Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the phrase "the portion in which the groove is provided" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted this as “a portion in which the groove is provided”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono (US 20220384819 A1) in view of Okabe et al. (US10340532B2).
Regarding claim 1, Aono teaches a separator for a fuel cell, comprising: multiple gas passages arranged side by side on a facing surface (Fig. 20, 447, [0348]) configured to face a power generating unit of the fuel cell (Fig. 20, 412 [0352]), the gas passages being configured to allow reactant gas to flow through the gas passages (Fig. 20, 447, [0348]); and
multiple cooling passages provided on a cooling surface that is on a side opposite to the facing surface, each cooling passage being located between adjacent ones of the gas passages and being configured to allow a coolant to flow through the cooling passage (Fig. 20, 448, [0348]), wherein
an upstream side and a downstream side in a flow direction of the reactant gas in each gas passage are defined as an upstream side and a downstream side, respectively (Fig 21, see figure below),
the gas passages include:
multiple upstream passages arranged side by side (Fig. 21, 437, [0324], see figure below);
a merging portion that is configured such that the reactant gas flowing through at least two of the upstream passages merges at the merging portion (Fig. 21, 471a, 471b, 471c, [0353]); and
a downstream passage that extends from the merging portion toward the downstream side (Fig. 21, 437A. [0340], see figure below), and
the cooling surface includes:
a downstream end portion, the downstream end portion being a section in one of the cooling passages, the section being located between adjacent ones of the upstream passages and at an end portion of the cooling passage on a downstream side in a flow direction of the coolant ([0341]-[0342], see figure below). However, Aono does not teach that there is a groove that connects the downstream end portion to another one of the cooling passages that is adjacent to the downstream end portion with one of the gas passages in between.
Okabe teaches a separator for a fuel cell comprising of gas passages that configured to face a power generating cell (Fig. 6, AS, Col. 13, lines 41-45) and coolant passages on a side opposite to the facing surfaces and adjacent to gas passages (Fig. 6, CS, Col. 13, lines 34-41). Okabe also teaches that there is a groove that connects cooling passages with each other (Fig. 6, 314, Col. 14, lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the gas passages to include grooves that connect the downstream end portion to another one of the cooling passages that is adjacent to the downstream end portion with one of the gas passages in between. This is because grooves allow flexible arrangement of the flow paths for the coolant without increasing the total number of parts (Okabe et al. Col. 2, lines 28-42).
Regarding claim 2, modified Aono teaches the separator for the fuel cell according to claim 1, wherein the groove is one of at least two grooves, the grooves being provided in portions of the cooling surface that are on a side opposite to two of the upstream passages adjacent to the downstream end portion (Okabe et al. Fig. 6, 314, Col. 14, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, modified Aono teaches the separator for the fuel cell according to claim 2, wherein
the downstream end portion includes an axis that extends linearly, and
the arrangement of two of the upstream passages that are adjacent to the downstream end portion is symmetrical with respect to the axis (Aono Fig. 26, see figure below).
Regarding claim 4, modified Aono teaches the separator for the fuel cell according to claim 1, wherein
the downstream end portion includes an axis that extends linearly (Aono Fig. 26, see figure below),
two of the upstream passages that are adjacent to the downstream end portion respectively include diagonal portions, the diagonal portions being diagonal with respect to the axis such that the distance between the diagonal portions decreases toward the merging portion (Aono Fig. 26, see figure below), and
the groove is provided in a portion of the cooling surface that is on a side opposite to each of the diagonal portions (Okabe et al. Fig. 6, 314, Col. 14, lines 1-5, see figure below).
Since Okabe teaches that the grooves are placed throughout the gas passages, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add multiple grooves on the gas passages of Aono, including grooves that are on a portion of the cooling surface that is on a side opposite to each of the diagonal portions.
Regarding claim 5, modified Aono teaches the separator for the fuel cell according to claim 1, wherein
the facing surface includes a protrusion in a portion of the facing surface that is on a side opposite to the portion in which the groove is provided, the protrusion protruding into the gas passage (Okabe et al. Fig. 14, 314, Col. 23, lines 14-27), and
the protrusion is inclined such that a protruding amount increases toward the downstream side (Okabe et al. Fig. 14, 314, Col. 23, lines 14-27).
Since the protrusion amount is increasing in either direction, it means that it is inclined toward the downstream side.
Conclusion
/YVONNE WEI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722