DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending
Claims 1 and 6 have been amended
Claims 15-20 have been canceled
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or render obvious a discharge ring including a discharge passage; a discharge nozzle connected to the discharge ring, and wherein the discharge nozzle includes: a discharge body including a spray space connected to the discharge passage and a central hole through which the cleaning agent is sprayed into the process space; a piezoelectric element ; and an elastic portion including an elastic hole that is opened and closed by the piezoelectric element, the elastic portion being configured to discharge the cleaning agent from the discharge passage into the process space to control a spraying cycle and a spraying amount of the cleaning agent as in the context of claim 8. Claim 6 contains similar limitations and is allowable for the same reasons discussed with regard to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biberger et al. US 2002/0189543 (US’543) in view of Yoshikawa et al. US 2004/0123484 (US’484) and Zhao US 2018/0294170 (US’170).
Regarding claim 1, US’543 teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a process chamber including a process space (a high pressure chamber for processing of a semiconductor substrate, abstract, para. 27 see fig. 3); a stage configured to support a substrate (wafer platen 34, para. 25-27, see fig. 3); a pressurizing pump configured to increase a pressure in the process space (wafer cavity 44 is pressurized by the carbon dioxide pump 218 to desired supercritical conditions, para. 48, see fig. 6); and a cleaning agent discharger configured to spray a cleaning agent into the process space, wherein the cleaning agent discharger includes (incoming supercritical fluid 82 enters the plenum 64 of the spacer/injection ring 42, para. 31-37 see fig. 3 and 4a-b): a discharge ring including a discharge path through which the cleaning agent flows (ring 42 includes plenum 64, see fig. 3 and 4a-b); and a plurality of discharge nozzles connected to the discharge ring and spaced apart in a circumferential direction about a central axis of the stage (ring 42 includes plenum 64 connected to injection nozzles 66, see fig. 3 and 4a-b).
US’543 does not teach a rotator configured to rotate the stage, and wherein each discharge nozzle of the plurality of discharge nozzles includes an elastic portion including an elastic hole that is configured to be opened and closed.
US’484 teaches a high pressure processing method for subjecting a processing object to a high pressure processing using a high pressure fluid (abstract). Processing uniformity in the plane of the wafer 2 can be improved by rotation of the wafer 2 and thereby further improved efficiency in cleaning or drying (para. 22 and 33, see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of US’543 to include a rotator configured to rotate the stage because US’484 teaches it can improve processing uniformity and efficiency of a high pressure cleaning process and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
The modified apparatus of US’543 does not teach a wherein each discharge nozzle of the plurality of discharge nozzles includes an elastic portion including an elastic hole that is configured to be opened and closed.
US’170 teaches a semiconductor processing device including a reaction chamber, a first gas inlet mechanism, and a second gas inlet mechanism that includes a gas inlet, a uniform-flow chamber, at least one gas outlet, and at least one switch element. Referring to FIGS. 2B and 2C. FIG. 2B is an enlarged view of an area I in FIG. 2A when no gas is being introduced from the uniform-flow chamber 203; and FIG. 2C is an enlarged view of the area I in FIG. 2A when a gas is being introduced. As shown in FIGS. 2B and 2C, in some embodiments, the switch element 208 may include a fixing member 308, a movable member 304, and an elastic member 305. For example, the elastic member 305 may include a compression spring. when a process gas is delivered to the reaction chamber 200 through the first gas inlet mechanism 202, the second process gas remaining in uniform-flow chamber 203 can be prevented from entering into the reaction chamber 200 to mix with the first process gas, thereby ensuring uniformity of the process and the product yield (para. 6-7 and 26-44). The elastic inlet of US’170 can therefore be combined with the nozzle inlets of US’543 to ensuring uniformity of the process and the product yield by isolating the chamber from a gas delivery system using an elastic member that quickly responds to pressure changes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of US’543 to include each discharge nozzle of the plurality of discharge nozzles includes an elastic portion including an elastic hole that is configured to be opened and closed because US’170 teaches it ensures uniformity of the process and the product yield by isolating the chamber from a gas delivery system using an elastic member that quickly responds to pressure changes and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Regarding claim 2, the modified apparatus of US’543 teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1. US’643 further teaches wherein the process chamber includes: a first portion; a second portion selectively coupled to the first portion to open and close the process space; and a coupling that couples the first portion with the second portion to seal the process space (Chamber 30 includes the pressure chamber frame 10, the top lid 32, a wafer platen 34, a cylinder 36, and a sealing plate 38. The top lid 32 is coupled to the pressure chamber frame 10. hydraulic cavity 58 is depressurized while the pneumatic cavity 60 is slightly pressurized with a gas, which moves the piston 40 down. This lowers the wafer platen 34 so that the semiconductor wafer 46 is adjacent to the slit 16. The wafer 46 is then removed through the slit 16, para. 25-31, see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, the modified apparatus of US’543 teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1. US’643 further teaches wherein the pressurizing pump includes: an inlet pump connected to one side of the process space to inject pressurized gas into the process space; and an outlet pump connected to the other side of the process space to discharge pressurized gas in the process space (pump 218 supplies carbon dioxide to the chamber and pump 210 is connected to a chamber outlet 70 for removing supercritical fluids from the chamber and recirculating them para. 36-41, see fig. 6).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’543 in view of US’484 and US’170 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Babic US 2006/0065636 (US’636).
Regarding claim 3, the modified apparatus of US’543 teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
The modified apparatus of US’543 does not teach a first heater inside the stage and configured to apply heat to the stage, wherein the stage further includes a support pin configured to move up and down.
US’636 teaches a method and apparatus for flowing a fluid over a substrate in a processing system including a high pressure substrate processing system similar to the system of US’543 (abstract, para. 51-53, see fig. 3-5). The lower chamber assembly 115 can include a platen 116 configured to support substrate 105 and a drive mechanism 118 for translating the platen 116 in order to load and unload substrate 105, and seal lower chamber assembly 115 with upper chamber assembly 114. The platen 116 can also be configured to heat or cool the substrate 105 before, during, and/or after processing the substrate 105. Additionally, the lower assembly 115 can include a lift pin assembly for displacing the substrate 105 from the upper surface of the platen 116 during substrate loading and unloading (para. 44, see fig. 1). Therefore, US’636 teaches that heaters inside the stage and support pins are well known structures to be included in the apparatus of US’543.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’543 to include a first heater inside the stage and configured to apply heat to the stage, wherein the stage further includes a support pin configured to move up and down because US’636 teaches that are well known structures to be included in the apparatus of US’543 and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’543 in view of US’484 and US’170 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mc Dermott US 2007/0240740 (US’740).
Regarding claim 4, the modified apparatus of US’543 teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
The modified apparatus of US’543 does not teach an infrared light source configured to apply infrared light to the stage; and a second heater coupled to one of an upper surface or side surfaces of the process chamber to face the stage.
US’740 teaches method for removing contaminant material from a contaminated article comprising contacting the contaminated article with a reactive cleaning fluid (abstract). Supercritical pressures may be attained by mechanical devices using pumps or compressors to transfer the fluid from storage into the cleaning chamber. Alternatively, supercritical pressures may be attained by heating the fluid to a supercritical temperature at constant volume and density in a vessel external to the cleaning chamber and transferring the heated and pressurized fluid into the cleaning chamber at final conditions that are above the critical temperature and pressure of the fluid. In another alternative, the cleaning fluid may be introduced into the cleaning chamber at subcritical conditions and then heated therein at constant volume and density to a supercritical temperature and pressure. The reactive cleaning fluid adjacent the surfaces of the articles may be heated by infrared radiant heater 11 that transmits heating radiation to articles 3 via window 13 installed in a wall of oxidation vessel 1. The vessel may be heated as required by heater 5, shown here as placed on the vessel wall (side surface) (para. 34-37, see fig. 1). Therefore, US’740 teaches that heaters on side surfaces and infrared heaters can be used in supercritical processing apparatus to maintain supercritical processing conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’543 to include an infrared light source configured to apply infrared light to the stage; and a second heater coupled to one of an upper surface or side surfaces of the process chamber to face the stage because US’740 teaches heaters on side surfaces and infrared heaters can be used in supercritical processing apparatus to maintain supercritical processing conditions and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’543 in view of US’484 and US’170 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. US 2018/0358242 (US’242).
Regarding claim 7, the modified apparatus of US’543 teaches the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1.
The modified apparatus of US’543 does not teach an inert gas nozzle configured to inject an inert gas into the process space.
US’242 teaches a substrate processing apparatus and an apparatus for manufacturing an integrated circuit device, which use a supercritical fluid. The apparatus includes two supply ports for supply supercritical fluid 111 and 113. One inlet is used to increase the pressure of the vessel at the beginning of the process and the other inlet is used to control the flow of supercritical fluid during the process (para. 27-35, 46-48 and 101-104). Although US’242 does not specify that either of the inlets supply inert gas, this reads as the intended use of the nozzle. Therefore, US’242 teaches to provide multiple fluid inlets/nozzles in a super critical processing chamber to provide control other the processing conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of US’543 to include an inert gas nozzle configured to inject an inert gas into the process space because US’242 teaches to provide multiple fluid inlets/nozzles in a super critical processing chamber to provide control other the processing conditions and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to independent claim 1 to incorporate some subject matter of claim 6 into claim 1 including subject matter regarding an elastic portion has changed the scope of claim 1. As a result, a new rejection is presented in the above final office action under 102 as unpatentable over US’543 in view of US’484 and US’170. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejection of claim 1 is made under 103 which includes both the rejection of claim 1 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 9-24-25 and the teachings of US’170 relevant to subject matter incorporated into claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regard to the teachings of US’543 and US’484 and the amendments made to claim 1 have been considered but are moot due to the references not being relied on for teaching the additional feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713