DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2022/0020496) in view of Kamon (US 2021/0343011).
As per claim 1, and 8-9, Saito teaches, an image processing device, method and A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions (Saito, ¶[0186] “a storage unit (a hard disk or a semiconductor memory)” this represents at least one memory ); and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire an endoscopic image obtained by photographing an examination target (Saito, ¶[0173] “In the CNN system according to the first embodiment, INTEL's Core i7-7700K was used as the CPU, and NVIDEA's GeForce GTX 1070 was used as the graphics processing unit (GPU).” This represents processing unit and ¶[0055] “and the probability corresponding to the site where the image is captured, for test data including the plurality of the endoscopic images of the digestive organ of a large number of subjects, not only an endoscopy specialist is enabled to perform check and make corrections easily, but also it becomes possible to simplify the tasks of creating a collection of images that are associated with a disease.” Would be acquiring or photographic multiple images of examination target such as in fig.5, an endoscopic image see ¶[0045] “ a diagnostic assistance system, a diagnostic assistance program, and a computer-readable recording medium storing therein the diagnostic assistance program for a disease based on an endoscopic image of a digestive organ, being capable of correctly identifying, for example, not only the cases of H. pylori positives and negatives but also cases after H. pylori eradication, using an endoscopic image of the digestive organ with use of a CNN system.” This represents single image ); detect, based on the endoscopic image, a lesion region which is a candidate region of a lesion of the examination target in the endoscopic image (Saito, ¶[0086] “With the diagnostic assistance method for a disease based on an endoscopic image of a digestive organ with use of a CNN system according to the seventeenth aspect of the present invention, it becomes possible to detect the presence of a pharyngeal cancer at a high sensitivity and a high accuracy during a normal esophagogastroduodenoscopy endoscopic examination.” This represents lesion region which is a candidate region “detect the presence of a pharyngeal cancer” is the lesion and ¶[0053-54] “ the trained CNN system outputs at least one of a probability of the positivity and/or the negativity for the disease in the digestive organ, a probability of the past disease, the severity level of the disease” severity level is also “a candidate” as it could be a severity of 0 for example, as well as the negative as a candidate right before it is determined negative result); determine whether or not the endoscopic image is an image adequate to determine a degree of progression or an invasion depth (Saito, ¶[0054] “the trained CNN system outputs at least one of a probability of the positivity and/or the negativity for the disease in the digestive organ, a probability of the past disease, the severity level of the disease, the invasion depth of the disease, and a probability corresponding to the site where the image is captured, based on a second endoscopic image of the digestive organ.” an invasion depth being detected is being represented by “invasion depth of the disease” ), based on at least one of a size of the lesion region and/or a degree of reliability regarding a probability of the lesion region as the lesion (Saito, ¶[0054] “the trained CNN system outputs at least one of a probability of the positivity and/or the negativity for the disease in the digestive organ” probability of the positivity and/or the negativity represents the degree of reliability); determine the degree of progression or the invasion depth (Saito, ¶ [0053] “at least one final diagnosis result of the positivity or the negativity for the disease in the digestive organ, a severity level, or an invasion depth of the disease, the final diagnosis result being corresponding to the first endoscopic image, in which” This represents determine the degree of invasion depth), based on the endoscopic image determined to be the image adequate to determine the degree of progression or the invasion depth (Saito, ¶ [0053] “at least one final diagnosis result of the positivity or the negativity for the disease in the digestive organ, a severity level, or an invasion depth of the disease, the final diagnosis result being corresponding to the first endoscopic image, in which” This represents determine the degree of invasion depth).
Saito does not clearly teach, however, Kamon teaches, and in case where it is determined that the endoscopic image is not adequate to determine the degree of progression of the lesion (Kamon, ¶[0096] “Furthermore, the display mode may be changed (the figure may be changed, the color or brightness may be changed, or the like) in accordance with a recognition result and/or the certainty thereof.” Therefore in this case the image is not adequate as the brightness changes in accordance with the result and certainty), display a frame indicating a preferable display range of the lesion region and superimposed on the endoscopic image (Kamon, ¶[0096] “a recognition result is displayed in a region suitable for the area (a figure or the like is not directly superimposed on the endoscopic image, but is displayed outside a display range of the endoscopic image in the display region of the monitor 400). FIG. 9A illustrates an example in which a frame 808 is displayed at the upper right of the display region, FIG. 9B illustrates an example in which a frame 810 is displayed on the right and left of the display region, and FIG. 9C illustrates an example in which a star-shaped symbol 812 is displayed at the upper right of the display region. With use of such modes in the case of the stomach, for example, the user is capable of observing the mucous membrane in more detail while the observation is not hindered by the display of the recognition result. The recognition result may be displayed or hidden by the above-described condition setting according to an area. In a case where a setting is made to hide the recognition result, the mode in which “recognition is performed but the result is not displayed” is possible. Alternatively, the recognition result may be displayed or hidden in accordance with a determined condition (an elapsed time or the like) other than an area. Furthermore, the display mode may be changed (the figure may be changed, the color or brightness may be changed, or the like) in accordance with a recognition result and/or the certainty thereof.” FIGS. 9A to 9C, in a display region of the monitor 400 (a display apparatus), a recognition result is displayed in a region suitable for the area (a figure or the like is not directly superimposed on the endoscopic image, but is displayed outside a display range of the endoscopic image in the display region of the monitor 400). Represents superimposing on the endoscopic image when that lesion is not completely aligned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Saito with Kamon’s ability to superimpose an image of the ideal area when the result is not what is expected.
The motivation would have been to be able to display the results suitable for an area as taught by Kamon ¶[0031] “display of a recognition result in a manner suitable for an area.”.
As per claim 2, Saito in view of Kamon teaches, the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the preferable display range of the lesion region is a predetermined range stored in advance in the at least one memory (Saito, fig.2 the predetermined area would be that of the stomach or different parts and stored in memory when training the CNN and the rest of the system, ¶ [0307] “In order to examine the performance of the trained CNN system according to the sixth embodiment in distinguishing the M cancers from the SM cancers, the same validity examination test data, that is, 405 non-magnification endoscopic images and 509 magnification endoscopic images from the 155 patients were selected.”).
As per claim 3, Saito in view of Kamon teaches, the image processing device according to the image processing device according to wherein the preferable display range of the lesion region is a range whose shape and/or sizes adjusted based on a lesion detection result (Saito, ¶[0061] “Because every digestive organ has a complex shape, if only a small number of sites to be classified are available, it is sometimes difficult to recognize to which site of the digestive organ a specific endoscopic image corresponds. In the diagnostic assistance method for a disease based on an endoscopic image of a digestive organ with use of a CNN system according to the fourth aspect, because each of the plurality of digestive organs is sectioned into the plurality of sections, it becomes possible to obtain a highly accurate diagnosis result within a short time period.” The sections represent the regions).
As per claim 4, Saito in view of Kamon teaches, the image processing device according to the image processing device according to wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: approximate the detected lesion region with a figure such as an ellipse or a rectangle; and display the frame along the approximated figure (Saito, fig.11 rectangle being shown of the detected lesion region).
As per claim 5, Saito in view of Kamon teaches, the image processing device according to the image processing device according to wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: increase the size of the frame with an increase in the size of the detected lesion region (Saito, fig.11 output the bigger the lesion the bigger this frame would be ).
As per claim 6, Saito in view of Kamon teaches, the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to acquire an inference result regarding the lesion region outputted from a lesion detection model by inputting the endoscopic image to the lesion detection model, and wherein the lesion detection model is a model obtained by machine learning of a relation between an input image to the lesion detection model and the lesion region included in the input image (Saito, ¶[0035] “In establishing associations between medical images, deep learning can train a neural network using medical images accumulated in the past, and has a possibility of being a strong machine-learning technology that allows the clinical features of a patient to be acquired directly from the medical images. A neural network is a mathematical model representing features of a neural circuit of a brain with computational simulations, and the algorithm supporting deep learning takes an approach using a neural network. A convolutional neural network (CNN) is developed by Szegedy and others, and is a network architecture that is most typically used for a purpose of deep learning of images.” ).
As per claim 7, Saito in view of Kamon, the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to display the suggestion to assist examiner's decision making (Saito, ¶[0181] “Furthermore, with diagnoses of H. pylori using the CNN according to this first embodiment, because a result can be immediately obtained if an endoscopic image in an endoscopic examination is inputted, it is possible to provide completely “online” assistance to the diagnoses of H. pylori, and therefore, it becomes possible to solve the problem of heterogeneity of the distribution of medical doctors across the regions, by providing what is called “remote medical cares”. This is assisting examiners decision making and ¶[0182] “ by using this CNN with an enormous number of images in storage, screening of a H. pylori infection can be assisted greatly without evaluations of endoscopic examiners,” ).
Conclusion
/SANTIAGO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/SG/