Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 9-11, 13-15 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-6, 13-15, and 20, the phrase "in particular" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 18-19, the phrase "preferably" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vogler, US20200353650.
Regarding independent claim 1, Vogler discloses a component for manufacturing micro- and/or nanostructured devices (Paragraph [0009], lines 1-8; 33, Fig. 8), comprising a base body (36, Fig. 8) and a surface (34, Fig. 8) which has micro- or nanostructures which form a substantially flat support surface (Paragraph [0081]; Paragraph [0022], lines 6-11; Paragraph [0011]) and between which trenches extend with a statistical distribution (Fig. 8; Paragraph [0107]), to which a vacuum can be applied (Paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the trenches have random variations in width and/or depth (Paragraph [0018], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the micro- or nanostructures are in the form of pins of at least approximately equal heights (Paragraph [0022]; 34, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and the component is configured as a substrate holder for holding a substrate, in particular a stamp or stamp carrier, a mask or a wafer, wherein a vacuum for holding the substrate can be applied to the trenches (Paragraph [0009], lines 1-8; Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the component is at least partially transparent, in particular to UV light (Paragraph [0084], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 5, and the component formed as a diffuser, wherein the micro-or nanostructures are configured to scatter light, in particular UV light (Paragraph [0021], lines 1-6; Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and having an edge area which forms part of the flat support surface and encloses the micro- or nanostructures (edge of 34, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 7, and wherein the edge area includes at least one vacuum channel (edge of 34 includes vacuum channels 46, Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 9, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein a ratio of the widths of the trenches and of the micro- or nanostructures is greater than 7/3 (Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 10, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein a ratio of the widths of the trenches and of the micro- or nanostructures is smaller than 3/7 (Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 1, and a method of manufacturing the component (Paragraph [0109]; Fig. 9), comprising the step of: producing, by a laser, preferably by laser ablation and/or laser-induced etching, a surface which has micro- or nanostructures which form a substantially flat support surface (Paragraph [0044]-Paragraph [0046]) and between which trenches extend with a statistical distribution (Paragraph [0021], lines 1-2), to which a vacuum can be applied (Paragraph [0021]; [0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 2, and wherein the micro- or nanostructures are in the form of pins of at least approximately equal heights (Paragraph [0022]; 34, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 2, and the component is configured as a substrate holder for holding a substrate, in particular a stamp or stamp carrier, a mask or a wafer, wherein a vacuum for holding the substrate can be applied to the trenches (Paragraph [0009], lines 1-8; Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 2, and wherein the component is at least partially transparent, in particular to UV light (Paragraph [0084], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 15, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 14, and the component formed as a diffuser, wherein the micro-or nanostructures are configured to scatter light, in particular UV light (Paragraph [0021], lines 1-6; Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 16, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 2, and having an edge area which forms part of the flat support surface and encloses the micro- or nanostructures (edge of 34, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 16, and wherein the edge area includes at least one vacuum channel (edge of 34 includes vacuum channels 46, Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding claim 18, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 2, and wherein a ratio of the widths of the trenches and of the micro- or nanostructures is greater than 7/3 (Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 19, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 2, and wherein a ratio of the widths of the trenches and of the micro- or nanostructures is smaller than 3/7 (Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Vogler discloses the limitations of claim 3, and the component is configured as a substrate holder for holding a substrate, in particular a stamp or stamp carrier, a mask or a wafer, wherein a vacuum for holding the substrate can be applied to the trenches (Paragraph [0009], lines 1-8; Paragraph [0018]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 12, 15, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12172344. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor rewording of claim limitations, and the patented claims are narrower in scope than the instant claims.
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12172344 in view of Alikhan et al., US20230384694.
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application, claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12172344 disclose a component (“a holding device”; Claim 1, line 4).
U.S. Patent No. 12172344 does not explicitly disclose producing, by a laser, preferably by laser ablation and/or laser-induced etching, a surface which has micro- or nanostructures which form a substantially flat support surface and between which trenches extend with a statistical distribution, to which a vacuum can be applied.
Alikhan et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a component (“a technique for manufacturing flexburls on one or more substrate table surfaces” Paragraph [0058], lines 1-3) comprising the step of producing, by a laser, a surface which has micro- or nanostructures which form a substantially flat support surface (“by forming (e.g. using…laser ablation…) a trench around each burl, which…adds vacuum volume to the volume between the substrate and the substrate table” Paragraph [0058], lines 1-8; “where each burl…has a top diameter between about 100 microns and about 500 microns” Paragraph [0053], lines 5-7) and between which trenches extend with a statistical distribution (statistical distribution of trenches, 1604, Fig. 16B), to which a vacuum can be applied (“a trench around each burl, which…adds vacuum volume”, Paragraph [0058], lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the component of U.S. Patent No. 12172344 to produce the component by laser in order to ensure “sub-micrometer (micron) tolerances over a 300mm diameter substrate area and beyond” (Paragraph [0005], lines 16-21; Alikhan). One would have been motivated to make such a modification to “reduce smoothness of the surface that interfaces with the wafer” because “ultra-smooth surfaces in contact may become stuck together, which may present a problem when a substrate must be disengaged from the substrate table” (Paragraph [0005], lines 13-19; Alikhan).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654