DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds including PCT unity of invention rules do not apply, and search burden may not be established. This is found to be persuasive, thus all claims 1-20 would be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US 20170223615 A1) in view of REUNAMAKI (US 20140355517 A1).
For claim 1. LEE discloses A method (figures 41-44, 50), comprising: performing, by a first device (first device 200), scanning (figures 7 and 36), wherein the first scan period is used for a first-type Bluetooth connection (figure 36, BLE), and the second scan period is used for a second-type Bluetooth connection (figure 7, BR/EDR); receiving, by the first device, a first-type data packet from a second device (300) in a first scan window corresponding to the first scan period (figure 41, S4110-S4120), wherein the first-type data packet is used to establish the first-type Bluetooth connection (BLE); obtaining, by the first device based on the first-type data packet, a second connection parameter for establishing the second-type Bluetooth connection to the second device ([0547], [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41, S4140 and S4150); and establishing, by the first device, the second-type Bluetooth connection to the second device based on the second connection parameter (figure 41, BR/EDR connection).
LEE fails to mention periodic scanning by alternatingly using a first scan period and a second scan period.
This teaching is disclosed by REUNAMAKI (figures 1A, 3, 6B, [0242], [0263], device A scans periodically and alternatively for BLE and BR/EDR packets from device B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by REUNAMAKI into the art of LEE as to quickly and effectively establish a Bluetooth connection.
For claim 2. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 1, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet comprises first identification information and the second connection parameter, the second connection parameter corresponds to the first identification information, the first identification information indicates to the first device to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection ([0547] Table 12, [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41), and the method further comprises: parsing, by the first device, the first-type data packet to obtain the first identification information, and determining, based on the first identification information, to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection; and wherein obtaining, by the first device, the second connection parameter based on the first-type data packet comprises: parsing, by the first device, the first-type data packet to obtain the second connection parameter corresponding to the first identification information ([0547] Table 12, [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41).
For claim 3. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 1, LEE discloses wherein obtaining, by the first device, the second connection parameter based on the first-type data packet comprises: enabling, by the first device, a second scan window based on the first-type data packet, wherein the second scan window is used to receive a second-type data packet, and the second-type data packet comprises the second connection parameter; and parsing, by the first device, the second-type data packet to obtain the second connection parameter (figures 23, 25, 27, [0296], [0297], the second connection parameter includes FHS packet and EIR packet).
For claim 4. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 3, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet comprises first identification information, the first identification information indicates to enable the second scan window, and enabling, by the first device, the second scan window based on the first-type data packet comprises: enabling, by the first device, the second scan window based on the first identification information (figures 25 and 27, [0450], [0470], start command for the Bluetooth BR/EDR connection).
For claim 5. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 3, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet is an advertising packet, the second-type data packet is a paging packet, the first-type Bluetooth connection is a Bluetooth low energy connection, and the second-type Bluetooth connection is a classic Bluetooth connection (figures 25 and 27).
For claim 6. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 3, LEE discloses wherein enabling, by the first device, the second scan window based on the first-type data packet comprises: sending, by the first device, feedback of the first-type data packet to the second device based on the first-type data packet; receiving, by the first device, first identification information from the second device, wherein the first identification information indicates to enable the second scan window; and enabling, by the first device, the second scan window based on the first identification information (figures 25 and 27, [0450], [0470], start command for the Bluetooth BR/EDR connection).
For claim 7. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 3, LEE discloses wherein enabling, by the first device, the second scan window based on the first-type data packet comprises: enabling, by the first device, the second scan window in a preset time period after receiving the first-type data packet, wherein the preset time period is within a scan having the first scan period (figure 23, [0424], the scan having the LE scan and BR/EDR scan).
For claim 8. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the method according to claim 1, LEE discloses wherein obtaining, by the first device, the second connection parameter based on the first-type data packet comprises: obtaining, by the first device, a first connection parameter based on the first-type data packet, wherein the first connection parameter is used to establish the first-type Bluetooth connection (figure 41, BLE); establishing, by the first device, a communication link of the first-type Bluetooth connection with the second device based on the first connection parameter (figure 41, BLE); and obtaining, by the first device through the communication link, first identification information and the second connection parameter corresponding to the first identification information that are sent by the second device, wherein the first identification information indicates to the first device to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection ([0547] Table 12, [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41).
For claim 9. LEE discloses An apparatus (figures 41-44, 50, first device 200), comprising: at least one processor; a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that are executable by the at least one processor, the instructions including instructions to perform scanning (figures 7 and 36), wherein the first scan period is used for a first-type Bluetooth connection (figure 36, BLE) and the second scan period is used for a second-type Bluetooth connection (figure 7, BR/EDR); and a receiver, configured to receive a first-type data packet from a second device (300) in a first scan window corresponding to the first scan period (figure 41, S4110-S4120), wherein the first-type data packet is used to establish the first-type Bluetooth connection (BLE); wherein the instructions further includes instructions to: obtain, based on the first-type data packet, a second connection parameter for establishing the second-type Bluetooth connection to the second device ([0547], [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41, S4140 and S4150); and establish the second-type Bluetooth connection to the second device based on the second connection parameter (figure 41, BR/EDR connection).
LEE fails to mention periodic scanning alternatingly using a first scan period and a second scan period.
This teaching is disclosed by REUNAMAKI (figures 1A, 3, 6B, [0242], [0263], device A scans periodically and alternatively for BLE and BR/EDR packets from device B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by REUNAMAKI into the art of LEE as to quickly and effectively establish a Bluetooth connection.
For claim 10. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet comprises first identification information, the second connection parameter corresponds to the first identification information, and the first identification information indicates to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection; wherein the instructions further include instructions to: parse the first-type data packet to obtain the first identification information, and determine, based on the first identification information, to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection; and parse the first-type data packet to obtain the second connection parameter corresponding to the first identification information ([0547] Table 12, [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41).
For claim 11. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, LEE discloses wherein the instructions include instructions to: enable a second scan window based on the first-type data packet, wherein the second scan window is used to receive a second-type data packet, and the second-type data packet comprises the second connection parameter; and parse the second-type data packet to obtain the second connection parameter (figures 23, 25, 27, [0296], [0297], the second connection parameter includes FHS packet and EIR packet).
For claim 12. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet comprises first identification information, the first identification information indicates to enable the second scan window, and the instructions include instructions to: enable the second scan window based on the first identification information (figures 25 and 27, [0450], [0470], start command for the Bluetooth BR/EDR connection).
For claim 13. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet is an advertising packet, the second-type data packet is a paging packet, the first-type Bluetooth connection is a Bluetooth low energy connection, and the second-type Bluetooth connection is a classic Bluetooth connection (figures 25 and 27).
For claim 14. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, LEE discloses further comprising: a transmitter, configured to send feedback of the first-type data packet to the second device based on the first-type data packet; wherein the receiver is further configured to receive first identification information from the second device, wherein the first identification information indicates to enable the second scan window; and wherein the instructions include instructions to enable the second scan window based on the first identification information (figures 25 and 27, [0450], [0470], start command for the Bluetooth BR/EDR connection).
For claim 15. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, LEE discloses wherein the instructions include instructions to: enable the second scan window in a preset time period after receiving the first-type data packet, wherein the preset time period is within a scan having the first scan period (figure 23, [0424], the scan having the LE scan and BR/EDR scan).
For claim 16. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, LEE discloses wherein the instructions include instructions to: obtain a first connection parameter based on the first-type data packet, wherein the first connection parameter is used to establish the first-type Bluetooth connection (figure 41, BLE); establish a communication link of the first-type Bluetooth connection with the second device based on the first connection parameter; and obtain, through the communication link, first identification information and the second connection parameter corresponding to the first identification information that are sent by the second device, wherein the first identification information indicates to the first device to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection ([0547] Table 12, [0548], [0556], [0562], figure 41).
For claim 17. LEE discloses An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that are executable by the at least one processor, the instructions including instructions to: generate first identification information based on a second-type Bluetooth connection to be established (figures 21, 23, [0421]-[0431]); and a transmitter, configured to: send a first-type data packet (figure 23, S2310, S2330) and a second-type data packet (S2370), wherein the first-type data packet is used to establish a first-type Bluetooth connection (figures 21, 23, Bluetooth LE connection), and the second-type data packet is used to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection (Bluetooth BR/EDR connection).
LEE fails to mention alternatingly send a first-type data packet and a second-type data packet.
This teaching is disclosed by REUNAMAKI (figures 1A, 3, 6B, [0242], [0263], device B sends alternatively BLE and BR/EDR packets to device A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by REUNAMAKI into the art of LEE as to quickly and effectively establish a Bluetooth connection.
For claim 18. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet comprises first identification information and a second connection parameter corresponding to the first identification information, the first identification information indicates to a first device to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection, and the second connection parameter is used to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection to the first device ([0420]-[0424], [0450] exchange a start command for the Bluetooth BR/EDR connection S2540).
For claim 19. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, LEE discloses wherein the first-type data packet comprises first identification information indicating to a first device to establish the second-type Bluetooth connection ([0420]-[0424], [0450] exchange a start command for the Bluetooth BR/EDR connection S2540).
For claim 20. LEE in combination with REUNAMAKI substantially teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, LEE discloses wherein the transmitter is configured to: send the first identification information to a first device in response to feedback that is of the first-type data packet and that is sent by the first device (figures 21 and 23, feedback S2320; [0420]-[0424]).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
April 28, 2026
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649