Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,8,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarilio et al (US10114787 B2) hereinafter as Amarilio in view of SUGIMOTO et al (US 20190001904 A1) hereinafter as SUGIMOTO.
Regarding claim(s) 1,8, Amarilio discloses a communication system in which a main device and a plurality of sub- devices connected to the main device via a communication network communicate with each other in parallel (BUS) (See Fig(s). 1, main device 12 with plurality of sub devices 14 in parallel communications with main via the bus 16), the communication system comprising:
the plurality of sub-devices each including a switch configured to open or close a connection of a parallel (BUS) communication line to the main device, and a terminal resistor configured to enable wiring to the parallel (BUS) communication line (See Fig(s). 1, 8A, See ¶ 5,42, main device 12 with plurality of sub devices 14 in parallel communications with main via the bus 16, the main is connected to slaves via switches 84 for power control to turn on/off…for terminal resistor to enable parallel bus communications See Fig(s). 9, See ¶ 48, where the end slave device 62(N) may act as end resistor in this case a audio system such as soundwire);
and the main device connected to the plurality of sub-devices through the parallel (BUS) communication line, and configured to set communication IDs of the plurality of sub-devices (See Fig(s). 4d, See ¶ 33, a device identification selection circuit 55 is provided as an alternative to a device identification generation circuit. The device identification selection circuit 55 includes an ADC 54 similar to the device identification generation circuits 48-48(3) described above. The electrical characteristic generated by the external source 50(4) on the conference pin 42 can be detected by the device identification selection circuit 55. ).
Amarilio fails to disclose based on the communication IDs, diagnose a communication failure in the communication network.
SUGIMOTO discloses based on the communication IDs, diagnose a communication failure in the communication network (See ¶ 7, discloses a technique for facilitating determination of a node ID of a slave device as well as addition and failure detection of a slave device. More specifically, a master device and slave devices are common-bus-connected using a serial signal line and are thus connected to each other by a daisy chain. A response message to be communicated from a slave device contains flag information indicating a state of an upstream device and a connection state of a downstream device as well as a node ID setting state of other devices.). Failure detection within a communication line helps to detect faults and isolate them ensuring system reliability and reducing downtime.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of SUGIMOTO within Amarilio, to help to detect faults and isolate them ensuring system reliability and reducing downtime.
Regarding claim(s) 15, Amarilio discloses a computer program stored on a recording medium to execute the method as claimed in 8 by using a computing device (See ¶ 54).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-7,9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411