DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action in response to the amendment filed on 30 July 2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1-12 and 14-21 are a system. Thus, an independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2-Prong 1: independent claims (1 and 21 ) recite receive a request to generate the distribution campaign; receive a plurlity of target address; receive a digital content associated with the distribution campaign; provide the plurality of target addresses to verification database; identify in the verification database a particular target address that includes an error that is associated with a particular verified mailing address; replace the particular target address that includes the error with the particular verified mailing address; automatically generate for each verified mailing address, an intelligent campaign barcode encodes the verified mailing address, a unique campaign identifier, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at the verified mailing address: barcode on the physical indicator affixed to the one or more campaign distribution items; and deliver the digital content to an email address associated with the one or more target addresses based on the intelligent campaign barcode, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at one of the plurality of target address and delivery the digital content to th user. These limitation as drafted, is a process, that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers, a commercial” or “legal interactions” include subject matter relating to agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations, which is a method of organizing human activity. The mere nominal recitation of a generic an image device and one or more processor does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human interactions grouping. Simply put, these limitation merely describe collecting, analyzing and manipulating data for delivering digital content which is clearly a business arrangement into purest form. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2-Prong 2: the claim recites additional elements: image device for performing the capturing and scanning steps, a processor for performing the receiving, distribution, detecting and delivering steps. The image device performing the capturing and a processor for performing the receiving distribution, detecting and delivering steps are also recited at high level generality and merely automates the receiving, distribution, detecting and delivering steps and automatically update the memory with the delivery rule, which is basically storing and updating information in the computer environment . Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). The receiving steps is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as general means of gathering campaign data for generating and delivering distribution campaign), amount to mere data gathering which is in the form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Route to physical address based on the scanning is also recite at a high level of generality which is simply displying a content in more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device). The generating intelligent campaign barcode for one or more target address to be affixed associated with distribution campaign also is recited at high-level of generality, is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be reevaluated in Step 2B. Here, the receiving step was considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is reevaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Further, the court indicated one of the example that may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer functionality includes “affixing a barcode to a mail object in order to more reliably identify the sender and speed up mail processing, without any limitations specifying the technical details of the barcode or how it is generated or processed, Secured Mail Solutions, LLC v. Universal Wilde, Inc., 873 F.3d 905, 910-11, 124 USPQ2d 1502, 1505-06 (Fed. Cir. 2017); “ “ see MPEP 2106.05(a) I. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-20, these claims recite limitation that further defines the same abstract idea noted in claim 1. These claims do not contain any further additional elements per step 2A prong 2. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reason given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub., No., 2012/0181330 A1) in view of Lu (US Pub., No., 2010/0100233 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a system for distributing items, the system comprising:
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions(paragraph [0087] discloses controller loads instruction (e.g., the form of a computer program) from the memory or an embedded controller memory and executes this instructions );
one or more processors in communication with the memory and the imaging device, the one or more processors ( paragraph [0087], discloses processor, ) configured to:
receive a request to generate the distribution campaign (paragraph [0061], discloses optimizing marketing campaign);
receive plurality target addresses (paragraph [0072], discloses user may prompted to enter identifying information, such as a name email address and zip code [target address]); and
receive a digital content associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0045], discloses product information, product distribution and point of purchase or usage);
item sorting equipment in communication with the one or more processor, the item processing apparatus comprising an imaging device, the item processing apparatus (paragraph [0027], discloses systems and methods for a barcode application and/or scanner which may reside on user device and enable a user of the user device to read and otherwise interact with one or more barcodes , barcodes maybe one-dimensional (ID), two-dimensional (2D) and/or three-dimensional (3D) ..) configured to:
scan, by the imaging device, the physical indicator on the one or more physical campaign distribution items(paragraph [0032], discloses user device 10 and 14 to scan and read a barcode, paragraph [0036], discloses a user may scan or takes a picture of a barcode (e.g., QR barcode) .., translate the barcode image into another form of data, and paragraph [0037], discloses the character string may comprise a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), which identifies the address of a resource on the Internet, ); and
wherein the one more processor(Fig. 3B and paragraph [0087], discloses processor) are futher configured to:
receive, via the user interface the intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution items (paragraph [0049], discloses a RFID detector .., the client application may automatically detect an RFID chip placed on a poster, product, store or the like, Figs. 20, 29 , 39, paragraph [0074], discloses the purchasing user may then scan the barcode using a barcode scanning application executed on the user’s device .., the barcode scanning application or other client application on the user device may then translate the barcode into its embedded data .., the embedded data may comprise a base URL as well as a product identifier assocted with the particular card or gift purchased by the user and paragraph [0085], discloses scanning a barcode displayed on the displays(s) ).
Kim teaches the above elements including automatically generate, an intelligent campaign barcode associated with the distribution campaign(paragraph [0045], discloses create matrix barcodes for marketing campaign paragraph [0046], discloses the matrix barcode and paragraph [0051], discloses the system may generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement); cause generation of a physical indicator for each verified mailing address to be affixed to the one or more campaign distribution items, wherein the physical indicator includes the intelligent campaign barcode associated with the distribution campaign and one of the plurality of target address (Fig. 39, discloses place matrix barcode on digital and traditional ads, paragraph [0035], discloses generated matrix barcodes.., and paragraph [0051], discloses generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement and may be placed on a digital or traditional advertismetn (e.g., newspaper. Magazine, outdoor, television, internet). the one or more physical campaign distribution items based on the scan the intelligent campaign barcode of the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution items (Figs. 20, 23, 29, 34 and paragraphs [0036]-[0038], discloses when a user scan or takes picture of a barcode (e.g., a QR barcode), an application of the user device 10 translates the barcode image into another form of data which was previously encoded or embedded in the barcode.., translated from the barcode, may take the form of a character string comprising letters, number and other character , for example the character string may comprises a uniform resource locator (URL) .., once the barcode has been converted into a resource indicator , the client application residing on the user device 10 may retired the identified sources .., where the resource indicator comprises a URL .., the webpage may be retired corm the content server .., retrieve webpage identified by the URL) deliver the digital content to the user interface according to the delivery rule data and/or the delivery preference data (Fig. 21 Fig. 39, discloses displays content: URL, Coupon, Discount, information Media, Promotion, AOI, etc., paragraph [0051], discloses a user may scan the first matrix barcode using a client application on a user device to capture an image of the barcode as it appears on the advertisement, paragraph [0065], discloses forward and share a URL embedded withing a barcode via email, SMS, etc., and paragraphs [0083], discloses the identified product may be presented on the 3D display(s)…) ; create matrix barcodes for marketing campaigns, product distribution, and point of purchase or usage. In accordance with some embodiments, the barcode content application can track all type of information about the interactions defined by the campaign (paragraph [0045]), the matrix barcodes are linked (e.g., via a smart phone, table PC, or other user device) to an HTML5 mobile webpage (e.g., served and/or hosted by content server 16) (paragraph [0046]), the user may scan a barcode on the packaging of a product using a client application on a device of the user. The client application will decode or translate the barcode into a URL., and either retrieve or caused to be retrieved a webpage comprise one or more offers (paragraph [0047]) and a second matrix barcode may be located on the actual products that are assocted with advertising initiatives which involve the advertisements comprising the first matrix barcode (paragraph [0052]).
Kim is failed to explicitly teach the
Kim failed to teach provide the plurality of target address to a verification database; identify, in the verification database a verified mailing address for each of the plurlity of target address; for each verified mailing address ,, wherein the intelligent campaign barcode encodes the verified mailed address, a unique campaign identifier, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at the verified mailing address; ; identify, in the verification database, a particular target address that include an error that is associated with a particular verified mailing address; replace the particular target address that include the error with the particular verified mailing address; sort is automatically sorting, created matrix barcodes for marketing campaigns or the corresponding scanned barcode is the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution items and in response to sorting the one or more physical campaign distribution items to the one or more target address, send the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution item captured by the imaging device to a user interface; delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at one of the plurlity of target addresses; and automatically updated the memory with the delivery rule data and the delivery preference data associated with the recipient at one of the plurlity of target address.
However, Lu teaches , provide the plurality of target address to a verification database(Fig. 29, 2908 discloses the user device can initiate a batch UIPIC code/address verification, paragraph [0048], dislcies establish a communication link with the UIPIC server in order to verify the UIPIC code, verification can include determine if the UIPIC code is unique and is not otherwise in use .., );
identify, in the verification database a verified mailing address for each of the plurlity of target address(paragraph [0050], discloses once the destation address has been acquired, it is verified).., receiving address data from the UIPIC server and returning an indication of the validity of the address ..);
identify, in the verification database, a particular target address that include an error that is associated with a particular verified mailing address(paragraph [0050], discloses once the destation address has been acquired, it is verified).., receiving address data from the UIPIC server and returning an indication of the validity of the address ..);and verified mailing address
replace the particular target address that include the error with the particular verified mailing address(paragraph [0050], discloses prompt the user as to whether the user would like to update the user device address book or contact list to reflect the forwarding address, paragraph [0055], dislcies the address has been verified against the CPAS database 124, which futher eliminates or reduces errors in the destination address, and paragraph [0102], dislcies the UIPIC server can create or update a database record associated with UIPIC code to register the connection between );
cause generation of a physical indicator for each verified mailing address to be affixed to the one or more campaign distribution items, wherein the physical indicator includes the intelligent campaign barcode associated with the distribution campaign and one of the plurality of target address (Fig. 39, discloses place matrix barcode on digital and traditional ads, paragraph [0035], discloses generated matrix barcodes.., and paragraph [0051], discloses generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement and may be placed on a digital or traditional advertismetn (e.g., newspaper. Magazine, outdoor, television, internet); and
automatically sorting and scan the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution items(paragraph [0190], discloses scanning during the sorting or delivery process, paragraph [0197], discloses UIPIC-enable mail piece can be sorted and delivered according the address, paragraph [0208], discloses the mail piece is scanned during the initial mail sorting process and the UIPIC code is read and message is sent to the UIPIC server ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for products and marketing material campaign of Kim with a mailing address verification feature and automatically sorting by a delivery sorter through automatically read data written on barcode or electronic tags.., of Lu in order to increase the level of postal service quality (see Park , abstract).
With respect to claim 2, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the digital content comprises a delivery icon and a digital payload accessible through the delivery icon (paragraph [0062], discloses the image may act as icon represent the data embedded within the barcode.).
With respect to claim 3, Lu in view of Park teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the digital payload is one of: a text greeting, an image file, a video file, a sound, a digital coupon, a hyperlink (paragraph [0062], discloses data comprising URL).
With respect to claim 4, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Kim teaches the wherein the item processing apparatus is configured to affix the generated physical indicator to the one or more campaign distribution items (paragraph [0051], discloses generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement and may be placed on a digital or traditional advertismetn (e.g., newspaper. Magazine, outdoor, television, internet);
With respect to claim 5, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a request to generate the delivery icon associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0079], discloses generating barcode, manage content associated barcodes with content);
display a library of digital content (paragraph [0068], discloses digital media content);
receive a selection of digital content from the library of digital content (paragraph [0069], discloses select the option to view digital media content.); and
provide the selected digital content as the delivery icon associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0062], discloses data comprising URL..., user may select the data to revisit the URL).
With respect to claim 6, Kim in view of Park teaches elements of claim 5, furthermore, Kim teaches the system, wherein digital content in the library of digital content conforms with digital content parameters (paragraph [0068], discloses digital media content (e.g., video, audio, etc.), join a locality program or social group and share content with one or more acquaintance [parameter]).
With respect to claim 7, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 4, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
provide the selection of digital content in an editing module (paragraph [0075], discloses message creation module., continue to edit the message);
receive at least one customization input via the editing module, wherein the at least one customization input changes an appearance of the selected digital content (paragraph [0075], discloses message creation module., continue to edit the message and paragraph [0076], discloses number edits);
apply the customization input to the selected digital content (paragraph [0076], discloses user finalize the message and/or after a predetermine time or predetermined number of edits); and
provide the selected digital content as the delivery icon associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0062], discloses select the data to revisit).
With respect to claim 8, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 7 furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a request to generate a digital coupon; display a library of digital coupon templates; receive a selection of an electronic coupon template; and provide the selected coupon template as the digital payload associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0063], discloses providing information, coupon, future offer, discount or other special offers, etc., and paragraph [0070], discloses prompted to download coupon…).
With respect to claim 9, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 8, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide the selected coupon template in an editing module; receive at least one customization input via the editing module, wherein the at least one customization input changes the appearance of the selected coupon template; apply the customization input to the selected coupon template; and provide the selected coupon template as the delivery icon associated with the distribution campaign(paragraph [0063], discloses providing information, coupon, future offer, discount or other special offers, etc. and paragraph [0076], discloses user finalize the message and/or after a predetermine time or predetermined number of edits).
With respect to claim 10, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the electronic coupon includes a barcode (paragraph [0043], discloses URL embedded in the barcode to a specific website (e.g., strbucks.com TM , Subway.comTM) comprising coupon).
With respect to claim 11, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the request to generate the distribution campaign comprises a distribution campaign theme (paragraph [0039], discloses background image, colors, them and the lie as well as delivery method).
With respect to claim 12, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate a label icon on the physical indicator based on the distribution campaign theme (paragraph [0039], discloses background image, colors, them and the lie as well as delivery method and paragraph [0048], disclose labeling of multiple products).
With respect to claim 14, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify a verified mailing address for each of the plurlity of target addresses; generate a list of verified mailing addresses; and generate the physical indicator for each of the one or more target addresses using the list of verified mailing addresses(paragraph [0072], discloses identifying information, such as a name, email address and zip code ..)
With respect to claim 15, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 14 , furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: display a prompt to replace the one or more target addresses with the list of verified mailing addresses; receive a confirmation to replace the -plurality of target addresses with the list of verified mailing addresses; and generate the physical indicator for each of the one or more target addresses using the list of verified mailing addresses(paragraph [0049], discloses prompting and receiving authorization form the user retrieve information related to the RFID chip and paragraph [0072], discloses identifying information, such as a name, email address and zip code).
With respect to claim 16, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Kim teaches the system further comprising a printer in communication with the plurality processors, wherein the printer is configured to print the physical indicator for each of the one or more target addresses (paragraph [0055], discloses print materials and paragraph [0092], discloses printer).
With respect to claim 16, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the plurality of processors are further configured to: provide a delivery status of the distribution campaign to a sender, wherein the delivery status indicates whether the one or more campaign distribution items are: in transit, out for delivery, or delivered (paragraph [0039], discloses personalized text message. a delivery method).
With respect to claim 18, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the plurality processors are further configured to: store the distribution campaign, a delivery icon, a digital payload, the one or more target addresses, and the intelligent campaign barcode(paragraph [0061], discloses this information can be used to further optimize marketing campaigns and product placement. For example, all of a user's scans across different types of products and advertisements for a whole host of products and brands can be stored in database).
With respect to claim 19, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 18, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: display a previous campaign dashboard, wherein the previous campaign dashboard includes a campaign icon representing the distribution campaign (paragraph [0062], discloses the image may act as icon represent the data embedded within the barcode.).
With respect to claim 20, Kim in view of Lu teaches elements of claim 19, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the plurality processors are further configured to: receive a selection of the campaign icon in the previous campaign dashboard; provide the distribution campaign, the delivery icon, the digital payload, the one or more target addresses for editing; receive an update to one or more of: the distribution campaign, the delivery icon, the digital payload, the plurality target addresses; and generate the physical indicator for each of the plurality target addresses based on the update(paragraph [0062], discloses the image may act as icon represent the data embedded within the barcode.).
With respect to claim 21, Kim teaches a method comprising:
receiving a request to generate the distribution campaign (paragraph [0061], discloses optimizing marketing campaign);
receiving plurality target addresses (paragraph [0072], discloses user may prompted to enter identifying information, such as a name email address and zip code [target address]); and
receive a digital content associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0045], discloses product information, product distribution and point of purchase or usage);
item sorting equipment in communication with the one or more processor, the item processing apparatus comprising an imaging device, the item processing apparatus (paragraph [0027], discloses systems and methods for a barcode application and/or scanner which may reside on user device and enable a user of the user device to read and otherwise interact with one or more barcodes , barcodes maybe one-dimensional (ID), two-dimensional (2D) and/or three-dimensional (3D) ..) configured to:
scanning, by the imaging device, the physical indicator on the one or more physical campaign distribution items(paragraph [0032], discloses user device 10 and 14 to scan and read a barcode, paragraph [0036], discloses a user may scan or takes a picture of a barcode (e.g., QR barcode) .., translate the barcode image into another form of data, and paragraph [0037], discloses the character string may comprise a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), which identifies the address of a resource on the Internet, ); and
wherein the one more processor(Fig. 3B and paragraph [0087], discloses processor) are futher configured to:
receive, via the user interface the intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution items (paragraph [0049], discloses a RFID detector .., the client application may automatically detect an RFID chip placed on a poster, product, store or the like, Figs. 20, 29 , 39, paragraph [0074], discloses the purchasing user may then scan the barcode using a barcode scanning application executed on the user’s device .., the barcode scanning application or other client application on the user device may then translate the barcode into its embedded data .., the embedded data may comprise a base URL as well as a product identifier assocted with the particular card or gift purchased by the user and paragraph [0085], discloses scanning a barcode displayed on the displays(s) ).
Kim teaches the above elements including automatically generate, an intelligent campaign barcode associated with the distribution campaign(paragraph [0045], discloses create matrix barcodes for marketing campaign paragraph [0046], discloses the matrix barcode and paragraph [0051], discloses the system may generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement); cause generation of a physical indicator for each verified mailing address to be affixed to the one or more campaign distribution items, wherein the physical indicator includes the intelligent campaign barcode associated with the distribution campaign and one of the plurality of target address (Fig. 39, discloses place matrix barcode on digital and traditional ads, paragraph [0035], discloses generated matrix barcodes.., and paragraph [0051], discloses generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement and may be placed on a digital or traditional advertismetn (e.g., newspaper. Magazine, outdoor, television, internet). the one or more physical campaign distribution items based on the scan the intelligent campaign barcode of the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution items (Figs. 20, 23, 29, 34 and paragraphs [0036]-[0038], discloses when a user scan or takes picture of a barcode (e.g., a QR barcode), an application of the user device 10 translates the barcode image into another form of data which was previously encoded or embedded in the barcode.., translated from the barcode, may take the form of a character string comprising letters, number and other character , for example the character string may comprises a uniform resource locator (URL) .., once the barcode has been converted into a resource indicator , the client application residing on the user device 10 may retired the identified sources .., where the resource indicator comprises a URL .., the webpage may be retired corm the content server .., retrieve webpage identified by the URL) deliver the digital content to the user interface according to the delivery rule data and/or the delivery preference data (Fig. 21 Fig. 39, discloses displays content: URL, Coupon, Discount, information Media, Promotion, AOI, etc., paragraph [0051], discloses a user may scan the first matrix barcode using a client application on a user device to capture an image of the barcode as it appears on the advertisement, paragraph [0065], discloses forward and share a URL embedded withing a barcode via email, SMS, etc., and paragraphs [0083], discloses the identified product may be presented on the 3D display(s)…) ; create matrix barcodes for marketing campaigns, product distribution, and point of purchase or usage. In accordance with some embodiments, the barcode content application can track all type of information about the interactions defined by the campaign (paragraph [0045]), the matrix barcodes are linked (e.g., via a smart phone, table PC, or other user device) to an HTML5 mobile webpage (e.g., served and/or hosted by content server 16) (paragraph [0046]), the user may scan a barcode on the packaging of a product using a client application on a device of the user. The client application will decode or translate the barcode into a URL., and either retrieve or caused to be retrieved a webpage comprise one or more offers (paragraph [0047]) and a second matrix barcode may be located on the actual products that are assocted with advertising initiatives which involve the advertisements comprising the first matrix barcode (paragraph [0052]).
Kim failed to teach provide the plurality of target address to a verification database; identify, in the verification database a verified mailing address for each of the plurlity of target address; for each verified mailing address ,, wherein the intelligent campaign barcode encodes the verified mailed address, a unique campaign identifier, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at the verified mailing address; ; identify, in the verification database, a particular target address that include an error that is associated with a particular verified mailing address; replace the particular target address that include the error with the particular verified mailing address; sort is automatically sorting, created matrix barcodes for marketing campaigns or the corresponding scanned barcode is the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution items and in response to sorting the one or more physical campaign distribution items to the one or more target address, send the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution item captured by the imaging device to a user interface; delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at one of the plurlity of target addresses; and automatically updated the memory with the delivery rule data and the delivery preference data associated with the recipient at one of the plurlity of target address.
However, Lu teaches , provide the plurality of target address to a verification database(Fig. 29, 2908 discloses the user device can initiate a batch UIPIC code/address verification, paragraph [0048], dislcies establish a communication link with the UIPIC server in order to verify the UIPIC code, verification can include determine if the UIPIC code is unique and is not otherwise in use .., );
identify, in the verification database a verified mailing address for each of the plurlity of target address(paragraph [0050], discloses once the destation address has been acquired, it is verified).., receiving address data from the UIPIC server and returning an indication of the validity of the address ..);
identify, in the verification database, a particular target address that include an error that is associated with a particular verified mailing address(paragraph [0050], discloses once the destation address has been acquired, it is verified).., receiving address data from the UIPIC server and returning an indication of the validity of the address ..);and verified mailing address
replace the particular target address that include the error with the particular verified mailing address(paragraph [0050], discloses prompt the user as to whether the user would like to update the user device address book or contact list to reflect the forwarding address, paragraph [0055], dislcies the address has been verified against the CPAS database 124, which futher eliminates or reduces errors in the destination address, and paragraph [0102], dislcies the UIPIC server can create or update a database record associated with UIPIC code to register the connection between );
cause generation of a physical indicator for each verified mailing address to be affixed to the one or more campaign distribution items, wherein the physical indicator includes the intelligent campaign barcode associated with the distribution campaign and one of the plurality of target address (Fig. 39, discloses place matrix barcode on digital and traditional ads, paragraph [0035], discloses generated matrix barcodes.., and paragraph [0051], discloses generates first matrix barcode (e.g., quick response (QR) code, 2D conde, etc., which may place on a digital or traditional advertisement and may be placed on a digital or traditional advertismetn (e.g., newspaper. Magazine, outdoor, television, internet); and
automatically sorting and scan the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution items(paragraph [0190], discloses scanning during the sorting or delivery process, paragraph [0197], discloses UIPIC-enable mail piece can be sorted and delivered according the address, paragraph [0208], discloses the mail piece is scanned during the initial mail sorting process and the UIPIC code is read and message is sent to the UIPIC server ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for products and marketing material campaign of Kim with a mailing address verification feature and automatically sorting by a delivery sorter through automatically read data written on barcode or electronic tags.., of Lu in order to increase the level of postal service quality (see Park , abstract).
Prior arts on the record:
Kim (US Pub., No., 2012/0181330 A1) disclose systems and methods for augmenting a user experience using a barcode. In an embodiment, the system and methods comprise receiving a first request for content associated with a barcode from a user. A response is sent which provides content for creating a personalized message. The user may then interact with a message creation application to create a personalized message. Subsequently, a second request for content associated with the barcode may be received. In response to this request, the personalized message, instead of the content for creating the personalized message, may be provided.
Park et al (US Pub., No., 2008/0082205 A1) discloses a method and system for controlling the flow of postal mail in real-time are provided. The logistical system includes a pre-application processing system, a real-time mail planning and adjusting system, and a real-time working planning and performing system. The pre-application processing system registers bulk mail inputted in a generating system for generating bulk mail, and includes sending data and quantity data of the registered bulk mail.
Morel et al (US Pub., No., 2015/0006672 A1) discloses techniques for automatically transmitting user profile data over a network are provided. In one technique, a browser displays a form and a QR code ( or other form of encoded data) on a webpage. A mobile application scans the QR code, which causes the mobile application to identify user profile data (that may be stored locally with respect to the mobile application) and send the user profile data to a Campaign server.
Valin et al (US Pub., No., 2015/0310497 A1) discloses a method for real or intangible divided and transformed property or properties or advertising sponsor user, using a client computer, or mobile device to be able to register, login and create zip code related local sponsor real or intangible divided and transformed property or properties or advertisements, with small real or intangible divided and transformed property or properties or advertisements for creating interest in the offers, that link to bigger real or intangible divided and transformed property or properties or advertisements with an embedded shopping cart.
Lu (US Pub., No., 2010/0100233 A1) discloses a universal postal code system in which mail piece delivery address information is associated with a universal postal code affixed to a mail piece. As part of the association process, the delivery address information can be verified and formatted according to postal authority standards to help ensure reliable and efficient delivery. The universal postal codes are reusable after completion of delivery by reassigning a universal postal code to a new recipient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed of 35 U.S.C 101 rejection filed on 20 November 2025 with respect to claim 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments of claim 1 recites “automatically sort the one or more physical camping distribution item to tone of the plurality of target address based on scan intelligent campaign barcode of the physical indicator on each of the one or more physical camping distribution items and a memory configured to store computer-executable instruction that is automatically updating by input the user interface is not persuasive. The clamed limitation is a process that scan and update without demonstrating a specific technological advancement and deemed an unpatentable abstract idea. The claims at issue do not provide a specific and measurable technical improvement to an existing technology or process, other than an automating a known human activity.
Further, the core function of "sorting items" based on "data" (barcode) and "updating instructions" is often viewed as a fundamental business or economic practice that humans could do, just faster.
Second, the use of a "memory," "scanner," and "user interface" is usually considered conventional, routine computer technology that does not add an inventive concept. Simply stating that a process is done "automatically" or "on a computer" does not make an otherwise abstract idea patent-eligible.
Further, the disclosure of applicants’ specification does not describe the technical details of the automated system, including specific algorithms, data structures, and hardware constraints, to demonstrate a practical application rather than a generalized concept. Thus, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection is updated and the rejections is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejection filed on 20 November 2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621