DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action in response to the amendment filed 10/01/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 10/01/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicant submits that the amended claims do not recite a judicial exception. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes Examiner notes that according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG) and under step 2A of the analysis of claims per the Alice framework, if a claim limitation covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Applicant submits that the amended claims recite an improvement in the functioning of a computer and that the amended claims provide an inventive concept. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the additional elements recited in the claims are cited in a very general sense performing a computer generic function of sending/receiving data and do not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the abstract idea. Additionally, per the Revised October 2019 guidance: in order to determine if an invention improves the functioning of a computer or other technology and integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, while the courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration, MPEP 2106.04(a) and 2106.05(a) provide guidance, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement; second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. When looking at the specification, the disclosure supports that the provided improvement is directed to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant submits that the combination of references does not teach the limitations of the amended claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the amended limitations are disclosed by Gouvernel [0166-0167] and Avsha [0053] as explained in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claims 1-20, the independent claims (claims 1, 14 and 19) are directed, in part, to systems and methods for personalized coaching. Step 1 – First pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Guidance, claims 1-13 are directed to a method comprising a series of steps which falls under the statutory category of a process and claims 14-20 are directed to a system which falls under the statutory category of a machine. However, these claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to a method of organizing human activity which includes managing personal behavior and teaching.
As per Step 2A - Prong 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed, in part, to using an application programming interface (API) gateway, determining permissions to one or more data sources; using a data extraction engine, extracting information from the one or more data sources to obtain extracted information related to a user; using a goal determination module, analyzing the extracted information to determine user preferences and goals information wherein the goal determination module is trained to promote user preferences and account for user biases when determining user preferences and goal information; using a virtual assistant module, generating personalized coaching information based on the user preferences and goals information; transmitting the personalized coaching information to a user device; receiving user feedback from the user device related to the personalized coaching information; and updating the goal determination module based on the user feedback. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers managing personal behavior or teaching, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As per Step 2A - Prong 2 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the independent claims recite additional elements application programming interface, data sources, data extraction engine, goal determination module, virtual assistant, user device. The dependent claims recite the use of natural language processing, machine learning, database and server. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic device performing a generic computer function of receiving and storing data) such that these elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Examiner looks to Applicant’s specification in at least figures 1 and 6 and related text and [0054-0059] to understand that the invention may be implemented in a generic environment that “Devices 602, 620 can be or include any suitable device with wired or wireless communication features and that can connect to network 622. For example, one or more of devices 602, 620 can be or include a wearable device, a tablet computer, a wired phone, a mobile phone, a personal (e.g., laptop or desktop) computer, a streaming device, such as a game console or other media streaming device, or the like. One or more of devices 602, 620 can include an application or client 630 to perform various functions set forth herein and/or to cause to be displayed text and/or other information as described herein. By way of example, an application or client 630 can include a user interface that displays virtual assistant information as described herein and/or that allows a user to provide user and/or feedback and/or user profile information as described herein. Network 622 can include or be, for example, an internet protocol (IP) network. Exemplary types of networks suitable for network 622 can be or include a local area network, a wide-area network, a metropolitan area network, one or more wireless networks, or a portion of the Internet. Various components of network 622 can be coupled to one or more other components using an Ethernet connection, other wired connections, and/or wireless interfaces. Network 622 can be coupled to other networks and/or to other devices typically coupled to networks. By way of particular example, network 622 includes a communication network and network 622 can be coupled to additional networks that can be coupled to one or more devices, such as devices 602 and 620. Exemplary additional networks can include a network similar to network 622, a public switched telephone network (PSTN), or the like. Servers or data sources 604-612 can be or include any suitable server(s). Servers
604-612 can perform various functions as described herein. For example, server 604 can be a communication (e.g., a private branch exchange (PBX) server), server 606 can be a text server, server 608 can be an email server, server 610 can be a document or file server, and server 612 can be a social media server. Although separately illustrated, various servers 604-614 can be combined in a single system or machine. Further, it will be appreciated that other servers and/or data sources can be coupled to or form part of electronic communication system 600. Electronic communication system 600 includes various engines, database(s),
and/or modules as described herein. As used herein, the terms engine and module may be used interchangeably. In some cases, a module can include one or more engines and/or be coupled to one or more engines. The terms "module" or "engine" can refer to computer program instructions, encoded on computer storage medium for execution by, or to control the operation of, data processing apparatus. Alternatively, or additionally, the program instructions can be encoded on an artificially generated propagated signal, e.g., a machine-generated electrical, optical, or electromagnetic signal, which is generated to encode information for transmission to suitable receiver apparatus for execution by a data processing apparatus. A computer storage medium can be, or be included in, a computer-readable storage device, a computer-readable storage substrate, a random or serial access memory array or device, or a combination of one or more of the substrates and devices. Moreover, while a computer storage medium is not a propagated signal, a computer storage medium can be a source or destination of computer program instructions encoded in an artificially generated propagated signal. The computer storage medium can also be, or be included in, one or more separate physical components or media (e.g., solid-state memory that forms part of a device, disks, or other storage devices). As noted above, application programming interface (API) gateway 614 is coupled to one or more data sources 604-612.API gateway 614 is configured to determine permissions to one or more data sources 604-612 to allow extraction of information from the one or more data sources 604-612.” Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
As per Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. When considered individually, these claim elements only contribute generic recitations of technical elements to the claims. It is readily apparent, for example, that the claim is not directed to any specific improvements of these elements and the invention is not directed to a technical improvement. When the claims are considered individually and as a whole, the additional elements noted above, appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense – i.e. a generic computer receives information from another generic computer, processes the information and then sends information back. In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified as an abstract idea. The fact that the generic computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer statutory subject matter eligibility. Regarding the use of Natural Language Processing to evaluate the received data, the Examiner notes that this activity is recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art, which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See, e.g., Morsa, US 2006/0085408 (paragraph 0144: well -known-to-the-arts natural language processing (NLP) (computational linguistics) or some other method as is well known to the arts may be used). See also, Szabo, US Pat. No. 5,966,126 (col. 6, lines 57-62 and col. 28, lines 16-19: e.g., definitions may be produced in known manner, such as by explicit definition, or through use of assistive technologies, such as natural language translators; user defines a search using prior known techniques, such as natural language searching). Lastly, when the “machine learning” is evaluated as an additional element, this feature is recited at a high level of generality and encompasses well-understood, routine, and conventional prior art activity. See, e.g., Balsiger et al., US 2012/0054642, noting in paragraph [0077] that “Machine learning is well known to those skilled in the art.” See also, Djordjevic et al. US 2013/0018651, noting in paragraph [0019] that “As known in the art, a generative model can be used in machine learning to model observed data directly.” See also, Bauer et al., US 2017/0147941, noting at paragraph [0002] that “Problems of understanding the behavior or decisions made by machine learning models have been recognized in the conventional art and various techniques have been developed to provide solutions.” Accordingly, the use of machine learning to generate a learning model does not add significantly more to the claims.
The dependent claims further refine the abstract idea. These claims do not provide a meaningful linking to the judicial exception. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above – such as by describing the nature and content of the data that is received/sent. While these descriptive elements may provide further helpful context for the claimed invention these elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not significantly more than the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2018/0032957 (hereinafter; Gouvernel) in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0342545 (hereinafter; Avsha).
Regarding claim 1, Gouvernel discloses:
An electronic communication method with adaptive personalization and coaching, the method comprising the steps of: using an application programming interface (API) gateway, (Gouvernel [0166-0167] disclose an application programming interface for identifying any new or continuing training or coaching that would be desired for an individual.) determining permissions to one or more data sources; using a data extraction engine, (Gouvernel [0043] discloses Target applications 110 are computer programs designed to permit authenticated users to perform a group of coordinated functions, tasks, or activities. Access to target applications 110 is controlled by access management services 104, based on verifying the identity of the user.)
transmitting the personalized coaching information to a user device; (Gouvernel [0169-0170] disclose In a specific example, portable profile 1204 may be created as follows. Upon an initial evaluation through an email survey to members of first organization 1208, an electronic profile is established for individual 1202. With the goal of continuous improvement for individual 1202, a server belonging to third organization 1206 uses employee electronic profiles to perform the following: Serve personalized coaching to the individual, as if the employee has a personalized channel for training content for continuous improvement.)
receiving user feedback from the user device related to the personalized coaching information; (Gouvernel [0167] discloses feedback and coaching.)
Although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose extracting information or user preferences and goals. However, Avsha discloses:
extracting information from the one or more data sources to obtain extracted information related to a user; (Avsha [0021] discloses extracting information.) using a goal determination module, analyzing the extracted information to determine user preferences and goals information wherein the goal determination module is trained to promote user preferences and account for user biases when determining user preferences and goals information; (Avsha [0053] discloses training models.) [0055] discloses goals; [0077] discloses preferences.) using a virtual assistant module, (Avsha [0074] discloses a digital assistant.) generating personalized coaching information based on the user preferences and goals information; (Avsha discloses personalized recommendations in at least [0017-0020].)
and updating the goal determination module based on the user feedback. (Avsha discloses updating and adapting data in at least [0074-0075].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 2, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose Natural Language Processing. However, Avsha discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of using a goal determination module comprises using natural language processing (NLP). (Avsha [0017] discloses natural language processing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 3, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose context. However, Avsha discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of using a goal determination module comprises using a context determination engine to determine a context associated with the extracted information. (Avsha [0116] discloses context information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 4, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose sentiment. However, Avsha discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the step of using a goal determination module comprises using a sentiment analysis engine to determine a sentiment associated with the extracted information. (Avsha [0201] discloses determining an individual’s sentiment.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 5, Gouvernel discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising establishing a communication between the user device and a participant device. (Gouvernel [0008] discloses The first plurality of users belong to the first organization. The user profile data of the user profile is stored on a data source connected to the remote computer and operated only by the third organization. The application programming interface and the remote computer enable connection, over a second network, between a second computer operated by the second organization and the data source having the user profile data.)
Regarding claim 6, Gouvernel discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting regulatory and standards information to the user device. (Gouvernel [0164] discloses third organization 1206 may ensure that industry standard benchmarks are used in the training and evaluation of individual.)
Regarding claim 7, Gouvernel discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising storing the user preferences and goals information in a database. (Gouvernel [0008] discloses The user profile data of the user profile is stored on a data source connected to the remote computer and operated only by the third organization.)
Regarding claim 8, Gouvernel discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising a step of updating user information based on the personalized coaching information. (Gouvernel discloses updating user information in at least [0035]; [0162]; [0178].)
Regarding claim 9, Gouvernel discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving from a user, user feedback, and updating the user preferences and goals based on the feedback. (Gouvernel [0008] discloses The user profile is created by a remote computer based on a first plurality of feedbacks from a corresponding first plurality of users communicating with the remote computer via an application programming interface operating on the remote computer.)
Regarding claim 10, Gouvernel discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising monitoring the one or more data sources for additional information. (Gouvernel discloses requests for additional information, see at least [0189]; [0193].)
Regarding claim 11, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose extracting information or user preferences and goals. However, Avsha discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising repeating the steps of: using a data extraction engine, extracting information from the one or more data sources to obtain extracted information; (Avsha [0021] discloses extracting information.) using a goal determination module, determining user preferences and goals based on the extracted information; (Avsha [0055] discloses goals; [0077] discloses preferences.) using a virtual assistant module, (Avsha [0074] discloses a digital assistant.) generating personalized coaching information based on the user preferences and goals; (Avsha discloses personalized recommendations in at least [0017-0020].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
and transmitting the personalized coaching information to a user device. (Gouvernel [0169-0170] disclose In a specific example, portable profile 1204 may be created as follows. Upon an initial evaluation through an email survey to members of first organization 1208, an electronic profile is established for individual 1202. With the goal of continuous improvement for individual 1202, a server belonging to third organization 1206 uses employee electronic profiles to perform the following: Serve personalized coaching to the individual, as if the employee has a personalized channel for training content for continuous improvement.)
Regarding claim 12, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose topics. However, Avsha discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising determining one or more topics associated with the extracted information. (Avsha [0141] discloses analytics by tittle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 13, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose Machine Learning. However, Avsha discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising machine learning to classify segments of the extracted information. (Avsha [0017] discloses machine learning.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 14, Gouvernel discloses:
An electronic communication system with adaptive personalization and coaching, the system comprising: an application programming interface (API) gateway coupled to one or more data sources; (Gouvernel [166-0167] disclose an application programming interface for identifying any new or continuing training or coaching that would be desired for an individual.)
Although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose extracting information or user preferences and goals. However, Avsha discloses:
a data extraction engine to receive information from the one or more data sources and to generate extracted information related to a user; (Avsha [0021] discloses extracting information.) a goal determination engine to analyze the extracted information to determine one or more of goals and preferences from the extracted information, wherein the goal determination engine is trained to promote user preferences and account for user biases when determining user preferences and goals information; (Avsha [0053] discloses training models; [0055] discloses goals; [0077] discloses preferences.) and a virtual assistant module to provide personalized coaching information to a user device based on the one or more of goals and preferences, wherein the goal determination engine is updated based on user feedback received in response to the personalized coaching information. (Avsha [0053] discloses training models; [0074] discloses a digital assistant.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 15, Gouvernel discloses:
The system of claim 14, further comprising a database comprising user information. (Gouvernel [0008] discloses The user profile data of the user profile is stored on a data source connected to the remote computer and operated only by the third organization.)
Regarding claim 16, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose frequency. However, Avsha discloses:
The system of claim 14, further comprising a user interface, wherein the user interface is configured to receive a command from the user to endorse, suspend, and/or change a frequency of receipt of personalized coaching information by a user device. (Avsha [0141] discloses frequency.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 17, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose context. However, Avsha discloses:
The system of claim 14, further comprising a context determination engine to determine a context of the extracted information. (Avsha [0116] discloses context information.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 18, although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose sentiment. However, Avsha discloses:
The system of claim 14, further comprising a sentiment analysis engine to determine a sentiment of the extracted information. (Avsha [0201] discloses determining an individual’s sentiment.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 19, Gouvernel discloses:
An electronic communication system with adaptive personalization and coaching, the system comprising: one or more data sources; an application programming interface (API) gateway coupled to the one or more data sources; (Gouvernel [166-0167] disclose an application programming interface for identifying any new or continuing training or coaching that would be desired for an individual.)
Although Gouvernel discloses systems and methods for adaptive personalization and coaching, Gouvernel does not specifically disclose extracting information or user preferences and goals. However, Avsha discloses:
a data extraction engine to receive information from the one or more data sources and o generate extracted information related to a user; (Avsha [0021] discloses extracting information.) a goal determination engine to analyze the extracted information to determine one or more of goals and preferences from the extracted information, wherein the goal determination engine is trained to promote user preferences and account for user biases when determining user preferences and goals information; (Avsha [0053] discloses training models; [0055] discloses goals; [0077] discloses preferences.) and a virtual assistant module to provide personalized coaching information to a user device based on the one or more of goals and preferences, wherein the goal determination engine is updated based on user feedback received in response to the personalized coaching information. (Avsha [0053] discloses training models; [0074] discloses a digital assistant.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interactive training profile of Gouvernel with the system for delivering personalized recommendations of Avsha in order to evaluate trends associated with an individual (Avsha abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claim 20, Gouvernel discloses:
The system of claim 19, wherein the one or more data sources comprise one or more of a communication server, a text server, an email server, a document server, and a social media server. (Gouvernel [0061] discloses social media providers and social accounts.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCIS Z. SANTIAGO MERCED/Examiner, Art Unit 3625