DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 lines 2, and 4 recites: “the first passage is disposed at the first rod end”; and “the second passage is disposed proximate to the first rod end”. According to the drawings and the specification the first passage and the second passage are not disposed at the first rod end (110) as recited but rather at the second rod end (115). Further, clarification is required.
Claims 5-7 recites the limitation "the contact surface" in line 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 18-19 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ciampini (US 5503575).
As per claim 1: Ciampini discloses a mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor 34, the mechanical connector comprising: a rod 20 comprising: a rod body 22 with a first rod end 26 and a second rod end 28 opposite to the first rod end 26, a first passage 30 extending at least partially through the body 22, and a second passage 32 extending at least partially through the body 22 and intersecting with the first passage 30 (see figs. 1-2, wherein the 2nd passage 32 is shown to intersect with the 1st passage 30), wherein the second passage 32 includes an opening with a second passage width that is configured to receive the electrical conductor 34 (as shown in figs. 1-2, wherein the conductor 34 is shown to be put through an opening in the sidewall of the rod body 22); and a pin 36 configured to be inserted through the first passage 30 and toward the second passage 32, the pin 36 comprising: a pin body (see figs. 1-2, wherein the pin 36 is shown to have a body) with a first pin end 40 and a second pin end 38 opposite to the first pin end 40, wherein the second pin end 38 includes a blunt contact surface (see fig. 2, wherein the lower end 38 is shown to be a planar contact surface to directly contact the conductor 34) that is configured to contact the electrical conductor within the second passage.
(note: claim 1 can be rejected by Kim et al. (KR102166720))
As per claim 2-3: Ciampini discloses the mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor 34, wherein: the first passage 30 is disposed at the first rod end 26 and extends partially through the rod body 22 along a first axis until it reaches the second passage 32 (as shown in figs. 1-2, wherein the 1st passage 30 is shown at the first rod end and extend through the body along a first axis until it reaches the 2nd passage 32); the second passage 32 is disposed proximate to the first rod end 26 and extends entirely through the rod body 22 along a second axis; and the first axis and the second axis are substantially perpendicular with respect to one another (see figs. 1-2, wherein the 1st and 2nd axes are shown to be substantially perpendicular); and wherein the first pin end 38 includes a substantially flat surface configured to remain outside of the first passage 30 (as shown in figs. 1-2) and receive an applied force to move the second pin end 38 toward the second passage 32 (can be used hammer as force to move the pin);
As per claim 18: Ciampini discloses a method of securing an electrical conductor 34, the method comprising: positioning a pin 36 partially within a first passage 30 of a rod 20; positioning the electrical conductor 34 within a second passage 32 of the rod 20 (as shown in figs. 1-2), wherein the first passage 30 and the second passage 32 are substantially perpendicular to one another (see figs. 1-2, wherein the 1st and 2nd axes are shown to be substantially perpendicular); applying a force (such as hammer) to a first end 40 of the pin 36 at least partially exposed from the first passage 30 (see figs. 1-2, wherein the top portion of the pin is outside of the passage); moving a second end 38 of the pin 36 into contact with the electrical conductor 34 (as shown in figs. 2-3), wherein the second end 38 includes a planar contact surface (a flat surface as shown at 2nd end of the pin) configured to engage the electrical conductor 34 against a first plane parallel to the second passage 32 (as shown in figs. 3); and compressing the electrical conductor 34 against a surface of the second passage 32 (see figs. 2-3), wherein the planar contact surface (flat surface of the 2nd end pin) is configured to engage the electrical conductor 34 against a second plane parallel to the first plane (as shown in figs. 1-3).
As per claim 19: Ciampini discloses the method of securing an electrical conductor 34, wherein the planar contact surface (see figs. 2-3; wherein the flat surface of the 2nd end pin) is configured to distribute a force across a surface of the electrical conductor 34 contained on the parallel plane (as shown in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10, and 20 are as best and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciampini (US 5503575).
As per claims 4-5: Ciampini discloses the mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor 34, and the pin body further comprises a central portion disposed between the first pin end 40 and the second pin end 38 (as shown in figs. 1-2). However, Ciampini does not explicitly disclose wherein the central portion has an outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of both the first pin end and the second pin end, and wherein the outer diameter of the central portion is substantially the same as an inner diameter of the first passage.
On the other hand, Ciampini showed the pin entered the 1st passage to directly contact to the conductor with force to provide a secure contact between the pin and the conductor. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the central portion has an outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of both the first pin end and the second pin end, and wherein the outer diameter of the central portion is substantially the same as an inner diameter of the first passage can only deal with change in size/shape because such modification still would not change the function of the mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor within but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure contact/engage to keep the electrical conductor from losing and to provide a high/better transmit electrical contact in between devices. Further, since applicant have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the pin body as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing as the prior art of record presented. A change in size/shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor of Ciampini by having the central portion has an outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of both the first pin end and the second pin end, and wherein the outer diameter of the central portion is substantially the same as an inner diameter of the first passage as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure contact/engage to keep the electrical conductor from losing and to provide a high/better transmit electrical contact in between devices.
As per claims 6-7: Ciampini discloses the mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor 34, and the 2nd pin end 38. However, Ciampini does not explicitly disclose wherein the second pin end is formed as a frustoconical shape with an inclined surface that forms an edge of the contact surface; and wherein second pin end is formed as a frustoconical shape, and wherein the contact surface is formed at an end of a protruding section that extends away from the frustoconical shape.
On the other hand, Ciampini showed the second end pin 38 fits snugly in axial recess 30 with an interference or force fit, being installed by blows by a hammer, and the second end pin is tapered from a larger diameter at a location remote from conductor 34 to a smaller diameter in the vicinity of conductor to further enhance a stable and reliable contact to the conductor. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the second pin end is formed as a frustoconical shape with an inclined surface that forms an edge of the contact surface; and wherein second pin end is formed as a frustoconical shape, and wherein the contact surface is formed at an end of a protruding section that extends away from the frustoconical shape can only deal with change in shape because such modification still would not change the function of the pin to the conductor or the mechanical connector after all but to further enhance a stable and secure contact between the pin and the conductor for better electrical transmit between the pin and the electrical conductor. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the mechanical connector for securing an electrical conductor of Ciampini by having the second pin end is formed as a frustoconical shape with an inclined surface that forms an edge of the contact surface; and wherein second pin end is formed as a frustoconical shape, and wherein the contact surface is formed at an end of a protruding section that extends away from the frustoconical shape as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable and secure contact between the pin and the conductor for better electrical transmit between the pin and the electrical conductor.
As per claim 8: Ciampini discloses a pin 36 for use securing an electrical conductor 34 within a passage 30/32 (as shown in figs. 1-2), the pin 36 comprising: a first end 40 including a first surface configured to receive an external force (such as hammer); a second end 38 disposed opposite to the first end (as shown in fig. 2), wherein the second end 38 includes a frustoconical shaped region and a second surface disposed at an end of the frustoconical shaped region (see figs. 1-2, wherein the 2nd end pin is tapered down from the 1st end pin); a central portion (not label, see figs.. 1-2) disposed between the first end 40 and the second end 38, wherein the second end 38 is configured to be positioned within the passage 30/32 and extend across an associated electrical conductor (as shown in fig. 2). However, Ciampini does not explicitly disclose wherein the central portion having a greater width than either the first end or the second end.
On the other hand, Ciampini showed the pin with 1st and 2nd end entered the 1st passage to directly contact to the conductor with force to provide a secure contact between the pin and the conductor. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the central portion having a greater width than either the first end or the second end can only deal with change in size/shape because such modification still would not change the function of the pin to the electrical conductor after all, but to enhance a stable, reliable and secure structure to connect/engage the pin to the electrical connector. Further, it would have been obvious by having the pin with different type of configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing the size/shape of the central of the pin. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the pin of Ciampini by having a greater width than either the first end or the second end as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure structure to connect/engage the pin to the electrical connector. Further, having a change in size/shape is within a person of ordinary skill in the art after all. Since, applicant has not disclosed that the structures recited above solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the prior art of record after all.
As per claims 9-10: Ciampini discloses the pin 36 for use securing the electrical conductor 34 within the passage 30/32 (as shown in figs. 1-2), wherein a transition between the first end 40 and the central portion is stepped (as shown in figs. 1-2); and wherein the first surface is parallel to the second surface (as shown in figs. 1-2).
As per claim 20: Ciampini discloses the method of securing an electrical conductor 34. However, Ciampini does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical conductor has at least two strands, wherein the planar contact surface is configured to engage the at least two strands.
On the other hand, Ciampini mentioned wherein the 2nd end pin contact surface is contacted with the electrical conductor which has one strand. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having at least two strands instead of one strand can only deal with duplication of parts, because such modification still would not change the function of the of the planar contact surface to the strand and to the electrical conductor after all but to enhance a larger, multiple strands accommodation as need it for the electrical conductor. Since, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the pin of Ciampini by having the electrical conductor has at least two strands, wherein the planar contact surface is configured to engage the at least two strands as taught by the instant invention to further provide a larger, multiple strands accommodation as need it for the electrical conductor.
Claim(s) 11-17 are as best and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciampini (US 5503575) in view of Kim et al. (KR102166720).
As per claims 11-17: Ciampini discloses the pin 36 for use securing the electrical conductor 34. However, Ciampini does not explicitly disclose wherein the frustoconical shaped region includes an inclined surface that decreases in diameter in a direction away from the central portion, and wherein an edge of the inclined surface forms an outer perimeter of the second surface; and wherein a protruding section extends outwardly from the frustoconical shaped region in a direction away from the first end, and wherein the second surface is formed at an end of the protruding section; and wherein the protruding section is substantially cylindrical in shape; and wherein a surface area of the second end is at least 50% of the surface area of the first end;
and wherein the second surface is conical or frustoconical in shape that forms a cavity with a width that decreases in a direction toward the first end, and wherein an edge surrounding the second surface is configured to contact the electrical conductor; and wherein an entrance to the cavity is substantially planer with an end of the frustoconical shaped region; and wherein the width of the first surface is greater than a largest width of the cavity.
Kim et al. discloses a pin 200 with a frustoconical shaped region includes an inclines surface 211 that decreases in diameter in a direction away from the central portion (see fig. 6, wherein the body part element 210 is located), and wherein an edge of the inclined surface forms an outer perimeter of the second surface (not label, see fig. 6, wherein the 2nd pin end 220 is located). Although, Kim et al. nor Ciampini disclose all the detail structures of the pin as recited above. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having all the structures of the pin as recited above can only deal with change in shape because such modification still would not change the function of the pin and to the electrical conductor after all but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection of the pin to the electrical conductor. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). Further, since applicant has not disclosed that the structures recited above solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the prior arts of record.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the pin of Ciampini by having the frustoconical shaped region includes an inclined surface that decreases in diameter in a direction away from the central portion, and wherein an edge of the inclined surface forms an outer perimeter of the second surface as taught by Kim et al.; and wherein a protruding section extends outwardly from the frustoconical shaped region in a direction away from the first end, and wherein the second surface is formed at an end of the protruding section; and wherein the protruding section is substantially cylindrical in shape; and wherein a surface area of the second end is at least 50% of the surface area of the first end; and wherein the second surface is conical or frustoconical in shape that forms a cavity with a width that decreases in a direction toward the first end, and wherein an edge surrounding the second surface is configured to contact the electrical conductor; and wherein an entrance to the cavity is substantially planer with an end of the frustoconical shaped region; and wherein the width of the first surface is greater than a largest width of the cavity as taught by the instant invention can only deal with change in shape and to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection of the pin to the electrical conductor after all.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831