DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites, “connector contact is includes,” claim should be amended to recite: –connector contact includes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. [US 2019/0280420] in view of Oooka [US 2009/0218120].
Regarding claim 1, Phillips discloses a connector for an electronic device, comprising: a first row of electrical contacts (fig. 4; 206) located on a first plane (plane of 206) of the connector (fig. 1; 104); a second row of electrical contacts (fig. 4; 204) located on a second plane (plane of 204) of the connector (104), the second plane (plane of 204) being above the first plane (plane of 206); and a connector contact (fig. 4; 300) causing the second row of electrical contacts (204) to move as a row (figs. 9-10; 230 of row 204 move in unison when 300 drives 202) from the second plane (plane of 204) toward the first plane (plane of 206, see Par [0044] Ln 8-10: 202 includes 204 moving inward toward 206) in response to an edge connector (fig. 4; 120) of an electronic component contacting a surface (fig. 6; 304) of the connector contact (300).
Phillips does not disclose the connector contact rotatable about an axis.
However, Oooka teaches the connector contact (fig. 4; 48) rotatable about an axis (fig. 4; 53a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector contact rotatable about an axis as suggested by Oooka for the benefit of providing improved actuation of electrical contacts in order to avoid damage during the mating process.
Regarding claim 2, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses a housing (fig. 4; 210, 110) defining an opening (fig. 4; 116) for receiving the edge connector (120) of the electronic component, wherein the second row (204) of electrical contacts (204) is at least partially contained within the housing (110, 210; 224 is free from 110, 210) when the second row of electrical contacts (204) is located on the second plane (plane of 204) of the connector (104).
Regarding claim 3, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the second row of electrical contacts (204) extend from the housing (110, 210) as the second row of electrical contacts (204) move from the second plane (plane of 204) toward the first plane (plane of 206).
Regarding claim 4, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein: the second row of electrical contacts (204) contact a second row of connection pins (fig. 4; 128 on the top of 120) on the edge connector (120) of the electronic component when the second row of electric contacts (204) move from the second plane (plane of 204) to the first plane (plane of 206); and wherein the first row of electrical contacts (206) contact a first row of connection pins (128 on the bottom of 120) on the edge connector (120) of the electronic component when the second row of electrical contacts (204) contact the second row of connection pins (128 on the top of 120) on the edge connector (120) of the electronic component.
Regarding claim 6, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the second row of electrical contacts (204) move toward the second plane (plane of 204) in response to the edge connector (120) of the electronic component being removed from the connector (104; see Par [0044] Ln 8-10; 120 drives 202 inward during mating, therefore it is suggested that during disconnection 300 will drive 202 outward to 202 original positions).
Regarding claim 7, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the edge connector (120) of the electronic component contacts a first surface (fig. 6; 304) of the connector contact (300) and wherein a second surface (fig. 6; 342) of the connector contact (300) pushes the second row of electrical contacts (204) from the second plane (plane of 204) toward the first plane (plane of 206).
Regarding claim 8, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the connector contact (300) extends from a first side (fig. 1; left side of 110) of a housing (110, 210) of the connector (104) to a second side (right side of 110) of the housing (110, 210) of the connector (104).
Regarding claim 9, Phillips discloses a high density connector, comprising: a housing (110, 210) defining an opening (fig. 4; 116, 150) for receiving an edge connector (120) of an electronic component, the edge connector (120) having a first row of connection pins (128 on the top of 120) and a second row of connection pins (128 on the bottom of 120) behind the first row of connection pins (128 on the top of 120); a first row of electrical contacts (206) located at a first elevation (area of 206) within the housing (110, 210); a second row of electrical contacts (204) located at a second elevation (area of 204) within the housing (110, 210), the second elevation (area of 204) being above the first elevation (area of 206); and a connector contact (300) provided within the housing (110, 210) and moveable between a first position (figs. 4 and 9) and a second position (figs. 10 and 11), wherein the second row of electrical contacts (204) moves as a row (230 of row 204 move in unison when 300 drives 202) from the second elevation (area of 204) toward the first elevation (area of 206) in response (Par [0044] Ln 8-10: 202 includes 204 moving inward toward 206) to the connector contact (300) moving from the first position (figs. 4 and 9) to the second position (figs. 10 and 11).
Phillips does not disclose the connector contact rotatable about an axis, wherein the second row of electrical contacts moves in response to the connector contact rotating from the first position to the second position.
However, Oooka teaches the connector contact (48) rotatable about an axis (53a), wherein the row of electrical contacts (fig. 4; 47) moves in response to the connector contact (48) rotating from the first position (fig. 5; P1) to the second position (fig. 6; P2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector contact rotatable about an axis and the second row of electrical contacts moving in response to the connector contact rotating from the first position to the second position as suggested by Oooka for the benefit of providing improved actuation of electrical contacts in order to avoid damage during the mating process.
Regarding claim 10, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the connector contact (300) moves from the first position (figs. 4/9) to the second position (figs. 10/11) in response to the edge connector (120) of the electronic component being inserted into the opening (116, 150).
Regarding claim 11, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the first row of electrical contacts (206) are exposed (front part of 206) within the opening (116, 150) and wherein the second row of electrical contacts (204) are at least partially contained within the housing (section of 204 that 210 holds).
Regarding claim 12, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the second row of electrical contacts (204) moves toward the second elevation (area of 204) from the first elevation (area of 206) in response to the edge connector (120) of the electronic component being removed from the connector (104).
Regarding claim 15, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the second row of electrical contacts (204) contact the second row of connection pins (top 128) when the second row of electrical contacts (204) moves toward the first elevation (area of 206).
Regarding claim 16, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the first row of connection pins (top 128) are uncontactable by the second row of electrical contacts (204) when the edge connector (120) is inserted into the opening (116, 150, see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 21, Phillips modified by Oooka has been discussed above. Phillips discloses wherein the connector contact (300) is includes a first contact point (fig. 6; 304) contactable by the edge connector (120) and a second contact point (fig. 11; 342) that pushes on the second row of electrical contacts (204).
Claim(s) 17, 19, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiu [US 6,953,350] in view of Oooka [US 2009/0218120].
Regarding claim 17, Shiu discloses a connector, comprising: a first row of contact means (40 row) having a first elevation (position of 40); a second row of contact means (30 row) having a second elevation (position of 30) that is greater (position of 30 is higher than 40) than the first elevation (position of 40); and contact row pivoting means (20, 20 causes 36 of 30 to rotate with respect to 34 of 30, see figs. 1, 4 and 5), the contact row pivoting means (20) causing the second row of contact means (30 row) to move as a row (figs. 4-5; 38 of row 30 moves in unison when 20 drives 30) from a first position (fig. 4) to a second position (fig. 5) in response to an edge connector (50) of an electronic component being inserted into an opening (fig. 1; space between 14) defined by the connector (1).
Regarding claim 23, wherein each contact means (fig. 4; 38) of the second row of contact means (30 row) moves together from the first position (fig. 4) to the second position (fig. 5) in response to the contact row pivoting means (20) sliding.
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Shiu does not disclose contact row pivoting means rotatable about an axis [claim 17]; each contact means of the second row of contact means moves together in response to the contact row pivoting means rotating about the axis [claim 23].
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Oooka teaches contact row pivoting means (fig. 4; 48) rotatable about an axis (fig. 4; 53a); each contact means of the row of contact means (47) moves together in response to the contact row pivoting means (48) rotating about the axis (53a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contact row pivoting means rotatable about an axis and each contact means of the second row of contact means moving together in response to the contact row pivoting means rotating about the axis as suggested by Oooka for the benefit of providing improved actuation of electrical contacts in order to avoid damage during the mating process.
Regarding claim 19, Shiu discloses wherein the second row of contact means (30 row) is at least partially contained within a housing (fig. 1; 12) of the connector (1) when in the first position (fig. 4) and at least partially extends from the housing (36 extends from 12) when in the second position (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Shiu discloses wherein a surface (fig. 4; surface of 2844) of the contact row pivoting means (20) is located at a third elevation (position of 2844) that is lower than the first elevation (position of 40) and the second elevation (position of 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, attorney stated, “because Phillips' contacts are cantilevered beams with fixed bases, they deflect or bend from an undeflected position to a deflected position, they do not move as a row from one plane to another. For example, when a circuit card is loaded, "the cam surfaces engage the ramps to drive the contacts inward (the upper contacts are driven downward and the lower contacts are driven upward toward the card)." (Phillips, para. [0050]). Thus, Phillips' contacts do not "move as a row from a second plane toward a first plane" as required by claim 1. In addition, Phillips' insert moves in a linear, rearward direction when pushed by the circuit card. It does not rotate about an axis. Specifically, Phillips explains that the "insert is configured to be pushed rearward to the retracted position (FIG. 10) by the circuit card as the circuit card is loaded into the housing." (Phillips, para. [0036]). This linear translation from a "forward position" to a "retracted position" is fundamentally different from the claimed "connector contact" that is "rotatable about an axis" and causes a row of electrical contacts to move from one plane toward another.”
Regarding claim 17 attorney also stated, “thus, Shiu's upper contacts remain secured in a fixed position within the housing, and it is only the soldering portions at the distal ends of the contacts that are pressed downward by the clamp's pressing blocks. The contacts themselves do not move as a row from one elevation or plane to another elevation or plane. As such, Shiu's contacts do not "move from a second plane toward a first plane" as required by claim 1. In addition, Shiu's clamp moves in a linear, sliding motion toward the housing body, it does not rotate about an axis. (See Shiu, col. 5, lines 33-35 ("the clamp is pushed by the PCB to slide toward the body of the housing")). This linear sliding motion is fundamentally different from the claimed "connector contact" that is "rotatable about an axis" and causes a row of contacts to move from one plane to another.”
With regards to the argument that Phillips’ nor Shiu’s contacts “move as a row from a second plane toward a first plane,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. First, there isn’t any disclosure in applicant’s Drawings or Specification that explicitly describes or demonstrates a whole row of contacts shifting from a 1st elevation to a 2nd elevation. What is clearly illustrated in applicant’s figures 3a-b is the connector contact 135/170 pivoting a flexible portion of the second/fourth row of electrical contacts 120/155 to electrically contact the electronic component 200; specifically, only a part of the electrical contacts of the second/fourth row are moving, the rest of the electrical contact is fixed to housing 105. If the entirety of each electrical contact of the second/fourth rows are shifting from one elevation to another wouldn’t that render the connector inoperable? Based on the field of the invention (PCIe or similar connectors), this type of connectors need to have electrical contacts that have fixed ends connected to a motherboard through surface mounting or through hole technology; so moving the entire electrical contact from each second/fourth row would certainly destroy the electrical contacts and/or the motherboard. Second, since the actual disclosure of the application suggests that only part of the second/fourth rows of electrical contacts moves, contrary to what attorney argues, Phillips and Shiu both disclose electrical contacts moving as a row from a second plane/elevation toward a first plane/elevation (see claims 1, 9 and 17 rejections above).
With regards to the argument that Phillips nor Shiu disclose the "connector contact" being "rotatable about an axis" and causes a row of electrical contacts to move from one plane toward another with respect to claims 1, 9 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831