compare the identity and characteristics of the deposited biological material with the prior art.").”
MPEP 2163(I) states “The description must be sufficient to permit verification that the deposited biological material is in fact that disclosed. Once the patent issues, the description must be sufficient to aid in the resolution of questions of infringement." Id. at 34,880.)” (Quoting the Deposit of Biological Materials for Patent Purposes, Final Rule, 54 Fed. Reg. 34,864 (August 22, 1989) at 34,880).
The breeding history aids in the resolution of patent infringement by providing information necessary to determine whether differences in the plants are genetic differences, differences caused by the environment, or differences within the accepted variation within a variety.
Moreover, a specification devoid of a complete breeding history hampers the public’s ability to resolve infringement analysis with plants already in the prior art as well as plants that have not yet been patented. Because the instant specification lacks the complete breeding history, the public will not be able to fully resolve questions of infringement. Since the breeding history, including the parents, is not known to the public, the public could only rely on the phenotypes of the claimed plants for assessing potential infringement.
Thus, an application that does not clearly describe the breeding history does not provide an adequate written description of the invention.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant must amend the specification/drawing to provide the breeding history used to develop the instant cultivar. When identifying the breeding history, Applicant should identify any and all other potential names for all parental lines utilized in the development of the instant cultivar and all other potential names for the claimed cultivar. If Applicant’s breeding history uses proprietary cultivar names, Applicant should notate in the specification all other names of the proprietary cultivars, especially publicly disclosed or patented cultivar information. If the breeding history encompasses a locus conversion or a backcrossing process, Applicant should clearly indicate the recurrent parent and the donor plant and specifically name the trait or transgenic event that is being donated to the recurrent parent. If one of the parents is a backcross progeny or locus converted line of a publicly disclosed line, Applicant should provide the breeding history of the parent line as well (i.e., grandparents). Applicant should identify the breeding method used, such as single seed descent, bulk method, backcross method, etc., and the filial generation in which the instant plant was chosen. Information pertaining to the homozygosity or heterozygosity of the parents as well as the instant plant should be set forth.
Applicant is reminded that they have a duty to disclose information material to patentability. Applicant should also notate the most similar plants which should include any other plants created using similar breeding history (such as siblings of the instant cultivar). If there any patent applications or patents in which sibs or parents of the instant plant are claimed, the serial numbers and names of the sibs or parents should be disclosed. This information can be submitted in an IDS with a notation of the relevancy to the instant application or as information submitted as described in MPEP 724 (e.g., trade secret, proprietary, and Protective Order).
35 USC 112(a) clearly states “The specification (emphasis added) shall contain a written description of the invention”. In the instant application, Applicant included some breeding history for cultivar 21250789 in the Specification and additional names for one parent in a separate Transmittal Letter communication. This disclosure is insufficient because it does not address all the issues set forth above, and the information provided in the Transmittal Letter with regard to additional names of one parent should be set forth in the specification. Absent the disclosure in the Transmittal Letter, one skilled in the art would not have known that the 16EN311013-26 parent is publicly available, is known by other names and is a prior art cultivar. A Transmittal Letter is not part of the Specification and cannot provide the written description required to be in the Specification. Thus, the breeding history for the claimed cultivar as disclosed in the Specification is incomplete. Moreover, the claims indicate Applicant intends to deposit seeds representative of the claimed cultivar. Paragraph [0072] states that “There is natural variation in soybean caused by genetics and environment.” Additionally, paragraph [0195] states the term “soybean plant” includes any single gene conversions of that cultivar, and said plant has essentially all the morphological and physiological characteristics of the cultivar. Thus, the claims are not directed to the deposited seeds or plants grown therefrom. The claims are directed to a genus of soybean plants and seeds that are genotypically and phenotypically different from the deposit, and have different traits from those disclosed in the specification. Given these differences, the complete breeding history for producing the claimed cultivar, including all names for the parents and for the claimed cultivar, are material for patentability. A specification devoid of a complete breeding history hampers the public’s ability to fully resolve questions of infringement.
Claims 3-4 are drawn to a soybean plant/seed obtained by transforming the soybean plant of ES2145641.
Instant claims read on a transformed plant/seed with different physiological and morphological characteristics in addition to the one caused by the transgene due to transformation process.
The specification teaches soybean variety ES2145641, wherein representative seed of said soybean variety ES2145641 with physiological and morphological characteristics listed in tables 15-16.
The Applicants do not describe any other species in claimed genus except for soybean variety ES2145641 itself. The only structure correlated with a soybean plant having all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of the soybean variety ES2145641 or a transformed plant comprising the transgene and otherwise comprising all of the phenotypic characteristics of soybean variety ES2145641 is the genome of soybean variety ES2145641. The specification fails to teach conserved structure responsible for transformed plant, except for the genome of soybean variety ES2145641.
The Federal Circuit has recently clarified the application of the written description requirement to inventions in the field of biotechnology. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In summary, the court stated that a written description of an invention requires a precise definition, one that defines the structural features of the chemical genus that distinguishes it from other chemical structures. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is. The court goes on to say, “A description of a genus of cDNAs may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of cDNAs, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus.” See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559; 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicants fail to describe a representative number of soybean plants falling within the scope of the claimed genus of transformed soybean plants. Applicants only describe a single soybean plant of soybean variety ES2145641 or a converted variety thereof which comprise a locus conversion and otherwise all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of the soybean variety ES2145641.
Furthermore, Applicants fail to describe structural features common to members of the claimed genus of soybean plants. Hence, Applicants fail to meet either prong of the two-prong test set forth by Eli Lilly. Furthermore, given the lack of description of the necessary elements essential for transformed soybean plants of the soybean variety ES2145641, it remains unclear what features identify a member of claimed genus. Since said genus has not been described by specific structural features, the specification fails to provide an adequate written description to support the breath of the claims.
Still further, claims 1-20 are drawn to a seed, plant, plant part or plant cell of inbred soybean variety ES2145641, F1 hybrid soybean seed, and methods of using an inbred soybean variety ES2145641.
The term “variety or cultivar” is defined at page 19 of the specification as follows:
Variety or Cultivar refer to a substantially homozygous soybean line and minor
modifications thereof that retains the overall genetics of the soybean line including
but not limited to a subline, a locus conversion, a mutation, a transgenic, or asomaclonal variant. Variety or cultivar include seeds, plants, plant parts, and/or
seed parts of the instant soybean line.
The specification does not define what constitutes “substantially homologous”, “minor modifications thereof” or “overall genetics of the soybean line”. A plant or seed of inbred soybean variety ES2145641 thus very broadly includes inbred soybean plants having alterations of the deposited genome by almost any number of locus conversions, mutations and somoclonal variants.
The specification at pages 81-83 describes a single species of a plant or seed of inbred soybean variety ES2145641 in Tables 15-16 as having a fixed set of qualitative and quantitative phenotypic characteristics. The specification does not describe the genotypic or phenotypic characteristics of other soybean plants derived from the species of inbred soybean variety ES2145641 that is described in the specification in Table 1.
Hence, it is unclear that Applicant was in possession of the invention as broadly claimed. These claims are "reach through” claims in which the specification has described a starting material and at least one method step, however, they have not described the resulting product that they are claiming, where the genus of products that can be produced by the recited method steps and materials is so large that one of skill in the art is not able to envision the members of the genus. (See Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920-23, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1890-93 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
Given the extreme breadth of the claims which encompass soybean plants having alterations of the deposited genome by almost any number of locus conversions, mutations and somoclonal variants, and given the very limited disclosure of a single species that is representative of a plant having the deposited genome, one skilled in the art would not recognize that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing.
To overcome rejections made due to the particular definition for “variety or cultivar”, it is suggested to make the following amendments:
In the claims, before the specific cultivar ES2145641, change “variety/cultivar” to “line,” so that the record is clear what is claimed is the line ES2145641 not variety ES2145641
For the trait table(s) in the specification, before the specific cultivar ES2145641, change “variety/cultivar” to “line,” so that it is clear that traits are for line ES2145641 not variety ES2145641
In the paragraph(s) for deposit(s), before the specific cultivar ES2145641, change “variety/cultivar” to “line,” so that the record is clear that what is deposited is line ES2145641 not variety/cultivar ES2145641
In the paragraph(s) for breeding history in the spec, if present, before the specific cultivar ES2145641, change “variety/cultivar” to “line”.
Deposit
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
It is noted that Applicant has deposited seeds for variety ES2145641 at the ATCC (specification, pages 43-44). However, Applicant' s statement that the deposit was accepted under both standards (i.e. the Budapest Treaty and 1.801-1.809), does not satisfy the requirements under the Budapest Treaty or 1.801-1.809 for a statement which indicates that upon issuance (of a patent) all restrictions on the public availability to the public of the deposit will be irrevocably removed and additionally under 1.801-1.809 guidance, an indication of viability from the depository. Nonetheless, in the absence of the required statements, Applicant' s deposit statement requires clarification.
In order to certify that the deposit, meets the requirements set forth under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, an affidavit or declaration by the Applicant, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature and registration number, stating that the seeds will be irrevocably and without restriction or condition released to the public upon the issuance of a patent would satisfy the deposit requirement made herein.
In order to certify that the deposit, meets the requirements set forth in 37 CFR 1.801-1.809, Applicant may provide assurance of compliance by an affidavit or declaration or by a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature and registration number showing that
(a) during the pendency of the application, access to the invention will be afforded to the Commissioner upon request;
(b) all restrictions upon availability to the public will be irrevocably removed upon granting of the patent;
(c) the deposit will be maintained in a public depository for a period of 30 years or 5 years after the last request or for the enforceable life of the patent, whichever is longer;
(d) the viability of the biological material at the time of deposit will be tested (see 37 CFR 1.807); and
(e) the deposit will be replaced if it should ever become inviable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Delheimer et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0264821).
Claim 9 is drawn to a part of F1 soybean plant.
Given “a part” of plant includes seed, instant claim reads on a F2 seed. Given that the parent to generate F1 and F2 seeds is unknown, instant claims reads on any soybean seed.
Delheimer et al. teach a soybean seed (claim 1). Therefore the reference teach all the limitation set forth by the claim.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
/LI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662