DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/11/2024.
Claims 1- 22 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/11/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xueming et al. ”Discussion on potential solutions for sidelink positioning”, Nov 2022, hereinafter “Xueming”; and in further view of Yan et al. “Remaining issues for SL positioning solutions, Nov 2022”, hereinafter “Yan”.
Regarding claim 1, Xueming teaches A method of resource allocation, the method comprising [Xueming: Section 3 teaches SL-PRS resources configuration] :
performing, by a first user equipment (UE), based on a first configuration, a sensing-based resource selection procedure to obtain a set of candidate single-slot sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resources to be used for transmission [Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS], wherein a candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is uniquely identified by a SL-PRS resource index within a set of SL-PRS resource ID(s) provided by a higher layer and a slot index [Xueming: Fig. 7; Section 4.4 further teaches of identifying of SL-PRS resources and periodic resource reservation for SL-PRS];passing the set of candidates single-slot SL-PRS resources to the higher layer for selection [Xueming: Section 4.4 further teaches determination of resource that can be use in SL-PRS and transmitting to UE];transmitting, by the first UE, a SL-PRS signal using selected single-slot SL-PRS resources [Xueming: Fig. 5; Section 4.1 teaches analyzing and transmitting of SL-PRS in the resource pool]; and
transmitting, by the first UE, in a same slot including the SL-PRS signal, a PSCCH signal carrying a sidelink control information (SCI) [Xueming: Fig. 6; Section 4.1 teaches of transmitting SL-PRS on slot based].
However, Xueming does not teach receiving an indication of selected single-slot SL-PRS resources from the higher layer.
Nevertheless, Yan, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches receiving an indication of selected single-slot SL-PRS resources from the higher layer; [Yan: Section 6.1, 6.2.2 teaches of resource selection of SL-PRS can be done at higher layer].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yan for receiving SL-PRS from higher layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yan in the Xueming system in order to be able to received SL-PRS resource allocation signaling from network [Yan: Section 6.1].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches comprising receiving, by the first UE, the first configuration comprising SL-PRS time information and a number of configured frequency resources allocated for SL-PRS transmission, wherein the number of configured frequency resources are allocated for a dedicated resource pool for SL-PRS transmission[Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS; section 3 for resource pool], and wherein each selected SL-PRS resource candidate occupies a full bandwidth of the dedicated resource pool in a frequency domain [Xueming: Section 4.1 teaches SL-PRS occupy the whole bandwidth of the resource pool and are multiplexed in the frequency domain]
Regarding claim 3, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein more than one UE transmits in the same slot in a time-division multiplexing (TDM) manner with different SL-PRS resource IDs [Xueming: Section 4.1 further teaches SL-PRS are multiplexed in TDM manner.]
Regarding claim 4, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the SCI comprises a resource ID indication for the SL-PRS signal [Yan: Section 3.4 teaches SCI comprise different types of ID for SL-PRS].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the performing the sensing is based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, wherein an RSRP is measured on the set of candidate single-slot SL-PRS resources [Xueming: Section 4.4]
Regarding claim 6, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the SL-PRS signal is associated with an L1 transmission priority [Xueming: Section 3.2; proposal 6 teaches SL-PRS has priority].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 6. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein a value of L1 transmission priority is included in SCI carried by a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) associated with the SL-PRS signal [Xueming: See section 3.2, 3.3]
Regarding claim 8, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 5. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the RSRP threshold is associated with a first transmission priority in a received SCI and associated with a second transmission priority of selected SL-PRS resources [Xueming: Section 4.4; proposal 16].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the SL-PRS signal is associated with a remaining packet delay budget [Xueming: section 2.2 teaches of delay estimating].
Regarding claim 10, Xueming teaches A first user equipment (UE) configured to perform resource allocation, the first UE comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising [Xueming: Section 3 teaches SL-PRS resources configuration] :
performing, based on a first configuration, a sensing-based resource selection procedure to obtain a set of candidate single-slot sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resources to be used for transmission [Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS], wherein a candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is uniquely identified by a SL-PRS resource index within a set of SL-PRS resource ID(s) provided by a higher layer and a slot index [Xueming: Fig. 7; Section 4.4 further teaches of identifying of SL-PRS resources and periodic resource reservation for SL-PRS];
passing the set of candidates single-slot SL-PRS resources to the higher layer for selection [Xueming: Section 4.4 further teaches determination of resource that can be use in SL-PRS and transmitting to UE];
transmitting, by the first UE, a SL-PRS signal using selected single-slot SL-PRS resources [Xueming: Fig. 5; Section 4.1 teaches analyzing and transmitting of SL-PRS in the resource pool]; and
transmitting, by the first UE, in a same slot including the SL-PRS signal, a PSCCH signal carrying a sidelink control information (SCI) [Xueming: Fig. 6; Section 4.1 teaches of transmitting SL-PRS on slot based].
However, Xueming does not teach receiving an indication of selected single-slot SL-PRS resources from the higher layer.
Nevertheless, Yan, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches receiving an indication of selected single-slot SL-PRS resources from the higher layer; [Yan: Section 6.1, 6.2.2 teaches of resource selection of SL-PRS can be done at higher layer].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yan for receiving SL-PRS from higher layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yan in the Xueming system in order to be able to received SL-PRS resource allocation signaling from network [Yan: Section 6.1].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the first UE decodes both a first stage SCI and a second stage SCI to find the resource allocation for both the data signal and the SL-PRS signal when performing the sensing-based resource selection procedure [Xueming: Section: 4.1;4.2]
Regarding claim 12, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches herein the first UE considers possible periods for data and a candidate SL-PRS signal when performing the sensing-based resource selection procedure to avoid collisions between the SL-PRS signal and a second SL-PRS signal of a neighboring UE [Xueming: Proposal 12 teaches of using SL-PRS to avoid SL-PRS collision].
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the first configuration comprises a set of sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) time information and a number of configured frequency resources allocated for the transmission of both a data signal and a SL-PRS signal, and wherein the number of configured frequency resources are allocated for a shared resource pool[Xueming: Section 4.1 teaches SL-PRS occupy the whole bandwidth of the resource pool and are multiplexed in the frequency domain]
Regarding claim 15, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the candidate single-slot SL-PRS resource is further identified by a subchannel index in a frequency domain [Xueming: Section 4.1 teaches SL-PRS occupy the whole bandwidth of the resource pool and are multiplexed in the frequency domain]
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches wherein the SL-PRS signal is associated with a number of sub-channels to be used in the slot [Yan: Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 20, Xueming teaches A method by a user equipment (UE) of communicating data in a vehicle to everything (V2X) mode 2 system, the method comprising [Xueming: Section 3 teaches SL-PRS resources configuration]:forming an allocation of resource elements within a slot, wherein a first assignment of a physical sidelink shared channel demodulation reference signal (PSSCH DMRS) to a first resource element has a priority over a second assignment of a sidelink (SL) positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) to the first resource element [Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS; 4.1 teaches PSSCH DMRS is associated with SL_PRS transmission], modulating an orthogonal frequency division multiplex (OFDM) signal based on the allocation of resource elements [Xueming: Section 2.1 teaches modulated for v2x transmission; and
transmitting the OFDM signal [Xueming; section 2.1]
However, Xueming does not teach a SL-PRS signal is transmitted in a second symbol separate from any symbol configured with PSSCH DMRS, and wherein the allocation of resource elements within the slot comprises an assignment of data to a second resource element.
Nevertheless, Yan, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches a SL-PRS signal is transmitted in a second symbol separate from any symbol configured with PSSCH DMRS, and wherein the allocation of resource elements within the slot comprises an assignment of data to a second resource element [Yan: Section 4.1, Fig. 5 teaches of transmitting over second symbol of PSCCH DMRS]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yan for allocating PSCCH DMRS in any symbol. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yan in the Xueming system in order to be able to received SL-PRS resource allocation signaling from network [Yan: Section 6.1].
Regarding claim 21, Xueming teaches A method of resource allocation, the method comprising [Xueming: Section 3 teaches SL-PRS resources configuration] :
receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), the first configuration parameter comprising a first index indicating a comb size, a first comb offset, a first subcarrier offset [Xueming: Section 2.1.1 teaches of offsets, clock offset are parameters transmitted to UE] and a first number of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) symbols for a first SL-PRS transmission in a dedicated resource pool[Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS; section 3 for resource pool],
receiving, by a second UE the second configuration parameter comprising a second index, the second index indicating the comb size, a second comb offset, a second subcarrier offset and a second number of SL-PRS symbols [Xueming: Section 2.1.1 teaches of offsets, clock offset are parameters transmitted to UE] for a second SL-PRS transmission in the dedicated resource pool [Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS; section 3 for resource pool];
transmitting, by the first UE, a first SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter and transmitting by the second UE a second SL-PRS signal according to the first configuration parameter [Xueming: Fig. 7; Section 4.4 further teaches of identifying of SL-PRS resources and periodic resource reservation for SL-PRS and determination of resource that can be use in SL-PRS and transmitting to UE];
wherein the first SL-PRS signal and the second SL-PRS signal are allocated in two sets of non-overlapping symbols in a slot [Xueming: Section 3 teaches of transmitting over symbols with consecutive symbols]
However, Xueming does not teach receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter and a second configuration parameter from a higher layer.
Nevertheless, Yan, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches receiving, by a first user equipment (UE), a first configuration parameter and a second configuration parameter from a higher layer [Yan: Section 6.1, 6.2.2 teaches of resource selection of SL-PRS can be done at higher layer].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Yan for receiving SL-PRS from higher layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yan in the Xueming system in order to be able to received SL-PRS resource allocation signaling from network [Yan: Section 6.1].
Regarding claim 22, the combined Xueming in view of Yan teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Xueming in view of Yan further teaches configuration parameter and the second configuration parameter are associated with the dedicated resource pool [Xueming: Section 4. 4 teaches SL-PRS resource allocation scheme where resource are selected for SL-PRS; section 3 for resource pool], and the dedicated resource pool is not associated with data transmission [Xueming: Section 3.4 teaches resource pool are dedicated pool].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412