DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Senoo (US 20210162824 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Senoo teaches a corner module apparatus for a vehicle 10 (Fig 2, para 0019) , comprising:
a driving unit 12 (Fig 2) [configured to provide a wheel with driving power] (“The suspension device 10 is applied to a front wheel of a vehicle herein, and a reference numeral “12” of FIG. 2 denotes a hub that supports a left front wheel” para 0019 );
a steering knuckle 18 (Fig 2) connected to the driving unit 12 (Fig 2);
a steering unit 20 (Fig 2) [configured to rotate the steering knuckle 18 (Fig 2) to adjust a steering angle of the wheel] (“An upper part of a knuckle 18 of a wheel is pivotally supported, that is, swingably supported via a ball joint 20 by the upper arm 14, particularly by an end portion (base portion) 14a…” para 0020);
a first arm 14 (Fig 2 ) configured [to support the steering unit 20 (Fig 2) with respect to a vehicle body] (“An upper part of a knuckle 18 of a wheel is pivotally supported, that is, swingably supported via a ball joint 20 by the upper arm 14, particularly by an end portion (base portion) 14a, on an outer side in the vehicle width direction, of the upper arm 14.” Para 0020 );
a leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) [that extends from the vehicle body and is spaced apart from the steering knuckle 18 ] (“In the suspension device 10, a leaf spring 40 is disposed horizontally so as to extend in the vehicle width direction. The leaf spring 40 is disposed through an inner cavity 30s of the main cross member 30 of the suspension cross member 28.” para 0026 Fig 2 shows the leaf spring located away from the knuckle ); [and a second arm 16 (Fig 2, para 0020) connected to the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) ](“ In the lower arm 16, the lower arm main body portion 16d is provided with the support portion 44 for supporting the end portions of the leaf spring 40.” para 0029 ) [and configured to support the steering knuckle 18 (Fig 2) in position with respect to the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2)] (“Also, a lower part of the knuckle 18 of the wheel is swingably supported via a ball joint 22 by the lower arm 16, particularly by an end portion (base portion) 16a, on an outer side in the vehicle width direction, of the lower arm 16.” para 0020 ).
Regarding claim 18, Senoo anticipates [a length direction of the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) is disposed in parallel to a width direction of the vehicle body] (“In the suspension device 10, a leaf spring 40 is disposed horizontally so as to extend in the vehicle width direction.” para 0026); and the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) [protrudes from both sides of the vehicle body] (“In the suspension device 10, a leaf spring 40 is disposed horizontally so as to extend in the vehicle width direction. The leaf spring 40 is disposed through an inner cavity 30s of the main cross member 30 of the suspension cross member 28. Then, one end portion 40a of the leaf spring 40 is disposed on a support portion 44 of the lower arm 16 on a left front wheel side (the hub 12 side in FIG. 2) as described below, and the other end portion of the leaf spring 40 is similarly disposed on a support portion 44 of the lower arm 16 on a right front wheel side (not illustrated).” para 0026).
Regarding claim 19, Senoo anticipates the leaf spring 40 ( Fig 2) [has an end fixed to the second arm 16 (Fig 2)] (“Then, one end portion 40a of the leaf spring 40 is disposed on a support portion 44 of the lower arm 16 on a left front wheel side (the hub 12 side in FIG. 2)” para 0026) and has a central part fixed to the vehicle body (“The leaf spring 40 is disposed through an inner cavity 30s of the main cross member 30 of the suspension cross member 28.” para 0026).
Regarding claim 20, Senoo anticipates [a damper 46 (Fig 2) connected to and extending between the second arm 16 (Fig 2) and the vehicle body 24 (Fig 2)] (“A shock absorber 46, which is a shock absorbing device, is disposed between the lower arm 16 and the side member 26 in the above configuration. One end portion 46a of the shock absorber 46 is connected to the lower arm 16... The other end portion 46b of the shock absorber 46 is coupled to a connection portion 25b, between two upper arm brackets 25a, of the upper bracket 24.” Para 0030 and “the upper bracket 24, which is connected to an outer side of the side member 26 in the vehicle width direction, is independent of and separated from the suspension cross member 28 connected to the vertically lower side of the side member 26.” Para 0031 ), [the damper 46 (Fig 2) being inclined with respect to a length direction of the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) ] (Fig 2 of Senoo shows a significant angle between the shock absorbing member and the lower leaf spring 40) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Senoo in view of Perri (US 20130241167 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Senoo teaches a corner module apparatus for a vehicle 10 (Fig 2, para 0019) , comprising:
a driving unit 12 (Fig 2) [configured to provide a wheel with driving power] (“The suspension device 10 is applied to a front wheel of a vehicle herein, and a reference numeral “12” of FIG. 2 denotes a hub that supports a left front wheel” para 0019 );
a steering knuckle 18 (Fig 2) connected to the driving unit 12 (Fig 2);
a steering unit 20 (Fig 2) [configured to rotate the steering knuckle 18 (Fig 2) to adjust a steering angle of the wheel] (“An upper part of a knuckle 18 of a wheel is pivotally supported, that is, swingably supported via a ball joint 20 by the upper arm 14, particularly by an end portion (base portion) 14a…” para 0020);
a first arm 14 (Fig 2 ) configured [to support the steering unit 20 (Fig 2) with respect to a vehicle body] (“An upper part of a knuckle 18 of a wheel is pivotally supported, that is, swingably supported via a ball joint 20 by the upper arm 14, particularly by an end portion (base portion) 14a, on an outer side in the vehicle width direction, of the upper arm 14.” Para 0020 );
a leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) [that extends from the vehicle body and is spaced apart from the steering knuckle 18 ] (“In the suspension device 10, a leaf spring 40 is disposed horizontally so as to extend in the vehicle width direction. The leaf spring 40 is disposed through an inner cavity 30s of the main cross member 30 of the suspension cross member 28.” para 0026 Fig 2 shows the leaf spring located away from the knuckle ); the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) is parallel to a width of the vehicle body (“In the suspension device 10, a leaf spring 40 is disposed horizontally so as to extend in the vehicle width direction.” para 0026)
a second arm 16 (Fig 2, para 0020) configured to support the steering knuckle 18 (Fig 2) with respect to the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) [and to move relative to the leaf spring to adjust a camber angle of the wheel] (“Also, a lower part of the knuckle 18 of the wheel is swingably supported via a ball joint 22 by the lower arm 16, particularly by an end portion (base portion) 16a, on an outer side in the vehicle width direction, of the lower arm 16.” para 0020 ); and wherein the second arm 16 (Fig 2) [comprises an arm body connected to the steering knuckle] (Fig 2 shows the second arm 16 connected to the steering knuckle via a ball joint 22);
a first extension part 16e (Fig 2) and a second extension part 16d (Fig 2) [extending from the arm body in a direction parallel to a length direction of the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) and arranged facing each other and spaced apart from each other to define a slot therebetween,
wherein the leaf spring has an end inserted into the slot] (Annotated Senoo Fig 2 below shows the arm with a first and second extension part parallel to one another).
Annotated Senoo Figure 2 above shows the second arm having a first and second extension part parallel to one another and forming a slot therein to support the leaf spring.
Senoo does not teach a restriction unit configured to selectively control the relative movement of the second arm relative to the leaf spring.
Perri teaches a restriction unit 20 (Figs 4 and 5, para 0051) configured [to selectively control the relative movement of the second arm 56 (Figs 4 and 5) relative to the leaf spring 51 (Figs 4 and 5)] (“the connection of each transverse arm to the leaf spring being such as to enable a rotation of the transverse arm in a substantially horizontal plane with respect to the leaf spring and a relative sliding between the connected ends of the arm and of the leaf spring in the longitudinal direction of the leaf spring.”, para 0016). Further, the restriction unit 20 (Figs 4 and 5) comprises a guide hole 24 (Fig 5) that extends through [the first and second extension parts 56 (Fig 4) ] (“…each end of the leaf spring 51 is received within the seat defined between the two plane facing surfaces 56 of the forklike portion 55 of the respective transverse arm 50…The connection between each end of the leaf spring 50 and the forklike portion 55 of the respective transverse arm 50 is secured by a screw 20 having a substantially vertical axis 21.” para 0051), and a guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5, “The screw 20 moreover has a portion of larger diameter 23, which engages a circular hole 24 made in the branch of the forklike portion 55 on which the head 22 of the screw rests.” Para 0051 ) that extends from the leaf spring 51 (Fig 5) and is inserted into the guide hole 24 (Fig 5) ; and a pressurization member 60 (Fig 5,” Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” para 0052) [connected to the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) and configured to press the first extension part and the second extension part toward the leaf spring 51 (Fig 5) ] (“Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” Para 0052 and “In this way, when the locknut 60 is tightened the desired effect of slotting of the leaf spring 51 in the seat of the arm 50 is obtained.” para 0053). Wherein a length direction of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) intersects with the length direction of the leaf spring 11 (Fig 1) (“…a screw 20 having a substantially vertical axis 21.” para 0051 see also Fig 5). Further, the width of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) being smaller than a width of the guide hole 24 (“However, the hole made in the leaf spring 50, which is designated by the reference number 58, is in cross section shaped like an elongated slot having a maximum dimension in the longitudinal direction of the leaf spring 50 that is greater than the diameter of the cylindrical portion 23 of the screw 20. Thanks to said arrangement, the connection described here enables minor relative movements between the leaf spring 51 and the transverse arm 50 in the longitudinal direction of the leaf spring.” (Emphasis added) Para 0051).
Additionally, the restriction device further comprises a first pressurization member 22 (Fig 5) connected to one end of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) [and positioned in contact with the first extension part 56 (Fig 5)] (“As may be seen in FIG. 5, the screw 20 has a head 22 that rests on the top surface of the forklike portion 55 of the transverse arm 50.” Para 0051 ) ; and a second pressurization member 60 (Fig 5) [rotatably connected to an opposite end of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) and positioned in contact with the second extension part] (“Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” para 0052), wherein rotation of the second pressurization member 60 (Fig 5) with respect to the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) [adjusts a spacing between the second pressurization member 60 and the first pressurization member 22] (“In this way, when the locknut 60 is tightened the desired effect of slotting of the leaf spring 51 in the seat of the arm 50 is obtained.” para 0053), and [the second pressurization member 60 (Fig 5) is threaded onto the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5)] (“Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” para 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the restriction bolt of Perri with the corner module apparatus of Senoo with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent unnecessary rotation of the leaf spring near the steering knuckle. By including a restriction bolt, the leaf spring can remain in the correct plane of motion and will not rotate out of plane while the vehicle is moving.
Regarding claim 2, Senoo and Perri fully teach the second arm comprises: an arm body connected to the steering knuckle; a first extension part and a second extension part extending from the arm body in a direction parallel to a length direction of the leaf spring and arranged facing each other and spaced apart from each other to define a slot therebetween, wherein the leaf spring has an end inserted into the slot (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Senoo and Perri fully teach the length direction of the leaf spring is parallel to a width direction of the vehicle body (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Senoo and Perri fully teach the restriction unit comprises
a guide hole that extends through the first extension part and the second extension part;
a guide pin that extends from the leaf spring and is inserted into the guide hole; and
a pressurization member connected to the guide pin and configured to press the first extension part and the second extension part toward the leaf spring (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Senoo and Perri fully teach a width of the guide pin is smaller than a width of the guide hole, the width of the guide pin and the width of the guide hole being parallel to the length direction of the leaf spring (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Senoo and Perri fully teach a length direction of the guide pin intersects the length direction of the leaf spring (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Senoo and Perri fully teach the pressurization member comprises:
a first pressurization member connected to one end of the guide pin and positioned in contact with the first extension part; and a second pressurization member rotatably connected to an opposite end of the guide pin and positioned in contact with the second extension part, wherein rotation of the second pressurization member with respect to the guide pin adjusts a spacing between the second pressurization member and the first pressurization member (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Senoo and Perri fully teach the second pressurization member is threaded onto the guide pin (See modification of Senoo in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Senoo and Perri in further view of Horiguchi (US 20110193302 A1).
Regarding claim 9 , Senoo and Perri teach the corner module apparatus of claim 1.
Senoo and Perri do not teach the steering unit comprises a fixing shaft attached to the first arm; a steering body that extends from the steering knuckle and is rotatably supported by the fixing shaft; an actuator configured to generate rotatory power; and a power transmission member operably connected between the actuator and the steering body and configured to transmit the rotatory power from the actuator to the steering body.
Horiguchi teaches an equivalent steering unit 1 (Fig 1) comprising:
a fixing shaft 45 (Figs 4 and 5) attached to the first arm 4 (Figs 2 and 5)] (“the first connecting section 34 of the arm 4 and the worm wheel 3, and the worm wheel shaft 3b are arranged on one straight line A from the wheel 30 side.” para 0068- Fig 5 shows the connection point 34 between the worm shaft 3b and the arm 4); and the fixing shaft is inclined with respect to a ground surface (Fig 2 of Horiguchi shows the fixing shaft elevated a distance away from the ground surface the wheel 30 interacts with).
a steering body 5 (Fig 1) that extends from the steering knuckle 20 (Fig 1) and is rotatably supported by the fixing shaft 45 (Fig 2) (“The arm 4 is connected, on one side thereof, to the worm wheel 3 via a first connecting section 34 in a position eccentric from a rotation axis of the worm wheel 3, and connected, on the other side thereof, to the movable plate 5 via a second connecting section 45, thus transmitting the driving force of the motor 2 to the movable plate 5. It is desirable that the connection in the first connecting section 34 uses a metal bush, and the connection in the second connecting section 45 uses a ball joint. (Emphasis added) para 0060- a ball joint provides rotation support of the steering body and “the knuckle 20 has a gear case 20a serving as a support portion supporting the motor 2 and the worm wheel 3, and is connected to the movable plate 5 via the rubber bush 6.”, para 0058 );
an actuator 2 (Fig 1) [configured to generate rotatory power] (“the motor 2 generating a driving force, the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4 transmitting the driving force of the motor 2, and the movable plate 5 that is movable relative to the knuckle 20 by the driving force of the motor 2 transmitted from the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4.” para 0057);
and a power transmission member 3 (Fig 1) operably connected between the actuator 2 (Fig 1) and the steering body 5 (Fig 1, via the arm 4, the steering body receives power from the actuator 2 “the movable plate 5 that is movable relative to the knuckle 20 by the driving force of the motor 2 transmitted from the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4.
” para 0057) and [configured to transmit the rotatory power from the actuator 2 to the steering body 4] (“the motor 2 generating a driving force, the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4 transmitting the driving force of the motor 2, and the movable plate 5 that is movable relative to the knuckle 20 by the driving force of the motor 2 transmitted from the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4.” para 0057 ). The power transmission member 3 (Fig 1) comprising:
a first power transmission member 2b, and 3a (Fig 4) configured to be rotated by the actuator 2 (Fig 4) and to [prevent rotatory power from being transferred from the steering body 5 9Fig 1) to the actuator] (“In the worm wheel 3, a wheel portion 3a is connected to the worm shaft 2b of the motor 2 to transmit power of the motor 2 to the arm 4, and a worm wheel shaft 3b is supported by the gear case 20a of the knuckle 20.” para 0059 and “Moreover, when the worm wheel 3 or 132 is of a general type, the worm shaft 2b or 132b cannot be rotated from the side of the worm wheel 3 or 132. Therefore, a self-locked state can be established.”, para 0126 ); the first power transmission member 2b and 3a (Fig 4) comprises: [a worm gear 2b (Fig 4) connected to the actuator 2 (Fig 4) and configured to be driven to rotate by the actuator 2 ] (“and a worm shaft 2b serving as an output shaft of the power transmitting mechanism is meshed with the worm wheel 3. In the worm wheel 3, a wheel portion 3a is connected to the worm shaft 2b of the motor 2 to transmit power of the motor 2 to the arm 4, and a worm wheel shaft 3b is supported by the gear case 20a of the knuckle 20. Note that details of the motor 2 and the worm wheel 3 will be described later.”, para 0059); and [a second power transmission member 34 (Figs 2 and 5) connected to the first power transmission member 2b and 3a (Fig 4) and configured to transfer the rotatory power of the first power transmission member to the steering body] (“The arm 4 is connected, on one side thereof, to the worm wheel 3 via a first connecting section 34 in a position eccentric from a rotation axis of the worm wheel 3, and connected, on the other side thereof, to the movable plate 5 via a second connecting section 45” para 0060 ), and [a worm wheel 3a (Fig 4) configured to be rotated by the worm gear] 2b (“and a worm shaft 2b serving as an output shaft of the power transmitting mechanism is meshed with the worm wheel 3. In the worm wheel 3, a wheel portion 3a is connected to the worm shaft 2b of the motor 2 to transmit power of the motor 2 to the arm 4,” para 0059 ), the worm wheel 3a (Fig 4) being connected to the second power transmission member 34 (Fig 2) [such that second power transmission member rotates along with the worm wheel] ( “the worm wheel shaft 3b, and the first connecting section 34 of the arm 4 and the worm wheel 3 are arranged on one straight line B from the wheel 30 side.” para 0070 and “The arm 4 is connected, on one side thereof, to the worm wheel 3 via a first connecting section 34 in a position eccentric from a rotation axis of the worm wheel 3, and connected, on the other side thereof, to the movable plate 5 via a second connecting section 45” para 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the camber angle changing mechanism of Horiguchi with the corner module apparatus of Senoo and Perri with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a simple and robust mechanism that can withstand the forces applied to the vehicle. By including the steering device, the wheel angle relative to the vehicle body can be modified via a simple structure that is robust against external forces applied to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Senoo and Perri fully teach [a damper 46 (Fig 2) connected to and extending between the second arm 16 (Fig 2) and the vehicle body 24 (Fig 2)] (“A shock absorber 46, which is a shock absorbing device, is disposed between the lower arm 16 and the side member 26 in the above configuration. One end portion 46a of the shock absorber 46 is connected to the lower arm 16... The other end portion 46b of the shock absorber 46 is coupled to a connection portion 25b, between two upper arm brackets 25a, of the upper bracket 24.” Para 0030 and “the upper bracket 24, which is connected to an outer side of the side member 26 in the vehicle width direction, is independent of and separated from the suspension cross member 28 connected to the vertically lower side of the side member 26.” Para 0031 ), [the damper 46 (Fig 2) being inclined with respect to a length direction of the leaf spring 40 (Fig 2) ] (Fig 2 of Senoo shows a significant angle between the shock absorbing member and the lower leaf spring 40) .
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Senoo in view of Horiguchi (US 20110193302 A1).
Regarding claim 12 , Senoo teaches the corner module apparatus of claim 1.
Senoo does not teach the steering unit comprises a fixing shaft attached to the first arm; a steering body that extends from the steering knuckle and is rotatably supported by the fixing shaft; an actuator configured to generate rotatory power; and a power transmission member operably connected between the actuator and the steering body and configured to transmit the rotatory power from the actuator to the steering body.
Horiguchi teaches an equivalent steering unit 1 (Fig 1) comprising:
a fixing shaft 45 (Figs 4 and 5) attached to the first arm 4 (Figs 2 and 5)] (“the first connecting section 34 of the arm 4 and the worm wheel 3, and the worm wheel shaft 3b are arranged on one straight line A from the wheel 30 side.” para 0068- Fig 5 shows the connection point 34 between the worm shaft 3b and the arm 4); and the fixing shaft is inclined with respect to a ground surface (Fig 2 of Horiguchi shows the fixing shaft elevated a distance away from the ground surface the wheel 30 interacts with).
a steering body 5 (Fig 1) that extends from the steering knuckle 20 (Fig 1) and is rotatably supported by the fixing shaft 45 (Fig 2) (“The arm 4 is connected, on one side thereof, to the worm wheel 3 via a first connecting section 34 in a position eccentric from a rotation axis of the worm wheel 3, and connected, on the other side thereof, to the movable plate 5 via a second connecting section 45, thus transmitting the driving force of the motor 2 to the movable plate 5. It is desirable that the connection in the first connecting section 34 uses a metal bush, and the connection in the second connecting section 45 uses a ball joint. (Emphasis added) para 0060- a ball joint provides rotation support of the steering body and “the knuckle 20 has a gear case 20a serving as a support portion supporting the motor 2 and the worm wheel 3, and is connected to the movable plate 5 via the rubber bush 6.”, para 0058 );
an actuator 2 (Fig 1) [configured to generate rotatory power] (“the motor 2 generating a driving force, the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4 transmitting the driving force of the motor 2, and the movable plate 5 that is movable relative to the knuckle 20 by the driving force of the motor 2 transmitted from the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4.” para 0057);
and a power transmission member 3 (Fig 1) operably connected between the actuator 2 (Fig 1) and the steering body 5 (Fig 1, via the arm 4, the steering body receives power from the actuator 2 “the movable plate 5 that is movable relative to the knuckle 20 by the driving force of the motor 2 transmitted from the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4.
” para 0057) and [configured to transmit the rotatory power from the actuator 2 to the steering body 4] (“the motor 2 generating a driving force, the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4 transmitting the driving force of the motor 2, and the movable plate 5 that is movable relative to the knuckle 20 by the driving force of the motor 2 transmitted from the worm wheel 3 and the arm 4.” para 0057 ). The power transmission member 3 (Fig 1) comprising:
a first power transmission member 2b, and 3a (Fig 4) configured to be rotated by the actuator 2 (Fig 4) and to [prevent rotatory power from being transferred from the steering body 5 9Fig 1) to the actuator] (“In the worm wheel 3, a wheel portion 3a is connected to the worm shaft 2b of the motor 2 to transmit power of the motor 2 to the arm 4, and a worm wheel shaft 3b is supported by the gear case 20a of the knuckle 20.” para 0059 and “Moreover, when the worm wheel 3 or 132 is of a general type, the worm shaft 2b or 132b cannot be rotated from the side of the worm wheel 3 or 132. Therefore, a self-locked state can be established.”, para 0126 ); the first power transmission member 2b and 3a (Fig 4) comprises: [a worm gear 2b (Fig 4) connected to the actuator 2 (Fig 4) and configured to be driven to rotate by the actuator 2 ] (“and a worm shaft 2b serving as an output shaft of the power transmitting mechanism is meshed with the worm wheel 3. In the worm wheel 3, a wheel portion 3a is connected to the worm shaft 2b of the motor 2 to transmit power of the motor 2 to the arm 4, and a worm wheel shaft 3b is supported by the gear case 20a of the knuckle 20. Note that details of the motor 2 and the worm wheel 3 will be described later.”, para 0059); and [a second power transmission member 34 (Figs 2 and 5) connected to the first power transmission member 2b and 3a (Fig 4) and configured to transfer the rotatory power of the first power transmission member to the steering body] (“The arm 4 is connected, on one side thereof, to the worm wheel 3 via a first connecting section 34 in a position eccentric from a rotation axis of the worm wheel 3, and connected, on the other side thereof, to the movable plate 5 via a second connecting section 45” para 0060 ), and [a worm wheel 3a (Fig 4) configured to be rotated by the worm gear] 2b (“and a worm shaft 2b serving as an output shaft of the power transmitting mechanism is meshed with the worm wheel 3. In the worm wheel 3, a wheel portion 3a is connected to the worm shaft 2b of the motor 2 to transmit power of the motor 2 to the arm 4,” para 0059 ), the worm wheel 3a (Fig 4) being connected to the second power transmission member 34 (Fig 2) [such that second power transmission member rotates along with the worm wheel] ( “the worm wheel shaft 3b, and the first connecting section 34 of the arm 4 and the worm wheel 3 are arranged on one straight line B from the wheel 30 side.” para 0070 and “The arm 4 is connected, on one side thereof, to the worm wheel 3 via a first connecting section 34 in a position eccentric from a rotation axis of the worm wheel 3, and connected, on the other side thereof, to the movable plate 5 via a second connecting section 45” para 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the camber angle changing mechanism of Horiguchi with the corner module apparatus of Senoo with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a simple and robust mechanism that can withstand the forces applied to the vehicle. By including the steering device, the wheel angle relative to the vehicle body can be modified via a simple structure that is robust against external forces applied to the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, Senoo and Horiguchi fully teach the fixing shaft is inclined with respect to a ground (See modification of Senoo and Horiguchi in claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 15, Senoo and Horiguchi fully teach the power transmission member comprises:
a first power transmission member configured to be rotated by the actuator and to prevent rotatory power from being transferred from the steering body to the actuator; and
a second power transmission member connected to the first power transmission member and configured to transfer the rotatory power of the first power transmission member to the steering body (See Senoo modified with Horiguchi in claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 16, Senoo and Horiguchi fully teach the first power transmission member comprises:
a worm gear connected to the actuator and configured to be driven to rotate by the actuator; and
a worm wheel configured to be rotated by the worm gear, the worm wheel being connected to the second power transmission member such that second power transmission member rotates along with the worm wheel (See Senoo modified with Horiguchi in claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 17, Senoo teaches the corner module of the vehicle of claim 15.
Senoo does not teach the second power transmission member comprises:
a sun gear configured to be rotated by the first power transmission member;
a ring gear on the steering body that is spaced apart from the sun gear;
at least one planetary gear that couples the sun gear and the ring gear; and
a carrier attached to the fixing shaft that supports the at least one planetary gear.
Horiguchi teaches another embodiment where a second power transmission member 230 (Fig 23) comprises:
a sun gear 232 (Fig 24)[ configured to be rotated by the first power transmission member 220a (Fig 24)] (“an output shaft 220a of the motor 220 is connected with a sun gear 232 serving as a first rotation element,” para 0114);
a ring gear 233 on the steering body 5 that is spaced apart from the sun gear 232 (Fig 24 shows the ring gear a distance away from the sun gear 232, “…and the ring gear 233 fixed in a nonrotatable manner with respect to the base member 20 and the movable plate 5.” (emphasis added) Para 0127 ) ;
at least [one planetary gear 234 (Fig 24) that couples the sun gear 232 and the ring gear 233] (Fig 24 shows the ring gear connected to the sun gear via gear 234, “a pinion gear 234 serving as a second rotation element moves around the sun gear 232 while rotating, and a carrier 235 connected to a shaft of the pinion gear 234 rotates, thus providing the driving force as an output to the crankshaft 236.” para 0114 ); and a carrier 235 (Fig 24) attached to the fixing shaft 220a (via the planetary gear mechanism shown in Fig 24) that supports the at least one planetary gear 234 (Fig 24, “a pinion gear 234 serving as a second rotation element moves around the sun gear 232 while rotating, and a carrier 235 connected to a shaft of the pinion gear 234 rotates, thus providing the driving force as an output to the crankshaft 236. A crank rod 236a of the crankshaft 236 is connected to the carrier 235.”, para 0114) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the planetary gear mechanism of Horiguchi with the corner module of Senoo with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a compact and lightweight transmission mechanism between the motor and the steering unit. By using a planetary gear mechanism, the gears share an axle and the overall losses from the motor shaft to the steering mechanism are minimized, thus producing an efficient way to transfer power from the motor to the wheel assembly.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Senoo in view of Horiguchi and Du (US 20200070883 A)
Regarding claim 14, Senoo and Horiguchi teach the actuator of claim 12.
Senoo and Horiguchi do not teach the actuator rotates around the fixing shaft when the steering body is rotated.
Du (US 20200070883 A) teaches an equivalent actuator 3 (Fig 2, “The steering driving component 3 includes a fixing portion 31 and a driving portion 32, in which one end of the fixing portion 31 is mounted with the driving portion 32, and the other end is connected to the vehicle body of the vehicle. The driving portion 32 is fixedly connected to the second connecting hole 121, and when the driving portion 32 rotates, the steering knuckle 1 rotates with the rotation of the driving portion 32.”, para 0059) where the actuator 3 (Fig 2) rotates around [the fixing shaft 32 (Fig 3) when the steering body 12 (Fig 2) is rotated] (“the steering driving component 3 is a motor, in which the housing of the motor is the fixing portion 31, and the output shaft of the motor is the driving portion 32, that is, the motor is mounted on the inner wall of the housing of the motor, and the output shaft of the motor extends out of the housing of the motor; when the motor rotates, the steering knuckle 1 rotates following the output shaft, that is, the steering knuckle 1 rotates with the axis of the second connecting hole 121 as its rotation axis.”, para 0060, when the motor 3 actuates the output shaft 32, the steering knuckle rotates and thus the motor rotates around the output shaft 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the actuator position of Du with the corner module of Senoo and Horiguchi with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent torque and torsion from a stationary motor to be applied to the shaft thus making it weaker. By having the actuator rotate with the shaft, there would be minimal torque and torsion applied to the shaft and thus allowing the shaft to continuously activate and rotate the steering unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ryu (US 20190111803 A1) teaches a steering system for an in wheel motor vehicle that generate a steering angle of the wheel for the curve driving, and performing a steering angle control of sensing the generated steering angle and fixing the steering angle to a desired steering angle.
/M.M.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611