DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, a claim should only contain one period, which is generally at the end of the claim. There are multiple period throughout the claim. Please amend accordingly. In line 7, the phrase “the status” should be changed to -- a status --. In line 8, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the phrase “product valves”. In line 10, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the word “status”. In line 12, the word -- the -- should be inserted before the phrase “sample pump”.
In claim 3, line 1, the number “14” should be deleted.
In claim 6, line 2, the phrase “the direction” should be changed to -- a direction --.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show reference numerals 8 (piston), 26 (hydraulic fluid), and 28 (source of hydraulic fluid) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference numeral 18 as illustrated in Figure 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 6-7, the phrase “a particular accumulator vessel depending on … accumulator vessel” is not clear on its meaning. Is this “a particular accumulator vessel” one of the at least two accumulator vessels or is it an entirely different accumulator vessel from the at least two accumulator vessels? Please clarify. In line 9, the phrase “accumulator vessels” is vague. Is this referring to the at least two accumulator vessels or the at least two accumulator vessels and the particular accumulator vessel? Please clarify. In lines 9-10, “the pumping of samples to a particular accumulator vessel” is not clear on its meaning. Is this “a particular accumulator vessel” one of the at least two accumulator vessels or is it an entirely different accumulator vessel from the at least two accumulator vessels?
In claim 3, line 2, the phrase “a desired accumulator vessel” is not clear on its meaning. Is this referring to all of the at least two accumulator vessels in line 2 of claim 1, the particular accumulator vessel in line 6 of claim 1, and the particular accumulator vessel in lines 9-10 of claim 1. Please clarify.
In claim 4, lines 2 and 3, the phrase “each accumulator vessel” is not clear on its meaning. Is this referring to all of the at least two accumulator vessels in line 2 of claim 1, the particular accumulator vessel in line 6 of claim 1, and the particular accumulator vessel in lines 9-10 of claim 1 or some of them? Please clarify.
In claim 6, line 3, the phrase “the signals” lacks antecedent basis and indefinite since it is unclear what kind of signal the flow computer is outputting. Please clarify.
In claim 8, line 2, the phrase “the sampled product” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 9, lines 3-4, the phrase “particular accumulator vessels” is unclear which accumulator vessels are being referring to or is this a different particular accumulator vessels? Please clarify.
In claim 10, line 3, the phrase “each accumulator vessel” is not clear on its meaning. Is this referring to all of the at least two accumulator vessels in line 2 of claim 1, the particular accumulator vessel in line 6 of claim 1, and the particular accumulator vessel in lines 9-10 of claim 1 or some of them? Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0330873 (Atchison).
With regards to claim 1, Atchison discloses a pipeline sampling system comprising , as illustrated in Figures 1-3, a sampling system 100 (e.g. sampling system; paragraph [0041]) for sampling fluids 13 (e.g. pressurized fluid; paragraph [0042]) flowing through a pipe 11 (e.g. pipeline; paragraph [0042]) comprising at least two accumulator vessels 30,48 (e.g. sampling station having sample containers; paragraph [0049]); a single sampling pump 26 (e.g. pump; paragraph [0046]) for collection of samples and delivering samples via sampling lines 24 (e.g. sample line or loop; paragraph [0042]) to one or more of the at least two accumulators (e.g. paragraphs [0042],[0043]); one or more product valves 32,34 (e.g. valves; paragraph [0052]) associated with each of the accumulator vessels actuatable to direct sample flow to a particular accumulator vessel depending on the status of each of the at least two accumulator vessels (e.g. paragraphs [0052] to [0055]); a control system 50,18 (e.g. control panel with programmable logic controller; paragraph [0043]) in connection with the sampling pump, product valves and accumulator vessels for automation of the pumping of samples to a particular accumulator vessel, depending on status of each of the at least two accumulator vessels, to ensure consistent sample taking and accumulation (e.g. paragraphs [0043]-[0046],[0056]-[0058],[0061]-[0064],[0069],[0072]); the control system and sample pump is configured to accommodate bi-directional flow of fluid travelling through the pipe (e.g. fluid is supplied from and returned to the pipeline; paragraphs [0042],[0043]). (See, paragraphs [0041] to [0075])
With regards to claim 2, Atchison further discloses the control system 50,18 is in communication with data processing and display systems that are on site or remote (e.g. a processor and computer for providing more accurate reading from printed information on site and/or off-site; paragraphs [0006],[0012]-[0014],[0045],[0056],[0058],[0070]).
With regards to claim 3, Atchison further discloses the control system 50,18 is compatible with a flow computer (e.g. Omni flow computer; paragraph [0045]) and is operator configurable to alarm (e.g. indicator light; paragraph [0057]) when a desired accumulator vessel capacity or sample time is reached in any one or more of the at least two accumulator vessels (e.g. paragraphs [0041]-[0043],[0048]-[0049],[0062]).
With regards to claim 4, Atchison further discloses the control system 50,18 receives readings from instrumentation 20 (e.g. densitometer; paragraph [0045]) in the sampling system 100 to determine pressure in each accumulator vessel, sampling period time for each accumulator vessel and flow through each branch of the sampling lines (e.g. paragraphs [0043],[0045] to [0049],[0071])
With regards to claim 5, Atchison further discloses communication from the control system 50,18 to remote data processing and display systems comprises wires (e.g. paragraph [0045]) but would inherently comprises cellular, WiFi and Bluetooth™ in this day and age to an off-site command center or personnel as indicated in paragraphs [0044] and [0058].
With regards to claim 6, Atchison further discloses the control system 50,18 includes a PLC 18 (e.g. PLC; paragraph [0043]) that can toggle between two receivers, A or B, adapting in real-time to the direction of the fluid flow in the pipe, based on the signals from the flow computer (e.g. paragraphs [0043],[0044],[0045]).
With regards to claim 7, Atchison further discloses the PLC 18 is programmable for receiver selection on a customizable schedule (e.g. paragraphs [0043],[0044],[0056],[0057]).
With regards to claim 8, Atchison further discloses a piston (e.g. floating piston; paragraph [0047]) within each of the at least two accumulator vessels 30,48 for applying pressure to the sampled product within the accumulator vessels (e.g. paragraph [0074]).
With regards to claim 9, Atchison further discloses the piston is actuated by pressurized gas that is distributed from a source of pressurized gas along gas lines such that the gas lines including gas valves tied into the control system for controlling distribution of pressurized gas to particular accumulator vessels (e.g. paragraphs [0046],[0047],[0051]-[0053],[0058],[0063], [0069],[0072],[0073]).
With regards to claim 10, Atchison further discloses data from pressure inside each of the at least two accumulator vessels is processed by the control system to manipulate the pressurized gas valves to direct sufficient pressurized gas to each accumulator vessel during a sampling period (e.g. paragraphs [0043],[0046],[0047],[0050]-[0053],[0056],[0058],[0063],[0069] ,[0070],[0072],[0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0330873 (Atchison) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0277729 (Yan et al.).
With regards to claim 11, Atchison does not disclose each of the at least one accumulator vessels comprise an internal mixer to blend the collected samples in the accumulator vessels prior to a representative volume being taken.
Yan et al. discloses a system for sampling fluid comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-11, a sampling system 10a (e.g. sampling system; paragraph [0044]; Figure 1) for sampling fluids flowing through a pipe 14 (e.g. pipeline; paragraph [0044]) comprising an accumulator vessel 26,154 (e.g. container having an accumulator; paragraphs [0046],[0081]); a single sampling pump 54a (e.g. pumps; paragraphs [0047],[0082],[0083]) for collection of samples and delivering samples via sampling lines to the accumulators (e.g. paragraph [0048]); one or more product valves 82a,82b(e.g. valves; paragraphs [0055],[0063],[0082],[0083]) associated with the accumulator vessel; a control system 64 (e.g. a processor; paragraph [0049]); an internal mixer 146 (e.g. mixer; paragraph [0075]) to blend the collected samples in the accumulator vessels prior to a representative volume being taken (e.g. paragraph [0075]. (See, paragraphs [0044] to [0111]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing each of the at least one accumulator vessels comprise an internal mixer to blend the collected samples in the accumulator vessels prior to a representative volume being taken as suggested by Yan et al. to the system of Atchison to have the ability to mix the additives with the production fluid where the additives is provided to the production fluid within the accumulator vessel for a lower-cost conductivity system. (See, paragraphs [0075],[0085] of Yan et al.).
With regards to claim 12, Yan et a. further discloses the mixers 146 are pneumatically driven from pressurized gas or hydraulically operable by a source of hydraulic fluid (e.g. hydraulic fluid; paragraphs [0047],[0075]).
With regards to claim 13, Yan et al. further discloses the mixers 146 are automatable and programmable via the control system to initiate mixing at a predetermined time prior to arrival of an operator (e.g. paragraphs [0048],[0056],[0057],[0062],[0063]).
With regards to claim 14, Atchison does not disclose the at least two accumulator vessels comprise bodies that are made by spin cast machining as a single piece with no welded parts. However, to have set such structural characteristics as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities to the operator and/or manufacturer to spin cast machining the accumulator vessels would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ spin cast machining such that spin casting offers low tooling costs, fast and flexible production, material versatility, and excellent detail for complex shapes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references cited, particularly Leach, Haywood, Thompson, Bartlok, Kriel, Ludwick, Smith, Skala, Allen and McKinney, are related to systems for sampling and analyzing fluid having at least one accumulator vessel, a pump, valves, and a control system.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855