Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “upward from said body forming a cavity” is believed to be in error for -upward from said bottom forming a cavity-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 2018/0106589) in view of Kalentics (WO 2025/017218).
Kim teaches with respect to claim 1, a dental retainer that is configured to be mateably coupled to a wear’s teeth and maintain the teeth in fluid communication with saliva production (see pars. 39, 41 of translation, figs. 1-6), wherein the dental retainer comprises a body, said body having a semicircular profile (see fig. 1, such that the body is the appliance), said body having a bottom, a front wall and a rear wall, said bottom, said front wall and said rear wall being contiguously formed (see figs. 1-6, such that the front wall is the surface of the appliance on the buccal side, the bottom is the surface of the appliance on the occlusal surface, and the back wall is the surface of the appliance on the lingual side), said front wall and said rear wall extending upward from said bottom forming a cavity (see figs. 2-6, such that the walls for a cavity extending upwards from the bottom to form a cavity, such that if the appliance were placed on the upper jaw the direction would be upwards as in fig. 6), a plurality of tooth receptacles, said plurality of tooth receptacles being formed in said cavity (see figs. 1-6, pars. 29-30, i.e. tooth pockets are the claimed tooth receptacles), said plurality of tooth receptacles configured to mateably couple with each tooth of the wear’s teeth, said plurality of tooth receptacles each having a reservoir proximate a bottom thereof (see annotated figures below, such that the reservoir is the thickness of the tray and the aperture is the opening in the tray), each reservoir having an interior volume operable to receive and retain saliva therein (see par. 30 of translation, such that the apertures and reservoirs are capable of receiving and retaining saliva), said plurality of tooth receptacles further having a plurality of apertures 120 proximate thereto, at least one aperture of said plurality of apertures being placed in a first position of said body and at least a second one of said plurality of apertures being placed in a second position of said body (see figs. 1-6) , said apertures operable to facilitate transfer of saliva production into reservoirs (see annotated figure below, par. 30 of translation). Kim teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, however, does not specifically teach each of the plurality of apertures being fluidly coupled to one of the reservoirs.
Kalentics teaches a dental retainer configured to be mateably coupled to a wearer’s teeth and maintain the teeth in fluid communication with saliva production (see abstract, pars. 1-2, 13, 50, 53, claim 1) wherein the dental retainer comprises a body 1, said body having a semicircular profile (abstract, par. 14, such that the body is u-shaped and covers at least part of the dentition, see fig. 3 showing the u-shaped cross section and fig. 15 which shows the u-shaped, i.e. semicircular profile of the retainer that covers the dentition) said body having a bottom, a front wall and a rear wall, said bottom, said front wall and said rear wall being contiguously formed (see claim 1), said front wall and said rear wall extending upward from said bottom forming a cavity, a plurality of tooth receptacles (such that if the body fits an entire dentition as illustrated in fig. 15, the body has a plurality of tooth receptacles), said plurality of tooth receptacles being formed in said cavity (see figs. 6 , 10, 28-29 which show the device on the jaw, such that the cavity has tooth receptables as claimed) said plurality of tooth receptacles configured to mateably couple with each tooth of the wearer’s teeth (see figs. 6, 10, 28-29, claims 1-2), said plurality of teeth receptacles each having a reservoir 7 proximate a bottom thereof (see figs. 28-29), each said reservoir having an interior volume operable to receive and retain saliva therein (pars. 122-123, such that they are operable to receive and retain a fluid), said plurality of tooth receptacles further having a plurality of apertures 4 (par. 68, such that there are a plurality of openings on the external surface of the body to communicate with the internal surface to deliver saliva to the teeth when the device is in use), each of the plurality of apertures being fluidly coupled to one of the reservoirs, said apertures operable to facilitate transfer of saliva production into the reservoirs (see figs. 24, 28-29 which show the aperture 4 being connected to reservoirs 7/44). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Kim with the single reservoir connected to the apertures as taught by Kalentics in order to allow for better and more even distribution of the liquid/saliva over the surface of the teeth (see pars. 116-118 of Kalentics). It is noted that the modification would result in a reservoir 44 as taught by Kalentics located between the different apertures 120 and connecting the apertures of Kim.
Kim/Kalentics teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Kalentics further teaches with respect to claim 2, further including a plurality of inter-receptacle passages 46 (such that each section of element 46 is one inter-receptacle passage, see annotated figure), the inter-receptacle passages being hollow, said inter-receptacle being configured to fluidly couple adjacent tooth receptacles, said inter-receptacle passages operable to distribute saliva between adjacent tooth receptables and reservoirs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Kim with the inter-receptacle passages as taught by Kalentics in order to allow for communication between the teeth cavities.
Kim/Kalentics teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Kim further teaches with respect to claim 3, wherein the first position of said at least one aperture is in said front wall of said body (see annotated figures above, further see par. 34 of translation).
Kim/Kalentics teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Kim further teaches with respect to claim 4, wherein the second position of said at least one second one aperture is in said rear wall of said body (see annotated figures above, further see par. 34 of translation).
Kim/Kalentics teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, Kim further teaches with respect to claim 5, wherein said body is manufactured from a biocompatible plastic (see par. 28, 36). It is noted that the device is designed for use in the mouth, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to ensure that the plastic is a biocompatible plastic to make sure the device is safe for use in the oral environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 12/5/2025