DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
- Regarding to claim 11, the step “configuring the user equipment with a maximum size of the concatenated SDU or a maximum size of the PDCP PDU generated using the PDCP concatenation processing in the uplink” is not clear what the maximum size is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Nuggehalli et al. (Pub. No. 20180097918).
- With respect to claims 1, 13 and 19-20, Nuggehalli teaches communication method used in a mobile communication system comprising a pair of Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entities comprising a transmission-side PDCP entity for transmitting a PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) and a reception-side PDCP entity for receiving the PDCP PDU (e.g. the eNB and UE in fig. 1 communicates over links), the communication method comprising the steps of: performing, by a transmission-side PDCP entity, PDCP concatenation processing of concatenating a plurality of PDCP Service Data Units (SDUs) and thereby generating a PDCP PDU comprising a concatenated SDU (e.g. Fig; 6 shows the step 611-641 and Fig. 4 show PDCP SDU to PDU); performing, by a reception-side PDCP entity, PDCP segmentation processing of segmenting the concatenated SDU comprised in the PDCP PDU into the plurality of PDCP SDUs (e.g. fig. 6 shows step 622 where SDU separation from PDU); and transmitting control information used for control of the PDCP concatenation processing and/or the PDCP segmentation processing from a first communication apparatus comprising one of a pair of PDCP entities to a second communication apparatus comprising the other of the pair of PDCP entities (e.g. par. 36 discloses the addition protocol header fields used to indicated the length of the IP packets).
- With respect to claim 2, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting, by the transmission-side PDCP entity or the reception-side PDCP entity, a PDCP Control PDU comprising the control information (e.g. the additional header field in par. 36).
- With respect to claim 3, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting an RRC message comprising the control information (e.g. the RRC message for transmit IP packet comprises additional header field as Fig. 3 shows in step 312, 322).
- With respect to claim 4, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the RRC message further comprising a bearer identifier associated with the control information (e.g. par. 32 discloses DRB).
- With respect to claim 5, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the first communication apparatus comprises the transmission-side PDCP entity, the second communication apparatus comprises the reception-side PDCP entity, and the transmitting comprises transmitting, by the transmission-side PDCP entity, the PDCP PDU comprising the control information in a PDCP header (e.g. eNB and UE comprises transmitter and receiver as in Fig. 2).
- With respect to claim 9, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the control information comprises information indicating a size of each of the plurality of PDCP SDUs constituting the concatenated SDU (e.g. par. 32 discloses “ach RLC PDU also comprises length fields indicating the length of corresponding PDCP PDUs contained in the RLC data field. For example, in RLC PDU 411, field L1 indicates the length of PDCP PDU 401, field L2 indicates the length of part of PDCP PDU 402. In RLC PDU 412, field L1 indicates the length of the remaining part of PDCP PDU 402, field L2 indicates the length PDCP PDU 403” the size of SDU based on the length of PDU).
- With respect to claim 10, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the first communication apparatus is a network node comprising the reception-side PDCP entity, the second communication apparatus is a user equipment comprising the transmission-side PDCP entity, and the control information comprises configuration information for configuring the user equipment with the size of each of the plurality of PDCP SDUs that can be concatenated through the PDCP concatenation processing in an uplink (e.g. block 314-322 and par. 29-30).
- With respect to claim 11, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the control information further comprises information for configuring the user equipment with a maximum size of the concatenated SDU or a maximum size of the PDCP PDU generated using the PDCP concatenation processing in the uplink (e.g. the fixed-length of PDU discloses in par. 7-8).
- With respect to claim 12, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the first communication apparatus comprises the transmission-side PDCP entity, the second communication apparatus comprises the reception-side PDCP entity, and the generating of the PDCP PDU comprises adding, to the concatenated SDU, the PDCP header comprising the information indicating the size of each of the plurality of PDCP SDUs constituting the concatenated SDU (e.g. Fig. 4 discloses L1, L2 for the length of PDU that comprises the SDUs).
- With respect to claims 14, 16, 18, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the first communication apparatus is a network node comprising the transmission-side PDCP entity, the second communication apparatus is a user equipment comprising the reception-side PDCP entity, and the control information comprises information for configuring the user equipment with the PDCP segmentation processing in a downlink or information for activating the PDCP segmentation processing in the downlink (e.g. the addition information in header field for the receiver side PDCP entity to receive IP packet; see par. 30 for activate, and par. 36 and steps 622-652).
- With respect to claims 15, 17-18, Nuggehalli teaches wherein the first communication apparatus is a network node comprising the transmission-side PDCP entity, the second communication apparatus is a user equipment comprising the reception-side PDCP entity, and the control information comprises information for releasing configuration of the PDCP segmentation processing in a downlink or information for deactivating the PDCP segmentation processing in the downlink (e.g. par. 30 discloses the deactivates PDCP).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUC H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 Flex.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471