DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 05/06/2026 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 and 18-20 under 35 USC 102, and claims 1-10 and 12-17 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhu (CN 106428198 A) and Perri.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,11,13-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided CN 106428198 A) in view of Perri (US 20130241167 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a corner module apparatus for a vehicle (Fig 1) , comprising:
[a driving unit configured to provide a wheel with driving power] 1 (Fig 1, “Referring to the drawings, an electric wheel includes an electric wheel 1, a suspension and a steering knuckle 9. The electric wheel 1 rotates around the suspension 2 through the knuckle 9.” pg 2 para 3);
[a steering knuckle connected to the driving unit] 9 (Fig 1);
a steering unit 3 (Fig 1) [configured to rotate the steering knuckle to adjust a steering angle of the wheel] (“The controller 11 controls the steering motor 3 to rotate and steers the driving motor 3 to drive the driving gear 4 to rotate , The steering gear 6 drives the steering knuckle 9 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension, the steering knuckle 9 drives the electric wheel 1 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension,” pg 2 para 3);
[a first arm configured to support the steering unit with respect to a vehicle body] 9-2 (Fig 2, “, The rotating shaft 9-3 is between the upper steering arm 9-2 and the lower steering arm 9-4, the rotating shaft 9-3 is fixedly connected with the upper steering arm 9-2, the rotating shaft 9-3 is fixed with the lower steering arm 9-4” pg 2 para 3- Fig 1 shows the arm connected to the gear output 6 of the steering motor, that supports the steering actuator);
a second arm 5 (Fig 1) [configured to support the steering knuckle and to move relative to adjust a camber angle of the wheel] (“the lower steering arm 9-4 is movably connected with one end of the transverse arm 5 near the electric wheel 1 and rotates around the transverse arm 5 ,” pg 2 para 3); and
a restriction unit 7 (Fig 1) [configured to selectively control the relative movement of the second arm ] (“the limit block 7 is provided on the suspension at the connection of the suspension and the steering knuckle 9, and the limit block 7 limits the rotation of the electric wheel 1” pg 2 para 3 and “The steering gear 6 drives the steering knuckle 9 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension, the steering knuckle 9 drives the electric wheel 1 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension, due to the setting of the limiting block 7, the steering knuckle 9 encounters the limiting block 7 And the stopper 7 on the contact sensor 8, the knuckle stops turning to ensure that the electric wheel 1 does not rotate more than 90 degrees” pg 2 para 4)
wherein the steering unit comprises:
a fixing shaft 9-3 (Fig 2) attached to the first arm 9-2 (Fig 2) ;
[a steering body 3 (Fig 1) that extends from the steering knuckle] (Figs 1 and 2 show the steering body of motor 3 extends from the steering knuckle and is supported and meshed with the gear 6 and shaft 9-3 with output gear 4 ) [and is rotatably supported by the fixing shaft] (“the driving gear 4 provided at the output end of the steering motor 3 is meshed with a steering gear 6 provided on the rotating shaft, and the controller receives the steering signal of the electric wheel 1 And sends a rotation or stop command to the steering drive motor 3” pg 2 para 3);
an actuator 3 (Fig 1) configured to generate rotatory power; and
a power transmission member gears 4,6 (Fig 1) [operably connected between the actuator and the steering body and configured to transmit the rotatory power from the actuator to the steering body] (“the driving gear 4 provided at the output end of the steering motor 3 is meshed with a steering gear 6 provided on the rotating shaft, and the controller receives the steering signal of the electric wheel 1 And sends a rotation or stop command to the steering drive motor 3,” pg 2 para 3).
Zhu does not teach a leaf spring that extends from the vehicle body and is spaced apart from the steering knuckle.
Perri teaches an equivalent drive mechanism (Fig 2) with a leaf spring 51,52 (Fig 2) [that extends from the vehicle body and is spaced apart from the steering knuckle] (“FIG. 2 shows an example in which the innermost ends of the two bottom transverse arms 50 are connected in an articulated way to a frame designated as a whole by 9,” para 0045). Perri additionally teaches a restriction unit 20 (Figs 4 and 5, para 0051) configured [to selectively control the relative movement of the second arm 56 (Figs 4 and 5) relative to the leaf spring 51 (Figs 4 and 5)] (“the connection of each transverse arm to the leaf spring being such as to enable a rotation of the transverse arm in a substantially horizontal plane with respect to the leaf spring and a relative sliding between the connected ends of the arm and of the leaf spring in the longitudinal direction of the leaf spring.”, para 0016). Further, the restriction unit 20 (Figs 4 and 5) comprises a guide hole 24 (Fig 5) that extends through [the first and second extension parts 56 (Fig 4) ] (“…each end of the leaf spring 51 is received within the seat defined between the two plane facing surfaces 56 of the forklike portion 55 of the respective transverse arm 50…The connection between each end of the leaf spring 50 and the forklike portion 55 of the respective transverse arm 50 is secured by a screw 20 having a substantially vertical axis 21.” para 0051), and a guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5, “The screw 20 moreover has a portion of larger diameter 23, which engages a circular hole 24 made in the branch of the forklike portion 55 on which the head 22 of the screw rests.” Para 0051 ) that extends from the leaf spring 51 (Fig 5) and is inserted into the guide hole 24 (Fig 5) ; and a pressurization member 60 (Fig 5,” Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” para 0052) [connected to the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) and configured to press the first extension part and the second extension part toward the leaf spring 51 (Fig 5) ] (“Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” Para 0052 and “In this way, when the locknut 60 is tightened the desired effect of slotting of the leaf spring 51 in the seat of the arm 50 is obtained.” para 0053). Wherein a length direction of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) intersects with the length direction of the leaf spring 11 (Fig 1) (“…a screw 20 having a substantially vertical axis 21.” para 0051 see also Fig 5). Further, the width of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) being smaller than a width of the guide hole 24 (“However, the hole made in the leaf spring 50, which is designated by the reference number 58, is in cross section shaped like an elongated slot having a maximum dimension in the longitudinal direction of the leaf spring 50 that is greater than the diameter of the cylindrical portion 23 of the screw 20. Thanks to said arrangement, the connection described here enables minor relative movements between the leaf spring 51 and the transverse arm 50 in the longitudinal direction of the leaf spring.” (Emphasis added) Para 0051). Additionally, the restriction device further comprises a first pressurization member 22 (Fig 5) connected to one end of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) [and positioned in contact with the first extension part 56 (Fig 5)] (“As may be seen in FIG. 5, the screw 20 has a head 22 that rests on the top surface of the forklike portion 55 of the transverse arm 50.” Para 0051 ) ; and a second pressurization member 60 (Fig 5) [rotatably connected to an opposite end of the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) and positioned in contact with the second extension part] (“Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” para 0052), wherein rotation of the second pressurization member 60 (Fig 5) with respect to the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5) [adjusts a spacing between the second pressurization member 60 and the first pressurization member 22] (“In this way, when the locknut 60 is tightened the desired effect of slotting of the leaf spring 51 in the seat of the arm 50 is obtained.” para 0053), and [the second pressurization member 60 (Fig 5) is threaded onto the guide pin 23,25 (Fig 5)] (“Said cylindrical portion 23 extends with a threaded stem 25, of smaller diameter, which is inserted through a circular hole 59 made in the bottom branch of the forklike portion 55 and is engaged by a locknut 60.” para 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the leaf spring assembly and restriction bolt of Perri with the corner module apparatus of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent unnecessary rotation of the leaf spring near the steering knuckle. By including a restriction bolt, the leaf spring can remain in the correct plane of motion and will not rotate out of plane while the vehicle is moving.
Regarding claim 2, Zhu and Perri fully teach the second arm comprises: an arm body Zhu-5 (Fig 1) connected to the steering knuckle 9-Zhu (Fig 1); a first extension part and a second extension part extending from the arm body in a direction parallel to a length direction of the leaf spring and arranged facing each other and spaced apart from each other to define a slot therebetween, wherein the leaf spring has an end inserted into the slot (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu and Perri fully teach the length direction of the leaf spring is parallel to a width direction of the vehicle body (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu and Perri fully teach the restriction unit comprises
a guide hole that extends through the first extension part and the second extension part;
a guide pin that extends from the leaf spring and is inserted into the guide hole; and
a pressurization member connected to the guide pin and configured to press the first extension part and the second extension part toward the leaf spring (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu and Perri fully teach a width of the guide pin is smaller than a width of the guide hole, the width of the guide pin and the width of the guide hole being parallel to the length direction of the leaf spring (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu and Perri fully teach a length direction of the guide pin intersects the length direction of the leaf spring (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu and Perri fully teach the pressurization member comprises:
a first pressurization member connected to one end of the guide pin and positioned in contact with the first extension part; and a second pressurization member rotatably connected to an opposite end of the guide pin and positioned in contact with the second extension part, wherein rotation of the second pressurization member with respect to the guide pin adjusts a spacing between the second pressurization member and the first pressurization member (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu and Perri fully teach the second pressurization member is threaded onto the guide pin (See modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches a corner module apparatus for a vehicle (Fig 1) , comprising:
[a driving unit configured to provide a wheel with driving power] 1 (Fig 1, “Referring to the drawings, an electric wheel includes an electric wheel 1, a suspension and a steering knuckle 9. The electric wheel 1 rotates around the suspension 2 through the knuckle 9.” pg 2 para 3);
[a steering knuckle connected to the driving unit] 9 (Fig 1);
a steering unit 3 (Fig 1) [configured to rotate the steering knuckle to adjust a steering angle of the wheel] (“The controller 11 controls the steering motor 3 to rotate and steers the driving motor 3 to drive the driving gear 4 to rotate , The steering gear 6 drives the steering knuckle 9 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension, the steering knuckle 9 drives the electric wheel 1 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension,” pg 2 para 3);
[a first arm configured to support the steering unit with respect to a vehicle body] 9-2 (Fig 2, “, The rotating shaft 9-3 is between the upper steering arm 9-2 and the lower steering arm 9-4, the rotating shaft 9-3 is fixedly connected with the upper steering arm 9-2, the rotating shaft 9-3 is fixed with the lower steering arm 9-4” pg 2 para 3- Fig 1 shows the arm connected to the gear output 6 of the steering motor, that supports the steering actuator);
a second arm 5 (Fig 1) [configured to support the steering knuckle] (“the lower steering arm 9-4 is movably connected with one end of the transverse arm 5 near the electric wheel 1 and rotates around the transverse arm 5 ,” pg 2 para 3); and
wherein the steering unit comprises:
a fixing shaft 9-3 (Fig 2) attached to the first arm 9-2 (Fig 2) ;
[a steering body 3 (Fig 1) that extends from the steering knuckle] (Figs 1 and 2 show the steering body of motor 3 extends from the steering knuckle and is supported and meshed with the gear 6 and shaft 9-3 with output gear 4 ) [and is rotatably supported by the fixing shaft] (“the driving gear 4 provided at the output end of the steering motor 3 is meshed with a steering gear 6 provided on the rotating shaft, and the controller receives the steering signal of the electric wheel 1 And sends a rotation or stop command to the steering drive motor 3” pg 2 para 3);
an actuator 3 (Fig 1) configured to generate rotatory power; and
a power transmission member gears 4,6 (Fig 1) [operably connected between the actuator and the steering body and configured to transmit the rotatory power from the actuator to the steering body] (“the driving gear 4 provided at the output end of the steering motor 3 is meshed with a steering gear 6 provided on the rotating shaft, and the controller receives the steering signal of the electric wheel 1 And sends a rotation or stop command to the steering drive motor 3,” pg 2 para 3).
Zhu does not teach a leaf spring that extends from the vehicle body and is spaced apart from the steering knuckle.
Perri teaches an equivalent drive mechanism (Fig 2) with a leaf spring 51,52 (Fig 2) [that extends from the vehicle body and is spaced apart from the steering knuckle] (“FIG. 2 shows an example in which the innermost ends of the two bottom transverse arms 50 are connected in an articulated way to a frame designated as a whole by 9,” para 0045). Further, Perri teaches [a length direction of the leaf spring is disposed in parallel to a width direction of the vehicle body] (Fig 2 of Perri shows the leaf spring extending in a length direction that is parallel to the width of the vehicle body 9), [and the leaf spring protrudes from both sides of the vehicle body] (Fig 2 shows the entire leaf spring assembly 51 extends and protrudes from both sides of the vehicle body), the leaf spring 51 (Fig 4) [is fixed to the second arm] 52, and Axis 4a (Fig 2, “At each end, each arm 50 has a widened head 54 of a circular shape, mounted within which is an elastic bushing B of any known type, for articulated connection of the arm, respectively, to the attachment 4 carried at the bottom by the respective wheel support 2 (about an axis 4a) and to a threaded pin 90 secured to the supporting frame 9 (about an axis 90a), the axes 4a, 90a of said articulated connections being substantially parallel to the longitudinal direction A of the motor vehicle.” Para 0047) [and has a central part fixed to the vehicle body] (“ [elements 50 and 51]…and to a threaded pin 90 secured to the supporting frame 9 (about an axis 90a),” para 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the leaf spring assembly of Perri with the corner module apparatus of Zhu with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent unnecessary rotation of the leaf spring near the steering knuckle. By including a restriction bolt, the leaf spring can remain in the correct plane of motion and will not rotate out of plane while the vehicle is moving.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu fully teaches wherein the fixing shaft 9-3 (Fig 1) [ is inclined with respect to a ground] (Fig 1 of Zhu shows the fixing shaft elevated away from a ground position].
Regarding claim 14, Zhu fully teaches the actuator 3 (Fig 1) rotates around the fixing shaft 9-3 (Fig 1) [when the steering body is rotated] (“The controller 11 controls the steering motor 3 to rotate and steers the driving motor 3 to drive the driving gear 4 to rotate , The steering gear 6 drives the steering knuckle 9 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension, the steering knuckle 9 drives the electric wheel 1 to rotate 90 degrees around the suspension, due to the setting of the limiting block 7, the steering knuckle 9 encounters the limiting block 7 And the stopper 7 on the contact sensor 8, the knuckle stops turning to ensure that the electric wheel 1 does not rotate more than 90 degrees...” pg 2 para 3).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu fully teaches the power transmission member 4,6 (Fig 1) comprises: a first power transmission member 6 (Fig 1) [configured to be rotated by the actuator and to prevent rotatory power from being transferred from the steering body to the actuator] (“driving gear 4 provided at the output end of the steering motor 3 is meshed with a steering gear 6 provided on the rotating shaft, and the controller receives the steering signal of the electric wheel 1 And sends a rotation or stop command to the steering drive motor 3” pg 2 para 3); and a second power transmission member 4 (Fig 1) connected to the first power transmission member 6 (Fig 1) [and configured to transfer the rotatory power of the first power transmission member to the steering body] (“driving gear 4 provided at the output end of the steering motor 3 is meshed with a steering gear 6 provided on the rotating shaft, and the controller receives the steering signal of the electric wheel 1 And sends a rotation or stop command to the steering drive motor 3” pg 2 para 3).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu and Perri fully teach a length direction of the leaf spring is disposed in parallel to a width direction of the vehicle body, and the leaf spring protrudes from both sides of the vehicle body (See Modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu and Perri fully teach the leaf spring has an end fixed to the second arm and has a central part fixed to the vehicle body (See Modification of Zhu in view of Perri in claim 11 above).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Perri in further view of Du (US 20200070883 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 20 (similar limitations different claim dependencies) , Zhu and Perri teach the corner module of claims 1 and 11.
Zhu and Perri do not teach a damper connected to and extending between the second arm and the vehicle body, the damper being inclined with respect to a length direction of the leaf spring.
Du teaches a damper 8 (Fig 2) [connected to and extending between the second arm and the vehicle body] (“The lower end of the damper 8 is connected to the lower cross arm 7, and the preset force direction of the damper 8 is the vertical direction. The damper 8 is more easily mounted by the upper cross arm 6 and the lower cross arm 7. It can be understood that the damper can also be mounted through other means, such as the damper directly connected to the housing of the motor. It will also be appreciated that the lower cross arm 7 can also be connected to the driving end of the steering knuckle.” para 0064), [the damper being inclined with respect to a length direction of the leaf spring] (Fig 2 shows the damper in an elevated position with respect to a parallel length of the corner module).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the damper of Du with the corner module apparatus of Zhu and Perri with a reasonable expectation of success because the damper would absorb forces applied to the wheel hub and improve the overall movement of the vehicle. By including a damper on the corner module, the excess forces from the rough road can be absorbed and dampened, thus increasing the longevity of the vehicle components and increase comfort for the vehicle user.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Perri in further view of Jin (Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided CN 110525512 B).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu and Perri teach the corner module of claim 15.
Zhu and Perri do not teach the first power transmission member comprises:
a worm gear connected to the actuator and configured to be driven to rotate by the actuator; and
a worm wheel configured to be rotated by the worm gear, the worm wheel being connected to the second power transmission member such that second power transmission member rotates along with the worm wheel.
Jin teaches an equivalent power transmission member 130,140 (Fig 1) comprises:
[a worm gear connected to the actuator and configured to be driven to rotate by the actuator] (“the steering motor 130 is arranged on the reduction box 140, wherein the power input shaft of the reduction box 140 and the steering The power output shaft of the motor 130 is connected, and the lower end of the power output shaft of the reduction box 140 passes through the motor base 120 and is fixedly connected to the steering knuckle 110.” pg 4 para 2); and
[a worm wheel configured to be rotated by the worm gear, the worm wheel being connected to the second power transmission member such that second power transmission member rotates along with the worm wheel] (“the steering motor 130 is arranged on the reduction box 140, wherein the power input shaft of the reduction box 140 and the steering The power output shaft of the motor 130 is connected, and the lower end of the power output shaft of the reduction box 140 passes through the motor base 120 and is fixedly connected to the steering knuckle 110” pg 4 para 2 and “A reduction box 140 is fixedly arranged on the motor base 120, and a planetary gear structure, a worm gear structure or a bevel gear structure is arranged inside the reduction box 140;” Emphasis added pg 4 para 2). Jin further teaches an alternative embodiment where the power transmission member is a planetary gear system (“A reduction box 140 is fixedly arranged on the motor base 120, and a planetary gear structure, a worm gear structure or a bevel gear structure is arranged inside the reduction box 140” emphasis added pg 4 para 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use worm wheel reduction box of Jin with the corner module apparatus of Zhu and Perri with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a reduction of power of the motor to more easily transfer the torque from the motor output to the steering knuckle. By including a reduction box on the corner module, the torque output of the steering motor can be tuned to maximize the force output that transfers to the steering knuckle.
Conclusion
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611