DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation of claims 1-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretation is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejection of claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230266762 A1 (“Oshima”) in view of US 11364928 B1 (“Stark”).
As per Claims 1, 6, and 11, Oshima discloses a control system, control method, and a non-transitory computer readable medium for controlling a mobile robot capable of switching between an autonomous moving mode in which the mobile robot autonomously moves and a user operation mode in which the mobile robot moves based on a user operation, the control system comprising:
an operation device comprising a joystick device configured to accept a moving operation for moving the mobile robot and a switching operation unit configured to accept a switching operation for switching the modes between the autonomous moving mode and the user operation mode (¶ 79—“The user can instruct the autonomous movement device 100 on a travel direction and movement velocity by a direction in which the user tilts the joystick 321 and a tilt amount (tilt angle), respectively”); and
one or more processors being configured to switch, based on information indicating which one of the autonomous moving mode and the user operation mode the mobile robot is in and a change from a first state to a second state in a switching signal in response to the switching operation, whether or not to accept the moving operation by the movement operation unit (¶ 79—“a start button 3226 for an instruction to switch a travel mode among a manual operation mode, an autonomous target following mode”).
Stark teaches additional limitations not expressly disclosed by Oshima, including namely in response the change of the switching signal being detected, not reflect a moving operation signal by the joystick device for a predetermined period of time (Col 1 Lines 35-40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success to modify the invention of Oshima to include the limitations as taught by Stark in a similar field on endeavor to allow a safe transition where the driver is guaranteed control of the vehicle (Stark: Col 1 Lines 40-41).
As per Claims 2, 7, and 12, Oshima further discloses wherein, when the mobile robot is in the autonomous moving mode, the one or more processors switches the mode to the user operation mode when falling of the switching signal in response to the switching operation has been detected (¶ 101—“When, in the autonomous target following mode, the user presses the start button 3226 again, the autonomous movement device 100 is switched to the manual operation mode”).
As per Claims 3, 8, and 13, Oshima further discloses wherein, when the mobile robot is in the autonomous moving mode, the one or more processors stops or decelerates the mobile robot when falling of the switching signal in response to the switching operation has been detected, and switches the mode to the user operation mode after the predetermined period of time has elapsed (¶ 101—“When, in the autonomous target following mode, the user presses the start button 3226 again, the autonomous movement device 100 is switched to the manual operation mode”). Examiner notes that when the button is pressed to switch from autonomous to manual mode, a predetermined period of time necessarily passes due to the time taken for the signal to travel from the button to the components performing the mode switch plus processing time while performing the switch.
As per Claims 4, 9, and 14, Oshima further discloses wherein, when the mobile robot is in the user operation mode, the one or more processors switches the mode to the autonomous moving mode when rising of the switching signal in response to the switching operation has been detected (¶ 101—“When, in the manual operation mode, the user stands in front of the autonomous movement device 100 and presses the start button 3226, the autonomous movement device 100 recognizes the user standing in front thereof as a following target and is switched to the autonomous target following mode”).
As per Claims 5, 10, and 15, Oshima further discloses wherein the joystick device comprises a stick member and a button disposed in the stick member, the button being the switching operation unit (¶ 79—“The user can instruct the autonomous movement device 100 on a travel direction and movement velocity by a direction in which the user tilts the joystick 321 and a tilt amount (tilt angle), respectively… a start button 3226 for an instruction to switch a travel mode among a manual operation mode, an autonomous target following mode”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Basil T. Jos/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658