DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 01/11/2024 have been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application. Claims 16 and 20 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-6, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected herein. The rejection of the pending claims is hereby made non-final.
Response to Remarks
103
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered by the examiner and have been addressed in the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. §101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without “significantly more.” Claim(s) 1-15, 17-19, and 21 are directed to a system for managing resupply of consumable resources for a mobile unit, which is considered an abstract idea. Further, the claim(s) as a whole, when examined on a limitation-by-limitation basis and in ordered combination do not include an inventive concept.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claim, the examiner finds the claim is directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Step 2A (prongs 1 and 2) - Abstract Idea Analysis
Exemplary claim 1 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
Limitation 1 – initiat[ing] a local resupply of the consumable resources to one or more human warfighters solely from other human warfighters within the mobile unit
The Federal Circuit has repeatedly emphasized that “the key question is ‘whether the focus of the claims is on the specific asserted improvement . . . or, instead, on a process that qualifies as an “abstract idea” for which computers are invoked merely as a tool.’” Visual Memory LLC v. Nvidia Corp., No. 2016-2254 (Fed. Cir. Aug. 15, 2017) (referring to Enfish LLC v. Microsoft Corp. et al., Appeal No. 2015-1244 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). “In this regard, [examiners] must articulate with specificity what the claims are directed to.” Thales Visionix Inc. v. U.S., 850 F.3d 1343, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 2017). Moreover, the Federal Circuit has held that “[a]dding one abstract idea . . . to another abstract idea . . . does not render the claim non-abstract.” RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., Ltd., 885 F.3d 1322, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2017). Importantly, “[w]e [] assume that the techniques claimed are ‘[g]oundbreaking, innovative, or even brilliant,’ but that is not enough for eligibility.” SAP Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, Appeal No. 2017-2081 (Fed. Cir. 2018) citing Ass’n for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 591 *2013).
Furthermore, “[t]he ‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the § 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter.” Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 188-89 (1981). “The fact that an identifier [or utilization of the underlying abstract idea] can be used to make a process more efficient . . . does not necessarily render an abstract idea less abstract.” Secured Mail Solutions, LLC v. Universal Wilde, Inc., Appeal No. 2016-1728 (Fed. Cir. Oct. 16, 2017). Importantly, the CAFC “ha[s] held that speed and accuracy increases stemming from the ordinary capabilities of a general purpose computer ‘do[] not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter.’” Intellectual Ventures I v. Erie Indemnity, Appeal No. 2017-1147 (Fed. Cir. 2017) citing Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assurance Co. of Can. (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1278 (Fed. Cir. 2012). However, “some improvements in computer-related technology when appropriately claimed are undoubtedly not abstract, such as chip architecture, an LED display, and the like.” Enfish, 822 F.3d at 1355.
Here, the examiner finds the claims are not directed to “an improvement to computer technology," such as found in Enfish, but to the abstract idea itself.1 Examiners have been instructed to refer to the body of case law precedent in order to identify abstract ideas by way of comparison to concepts already found to be abstract. Accordingly, the examiner refers to the following cases (and their associated judicial descriptor(s)) that relate to concepts similar to the claimed concepts:
Versata2(precedential—ineligible) – abstract idea found to be using organizational and product group hierarchies to determine a price, where this was found to be a method of organizing human activity;
Downing3 (non-precedential—ineligible) – abstract idea found to be the concept of personal management, resource planning, and forecasting including a “resource planning forecast product” that collects and analyzes “non-business or business information relative to the end user,” where this was found to be a method of organizing human activity; and
SAP Inc. v. InvestPic4 (precedential—ineligible) – abstract idea found to be selecting certain information, analyzing it using mathematical techniques, and reporting or displaying the results of the analysis, where this was found to be a certain method of organizing human activity.
As indicated above, the claims are directed to similar concepts.5 Therefore, the claims are found to be directed to abstract idea. Similar to the case law cited above, the examiner finds the abstract idea to include at least the judicial descriptor(s) of: certain methods of organizing human activity.6
Regarding preemption, the examiner notes that “[w]hile preemption may signal ineligible subject matter, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate patent eligibility.” Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2015). “Where a patent’s claims are deemed only to disclose patent ineligible subject matter under the Mayo framework, as they are in this [application], preemption concerns are fully addressed and made moot.” Id.
Step 2B - Significantly More Analysis
“[A]fter determining that a claim is directed to a judicial exception, ‘we then ask, [w]hat else is there in the claims before us?’” MPEP 2106.05 (emphasis in MPEP) citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 78. “What is needed is an inventive concept in the non-abstract application realm.” SAP Inc. v. InvestPic, LLV, Appeal No. 2017-2081 (Fed. Cir. 2018). For step two, the examiner must “determine whether the claims do significantly more than simply describe [the] abstract method” and thus transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
A primary consideration when determining whether a claim recites “significantly more” than abstract idea is whether the additional element(s) are well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry. See MPEP 2106.05(d). “If the additional element (or combination of elements) is a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, for instance because it is an unconventional step that confines the claim to a particular useful application of the judicial exception, then this consideration favors eligibility. If, however, the additional element (or combination of elements) is no more than well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, which is recited at a high level of generality, then this consideration does not favor eligibility.” Id.
The Federal Circuit has held that “[w]hether something is well-understood, routine, and conventional to a skilled artisan at the time of the patent is a factual determination.” Bahr, Robert (April 19, 2018). Changes in Examination Procedure Pertaining to Subject Matter Eligibility, Recent Subject Matter Eligibility Decision (Berkheimer v. HP, Inc.) citing Berkheimer at 1369. “As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(d)(I), an examiner should conclude that an element (or combination of elements) represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity only when the examiner can readily conclude that the element(s) is widely prevalent or in common use in the relevant industry. This memo[] clarifies that such a conclusion must be based upon a factual determination that is supported as discussed in section III [of the memo].” Berkheimer Memo at 3 (emphasis in memo).
Generally, “[i]f a patent uses generic computer components to implement an invention, it fails to recite an inventive concept under Alice step two.” West View Research v. Audi, CAFC Appeal Nos. 2016-1947-51 (Fed. Cir. 04/19/2017) citing Mortg. Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324–25 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (explaining that “generic computer components such as an ‘interface,’ ‘network,’ and ‘database’ . . . do not satisfy the inventive concept requirement”; but see Bascom (finding that an inventive concept may be found in the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of the generic computer components, i.e., the installation of a filtering tool at a specific location, remote from the end-users, with customizable filtering features specific to each end user).
In accordance with the above guidance, the examiner has searched the claim(s) to determine whether there are any “additional elements” in the claims that constitute “inventive concept,” thereby rendering the claims eligible for patenting even if they are directed to an abstract idea. Alice, 134 S. Ct. 2347 (2014). Those “additional features” must be more than “well understood, routine, conventional activity.” See Alice. To note, “under the Mayo/Alice framework, a claim directed to a newly discovered . . . abstract idea[] cannot rely on the novelty of that discovery for the inventive concept necessary for patent eligibility.” Genetic Techs. Ltd v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 188-89 (1981).
As an example, the Federal Circuit has indicated that “inventive concept” can be found where the claims indicate the technological steps that are undertaken to overcome the stated problem(s) identified in Applicant’s originally-filed Specification. See Trading Techs. Inc. v. CQG, Inc., No. 2016-1616 (Fed. Cir. 2017); but see IV v. Erie Indemnity, No. 2016-1128 (Fed. Cir. March 7, 2017)(“The claims are not focused on how usage of the XML tags alters the database in a way that leads to an improvement in technology of computer databases, as in Enfish.”)(emphasis in original) and IV. v. Capital One, Nos. 2016-1077 (Fed. Cir. March 7, 2017)(“Indeed, the claim language here provides only a result-oriented solution, with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it. Our law demands more. See Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cautioning against claims ‘so result focused, so functional, as to effectively cover any solution to an identified problem.’)”). Furthermore, “[a]bstraction is avoided or overcome when a proposed new application or computer-implemented function is not simply the generalized use of a computer as a tool to conduct a known or obvious process, but instead is an improvement to the capability of the system as a whole.” Trading Techs. Int’l, Inc. v. CQG, Inc., No. 2016-1616 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (emphasis added).
In the search for inventive concept, the Berkheimer Memo describes “an additional element (or combination of elements) is not well-understood, routine or conventional unless the examiner finds, and expressly supports a rejection in writing with, one or more of the following:
1. A citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
2. A citation to one or more of the court decisions discussed in the MPEP as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
3. A citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
4. A statement that the examiner is taking official notice of the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
See Berkheimer Memo at 3-4.
Accordingly, the examiner refers to the following generically-recited computer elements with their associated functions (and associated factual finding(s)), which are considered, individually and in combination, to be routine, conventional, and well-understood:
Additional Element 1 – a global node including computer processing resources;
Additional Element 2 – a plurality of wearable tags;
Additional Element 3 – a plurality of sensors;
Additional Element 4 – a local node including computer processing resources;
In sum, the examiner finds that the claims "are directed to the use of conventional or generic technology in a nascent but well-known environment, without any claim that the invention reflects an inventive solution to any problem presented by combining the two.” In re TLI Communications LLC, No. 2015-1372 (May 17, 2016). Similar to the claims in SAP v. InvestPic, “[t]he claims here are ineligible because their innovation is an innovation in ineligible subject matter.” Appeal No. 2017-2081 (Fed. Cir. 2018). In other words, “the advance lies entirely in the realm of abstract ideas, with no plausibly alleged innovation in the non-abstract application realm.” Id. Accordingly, when considered individually and in ordered combination, the examiner finds the claims to be directed to in-eligible subject matter. Claims 2-15, 17-19, and 21 suffer from similar deficiencies as the claim from which they depend, and therefore fail to remedy the deficiency of the independent claims they depend therefrom.
For the reasons stated, the examiner does not find the claims to recite eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broadway et al (US 2023/0288167) in view of Freedman et al (US 2019/0228640).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a system for managing resupply of consumable resources for a mobile unit, the system comprising :one or more depots for storing a consumable resources (see at least paragraph [0089] to Broadway et al, wherein the geofence capability can be implemented around a warehouse where weapons are stored to track weapons for inventory control); a global node including computer processing resources and a high-speed bi-directional RF communications link (see at least paragraph [0191] to Broadway et al, wherein The communication interface may include a suitable number of conductors, connectors, transmitters, and/or receivers to achieve desired data throughput and device connectivity. The communication interface may communicate with devices and components through wired and/or wireless telecommunication protocols, such as ethernet, transmission control protocol (TCP), Internet protocol (IP), power line communication, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth®, infrared, radio frequency (RF)…or a combination thereof); a plurality of wearable tags for different human warfighters in a mobile unit, each tag including a sensor communication interface, computer processing resources, and a magnetic communications link (see at least paragraph [0181] to Broadway et al, wherein RFID tags may be used for tracking purposes); a plurality of sensors associated with each wearable tag, said plurality of sensors configured to monitor levels of the consumable resources associated with the human warfighter and to communicate the levels of the consumable resources to the tag's sensor communication interface (see at least paragraph [0291] to Broadway et al, wherein a controller operatively coupled to the buffer, the communication interface, and the at least one sensor. The buffer is configured to store the information related to usage of the firearm. The first state includes transmitting data collected by the at least one sensor to the connected device in substantially real time); a local node including computer processing resources, an RF communications link to communicate with the global node and a magnetic communications link; and a network of the plurality of wearable tags and the local node to communicate within the mobile unit using the magnetic communications links (see at least paragraph [0323] and [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein The energy harvesting mechanisms 2862 may also be configured to harvest local energy in the radio frequency (RF) domain or other appropriate local electromagnetic signals of sufficient strength); wherein the computer processing resources allocated among the tags, the local node and the global node monitor the levels of the consumable resources of different entities to initiate a global resupply of the mobile unit from the one or more depots (see at least paragraph [0144] to Broadway et al, wherein the firearm usage monitoring system is configured to monitor round count and fatigue (e.g., heat flux and temperature buildup from discharge events) to determine when replacement of consumable or degradable components is likely. Beneficially, the firearm usage monitoring system may include supply chain information (e.g., deployed inventories or inventories at depot, resupply, or global resupply) to alert a resupply need or automatically resupply components).
Broadway et al does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the communications link operates in an RF frequency range of 30MHz to 30GHz, the magnetic link that operates in a magnetic frequency range of 30-900KHz.
However, Freedman et al discloses a hand hygiene and surgical scrub system and method, wherein the communications link operates in an RF frequency range of 30MHz to 30GHz, the magnetic link that operates in a magnetic frequency range of 30-900KHz (see at least paragraph [0070] to Freedman et al).
Freedman et al and Broadway et al do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the computer processing resources allocated only among the tags and the local node autonomously monitor the levels of the consumable resources of different human warfighters to initiate a local resupply of the consumable resources to one or more human warfighters solely from other human warfighters within the mobile unit, wherein resources are including ammunition, food, and water.
However, Kennedy discloses systems and methods for dynamic inventory management of deployed assets, wherein the computer processing resources allocated only among the tags and the local node autonomously monitor the levels of the consumable resources of different human warfighters to initiate a local resupply of the consumable resources to one or more human warfighters solely from other human warfighters within the mobile unit (see at least paragraph [0006] to Kennedy, wherein location tags, such as Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tags, can be attached to e portable assets. These assets can be assigned to people who carry computing devices capable of scanning for the RFID tags. The computing devices can also include a wireless transceiver for exchanging digital information over a wireless network and a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver for determining asset locations. The tag scanner can continuously poll a scanning region for nearby location tags to determine if a person possesses those assets which the person should have. Inventory and positioning information can be conveyed from multiple asset scanning devices to an inventory control server. The inventory control server can dynamically redistribute attributes according to mission needs); wherein resources are including ammunition, food, and water (see at least paragraph [0036] to Kennedy).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the weapon usage monitoring system and method, as disclosed by Broadway et al and the system and method for dynamic inventory management of deployed assets, further in view of hand hygiene and surgical scrub system and method as taught by Freedman et al, in order to track and monitor inventory usage and automatically order supplies could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each said tag and the global node are programmed with an initial resource level, wherein the global node is configured to initiate global resupply according to a global resupply plan for a specified mission, to update the global resupply plan as resources are consumed and resupplied, and if connection is lost between the global node the local node to continue global resupply according to the last updated global resupply plan for the local node and tags to autonomously update and continue the local resupply as resources are consumed and resupplied (see at least paragraph [0304] to Broadway et al, wherein a visualization of multiple users and assets engaged in live fire showing spot report information including unit identifiers, location information, ammunition remaining, ammunition discharge rate, prompts for resupply, and anticipated resupply needs are shown. In particular, a third-person visualization 1900 including an area view 1902 that shows multiple users 1904 and assets 1906 engaged in live fire is shown. In embodiments, third-person visualization 1500 includes spot report information 1908. In embodiments, spot report information 1908 includes unit identifiers 1910, location information 1912, ammunition remaining 1914, ammunition discharge rate 1916, prompts for resupply 1918, and anticipated resupply needs 1920).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the global node is responsive to levels of consumable resources for the mobile unit and situational awareness inputs including at least a plurality of location information regarding the unit and individual human warfighters, environmental conditions, progress of the mission, changes to the mission and changes to the threat to update the global resupply plan (see at least paragraph [0379] to Broadway et al, wherein The dashboard may include communication and mapping features, such as to track the location of all weapons in real-time, to highlight relevant events (such as weapons being gripped, weapons being raised, or weapons that have been discharged). The dashboard may provide access information from other systems, such as making available camera views, such as ones that are triggered by activation of body cameras or on-site cameras from the firearm monitoring system or from the dashboard).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each tag's computer processing resources are configured to condition data from the one or more sensors and to periodically transmit the levels of the consumable resources and to, as warranted, transmit a resupply request (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each tag communicates with the human warfighter to supply messages related to the local or global resupply of the consumable resources of the human warfighter or mobile unit (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al, wherein Once remaining ammunition levels dip below preset thresholds, resupply alerts can be sent).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the tags are configured to update the levels of the consumable resources upon the completion of the local or global resupply (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al, wherein the spot report can include ammunition remaining, ammunition discharge rate, prompts for resupply, and anticipated resupply needs. In many examples, the weapons can be assigned a standard stock or count of ammunition).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the system of claim 6, wherein each consumable resource is provided with a magnetic communications link, wherein the presence or absence of a consumable resource updates the level of the consumable resource in the tag (see at least paragraph [0308] to Broadway et al, wherein there is any number of possible wireless communication systems that could be used such as radio frequency, Wi-Fi, near field communication and other forms of electromagnetic or wired communication).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein if the tag is out-of-range of the network the tag is configured to supply an out-of-range message to the entity (see at least paragraph [0489] to Broadway et al, wherein It is appreciated that all of the communications between all of the weapon response devices to and from the mobile networking hub 5510 and the edge compute resources 5560 occurs on-site and within the (self-contained) LAN 5512 where no traditional internet connectivity is available (or desirable to connect with).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the system of claim 8, wherein if the tag is out-of-range or stops transmission for a specified period of time, the global node initiates resupply based on a preloaded mission-based loadout and projected consumption of the mobile unit (see at least paragraph [0386] to Broadway et al, wherein the firearm usage monitoring system 2800 includes a predictive resupply module 3094 based on the number of shots taken. In embodiments, the firearm usage monitoring system 2800 indicates when ammunition needs to be re-supplied).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the local node is separate from and fixed relative to the mobile unit 9see at least paragraph [0179] to Broadway et al, wherein the mesh network may be a self-organizing and fluid mesh network that organizes and reorganizes itself based on specified data, including data filtered or weighted based on specified criteria, and/or the dynamic detection of other devices, for example with a geographic perimeter. Other devices may include deployable mesh network hubs (also known as “pucks”), beacons, wireless connection points, such as Wi-Fi connection points, lighting systems, cameras, and the like, each of which may be connection point 1200 or connection point 1202 or mobile computing device 1214, 1216, or 1218. The mesh network may also include asset management systems, crowdsourced communications, frequency scanning networking systems, cellular mesh networking systems, and/or other systems).
Regarding claim 11, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the local node is a mobile drone that repositions itself within the mobile unit to improve communication among the tags in the network (see at least paragraph [0180] to Broadway et al, wherein devices on the mesh network may adjust location information based on the relative movement of each other within the mesh network. In embodiments, the relative movement of devices may be reported by other devices within the mesh network over the mesh network, such as to the self-disposing devices. The relative movement of other devices may also be derived from IMUs disposed with the other devices within the mesh network).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each tag includes an RF communications link, wherein one of the tags acts as the local node (see at least paragraph [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein Other devices may include deployable mesh network hubs 2872, also known as “pucks”, beacons, wireless access points, such as Wi-Fi access points, lighting systems, cameras, and the like. The mesh network 2864 may also include asset management systems, crowdsourced communications, frequency scanning networking, cellular mesh networking or other systems. In embodiments, devices on the mesh network 2864 may adjust location information based on the relative movement of each other within the mesh network 286).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the network is configured to assign different tags to act as the local node at different times (see at least paragraph [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein The mesh networking connection 2864 may form part of a large mesh network, allowing devices, such as firearms and mobile robots, to communicate directly with one another, rather than having to first connect through a centralized network communication hub, or as a supplement to communication by one or more devices to such a hub).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein one or more human warfighters in the mobile unit has an RF communications link, wherein at least one tag can access the RF communications link to act as the local node (see at least paragraph [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein The mesh networking connection 2864 may form part of a large mesh network, allowing devices, such as firearms and mobile robots, to communicate directly with one another, rather than having to first connect through a centralized network communication hub, or as a supplement to communication by one or more devices to such a hub).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art discloses the system of claim 14, wherein each human warfighter includes a low-power bi-directional RF communications link to communicate within the mobile unit and one or more human warfighters include the RF communications link to communicate with the global node (see at least paragraph [0323] to Broadway et al, wherein In embodiments, the system 2800 may include efficient architecture and components for low power consumption including energy harvesting mechanisms 2862. In examples, the system 2800 can harvest the energy of motion of the firearm or energy from the recoil to provide power for storage and/or reporting of data. In embodiments, methods and systems provide rapid, efficient determination of location. The energy harvesting mechanisms 2862 may also be configured to harvest local energy in the radio frequency (RF) domain or other appropriate local electromagnetic signals of sufficient strength).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the tag generates a visible cue to alert the human warfighter and other human warfighters in the mobile unit as to a criticality of a consumable resource (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al, wherein Once remaining ammunition levels dip below preset thresholds, resupply alerts can be sent).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising one or more wearable sensors coupled to the human warfighters to measure health related data, wherein the computer processing resources allocated among the tags, the local node and the global node monitor the health data to initiate local assistance to one or more distressed entities from within the mobile unit and global assistance from an external source (see at least paragraph [0166] to Broadway et al, wherein he information may, for example, include or relate to names, ranks, years of service, skill levels, weapons present, ammunition stocks present, numbers of shots fired since arrival at the location shown, health information, threat engagement information, or the like, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 19, the prior art discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the entity is a human person, wherein one of the wearable sensors is configured to measure shock levels indicative of concussive effects (see at least paragraph [0181] to Broadway et al, Event identification information may include weapon information, information indicating a person is in an unauthorized area, soldier maneuver information (e.g., speed, direction, activity, or the like), in-position information (such as for an individual or a device), rate-of-fire information, alternating fire information, maintenance required information, stoppage event information, ammunition expenditure information, fight or struggle information and the like. In embodiments, authentication information may be received from RF identification (RFID) implants, for example, implanted in the person).
Regarding claim 21, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computer processing resources allocated among the tags, and the local node determine whether the local resupply of the consumable resource is available, if so, the local node initiates the local resupply from the human warfighters within the mobile unit and if not, the local node transmits a global request to the global node to update the global resupply plan and to initiate global resupply from the one or more depots (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
1 See Electric Power Group, LLC. V. Alstom, case no. 2015-1778 (Fed. Cir. August 1, 2016) (“The present case is different: the focus of the claims is not on such an improvement in computers as tools, but on certain independent abstract ideas that use computers as tools.”).
2 793 F.3d 1306 (Fed. Cir. 2015)(The court also stated that “[u]sing organizational and product group hierarchies to determine a price is an abstract idea that has no particular concrete or tangible form or application. It is a building block, a basic conceptual framework for organizing information.”).
3 Appeal No 2018-1795 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
4 Appeal No. 2017-2081 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
5 “[The examiner] need not define the outer limits of ‘abstract idea,’ or at this stage exclude the possibility that any particular inventive means are to be found somewhere in the claims, to conclude that these claims focus on an abstract idea—and hence require stage two analysis under § 101.” Electric Power Group, LLC. V. Alstom, case no. 2015-1778 (Fed. Cir. August 1, 2016).
6 As stated in the July 2015 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, “These associations define the judicial descriptors in a manner that stays within the confines of the judicial precedent, with the understanding that these associations are not mutually exclusive, i.e., some concepts may be associated with more than one judicial descriptor.”