DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Duhaime et al. (US Pub.No.: US 2015/0105200 A1 and Duhaime hereinafter.)
As to claim 1, An electric drive unit, comprising: a set of electric machines where each electric machine is coupled to a separate pinion device in a first set of pinion devices of a planetary assembly; and wherein the planetary assembly includes: a carrier that is mechanically grounded; a ring device; and a sun device; wherein the ring device and/or the sun device function as an output; and wherein the first set of pinion devices is rotationally coupled to the ring device and/or the sun device.
(As to claim 1, Duhaime teaches (figs.1-4B, para’s [0015], [0016]-[0017]) An electric drive unit 10, comprising: a set of electric machines [MG1 46, MG2 50] (fig.1, para’s [0016]-[0017]) where each electric machine [MG1 46/ MG2 50] is coupled to a separate pinion device 72/86 in a first set of pinion gears [72, 72]/[86, 86] of a planetary assembly 38/42 (see fig.1, para. [0018]); and wherein the planetary assembly 38/42 includes: a carrier 68/84 that is mechanically grounded (see fig.1, para. [0029]); a ring gear 64/82; and a sun gear 60/78; wherein the ring gear 64/82 and/or the sun gear 60/78 function as an output such as ring gear 64/82 or sun gear 60/78 of planetary assembly 38/42 (fig.1) are used to deliver power via output 26, (see para. [0015], [0022]); and wherein the first set of pinion gears [72, 72]/[86, 86] (fig.1, see para. [0018],[0019], [0020], [0029], claim 1, col.4 & col.5) is rotationally coupled (meshing engagement) to the ring gear 64/82 and/or the sun device 60/78).
As to claim 2, The electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the planetary assembly includes a second set of pinion devices that are rotationally coupled to first set of pinion devices.
(As to claim 2, Duhaime teaches (figs.1-4B, para’s [0015], [0016]-[0017]) An electric drive unit 10, wherein the planetary assembly 42 (fig.1) includes a second set of pinion devices [86, 86] that are rotationally coupled (via connecting member 106, see fig.1, para. [0027]) to first set of pinion devices [72, 72], claim 1, (col.4 & col.5)).
As to claim 10, The electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the output is rotationally coupled to a multi- speed gearbox or additional gearing.
(As to claim 10, Duhaime teaches (figs.1-4B, para’s [0015], [0016]-[0017]) An electric drive unit 10, wherein the output 26 (fig.1) is rotationally coupled to additional gearing transfer gear 120/shaft 122 or final gear 124 (see fig.1, para’s [0015], [0021]).
As to claim 11, The electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the output is rotationally coupled to a drive wheel.
(As to claim 11, Duhaime teaches (figs.1-4B, para’s [0015], [0016]-[0017]) An electric drive unit 10, wherein the output 26 (fig.1) is rotationally coupled (via final drive 18, see figs.1, 4A-4B) to a wheel such as to deliver driving power to the wheel (see par. [0015], [0030])).
As to claim 12, The electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the planetary assembly is a: planetary gear set; or planetary traction drive.
(As to claim 12, Duhaime teaches (figs.1-4B, para’s [0015], [0016]-[0017]) An electric drive unit 10, wherein the planetary assembly 38/42 is a: planetary gear set; (see fig.1, para.[0018]).
As to claim 13, A method for operation of an electric drive unit, comprising: transferring mechanical power from a set of electric machines to a first set of pinion gears;
wherein the electric drive unit comprises: the set of electric machines; and
a planetary gear set including: the first set of pinion gears;
a carrier that is mechanically grounded; and
a ring gear; and
a sun gear; and
wherein the ring gear and/or the sun gear function as an output; and
wherein the first set of pinion gears meshes with the ring gear and/or the sun gear.
(As to claim 13, Duhaime teaches using (figs.1-4B, para’s [0015], [0016]-[0017], [0040]) a method (figs.1-4B, para. [0040]) for operation of an electric drive unit 10 (fig.1), comprising: transmitting mechanical power (from electric motors, see para. [0002]) or transmitting driving torque from a set of electric machines [MG1 46, MG2 50] (fig.1, para’s [0016]-[0017], [0024], [0025], [0028]-[0029]) to a first set of pinion gears [72, 72]/[86, 86] (fig.1, para’s [0018], [0019], [0020]) of a planetary gear set 38/42 of drive unit 10 (see fig.1); and wherein the electric drive unit 10 comprises the set of electric machines [MG1 46, MG2 50] (fig.1); and planetary gear set 38/42 (fig.1) including the first set of pinion gears [72, 72]/[86, 86]; a carrier 68/84 that is mechanically grounded (see fig.1, para. [0029]); a ring gear 64/82; and a sun gear 60/78; wherein the ring gear 64/82 and/or the sun gear 60/78 function as an output such as ring gear 64/82 or sun gear 60/78 of planetary gear set 38/42 (fig.1) are used to deliver power via output 26, (see fig.1, para. [0015], [0022]); and wherein the first set of pinion gears [72, 72]/[86, 86] (fig.1, see para. [0018],[0019], [0020], [0029], claim 1, col.4 & col.5) meshes (meshing engagement) with the ring gear 64/82 and/or the sun gear 60/78).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claims 3, 4-9, 14, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 3, Duhaime fails to teach the first set of pinion devices and the second set of pinion devices have asymmetric gear ratios.
As to claim 4, Duhaime fails to teach a clutch configured to rotationally couple: the ring device to the output in a first position; and the sun device to the output in a second position. Claims 5-6 depend on allowable claim 4.
As to claim 7, Duhaime fails to teach the ring device or the sun device is rotationally coupled to a power take-off (PTO). Claim 8 depend on allowable claim 7.
As to claim 9, Duhaime fails to teach the ring device is rotationally coupled to a first drive axle and the sun device is rotationally coupled to a second drive axle.
As to claim 14, Duhaime fails to teach the planetary gear set is a compound planetary gear that includes a second set of pinion gears that mesh with the sun gear and are rotationally coupled to the first set of pinion gears; and the ring gear and the sun gear rotate in the same direction.
As to claim 15, Duhaime fails to teach operating a clutch to transition between a lower gear mode where the ring gear is coupled to the output and a higher gear mode where the sun gear is coupled to the output. Claim 16 depend on allowable claim 15.
As to claim 17, Duhaime teaches a carrier mechanically grounded (see rejection of claim1/13) but fails to teach said mechanically grounded carrier coupled to the first set of pinion gears and a second set of pinion gears;
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: a) Lilley et al. (US RE41,034 E) teaches (figs.1-9, abstract) a power combining apparatus for hybrid electric vehicle, wherein motors 10a, 10b (fig.2), where each motor 10a/10b is coupled to a separate pinion gear 10pa/10pb of set of pinion gears 10pa-10pb (fig.2, (col.5, lines 38-47)), rotationally coupled to ring gear 43 and sun gear 41 (figs.1-2, (col.3, lines 18-67 and (col.4, lines 1-45)) and teaches grounded carrier (fig.7, (col.7, lines 5-9)).
b) Swales (US Patent No.: US 11,117, 460 B2) teaches electromechanical drive unit and a powertrain (figs.1-13, abstract), wherein figs 7-12 shows set of electric machines 40, 42, wherein each machine 40/42 coupled to a first group 86 of pinion gears 72 and second group 88 of pinion gears 72; a carrier 70 mechanically grounded 74, ring gear 68 and a sun gear 66 of a planetary gear set 64/80 (see col.13, lines 14-67) and (col.14, lines 1-41).
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2846 11/26/2025