DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and examined below.
Effective Filing Date
The actual filing date for the instant application is 11 Jan 24. However, the instant application requests foreign priority to a foreign filed application JP2023-004930, filed 17 Jan 23. As such, the effective filing date of each of the instant application’s claims under examination may be as recent as the instant application’s actual filing date of 11 Jan 24, or potentially as early as the filing date of 17 Jan 23 (filing date of JP2023-004930), depending on whether there is appropriate specification support for each particular claim in the earlier-filed specification. In the case that a prior art rejection to one or more claims made in an Office action during prosecution of the instant application includes one or more prior art references that fall somewhere between 11 Jan 24 and 17 Jan 23 (an "intervening" reference), that is because the examiner did not see sufficient support for that/those particular claim/-s in the English translation of that earlier filed Japanese reference (which pre-dates that/those particular reference/-s). If that should occur, if Applicant can specifically identify appropriate specification support for each of these claims in the earlier filed Japanese application, then the Examiner may determine that one or more of these prior art rejections against one or more of these claims will need to be withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an operation device comprising a movement operation unit configured to accept a moving operation for moving the mobile robot…”
“a control unit configured to switch…”
in claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 recite “a change in a switching signal in response to the switching operation.” It is unclear to the Examiner what the nature of the signal is and in what manner the signal changes. Applicant’s specification appears to provide an example that the signal rises to ON when a button is pressed and falls to OFF when the button is no longer pressed (pg 13 lines 31-33). However, the specification also appears to discuss that is merely an example. It remains unclear what the nature of the signal is and what parameters of the signal change. Is it an electric signal? Is it the amplitude which rises and falls? Frequency? Something else? Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20230266762 A1 (“Oshima”).
As per Claims 1, 6, and 11, Oshima discloses a control system, control method, and a non-transitory computer readable medium for controlling a mobile robot capable of switching between an autonomous moving mode in which the mobile robot autonomously moves and a user operation mode in which the mobile robot moves based on a user operation, the control system comprising:
an operation device comprising a movement operation unit configured to accept a moving operation for moving the mobile robot and a switching operation unit configured to accept a switching operation for switching the modes between the autonomous moving mode and the user operation mode (¶ 79—“The user can instruct the autonomous movement device 100 on a travel direction and movement velocity by a direction in which the user tilts the joystick 321 and a tilt amount (tilt angle), respectively”); and
a control unit configured to switch, based on information indicating which one of the autonomous moving mode and the user operation mode the mobile robot is in and a change in a switching signal in response to the switching operation, whether or not to accept the moving operation by the movement operation unit (¶ 79—“a start button 3226 for an instruction to switch a travel mode among a manual operation mode, an autonomous target following mode”).
As per Claims 2, 7, and 12, Oshima further discloses wherein, when the mobile robot is in the autonomous moving mode, the control unit switches the mode to the user operation mode when falling of the switching signal in response to the switching operation has been detected (¶ 101—“When, in the autonomous target following mode, the user presses the start button 3226 again, the autonomous movement device 100 is switched to the manual operation mode”).
As per Claims 3, 8, and 13, Oshima further discloses wherein, when the mobile robot is in the autonomous moving mode, the control unit stops or decelerates the mobile robot when falling of the switching signal in response to the switching operation has been detected, and switches the mode to the user operation mode after a predetermined period of time has elapsed (¶ 101—“When, in the autonomous target following mode, the user presses the start button 3226 again, the autonomous movement device 100 is switched to the manual operation mode”). Examiner notes that when the button is pressed to switch from autonomous to manual mode, a predetermined period of time necessarily passes due to the time taken for the signal to travel from the button to the components performing the mode switch plus processing time while performing the switch.
As per Claims 4, 9, and 14, Oshima further discloses wherein, when the mobile robot is in the user operation mode, the control unit switches the mode to the autonomous moving mode when rising of the switching signal in response to the switching operation has been detected (¶ 101—“When, in the manual operation mode, the user stands in front of the autonomous movement device 100 and presses the start button 3226, the autonomous movement device 100 recognizes the user standing in front thereof as a following target and is switched to the autonomous target following mode”).
As per Claims 5, 10, and 15, Oshima further discloses wherein the operation device is a joystick device comprising a stick member and a button disposed in the stick member, the stick member being the movement operation unit and the button being the switching operation unit (¶ 79—“The user can instruct the autonomous movement device 100 on a travel direction and movement velocity by a direction in which the user tilts the joystick 321 and a tilt amount (tilt angle), respectively… a start button 3226 for an instruction to switch a travel mode among a manual operation mode, an autonomous target following mode”).
Conclusion
/Basil T. Jos/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658