DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 17 JULY 2026 is acknowledged and considered. In the claim set, Claims 1 and 9 are ‘currently amended’; Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 11 and 13-15 are ‘Original’; and Claims 5 and 12 are ‘cancelled’.
Current pending claims are Claims 1-4 and 6-11 and 13-15 are pending and are considered on the merits below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 17 JULY 2026, with respect to the claim objections and the 112(b) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections and the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 17 JULY 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS filed on 17 JULY 2026 Applicant asserts that the claims are not anticipated nor obvious over the CN 114367321 reference. Applicant asserts that the amended Claim 1 which now includes the three-part segmented geometry in previous Claim 5 and similarly Claim 9 now has the same three-part geometry from former Claim 12. Claims 5 and 12 have been cancelled.
Applicant asserts that the CN 114367321 reference does not disclose this three-part auxiliary channel structure. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that instant invention “has a distinct segmented structure: (1) a first portion that branches from the main flow channel and extends by a first length; (2) a second portion that extends in a curved manner from the end of the first portion toward the main flow channel; and (3) a third portion that extends from the end of the second portion by a second length before merging with the main flow channel.”
Below is an annotated Figure 1 of the instant invention compared side-by-side with the Figure 4 of the CN 114367321 reference. As seen below, there is no difference between the two annotated Figures.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHANGHAI, CN 114367321 A.
An English Machine Translation has been obtained from Google Patents and has been used as the basis of the rejection below.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, a microfluidic chip.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference SHANGHAI discloses a microfluidic chip, Figure 3and 4, comprising:
a fluid inlet; a fluid outlet; and a flow channel constructed to connect the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to each other, wherein a fluid flows in the flow channel, wherein the flow channel includes a plurality of eddy generation structures connected in series with each other, wherein each of the eddy generation structures includes: a main flow channel; and at least one auxiliary flow channel branching from the main flow channel at a first point thereof, and merging with the main flow channel at a second point thereof spaced apart from the first point in a fluid flow direction, wherein the auxiliary flow channel meets with the main flow channel at an angle in a range of 90 exclusive to 180 exclusive, Figures 3 and 4, page 5, description of Figure 3 and 4, wherein an auxiliary flow channel includes: a first portion branching from the first point of the main flow channel and extending by a first length; a second portion extending in a curved manner from an end of the first portion toward the main flow channel; and a third portion extending from an end of the second portion by a second length and merging with the second point of the main flow channel, Figure 3 and 4, page 5, description of Figure 3 and 4.
Below see an annotated version of SHANGHAI Figure 4 as it compared side-by-side to instant invention Figure 1.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 2: wherein the microfluidic chip of claim 1, wherein a loop-mediated isothermal amplification (LAMP) reaction is carried out within the flow channel. The instant claim language recites what is to occurring in the flow channel of the device and does not further define the microfluidic chip structurally. The instant claim language is directed towards how the device is intended to be used / operated. “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, since SHANGHI discloses the claimed invention including all structural limitations, therefore the device would possess the loop-mediated isothermal amplification (LAMP) reaction. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. ; Claim 3: wherein the microfluidic chip of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary flow channel of the eddy generation structure meets with the main flow channel at an angle of 130 to 140⁰, Figure 3 and 4, see zoomed in squares. ; Claim 6: wherein the microfluidic chip of claim 1, wherein the at least one auxiliary flow channel includes a plurality of auxiliary flow channels disposed on both opposing sides of the main flow channel and arranged in a zigzag manner along the main flow channel, Figure 3 and 4, entire figure and see zoomed in squares. ; Claim 7: wherein the microfluidic chip of claim 6, wherein the main flow channel is formed in a serpentine structure including a plurality of rows, Figure 3. ; Claim 8: wherein the microfluidic chip of claim 1, wherein the fluid inlet includes a plurality of the fluid inlets, Figure 3, page 4, 2nd full paragraph, 1-3 sample inlet ports.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHANGHAI, CN 114367321 A.
Regarding Claims 4 and 11 , the SHANGHAI reference discloses the claimed invention directed towards a microfluidic chip as well as a method of using the chip, but is silent in regards to wherein the main flow channel has a width of 80 to 120 mm.
SHANGHAI discloses the microfluidic chip is at the micro/nanometer level, page 3, ‘Background’ , 1st paragraph. SHANGHAI further discloses the diameter of the nanomagnetic balls are 300 nm and the diameter of the quantum dot microsphere is 100 nm, page 5, middle of page. In addition, SHANGHAI discloses the micromixer and detector are connected to each other by a flow channel using a capillary tube, page 5, paragraph starting with ‘Before the invention is used…’.
It is known in the art the capillary tubes are typically microscale in cross‑section, with dimensions often in the micrometer to millimeter range, depending on the application.
Since SHANGHAI discloses the chip at a micro/nanometer level and the balls / microspheres are at the nanometer level, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the width of the main flow channel of the microfluidic chip of SHANGHAI to be 80 to 120 mm to comfortably flow a plurality of balls / microspheres are at the nanometer level without clogging and to use the microfluidic chip for flowing sample with improved reaction speed and flexibility, abstract.
Claims 9, 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHANGHAI, CN 114367321 A, and further in view of ZHANG, LAMP-on-a-chip: Revising microfluidic platforms for loop-mediated DNA amplification, TrAC Trends in Analytical Chemistry, Volume 113, 2019, Pages 44-53, ISSN 0165-9936, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trac.2019.01.015.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 9, the reference SHANGHAI discloses a LAMP gene amplification method comprising:
providing a microfluidic chip, wherein the microfluidic chip includes:
a fluid inlet; a fluid outlet; and a flow channel constructed to connect the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to each other, wherein a fluid flows in the flow channel, wherein the flow channel includes a plurality of eddy generation structures connected in series with each other, wherein each of the eddy generation structures includes: a main flow channel; and at least one auxiliary flow channel branching from the main flow channel at a first point thereof, and merging with the main flow channel at a second point thereof spaced apart from the first point in a fluid flow direction, wherein the auxiliary flow channel meets with the main flow channel at an angle in a range of 90° exclusive to 180 exclusive, Figures 3 and 4, page 5, description of Figure 3 and 4, wherein an auxiliary flow channel includes: a first portion branching from the first point of the main flow channel and extending by a first length; a second portion extending in a curved manner from an end of the first portion toward the main flow channel; and a third portion extending from an end of the second portion by a second length and merging with the second point of the main flow channel, Figure 3 and 4, page 5, description of Figure 3 and 4.
Below see an annotated version of SHANGHAI Figure 4 as it compared side-by-side to instant invention Figure 1.
; through the plurality of eddy generation structures, a portion of the LAMP reactant flows through the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion of the at least one auxiliary flow channel and merges with another portion of the LAMP reactant flowing through the main flow channel at the angle in the range of 90° exclusive to 180° exclusive, page 4, 1) mixing: injecting two different biological samples…2) injecting different microsphere solutions…, page 3, paragraph starting with “Encoded microspheres…, thereby generating an eddy at a merging point to mix the LAMP reactant, page 3 and 4.
The SHANGHAI reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent regards to the step of maintaining the microfluidic chip at an isothermal temperature to carry out a loop- mediated isothermal amplification reaction of the LAMP reactant within the flow channel.
The ZHANG reference discloses a LAMP gene amplification method, abstract, comprising: providing a microfluidic chip, Figure 2D, page 46-47, Section 3, 3.2, wherein the microfluidic chip includes: a fluid inlet; a fluid outlet, Figure 2D, page 47; and a flow channel constructed to connect the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet to each other, wherein a fluid flows in the flow channel, Figure 2D, page 47, lateral flow strip, wherein the flow channel includes a structures connected in series with each other, wherein each of the structure includes: a main flow channel; and at least one auxiliary flow channel branching from the main flow channel at a first point thereof, and merging with the main flow channel at a second point thereof spaced apart from the first point in a fluid flow direction, Figure 2D, page 47, see side portion at left of ‘lateral flow strip’ wherein the auxiliary flow channel meets with the main flow channel at an angle in a range of 90° exclusive to 180° exclusive, Figure 2D, see angle of channel and lateral flow strip,
, and injecting a LAMP reactant into the fluid inlet such that the LAMP reactant flows along the flow channel through structure, Figure 2D, page 46-47, wherein, at each of the structure, a portion of the LAMP reactant flows through a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion of the at least one auxiliary flow channel and merges with another portion of the LAMP reactant flowing through the main flow channel at the angle in the range of 90° exclusive to 180° exclusive, thereby generating a merging point to mix the LAMP reactant, page 46, Section 3.1; and maintaining the microfluidic chip at an isothermal temperature to carry out a loop- mediated isothermal amplification reaction of the LAMP reactant within the flow channel, page 46, Section 2.2.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of SHANGHAI with the method step of ZHANG wherein the microfluidic chip at an isothermal temperature to carry out a loop- mediated isothermal amplification reaction of the LAMP reactant within the flow channel since isothermal amplification techniques require simple hardware and they are rather insensitive to polymerase inhibitors, making the amplification process robust, page 46, Section 2.2, as well as the isothermal technique can detect target sequences with high specificity and sensitivity and can take advantage of no temperature cycling, page 50, Section 8
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 10: wherein the method of claim 9, wherein the auxiliary flow channel of the eddy generation structure meets with the main flow channel at an angle of 130 to 140⁰ , Figure 3 and 4, see zoomed in squares. The instant claim language does not further define any method steps, see 112(b) rejection in previous Office Action. ; Claim 13: wherein the method of claim 9, wherein the at least one auxiliary flow channel includes a plurality of auxiliary flow channels disposed on both opposing sides of the main flow channel and arranged in a zigzag manner along the main flow channel, Figure 3 and 4. The instant claim language does not further define any method steps, see 112(b) rejection in previous Office Action. ; Claim 14: wherein the method of claim 13, wherein the main flow channel is formed in a serpentine structure including a plurality of rows, Figure 3. The instant claim language does not further define any method steps, see 112(b) rejection in previous Office Action. ; and Claim 15: wherein the method of claim 9, wherein the fluid inlet includes a plurality of the fluid inlets, Figures 3 and 4, page 4, 2nd full paragraph, 1-3 sample inlets. The instant claim language does not further define any method steps, see 112(b) rejection in previous Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797