DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 01/11/2024 have been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application. Claim 20 has been withdrawn from consideration. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1, 2, 18, and 19 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected herein. The rejection of the pending claims is hereby made final.
Response to Remarks
102
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered by the examiner and have been addressed in the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broadway et al (US 2023/0288167) in view of Freedman et al (US 2019/0228640).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a system for managing resupply of consumable resources for a mobile unit, the system comprising :one or more depots for storing a consumable resource (see at least paragraph [0089] to Broadway et al, wherein the geofence capability can be implemented around a warehouse where weapons are stored to track weapons for inventory control); a global node including computer processing resources and a high-speed bi-directional RF communications link (see at least paragraph [0191] to Broadway et al, wherein The communication interface may include a suitable number of conductors, connectors, transmitters, and/or receivers to achieve desired data throughput and device connectivity. The communication interface may communicate with devices and components through wired and/or wireless telecommunication protocols, such as ethernet, transmission control protocol (TCP), Internet protocol (IP), power line communication, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth®, infrared, radio frequency (RF)…or a combination thereof); a plurality of wearable tags for different entities in a mobile unit, each tag including a sensor communication interface, computer processing resources, and a magnetic communications link (see at least paragraph [0181] to Broadway et al, wherein RFID tags may be used for tracking purposes); one or more sensors associated with each wearable tag, said one or more sensors configured to monitor a level of the consumable resource associated with the entity and to communicate the level of the consumable resource to the tag's communication interface (see at least paragraph [0291] to Broadway et al, wherein a controller operatively coupled to the buffer, the communication interface, and the at least one sensor. The buffer is configured to store the information related to usage of the firearm. The first state includes transmitting data collected by the at least one sensor to the connected device in substantially real time); a local node including computer processing resources, an RF communications link to communicate with the global node and a magnetic communications link; and a network of the plurality of wearable tags and the local node to communicate within the mobile unit using the magnetic communications links (see at least paragraph [0323] and [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein The energy harvesting mechanisms 2862 may also be configured to harvest local energy in the radio frequency (RF) domain or other appropriate local electromagnetic signals of sufficient strength); wherein the computer processing resources allocated among the tags, the local node and the global node monitor the levels of the consumable resources of different entities to initiate a local resupply of the consumable resource to one or more entities from other entities within the mobile unit and a global resupply of the mobile unit from the one or more depots (see at least paragraph [0144] to Broadway et al, wherein the firearm usage monitoring system is configured to monitor round count and fatigue (e.g., heat flux and temperature buildup from discharge events) to determine when replacement of consumable or degradable components is likely. Beneficially, the firearm usage monitoring system may include supply chain information (e.g., deployed inventories or inventories at depot, resupply, or global resupply) to alert a resupply need or automatically resupply components).
Broadway et al does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the communications link operates in an RF frequency range of 30MHz to 30GHz, the magnetic link that operates in a magnetic frequency range of 30-900KHz.
However, Freedman et al discloses a hand hygiene and surgical scrub system and method, wherein the communications link operates in an RF frequency range of 30MHz to 30GHz, the magnetic link that operates in a magnetic frequency range of 30-900KHz (see at least paragraph [0070] to Freedman et al).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the weapon usage monitoring system and method, as disclosed by Broadway et al and the hand hygiene and surgical scrub system and method as taught by Freedman et al, in order to track and monitor inventory usage and automatically order supplies could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each said tag and the global processing unit are programmed with an initial resource level, wherein the global node is configured to initiate global resupply according to a global resupply plan for a specified mission, to update the global resupply plan as resources are consumed and resupplied, and if connection is lost to the local node to continue global resupply according to the last updated global resupply plan and to update and continue the local resupply as resources are consumed and resupplied (see at least paragraph [0304] to Broadway et al, wherein a visualization of multiple users and assets engaged in live fire showing spot report information including unit identifiers, location information, ammunition remaining, ammunition discharge rate, prompts for resupply, and anticipated resupply needs are shown. In particular, a third-person visualization 1900 including an area view 1902 that shows multiple users 1904 and assets 1906 engaged in live fire is shown. In embodiments, third-person visualization 1500 includes spot report information 1908. In embodiments, spot report information 1908 includes unit identifiers 1910, location information 1912, ammunition remaining 1914, ammunition discharge rate 1916, prompts for resupply 1918, and anticipated resupply needs 1920).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the global node is responsive to levels of consumable resources for the mobile unit and situational awareness inputs including at least a plurality of location information regarding the unit and individual entities, environmental conditions, progress of the mission, changes to the mission and changes to the threat (see at least paragraph [0379] to Broadway et al, wherein The dashboard may include communication and mapping features, such as to track the location of all weapons in real-time, to highlight relevant events (such as weapons being gripped, weapons being raised, or weapons that have been discharged). The dashboard may provide access information from other systems, such as making available camera views, such as ones that are triggered by activation of body cameras or on-site cameras from the firearm monitoring system or from the dashboard).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each tag's computer processing resources are configured to condition data from the one or more sensors and to periodically transmit the level of the consumable resource and to, as warranted, transmit a resupply request (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each tag communicates with the entity to supply messages related to the local or global resupply of the consumable resources of the entity or mobile unit (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al, wherein Once remaining ammunition levels dip below preset thresholds, resupply alerts can be sent).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the tags are configured to update the level of the consumable resource upon the completion of the local or global resupply (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al, wherein the spot report can include ammunition remaining, ammunition discharge rate, prompts for resupply, and anticipated resupply needs. In many examples, the weapons can be assigned a standard stock or count of ammunition).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the system of claim 6, wherein each consumable resource is provided with a magnetic communications link, wherein the presence or absence of a consumable resource updates the level of the consumable resource in the tag (see at least paragraph [0308] to Broadway et al, wherein there is any number of possible wireless communication systems that could be used such as radio frequency, Wi-Fi, near field communication and other forms of electromagnetic or wired communication).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein if the tag is out-of-range of the network the tag is configured to supply an out-of-range message to the entity (see at least paragraph [0489] to Broadway et al, wherein It is appreciated that all of the communications between all of the weapon response devices to and from the mobile networking hub 5510 and the edge compute resources 5560 occurs on-site and within the (self-contained) LAN 5512 where no traditional internet connectivity is available (or desirable to connect with).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the system of claim 8, wherein if the tag is out-of-range or stops transmission for a specified period of time, the global node initiates resupply based on a preloaded mission-based loadout and projected consumption of the mobile unit (see at least paragraph [0386] to Broadway et al, wherein the firearm usage monitoring system 2800 includes a predictive resupply module 3094 based on the number of shots taken. In embodiments, the firearm usage monitoring system 2800 indicates when ammunition needs to be re-supplied).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the local node is separate from and fixed relative to the mobile unit 9see at least paragraph [0179] to Broadway et al, wherein the mesh network may be a self-organizing and fluid mesh network that organizes and reorganizes itself based on specified data, including data filtered or weighted based on specified criteria, and/or the dynamic detection of other devices, for example with a geographic perimeter. Other devices may include deployable mesh network hubs (also known as “pucks”), beacons, wireless connection points, such as Wi-Fi connection points, lighting systems, cameras, and the like, each of which may be connection point 1200 or connection point 1202 or mobile computing device 1214, 1216, or 1218. The mesh network may also include asset management systems, crowdsourced communications, frequency scanning networking systems, cellular mesh networking systems, and/or other systems).
Regarding claim 11, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the local node is a mobile drone that repositions itself within the mobile unit to improve communication among the tags in the network (see at least paragraph [0180] to Broadway et al, wherein devices on the mesh network may adjust location information based on the relative movement of each other within the mesh network. In embodiments, the relative movement of devices may be reported by other devices within the mesh network over the mesh network, such as to the self-disposing devices. The relative movement of other devices may also be derived from IMUs disposed with the other devices within the mesh network).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each tag includes an RF communications link, wherein one of the tags acts as the local node (see at least paragraph [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein Other devices may include deployable mesh network hubs 2872, also known as “pucks”, beacons, wireless access points, such as Wi-Fi access points, lighting systems, cameras, and the like. The mesh network 2864 may also include asset management systems, crowdsourced communications, frequency scanning networking, cellular mesh networking or other systems. In embodiments, devices on the mesh network 2864 may adjust location information based on the relative movement of each other within the mesh network 286).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the network is configured to assign different tags to act as the local node at different times (see at least paragraph [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein The mesh networking connection 2864 may form part of a large mesh network, allowing devices, such as firearms and mobile robots, to communicate directly with one another, rather than having to first connect through a centralized network communication hub, or as a supplement to communication by one or more devices to such a hub).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein one or more entities in the mobile unit has an RF communications link, wherein at least one tag can access the RF communications link to act as the local node (see at least paragraph [0324] to Broadway et al, wherein The mesh networking connection 2864 may form part of a large mesh network, allowing devices, such as firearms and mobile robots, to communicate directly with one another, rather than having to first connect through a centralized network communication hub, or as a supplement to communication by one or more devices to such a hub).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art discloses the system of claim 14, wherein each entity includes a low-power bi-directional RF communications link to communicate within the unit and one or more entities include the RF communications link to communicate with the global node (see at least paragraph [0323] to Broadway et al, wherein In embodiments, the system 2800 may include efficient architecture and components for low power consumption including energy harvesting mechanisms 2862. In examples, the system 2800 can harvest the energy of motion of the firearm or energy from the recoil to provide power for storage and/or reporting of data. In embodiments, methods and systems provide rapid, efficient determination of location. The energy harvesting mechanisms 2862 may also be configured to harvest local energy in the radio frequency (RF) domain or other appropriate local electromagnetic signals of sufficient strength).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the RF communications link operates in a frequency range of 30MHz to 30 GHz and the magnetic communications link operates in a frequency range of 30-900 KHz (see at least paragraph [0486] to Broadway et al, wherein a weapon usage monitoring system 5500 may include a weapon response device that is deployed to a variety of environments with a plurality of RF characteristics, requirements, and profiles).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the entity is a human person, wherein the tag generates a visible cue to alert the person and other persons in the mobile unit as to a criticality of a consumable resource (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al, wherein Once remaining ammunition levels dip below preset thresholds, resupply alerts can be sent).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the entity is a human person further comprising one or more wearable sensors coupled to the entity to measure health related data, wherein the computer processing resources allocated among the tags, the local node and the global node monitor the health data to initiate local assistance to one or more distressed entities from within the mobile unit and global assistance from an external source (see at least paragraph [0166] to Broadway et al, wherein he information may, for example, include or relate to names, ranks, years of service, skill levels, weapons present, ammunition stocks present, numbers of shots fired since arrival at the location shown, health information, threat engagement information, or the like, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 19, the prior art discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the entity is a human person, wherein one of the wearable sensors is configured to measure shock levels indicative of concussive effects (see at least paragraph [0181] to Broadway et al, Event identification information may include weapon information, information indicating a person is in an unauthorized area, soldier maneuver information (e.g., speed, direction, activity, or the like), in-position information (such as for an individual or a device), rate-of-fire information, alternating fire information, maintenance required information, stoppage event information, ammunition expenditure information, fight or struggle information and the like. In embodiments, authentication information may be received from RF identification (RFID) implants, for example, implanted in the person).
Regarding claim 21, the prior art discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computer processing resources allocated among the tags, the local node and the global node determine whether the local resupply of the consumable resource is available, if so, the entities initiate the local resupply and if not, the local node transmits a global request to update the global resupply plan and to initiate global resupply from the one or more depots (see at least paragraph [0302] to Broadway et al).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627