Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 10/23/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 4, 7, 14 have been canceled. Claims 1, 8, 9, 13, 15, and 21 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-13, and 15-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that HARRIS fails to disclose a terpolymer consisting of methacrylic or salt thereof, acrylic acid and an additional monomer.
Applicant argues that HARRIS teaches either:
a hydrolyzed copolymer of maleic anhydride with two monomers other than acrylic acid or methacrylic acid (e.g., a copolymer of monomer A with two monomer B), or
a hydrolyzed copolymer of maleic anhydride with one monomer other than acrylic acid or methacrylic acid, and acrylic acid or methacrylic acid (e.g., a copolymer of monomer A with a mixture of one monomer B and one monomer C).
The Examine disagrees how the applicant interprets the choices of claim 1. Claim 1 discloses a copolymer [HARRIS claim 1]. The copolymer can be a terpolymer [HARRIS claim 7 and 11].
Claim 1 states that copolymer can be made in two ways in the alternate.
Hydrolyzed copolymer of (A) maleic anhydride with at least one mono-ethylenically unsaturated monomer (B) other than acrylic acid or methacrylic acid,
Hydrolyzed copolymer of (A) . . . with a mixture of (B) and (C) acrylic acid or methacrylic acid.
The applicant appears to be reading the limitation of the first clause of monomer B being other than acrylic acid or methacrylic into monomer B of the second clause. The Examiner disagrees with the applicant’s reading and this is supported by claim 11. It is the Examiners position that the two clauses are separated by a comma and the first clause description of ‘B’ should not be read into the second clause recitation of ‘B’. Independent claim 1 must be broad enough to contain the full scope of its dependent claims including, claim 11.
11. A process as claimed in claim 1, in which the copolymer is a terpolymer derived from maleic anhydride and two ethylenically unsaturated monomers selected from acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, crotonic acid, itaconic acid, aconitic acid, esters of said acids, acrylonitrile, acrylamide, vinyl acetate, styrene, .alpha.-methyl styrene, methyl vinyl ketone, acrolein, ethylene and propylene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 5,441,602 HARRIS et al., hereinafter HARRIS.
As for claim 1, HARRIS discloses a terpolymer comprising three monomers maleic anhydride with acrylic acid and methacrylic acid [claim 1 and claim 11] for inhibiting the formation of calcium carbonate scale in wood pulp production (a papermaking process) [claim 1].
HARRIS claim 11 reads as follows (emphasis added by Examiner):
11. A process as claimed in claim 1, in which the copolymer is a terpolymer derived from maleic anhydride and two ethylenically unsaturated monomers selected from acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, crotonic acid, itaconic acid, aconitic acid, esters of said acids, acrylonitrile, acrylamide, vinyl acetate, styrene, .alpha.-methyl styrene, methyl vinyl ketone, acrolein, ethylene and propylene.
The maleic anhydride reads on the second monomer. The maleic anhydride can be present in a 1:1 ratio with the other monomers [claim 3] and therefore is present in the total polymer at 50% molar which falls within the claimed range.
The methacrylic acid reads on the first monomer. The first and third monomers are 50% of the total weight of the polymer [claim 3]. The first and third monomer are in a 1:2 to a 2:1 ratio [claim 13]. This means that the first monomer will be present from 16.67 to 33.3% which falls within the claimed range.
The acrylic acid reads on the third monomer. The first and third monomers are 50% of the total weight of the polymer [claim 3]. The first and third monomer are in a 1:2 to a 2:1 ratio [claim 13]. This means that the first monomer will be present from 16.67 to 33.3% which overlaps the instant claimed range with sufficient specificity or makes a prima facie caser of obviousness.
A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range.
Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30
As for claim 2, HARRIS discloses that the polymer is added white liquor stream which goes to the digester [col. 3 lines 15-18].
As for claim 5, HARRIS discloses maleic anhydride and acrylic acid [claim 1 and claim 11] as a second and third monomer.
As for claim 6, HARRIS discloses maleic anhydride which reads on the second monomer [claim 1 and claim 11].
As for claim 21, the first and third monomer are in a 1:2 to a 2:1 ratio which falls within the instant claimed range [claim 13].
Claims 3, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,441,602 HARRIS et al., hereinafter HARRIS.
As for claim 3, HARRIS discloses that the copolymer formed has a MW of 10,000 or less which overlaps with the instant claimed range [col. 2 lines 16-17]. The Examiner notes that HARRIS explicitly defines copolymers as including 3 monomers [claim 7] (therefore the recitation of less than 10,000 MW applies to terpolymers).
For avoidance of doubt, HARRIS does recite a terpolymer with a MW of 1,000 or less [col. 3 lines 6-7]. The Examiner takes the position that this is referring to the terpolymer with vinyl acetate and ethyl acrylate [col. 3 lines 2-5]. This interpretation is supported based on how it is written in the specification and how claim 18 narrows claim 14 instead of claim 11.
As for claim 8, HARRIS discloses 50% maleic anhydride as per above, 16.67 to 33.3% methacrylic acid which encompasses the instant claimed range, and 16.67 to 33.3% acrylic which encompasses the instant claimed range making a prima facie case of obviousness.
As for claim 9, HARRIS discloses a terpolymer comprising three monomers maleic anhydride with acrylic acid and methacrylic acid [claim 1 and claim 11] for inhibiting the formation of calcium carbonate scale in wood pulp production (a papermaking process) [claim 1].
HARRIS discloses that the copolymer formed has a MW of 10,000 or less which overlaps with the instant claimed range [col. 2 lines 16-17]. The Examiner notes that HARRIS explicitly defines copolymers as including 3 monomers [claim 7] (therefor the recitation of less than 10,000 MW applies to terpolymers).
For avoidance of doubt, HARRIS does recite a terpolymer with a MW of 1,000 or less [col. 3 lines 6-7]. The Examiner takes the position that this is referring to the terpolymer with vinyl acetate and ethyl acrylate [col. 3 lines 2-5]. This interpretation is supported based on how it is written in the specification and how claim 18 narrows claim 14 instead of claim 11.
The first and third monomer are in a 1:2 to a 2:1 ratio [claim 13][ which falls within the claimed range.
As for claim 10, the methacrylic acid reads on the first monomer. The first and third monomers are 50% of the total weight of the polymer [claim 3]. The first and third monomer are in a 1:2 to a 2:1 ratio [claim 13]. This means that the first monomer will be present from 16.67 to 33.3% which falls within the claimed range.
As for claim 11, HARRIS discloses that the polymer is added white liquor stream which goes to the digester [col. 3 lines 15-18].
As for claim 12, HARRIS discloses maleic anhydride and acrylic acid [claim 1 and claim 11] as a second and third monomer.
As for claim 13, HARRIS discloses maleic anhydride which reads on the second monomer [claim 1 and claim 11].
As for claim 15, HARRIS discloses 50% maleic anhydride as per above, 16.67 to 33.3% methacrylic acid which encompasses the instant claimed range, and 16.67 to 33.3% acrylic which encompasses the instant claimed range making a prima facie case of obviousness.
As for claims 16, the terpolymer of HARRIS comprises maleic anhydride, methacrylic and acrylic which are the monomers of the instant claim.
As for claims 17-19, HARRIS does not require the addition of any other components to the composition [claim 1, may also be used in col. 3 lines 19-27 makes the addition of other additives optional].
As for claim 20, as substantially the same polymer is used it is the examiners position that substantially the same calcium scale forming compounds will also be inhibited.
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748