CTNF 18/410,380 CTNF 100215 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 11 and 15 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nukada et al (US PGP 2009/0226208) in view of Karube (US PGP 2019/0004454), further in view of Iwasaki et al (US PGP 2020/0257212) . Nukada teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor and an image forming apparatus ([0003]). The photoreceptor comprises a surface layer containing a copolymer of structural units of a Formula A and a Formula B, and fluorine-based resin particles ([0017]). Nukada’s Formula A reads on instant formula (1) ([0018]). The fluorine-based resin particles are preferably polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) resin particles ([0059]). Nukada teaches a binder resin contained alongside the above-described copolymer and the fluorine-based resin particles in the surface layer ([0023] – [0024]). In various embodiments of an electrophotographic photoreceptor described by Nukada, the surface (that is, outermost) layer of the photoreceptor may be a single-layer type photosensitive layer; the outer layer of a multi-layer type photosensitive layer; or a protective layer disposed upon the photosensitive layer ([0026]). In all such cases, the above-described copolymer and the fluorine-based resin particles are contained in the surface layer of the photoreceptor. Nukada describes an intermediate transfer belt as part of the image forming apparatus ([0112]), but does not give detailed preferences regarding the composition of the intermediate transfer belt. Karube discloses an electrophotographic belt having a surface layer which comprises a binding resin, a perfluoropolyether, and a comb-shaped graft copolymer of a fluoroalkyl (meth)acrylate and a methacrylate macromonomer having a side chain of poly(methyl methacrylate) (Abstract). The belt described by Karube may be used as an intermediate transfer belt in an image forming apparatus ([0002] – [0005]), which contributes to stable high-quality image formation ([0006]). The comb-shaped graft copolymer is termed a “dispersant” by Karube ([0080]), which serves to disperse the PFPE in the binder resin ([0079]). Several commercial products are pointed out which may be used as the dispersant ([0088]), but preferences surrounding specific monomers or classes of monomers for use in the dispersant do not appear to be given. Iwasaki describes a photoreceptor having fluorine-containing particles which are uniformly dispersed in the surface layer ([0040]), which also contains a graft copolymer having a fluoralkyl group ([0043]). The graft copolymer serves as a dispersant ([0118]), which maintains dispersion of fluorine-containing particles in the surface layer ([0038]). The fluorine-containing graft copolymer contains structural units of (meth)acrylates having fluoroalkyl groups, and non-fluorinated units having ester groups ([0129]). In particular, the graft copolymer may contain structural units of a formula (FA) and a formula (FB) ([0132]). Iwasaki’s formula (FA) reads on instant formula (2) ([0134]). In preparing the electrophotographic apparatus described by Nukada, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the quality of printed images by incorporating the intermediate transfer belt taught by Karube. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve dispersion of the PFPE in the binder resin of the surface layer of the intermediate transfer belt by incorporating the graft copolymer dispersant taught by Karube. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the electrophotographic apparatus of Nukada, incorporating the intermediate transfer belt of Karube, wherein the surface layer of the transfer belt comprises the dispersant taught by Iwasaki, resulting in an apparatus described by Claim 1 . Where the fluoroalkyl methacrylates of Nukada’s formula A may represent the entirety of structural units having a perfluoroalkyl group in that copolymer; and where the fluoroalkyl acrylates of Iwasaki’s formula (FA) may represent the entirety of structural units having a perfluoroalkyl group in that copolymer, both formulae (i) and (ii) of Claim 2 would be satisfied. Nukada’s formula (A) allows the perfluoroalkyl portion of those monomers to having 2 – 6 carbons ([0018]), overlapping the range of Claim 3 . Iwasaki’s formula (FA) allows the perfluoroalkyl portion of those monomers to have 2 – 8 carbons ([0134]), overlapping the range stated in Claim 4 . Nukada teaches a preferred range for the weight-average molecular weight of the copolymer of 10,000 – 100,000, overlapping the range stated in Claim 5 . Nukada teaches a preferred mole ratio of the monomers according to formulae A and B in the copolymer in the range of 1:9 – 9:1 ([0053]). This allows monomers of formula A to have a content in the copolymer of 10 – 90% by number, overlapping the range stated in Claim 6 . Nukada teaches a content of the copolymer in the surface layer of 1 – 5% by mass relative to the amount of fluorine-based resin (PTFE) particles ([0057]), overlapping the range stated in Claim 7 . Nukada’s formula B of the copolymer reads on instant formula (M) ([0018]), satisfying Claim 8 . Nukada’s copolymer may comprise only structural units according to formulae A and B, reading on instant formulae (1) and (M), respectively, satisfying Claim 9 . As mentioned above, Nukada teaches that the ratio of monomer units according to formulae A and B in the copolymer may be in the range of 1:9 – 9:1, overlapping the range stated in Claim 10 . Nukada teaches a preferred content of the fluorine-based resin particles, which may be PTFE particles, of 1 – 15% by weight in the surface layer, overlapping the range stated in Claim 11 . Karube teaches that the comb-shaped graft polymer preferably has a number-average molecular weight of 11,000 – 15,000, and a peak-top molecular weight of 24,000 – 40,000 ([0051]), the same as the ranges stated in Claim 15 . Karube teaches that the binder resin of the surface layer of the transfer belt may be an acrylic resin, satisfying Claim 16 . Karube teaches a preferred content of the perfluoropolyether (PFPE) in the surface layer of the transfer belt of 20 – 40% by mass ([0076]), the same as the range stated in Claim 17 . Karube teaches a preferred content of the dispersant (reading on instant Polymer B) in the surface layer of the transfer belt of 5 – 30% by mass ([0093]), the same as the range stated in Claim 18 . Karube describes a matrix-domain structure of the surface layer of the transfer belt ([0099]), comprising domains of perfluoropolyether (PFPE) ([0100]) in a matrix of the binder resin ([0111]). The domains preferably have a major axis diameter of 1 – 60 nm, the same as the range stated in Claim 19 . Nukada teaches a method of preparing the charge transport layer (which may be the surface layer of the photoreceptor) from a coating liquid comprising fluorine-based resin particles (which maybe PTFE particles), the copolymer, and the binder resin ([0075]). A further step of drying the coating liquid to afford a charge transport layer is described ([0125]). Karube describes a method of forming the surface layer of the electrophotographic belt in which a coating solution, containing the copolymer (dispersant), perfluoropolyether (PFPE), and polymerizable monomers of the binding material, is applied to the outer periphery of a base layer. The coating solution is then dried and cured by UV irradiation ([0120]). Together, these coating liquids and curing/drying steps satisfy Claim 20 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nukada et al (US PGP 2009/0226208) in view of Karube (US PGP 2019/0004454), further in view of Iwasaki et al (US PGP 2020/0257212), further in view of Mitsuda et al (US PGP 2022/0404725) . The above discussions of Nukada, Karube, and Iwasaki are incorporated herein. None of Nukada, Karube, or Iwasaki appears to teach a binding material comprising a cured product of a hole transport material having a polymerizable functional group in the surface layer of an electrophotographic member. Mitsuda teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor including a surface layer comprising fluorine-containing resin particles and a fluorine-based polymer (Abstract). The fluorine-based polymer includes structural units of B1 and B2, represented by formulae (2) and (3), respectively ([0008]), which read on instant formulae (1) and (M). The fluorine-containing resin particles of Mitsuda may be polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) particles ([0091]). The surface layer of the photoreceptor may be a single-layer type photosensitive layer; the charge transport layer of a multi-layer type photosensitive layer; or a protective layer disposed on a photosensitive layer ([0096]). In a multi-layer photosensitive layer, Mitsuda teaches that the charge transport layer may include a resin having a triarylamine functional group ([0135]). Similarly, if a protective layer, which would include the fluorine-containing resin particles and the fluorine-based polymer B ([0144]), is incorporated, the protective layer may contain a charge transport material, which may be a resin having a triarylamine functional group ([0145]). Mitsuda teaches that the protective layer can protect the photosensitive layer from being scraped and can improve the endurance of the photosensitive member ([0144]). Mitsuda gives the (meth)acrylic group as an example of a polymerizable functional group which can be used in the protective layer resin, and teaches that the monomers used in such a resin may have charge transport properties ([0147]). In a preparative example of a protective layer, Mitsuda discloses formation of a protective layer for a photoreceptor which includes in the coating liquid the compound of a formula (6) ([0245] – [0252]), which is the same as instant formula (B) (Specification, [0272]). Mitsuda’s compound of formula (6) reads on instant formula (CT-1). In preparing the electrophotographic apparatus of Nukada, incorporating the intermediate transfer belt of Karube, wherein the surface layer of the transfer belt comprises the dispersant taught by Iwasaki, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the endurance of the photosensitive member comprising PTFE particles and the comb-shaped graft polymer taught by Nukada by incorporating the protective layer taught by Mitsuda, which also includes the polymerizable hole transport compound of formula (6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the electrophotographic apparatus of Nukada, incorporating the intermediate transfer belt of Karube, wherein the surface layer of the transfer belt comprises the dispersant taught by Iwasaki, and wherein the protective layer of the photosensitive member comprises a cured product of polymerizable triarylamine compound according to formula (6) of Mitsuda, resulting in an apparatus described by Claim 12 and Claim 13 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nukada et al (US PGP 2009/0226208) in view of Karube (US PGP 2019/0004454), further in view of Iwasaki et al (US PGP 2020/0257212), further in view of Takeuchi (JP 2022-170536) (machine translation of which is referred to henceforth) . The above discussions of Nukada, Karube, and Iwasaki are incorporated herein. None of Nukada, Karube, or Iwasaki appears to teach a fluoroalkyl ether conforming to formula (3). Takeuchi teaches a dispersion of fluorine atom-containing resin fine particles, an electrophotographic photoreceptor, and a method of producing a photoreceptor ([0001]). The dispersion of fluorine atom-containing resin fine particles exhibits excellent dispersibility and storage stability ([0007]). The photoreceptor taught by Takeuchi comprises the fluorine atom-containing resin fine particles, a dispersant, and a compound of a formula (1), which may be an alkyl-fluoroalkyl ether, or a di(fluoroalkyl) ether ([0010]). The surface layer of the photoreceptor exhibits suppression of potential fluctuations during long-term use in high-temperature and high-humidity environments ([0019]). Takeuchi identifies 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,2-trifluoroethyl ether as a preferred compound conforming to formula (1) ([0023]), which also reads on instant formula (3). Particles of polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) are identified as an example of a fluorine atom-containing resin fine particle ([0029]). Takeuchi teaches a dispersant which is preferably a fluorine-containing (meth)acrylic copolymer, having structural units of a formula (2) and a formula (a) ([0032]), which is substantially the same as the dispersant taught by Nukada. In preparing the electrophotographic apparatus of Nukada, incorporating the intermediate transfer belt of Karube, wherein the surface layer of the transfer belt comprises the dispersant taught by Iwasaki, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to suppress potential fluctuations in the photosensitive member by using the fluoroalkyl ether solvent taught by Takeuchi to prepare a dispersion comprising PTFE particles and the dispersant taught by Nukada. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the electrophotographic apparatus of Nukada, incorporating the intermediate transfer belt of Karube, wherein the surface layer of the transfer belt comprises the dispersant taught by Iwasaki, wherein the surface layer of the photoreceptor is prepared as taught by Takeuchi, resulting in a surface layer of the photoreceptor comprising a compound conforming to formula (3) of Claim 14 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Grant S Seiler whose telephone number is (571)272-3015. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30 - 5:30 Pacific. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jonathan Johnson can be reached at 571-272-1177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GRANT STEVEN SEILER/Examiner, Art Unit 1734 /PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 06/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 2 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 3 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 4 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 5 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 6 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 7 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 8 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 9 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 10 Art Unit: 1734 Application/Control Number: 18/410,380 Page 11 Art Unit: 1734