DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action in response to the amendment filed on 26 May 2026. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 17-21 have been amended. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1-12 and 14-21 are a system. Thus, an independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2-Prong 1: independent claims (1 and 21 ) recite receive a request to generate the distribution campaign; receive a plurlity of target address; receive a digital content associated with the distribution campaign; provide the plurality of target addresses to verification database; identify in the verification database a particular target address that includes an error that is associated with a particular verified mailing address; replace the particular target address that includes the error with the particular verified mailing address; automatically generate for each verified mailing address, an intelligent campaign barcode encodes the verified mailing address, a unique campaign identifier, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at the verified mailing address: barcode on the physical indicator affixed to the one or more campaign distribution items; and deliver the digital content to an email address associated with the one or more target addresses based on the intelligent campaign barcode, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at one of the plurality of target address and delivery the digital content to th user. These limitation as drafted, is a process, that under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers, a commercial” or “legal interactions” include subject matter relating to agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations, which is a method of organizing human activity. The mere nominal recitation of a generic an image device and one or more processor does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human interactions grouping. Simply put, these limitation merely describe collecting, analyzing and manipulating data for delivering digital content which is clearly a business arrangement into purest form. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2-Prong 2: the claim recites additional elements: image device for performing the capturing and scanning steps, a processor for performing the receiving, distribution, detecting and delivering steps. The image device performing the capturing and a processor for performing the receiving distribution, detecting and delivering steps are also recited at high level generality and merely automates the receiving, distribution, detecting and delivering steps and automatically update the memory with the delivery rule, which is basically storing and updating information in the computer environment . Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). The receiving steps is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as general means of gathering campaign data for generating and delivering distribution campaign), amount to mere data gathering which is in the form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Route to physical address based on the scanning is also recite at a high level of generality which is simply displying a content in more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device). The generating intelligent campaign barcode for one or more target address to be affixed associated with distribution campaign also is recited at high-level of generality, is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the image device and the processor). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be reevaluated in Step 2B. Here, the receiving step was considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is reevaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Further, the court indicated one of the example that may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer functionality includes “affixing a barcode to a mail object in order to more reliably identify the sender and speed up mail processing, without any limitations specifying the technical details of the barcode or how it is generated or processed, Secured Mail Solutions, LLC v. Universal Wilde, Inc., 873 F.3d 905, 910-11, 124 USPQ2d 1502, 1505-06 (Fed. Cir. 2017); “ “ see MPEP 2106.05(a) I. For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-20, these claims recite limitation that further defines the same abstract idea noted in claim 1. These claims do not contain any further additional elements per step 2A prong 2. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reason given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Briggman et al (US Pub., No., 2023/0162132 A1) in view of Dearing et al. (US Pub., No., 2013/0024326 Al)
With respect to claim 1, Briggman teaches a system for distributing items (Fig. 3, discloses mass distribution, and paragraph [0032], discloses a mail processing system may perform a variety of processing functions, such as mail sorting, processing, labeling and scanning of incoming and outgoing physical mail pieces ) , the system comprising:
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions(Fig. 1, 106 discloses memory and paragraph [0027], discloses computer-readable storage medium store the computer readable program instruction for execution by processor))
one or more processors in communication with the memory and the imaging device, the one or more processors ( Fig. 1, 104 discloses processor, paragraph [0026], discloses a controller comprising at least one processor, paragraph [0027], discloses computer-readable storage medium store the computer readable program instruction for execution by processor and paragraph [0039], discloses a scanning or picture devices such as a scanner, webcam, or cameras [imaging device] ) configured to:
receive a request to generate a mail distribution campaign(paragraph [0028], discloses dashboard program that creates an interface allowing a user to view incoming and outing physical mail and electric mail…, allow business to create digital mail campaign to augment a physical mail campaign, paragraph [0031], dislcies user preference settings, calendar events, or mail campaigns, and paragraph [0062], discloses advertiser may also have too to customize their camping to users );
receive plurality target addresses (Fig. 8, 804 discloses access address book, and 806 discloses select address to generate shipping level [target address] and paragraph [0037], discloses users may stablishes a provide lo address and may be able to identify his or her home street address as well as PO Box addresses [target address]); and
receive a digital content associated with the mail distribution campaign, wherein the digital content comprises a delivery icon and a digital payload accessible through the delivery icon (paragraph [0062], discloses mailbox may also be tied to a digital adverting program which may provide user with the ability to view supplemental related content or bonus offer .., paragraph [0063], discloses once user clicks on the appropriate icon to view the ad and paragraph [0081], discloses an application s downloaded, the assocted icon will appear in the user’s mailbox.., users may be able to easily link [payload] to/from the application catalog from the mailbox );
identify a verified mailing address for each of the plurality of target address(Fig. 2, discloses ID verification system , paragraphs [0038]- [0039], discloses provided to mailing address authorization module 206 for verification of the address, paragraph [0086], discloses provide an ID verification user interface for interfacing with Mailing Address Authorization module and paragraph [0090], discloses the addresses may be confirmed or verified by the USPS or another entity capable of address verification);
automatically generate, for each verified mailing address (paragraph [0083], discloses automatically generated and printed for physical mailing ) , an intelligent campaign barcode associated with the mail distribution campaign, wherein the intelligent campaign barcode encodes the verified mailing address, a unique campaign identifier, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at the verified mailing address (paragraph [0025], discloses shipping creation tool that embed an identification marker, such as an intelligent mail barcode (IMB) on the mail pieces.., paragraph [0032], discloses identifying barcodes, such as an IMB which can serve as a tracking code to enable the postal authority to ascertain certain events related to the physical mail pieces based upon address identify feathers with the IMB …, and paragraph [0074], dislcies create a mailing label with a tracking barcode by easily clicking a “Create Mail” or “create package” button associated with the outbox , resulting the generation of a tracking barcode for shipment); and
cause generation of a physical indicator for each verified mailing address to be affixed to one or more physical campaign distribution mail items, wherein the physical indicator includes the intelligent campaign barcode assocted with the mail distribution campaign and one of the verified mailing address(paragraph [0025], discloses shipping creation tools that embed an identification marker [physical indicator] , such as an intelligent mail barcode (IMB) on the mail pieces.., the identified items are placed in the mail stream, information data associated …, paragraph [0032], discloses identifying barcode such as an IMB which can serv as tracking code to enable the postal authority to ascertain .., physical mail piece ); and
mail sorting equipment in communication with the one or more processor, the item processing apparatus comprising an imaging device, the mail sorting equipment (paragraph [0032], discloses mail sorting, processing, labeling, and scanning of incoming and outgoing physical mail pieces) configured to:
scan, by the imaging device, the physical indicator on the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items paragraph [0032], discloses scanning of incoming and outgoing physical mail pieces, paragraph [0035], discloses scanning information corresponding to packages, paragraph [0039], discloses user may scan the IMB with a scanning or picture devices, such as a scanner , and paragraph [0042], discloses scanning equipment and paragraph [0051], discloses scanning a barcode assocted with tracking number ); and
detect, in an image capture by the imagining device, the intelligent campaign barcode on the physical indicator using a feature extraction algorithm trained to identify the intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items(paragraph [0042], discloses images of the mail pieces may be processed to extract identifying information regarding the mail pieces by use of indicia such as and IMB.., paragraph [0043], discloses the stream of extracted data received by the IM-VIS system may then be brokered to a subscribing system or application such as tracking system .., paragraph [0048], discloses tracking system may include an analytics module 212 that may be used to generate statistics assocted with overall tracking of mail pieces by tracking system .., and paragraph [0053], discloses capturing of mail images ) ;
extract target address information and campaign information from the intelligent campaign barcode(paragraph[0043], discloses Mail Data module 208 may filter though the
extracted data and determine data appropriate for a particular delivery point or user ID, using a variety of IM-VIS codes, and paragraph [0050], dislcies autotmcially receive extract and store various package data assocted with a suer the hybrid digital mailbox ); ; and
automatically sort the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items based on the target address information and the campaign information extracted from the intelligent campaign barcode of the physical indicatory on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items (paragraph [0009], discloses automatically populating a recipient’s address from in incoming physical delivery items to a recipient’s address book, paragraph [0024], discloses allow a user to view historical mail campaign information and compare the tracking data of multiple campaigns, paragraph [0032], discloses mail processing system may perform a variety of processing functions such as mail sorting, processing, labeling, and scanning of incoming and outgoing g phycal mail pieces sorting, paragraph [0042], discloses an intelligent mail visibility (IM-VIS) system to filter and extract infoatmion pertaining to a particular user ID or delivery point [target address], paragraph [0043], discloses Receive Mail Data module 208 may filter though the extracted data and determine data appropriate for a particular delivery point or user ID, using a variety of IM-VIS codes, and paragraph [0049], discloses tracking interface module may be automatically access customer registration information assocted with hybrid-digital mailbox that is sorted.., automatically provide shipment data from tracking database );
wherein the one more processor ( Fig. 1, 104 discloses processor, paragraph [0026], discloses a controller comprising at least one processor) are futher configured to:
in response to sorting the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items(paragraph [0032], discloses mail sorting processing and paragraphs [0057]- [0058], discloses the listing of the physical mail may be sorted by the type of mail) ;
Briggman teaches the above elements including transmitting, to an email address associated with the one of the verified mailing address, a delivery notification email automatically generated in response to detecting that the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items has reached a mail delivery facility and is of for delivery, wherein the delivery notification email includes the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items captured by the imaging device and the delivery icon selectable to access the digital payload (paragraph [0008], discloses recipient receives a notification that the phycal delivery items is in transit.., notification regarding the at least one first item is displayed within a portion of an interface representative of the expected delivery date on the calendar, paragraph [0046], discloses a notification may be then be generated and issued to contact information assocted with the delivery point .. , paragraph [0050], discloses a user may receive a shipment notification email from electronic retailer , and the user may forward the shipment notification email to receive packaged data module , which may then extract shipment data , such as a tracking number, …, paragraph [0069], discloses recipients of the mail may receive notification that electronic mails has been received or will be received on a specific data , this notification may appear in the recipient’s inbox or calendar.., paragraph [0081], discloses downloaded the associated icon will appear in the user’s mailbox and paragraph [0093], discloses an information icon may be provided along with the sender to reflect the specific carrier being used to handle the shipment) and send data used to generate the hybrid-digital mailbox interface to client device (paragraph [0029]). Briggman failed to teach send the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution items capture by the imaging device to a user interface; receive, via the user interface : an image intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution items and deliver the digital content according to the delivery rule data and/or the delivery preference data.
However, Dearing teaches send the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution items capture by the imaging device to a user interface (Fig. 20A and paragraph [0032], discloses a user interface that may be used to aid in capturing an intelligent barcode image using a computing device such as a smart phone .., output );
receive, via the user interface : an image intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution items (paragraph [0132], discloses an intelligent barcode image using a computing device) and deliver the digital content according to the delivery rule data and/or the delivery preference data (paragraph [0162], discloses delivering content to a recipient via a comping device .., paragraph [0164], discloses delivering content associated with a distribution item to a computing device .., information item delivered with the distribution item ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for creating and using a hybrid-digital mailbox of Briggman with a feature that provide content associated with an information item on a distribution item an affixing an intelligent barcode on a distribution items of Dearing increase the accuracy and the ability for the computing device to extract the correct information from an image to be able
to accurately decode the intelligent barcode (see Dearing, paragraph [0122]).
With respect to claim 2, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the delivery icon is one of : an image, an animation, or a video, and where wherein the delivery icon is plodded, selected or customized by a sender through the user interface according to predetermined formatting parameter (paragraph [0062], discloses content may be a variety of types of content, such as physical content, or electronic content such as video file, an audio file, graphic file or a link to online content such as webpage and paragraph [0063], discloses user clicks on the appropriate icon to view an ad).
With respect to claim 3, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the digital payload is one of: a text greeting, an image file, a video file, a sound, a digital coupon, a hyperlink (paragraph [0067], discloses electronic content, such as coupon should be delivered along with the physical mail piece and paragraph [0068], discloses receive electronic version of the coupon via email for viewing in the inbox ).
With respect to claim 4, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Briggman teaches the wherein the mail sorting equipment is configured to affix the generated physical indicator to the one or more campaign distribution mail items (paragraph [0025], discloses embed an identification marker, such as an intelligent Mail Barcode (IMB) on the mail piece );
With respect to claim 5, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 2, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a request to generate the delivery icon associated with the mail distribution campaign (paragraph [0045], discloses generation of IMB from a sender’s hybrid-digital mail-box);
display a library of digital content (paragraph [0056], discloses the inbox may include programs related to digital offers, custom views, physical offers, content preview and may provide searching, filing ..);
receive a selection of digital content from the library of digital content (paragraph [0063], discloses user clicks on the appropriate icon to view the ad .); and
provide the selected digital content as the delivery icon associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0051], discloses simply clicking the link ).
With respect to claim 6, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 5, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system, wherein digital content in the library of digital content conforms with digital content parameters (paragraph [0060], discloses digital portion of the mailbox may also include a link to electronic content [parameter]).
With respect to claim 7, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 4, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
provide the selection of digital content in an editing module (paragraph [0020], discloses modifications, adaptations, and other implementation are possible and paragraph [0074], discloses a user may create a mailing label with a tracking barcode ..);
receive at least one customization input via the editing module, wherein the at least one customization input changes an appearance of the selected digital content(paragraph [0020], discloses modifications, adaptations, and other implementation are possible and paragraph [0074], discloses a user may create a mailing label with a tracking barcode ..);
apply the customization input to the selected digital content (paragraph [0020], discloses modifications, adaptations, and other implementation are possible and paragraph [0074], discloses a user may create a mailing label with a tracking barcode ..); and
provide the selected digital content as the delivery icon associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0063], discloses user clicks on the appropriate icon to view the ad).
With respect to claim 8, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 7 furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a request to generate a digital coupon; display a library of digital coupon templates; receive a selection of an electronic coupon template; and provide the selected coupon template as the digital payload associated with the distribution campaign (paragraph [0060], discloses digital portion of the mailbox may also include a link to electronic content paragraph [0067], discloses electronic content, such as coupon should be delivered along with the physical mail piece and paragraph [0068], discloses receive electronic version of the coupon via email for viewing in the inbox).
With respect to claim 9, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 8, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide the selected coupon template in an editing module; receive at least one customization input via the editing module, wherein the at least one customization input changes the appearance of the selected coupon template; apply the customization input to the selected coupon template; and provide the selected coupon template as the digital payload associated with the mail distribution campaign (paragraph [0060], discloses digital portion of the mailbox may also include a link to electronic content paragraph [0067], discloses electronic content, such as coupon should be delivered along with the physical mail piece and paragraph [0068], discloses receive electronic version of the coupon via email for viewing in the inbox).
With respect to claim 10, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Kim teaches the system wherein the electronic coupon includes a barcode (paragraph [0067], discloses appropriate electronic content such as coupon, and paragraph [0068], discloses physical mail is an advertisement, the electronic mail may include a special code for additional discount ).
With respect to claim 11, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the request to generate the distribution campaign comprises a mail distribution campaign theme (paragraph [0062], discloses advertisers may also have tools to customize their campaign to users).
With respect to claim 12, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: generate a label icon on the physical indicator based on the distribution campaign theme(paragraph [0062], discloses advertisers may also have tools to customize their campaign to users).
With respect to claim 14, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify a verified mailing address for each of the plurlity of target addresses; generate a list of verified mailing addresses; and generate the physical indicator for each of the one or more target addresses using the list of verified mailing addresses(paragraph [0066], discloses the information may include, for example, the number of mailings,.., the name or the recipients and other personal information .)
With respect to claim 15, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 14 , furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: display a prompt to replace the one or more target addresses with the list of verified mailing addresses; receive a confirmation to replace the -plurality of target addresses with the list of verified mailing addresses; and generate the physical indicator for each of the one or more target addresses using the list of verified mailing addresses(Fig. 8, 822, paragraphs [0008]-[0010] discloses automatically populating calendar with shipment infoatmion , and paragraph [0088], discloses the generated mailing labels may automatically populate an IMB with the mailing label for tracking purpose ..)).
With respect to claim 16, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system further comprising a printer in communication with the plurality processors, wherein the printer is configured to print the physical indicator for each of the one or more target addresses (paragraph [0023], discloses printing postage discloses and paragraph [0028], discloses user to print an IMB on a pieces of mail ).
With respect to claim 17, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the plurality of processors are further configured to: provide a delivery status of the mail distribution campaign to a sender, wherein the delivery status indicates whether the one or more campaign distribution items are: in transit, out for delivery, or delivered ( paragraph [0050], discloses a user may receive a shipment notification email from electronic retailer , and the user may forward the shipment notification email to receive packaged data module , which may then extract shipment data , such as a tracking number, …,).
With respect to claim 18, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the plurality processors are further configured to: store the mail distribution campaign, a delivery icon, a digital payload, the one or more target addresses, and the intelligent campaign barcode(Fig. 8, 804 discloses access address book, and 806 discloses select address to generate shipping level [target address] and paragraph [0037], discloses users may stablishes a provide lo address and may be able to identify his or her home street address as well as PO Box addresses [target address] and paragraph [0081], discloses downloaded the associated icon will appear in the user’s mailbox);
With respect to claim 19, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 18, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: display a previous campaign dashboard, wherein the previous campaign dashboard includes a campaign icon representing the mail distribution campaign(paragraph [0062], discloses content may be a variety of types of content, such as physical content, or electronic content such as video file, an audio file, graphic file or a link to online content such as webpage and paragraph [0063], discloses user clicks on the appropriate icon to view an ad).
With respect to claim 20, Briggman in view of Dearing teaches elements of claim 19, furthermore, Briggman teaches the system wherein the plurality processors are further configured to: receive a selection of the campaign icon in the previous campaign dashboard; provide the mail distribution campaign, the delivery icon, the digital payload and the at least one of the plurlity of target addresses for editing or the verified mailing address for editing; receive an update to one or more of: the distribution campaign, the delivery icon, the digital payload, the plurality target addresses or the verified mailing addresses ; and generate the physical indicator for each of the plurality target addresses based on the update(paragraph [0038], discloses mailing address authorization model may access an external ID verification system and paragraph [0062], discloses content may be a variety of types of content, such as physical content, or electronic content such as video file, an audio file, graphic file or a link to online content such as webpage and paragraph [0063], discloses user clicks on the appropriate icon to view an ad).
With respect to claim 21, Briggman teaches a method comprising:
receiving a request to generate a mail distribution campaign(paragraph [0028], discloses dashboard program that creates an interface allowing a user to view incoming and outing physical mail and electric mail…, allow business to create digital mail campaign to augment a physical mail campaign, paragraph [0031], dislcies user preference settings, calendar events, or mail campaigns, and paragraph [0062], discloses advertiser may also have too to customize their camping to users );
receiving plurality target addresses (Fig. 8, 804 discloses access address book, and 806 discloses select address to generate shipping level [target address] and paragraph [0037], discloses users may stablishes a provide lo address and may be able to identify his or her home street address as well as PO Box addresses [target address]); and
receiving a digital content associated with the mail distribution campaign, wherein the digital content comprises a delivery icon and a digital payload accessible through the delivery icon (paragraph [0062], discloses mailbox may also be tied to a digital adverting program which may provide user with the ability to view supplemental related content or bonus offer .., paragraph [0063], discloses once user clicks on the appropriate icon to view the ad and paragraph [0081], discloses an application s downloaded, the assocted icon will appear in the user’s mailbox.., users may be able to easily link [payload] to/from the application catalog from the mailbox );
identifying a verified mailing address for each of the plurality of target address(Fig. 2, discloses ID verification system , paragraphs [0038]- [0039], discloses provided to mailing address authorization module 206 for verification of the address, paragraph [0086], discloses provide an ID verification user interface for interfacing with Mailing Address Authorization module and paragraph [0090], discloses the addresses may be confirmed or verified by the USPS or another entity capable of address verification);
automatically generating, for each verified mailing address (paragraph [0083], discloses automatically generated and printed for physical mailing ) , an intelligent campaign barcode associated with the mail distribution campaign, wherein the intelligent campaign barcode encodes the verified mailing address, a unique campaign identifier, delivery rule data and delivery preference data for a recipient at the verified mailing address (paragraph [0025], discloses shipping creation tool that embed an identification marker, such as an intelligent mail barcode (IMB) on the mail pieces.., paragraph [0032], discloses identifying barcodes, such as an IMB which can serve as a tracking code to enable the postal authority to ascertain certain events related to the physical mail pieces based upon address identify feathers with the IMB …, and paragraph [0074], dislcies create a mailing label with a tracking barcode by easily clicking a “Create Mail” or “create package” button associated with the outbox , resulting the generation of a tracking barcode for shipment); and
causing generation of a physical indicator for each verified mailing address to be affixed to one or more physical campaign distribution mail items, wherein the physical indicator includes the intelligent campaign barcode assocted with the mail distribution campaign and one of the verified mailing address(paragraph [0025], discloses shipping creation tools that embed an identification marker [physical indicator] , such as an intelligent mail barcode (IMB) on the mail pieces.., the identified items are placed in the mail stream, information data associated …, paragraph [0032], discloses identifying barcode such as an IMB which can serv as tracking code to enable the postal authority to ascertain .., physical mail piece ); and
scanning in mail sorting equipment comprising an imaging device, the physical indicator on the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items (paragraph [0032], discloses mail sorting, processing, labeling, and scanning of incoming and outgoing physical mail pieces paragraph [0035], discloses scanning information corresponding to packages, paragraph [0039], discloses user may scan the IMB with a scanning or picture devices, such as a scanner , and paragraph [0042], discloses scanning equipment and paragraph [0051], discloses scanning a barcode assocted with tracking number ); and
detecting, in an image capture by the imagining device, the intelligent campaign barcode on the physical indicator using a feature extraction algorithm trained to identify the intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items(paragraph [0042], discloses images of the mail pieces may be processed to extract identifying information regarding the mail pieces by use of indicia such as and IMB.., paragraph [0043], discloses the stream of extracted data received by the IM-VIS system may then be brokered to a subscribing system or application such as tracking system .., paragraph [0048], discloses tracking system may include an analytics module 212 that may be used to generate statistics assocted with overall tracking of mail pieces by tracking system .., and paragraph [0053], discloses capturing of mail images ) ;
extracting target address information and campaign information from the intelligent campaign barcode(paragraph[0043], discloses Mail Data module 208 may filter though the
extracted data and determine data appropriate for a particular delivery point or user ID, using a variety of IM-VIS codes, and paragraph [0050], dislcies autotmcially receive extract and store various package data assocted with a suer the hybrid digital mailbox ); ; and
automatically sort the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items based on the target address information and the campaign information extracted from the intelligent campaign barcode of the physical indicatory on each of the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items (paragraph [0009], discloses automatically populating a recipient’s address from in incoming physical delivery items to a recipient’s address book, paragraph [0024], discloses allow a user to view historical mail campaign information and compare the tracking data of multiple campaigns, paragraph [0032], discloses mail processing system may perform a variety of processing functions such as mail sorting, processing, labeling, and scanning of incoming and outgoing g phycal mail pieces sorting, paragraph [0042], discloses an intelligent mail visibility (IM-VIS) system to filter and extract infoatmion pertaining to a particular user ID or delivery point [target address], paragraph [0043], discloses Receive Mail Data module 208 may filter though the extracted data and determine data appropriate for a particular delivery point or user ID, using a variety of IM-VIS codes, and paragraph [0049], discloses tracking interface module may be automatically access customer registration information assocted with hybrid-digital mailbox that is sorted.., automatically provide shipment data from tracking database );
wherein the one more processor ( Fig. 1, 104 discloses processor, paragraph [0026], discloses a controller comprising at least one processor) are futher configured to:
in response to sorting the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items(paragraph [0032], discloses mail sorting processing and paragraphs [0057]- [0058], discloses the listing of the physical mail may be sorted by the type of mail) ;
Briggman teaches the above elements including transmitting, to an email address associated with the one of the verified mailing address, a delivery notification email automatically generated in response to detecting that the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items has reached a mail delivery facility and is of for delivery, wherein the delivery notification email includes the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution mail items captured by the imaging device and the delivery icon selectable to access the digital payload (paragraph [0008], discloses recipient receives a notification that the phycal delivery items is in transit.., notification regarding the at least one first item is displayed within a portion of an interface representative of the expected delivery date on the calendar, paragraph [0046], discloses a notification may be then be generated and issued to contact information assocted with the delivery point .. , paragraph [0050], discloses a user may receive a shipment notification email from electronic retailer , and the user may forward the shipment notification email to receive packaged data module , which may then extract shipment data , such as a tracking number, …, paragraph [0069], discloses recipients of the mail may receive notification that electronic mails has been received or will be received on a specific data , this notification may appear in the recipient’s inbox or calendar.., paragraph [0081], discloses downloaded the associated icon will appear in the user’s mailbox and paragraph [0093], discloses an information icon may be provided along with the sender to reflect the specific carrier being used to handle the shipment) and send data used to generate the hybrid-digital mailbox interface to client device (paragraph [0029]). Briggman failed to teach send the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution items capture by the imaging device to a user interface; receive, via the user interface : an image intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution items and deliver the digital content according to the delivery rule data and/or the delivery preference data.
However, Dearing teaches send the image of the one or more physical campaign distribution items capture by the imaging device to a user interface (Fig. 20A and paragraph [0032], discloses a user interface that may be used to aid in capturing an intelligent barcode image using a computing device such as a smart phone .., output );
receive, via the user interface : an image intelligent campaign barcode on the one or more physical campaign distribution items (paragraph [0132], discloses an intelligent barcode image using a computing device) and deliver the digital content according to the delivery rule data and/or the delivery preference data (paragraph [0162], discloses delivering content to a recipient via a comping device .., paragraph [0164], discloses delivering content associated with a distribution item to a computing device .., information item delivered with the distribution item ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for creating and using a hybrid-digital mailbox of Briggman with a feature that provide content associated with an information item on a distribution item an affixing an intelligent barcode on a distribution items of Dearing increase the accuracy and the ability for the computing device to extract the correct information from an image to be able
to accurately decode the intelligent barcode (see Dearing, paragraph [0122]).
Prior arts on the record:
Briggman et al (US Pub., No., 2023/0162132 A1) discloses a method, electronic device, and computer-readable storage medium. A request is received to display a calendar identifying incoming physical item deliveries regarding a user's delivery point. User-associated shipment information is accessed identifying at least one first item scheduled for physical delivery and at least one second item scheduled for electronic delivery, and includes a record of physical delivery items and electronic delivery items.
Dearing et al. (US Pub., No., 2013/0024326 Al) discloses systems, methods and apparatus are disclosed for providing content associated with an information item on a distribution item using a computing device. In one aspect a method includes identifying an image of an information item on a distribution item.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed of 35 U.S.C 101 rejection filed on 26 May 2026 with respect to claim 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments of amended claim 1 recites a specific mail delivery system including mail sorting equipment comprising an imaging device configured to scan a physical indicator on physical campaign distribution mail items, detect an intelligent campaign barcode in an image using a feature extraction algorithm that is pre-trained to identify the intelligent campaign barcode, extract target address information and campaign information from the intelligent campaign barcode, and automatically sort the physical campaign distribution mail items based on the extracted target address information and campaign information. These features do not merely invoke a generic computer to organize information. Rather, they recite a concrete image processing and mail sorting workflow tied to physical campaign distribution mail items moving through a mail delivery network. This amounts to an improvement to the technical field of delivery logistics is not persuasive.
Claim 1 recite reciting automated mail sorting, barcode scanning, and email notifications are typically rejected as directed to an abstract idea (such as data collection and notification) without an inventive concept. Furthermore, the claim directed to an abstract idea of data collection, sorting information and convention notification methods which is a generic administrative or mental process.
Using standard mail sorting equipment, generic imaging devices, and pre-trained feature extraction algorithms to scan a barcode and send an email is generally viewed as routine and conventional computer activity, failing to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application. Thus, claims are directed to patent-ineligible subject matter, such as an abstract idea, without reciting an inventive concept that transforms the claim into a practical application.
Claim for linking digital data to physical mail using a barcode is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as an ineligible abstract idea unless it recites a specific, unconventional improvement to computer or sorting machine functionality. Courts routinely invalidate claims that merely collect, encode, and apply data without changing how the underlying machine operates.
Simply printing a standard barcode or using existing sorting equipment fails to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible process. In order to overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejections, the claims must provide detail a specific improvement in the physical sorting hardware, scanner architecture, or data compression that solves a concrete technical problem.
Further, the core function of "sorting items" based on "data" (barcode) and "updating instructions" is often viewed as a fundamental business or economic practice that humans could do, just faster.
Second, the use of a "memory," "scanner," and "user interface" is usually considered conventional, routine computer technology that does not add an inventive concept. Simply stating that a process is done "automatically" or "on a computer" does not make an otherwise abstract idea patent-eligible.
Further, the disclosure of applicants’ specification does not describe the technical details of the automated system, including specific algorithms, data structures, and hardware constraints, to demonstrate a practical application rather than a generalized concept. Thus, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection is updated and the rejections is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejection filed on 26 May 2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621