DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11-20 are pending.
Claims 5, 8 and 10 are cancelled.
Drawings
The drawings are further objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the double side adhesive, adhesive, silicone and clips of claim 1 must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “L-shaped coupling component” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-7, 9, 11-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 6, claim 6 recites, “the inner sides” and “the walls” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It appears this language refers to “inner sides” and “the two walls” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 13, claim 13 recites, “their respective retaining portions” in lines 2-3. Numerous elements are previously introduced and thus, it is unclear as to which this language refers. It appears this language refers to “respective retaining portions” and will be interpreted as such.
Re claim 14, claim 14 recites, “the inner sides” and “the walls” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. It appears this language refers to “inner sides” and “the two walls” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 7, 9 and 11-12 and 15-19 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Gosling et al (“Gosling”) (US 2014/0215939).
Re claim 1, Gosling discloses a trim kit (See Fig. 2, showing multiple parts) for a structural opening (10) in a structure (170), the trim kit (Fig. 2) comprising:
a first top cover (top 200) configured to be affixed to (Fig. 1-2) the structure (160) above (Fig. 2) the structural opening (10); and
a first side cover (right 200) configured to be affixed to (Fig. 1) a lateral side (right side of 170) of the structure (170) adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10);
wherein the first top cover (top 200) includes a first topside lip (250) that is configured to fit within a groove (on 240) in the structure (170) above the structural opening (10); and
wherein the first side cover (right 200) is configured to be affixed (Fig. 1) to the lateral side (right side of 170) of the structure (170) adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10) by barb fasteners (top/bottom protrusion on 240 in Fig. 2), double side adhesive, adhesive, silicone, or clips.
Re claim 3, Gosling discloses the trim kit of claim 1, wherein the first top cover (top 200) is L-shaped (via 230 and 250, as the language does not preclude additional components), and configured to cover a front face and a bottom face (any faces of 210) of the structure (170) above the structural opening (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosling et al (“Gosling”) (US 2014/0215939) in view of Meadows (US 4,233,790) and Anderson (US 5,222,343).
Re claim 6, Gosling discloses a trim kit (See Fig. 2, showing multiple parts) for a structural opening (10) in a structure (170), the trim kit (Fig. 2) comprising:
a top cover (top 200) configured to be affixed to the structure (170) above the structural opening (10);
a side cover (right 200) configured to be affixed to a side (of 170) of the structure (170) laterally adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10); and
a top clip track (220) comprising:
a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to a front surface (of 170) of the structure (170) above the opening (110) in the structure (170);
a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220), wherein the retaining portion (240) of the top clip track (220) includes two walls (260) extending outwardly from the mounting portion (left wall of 220), the two walls (260) defining a channel (between 260) for receiving the topside lip (250) of the top cover (top 200),
but fails to disclose wherein a plurality of barbs are disposed on the inner sides of the walls to retain the topside lip of the top cover; and a seal portion made of resilient material affixed to a side of the mounting portion of the top clip track that is opposite the retaining portion of the top clip track, the seal portion being configured to engage a face of the structure to form a moisture-proof seal.
However, Meadows discloses wherein a plurality of barbs (35) are disposed on the inner sides (of 27) of the walls (27) to retain (Fig. 2-5) the topside lip (31) of the top cover (29).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trim kit of Gosling wherein a plurality of barbs are disposed on the inner sides of the walls to retain the topside lip of the top cover as disclosed by Meadows in order to provide a locking effect resisting pullout.
In addition, Anderson discloses a seal portion (40) made of resilient material (Col 5 line 31-32) affixed to a side (38) of the mounting portion (34) of the top clip track (28) that is opposite the retaining portion (42/44) of the top clip track (28), the seal portion (40) being configured to engage a face (Fig. 4) of the structure (Fig. 4) to form a moisture-proof seal (40 being a gasket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trim kit of Gosling with a seal portion made of resilient material affixed to a side of the mounting portion of the top clip track that is opposite the retaining portion of the top clip track, the seal portion being configured to engage a face of the structure to form a moisture-proof seal as disclosed by Anderson in order to prolong the life of the structure by preventing damage from the elements.
Re claim 7, Gosling discloses the trim kit of claim 6, wherein the retaining portion (240) of the top clip track (220) extends at approximately a 90 degree angle from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) of the top clip track (220).
Re claim 9, Gosling discloses the trim kit of claim 6, Meadows discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of barbs (35) are made of a resilient material (Gosling: [0049] disclosing thermoplastic, plastic being resilient), and are oriented at an angle toward (Fig. 4) the mounting portion (bottom of 23) of the top clip track (23) to resist removal of the topside lip (31) from the mounting portion (27) of the top clip track (23).
Re claim 11, Gosling discloses the trim kit of claim 6, further comprising a first side clip track (top 220) comprising a mounting portion (left surface of 220) configured to be affixed to a down-facing surface (left 220 is capable of being affixed to a down-facing surface, as this is a statement of intended use) of the structure above (170) the structural opening (10) in the structure (170), and a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) and configured to receive a bottom lip (250) of the top cover (top 200).
Re claim 12, Gosling discloses the trim kit of claim 11, further comprising a second side clip track and a third side clip track (left/right 220, see Fig. 1 for the trim affixed to all 3 sides) to affix the side cover (right 200) to the side (of 170) of the structure (170) laterally adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10), wherein the second side clip track (left 220) comprises a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to a front face (any face of 170) of the structure (170) laterally adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10), and a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) and configured to receive a first side lip (250) of the side cover (right 200); and wherein the third side clip track (right 220) comprises a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to a vertical side face (any vertical face of 170) of the structure (170) laterally adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10) that is perpendicular to the front face (any perpendicular face of 170), and a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) of the third side clip track (right 220), and configured to receive a second side lip (250) of the side cover (right 200).
Re claim 13, Gosling discloses the trim kit of claim 12, wherein the retaining portions (240) of the first, second and third side clip tracks (top/left/right 220, each side shown surrounding 10 in Fig. 1) includes a plurality of barbs (top/bottom protrusion on 240 in Fig. 2; see also Meadows: 35) that are oriented towards (Fig. 2) their respective retaining portions (240).
Re claim 14, Gosling discloses a method of installing (Claim 20) a trim kit (160, Fig. 2 showing multiple parts) for a structural opening (10) in a structure (170), the method comprising:
affixing (Fig. 1-2) a top clip track (top 220) to the structure (170) above the structural opening (10), wherein the top clip track (top 220) comprises:
a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to (Fig. 2) a front surface (of 170) of the structure (170) above the structural opening (10) in the structure (170); and
a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220), wherein the retaining portion (240) includes two walls (260) extending outwardly from the mounting portion (left wall of 220), the two walls (260) defining a channel (between 260) for receiving the topside lip (250) of the top cover (top 200),
inserting (Fig. 2) a topside lip (250) of the top cover (top 200) into the retaining portion (240); and
affixing (Fig. 2) the top cover (200) to a down-facing surface (left surface of 110a, as no language is included which provides a point of reference, and the left surface of 110a extends downward with a face) of the structure (170) above (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10),
but fails to disclose wherein a plurality of barbs are disposed on the inner sides of the walls to retain the topside lip of the top cover; a seal portion made of resilient material affixed to a side of the mounting portion of the top clip track that is opposite the retaining portion of the top clip track, the seal portion being configured to engage a face of the structure to form a moisture-proof seal.
However, Meadows discloses wherein a plurality of barbs (35) are disposed on the inner sides (of 27) of the walls (27) to retain (Fig. 2-5) the topside lip (31) of the top cover (29).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gosling wherein a plurality of barbs are disposed on the inner sides of the walls to retain the topside lip of the top cover as disclosed by Meadows in order to provide a locking effect resisting pullout.
In addition, Anderson discloses a seal portion (40) made of resilient material (Col 5 line 31-32) affixed to a side (38) of the mounting portion (34) of the top clip track (28) that is opposite the retaining portion (42/44) of the top clip track (28), the seal portion (40) being configured to engage a face (Fig. 4) of the structure (Fig. 4) to form a moisture-proof seal (40 being a gasket).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gosling with a seal portion made of resilient material affixed to a side of the mounting portion of the top clip track that is opposite the retaining portion of the top clip track, the seal portion being configured to engage a face of the structure to form a moisture-proof seal as disclosed by Anderson in order to prolong the life of the structure by preventing damage from the elements.
Re claim 15, Gosling discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the step of affixing (Fig. 2) the top cover (top 200) to the down-facing surface (left surface of 110a) of the structure (170) above (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10) in the structure (170) comprises: affixing (Fig. 1-2) a first side clip track (left 200) to the down-facing surface (surface of 110a, see per the above) of the structure (170) above the structural opening (10), wherein the first side clip track (left 220) comprises: a mounting portion (left surface of 220) configured to be affixed to the down-facing surface (left 220 is capable of being affixed to a down-facing surface, as this is a statement of intended use) of the structure above (170) the structural opening (10) in the structure (170), a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) and configured to receive a bottom lip (250) of the top cover (top 200); and inserting (Fig. 2) the bottom lip (250) of the top cover (top 200) into the retaining portion (240) of the first side clip track (left 220).
Re claim 16, Gosling discloses the method of claim 15, affixing (Fig. 1-2) a second side clip track (right 220) to a front vertical face (of 110) of the structure (170) laterally adjacent to (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10) in the structure (170); affixing (Fig. 1-20 a third side clip track (left 220) to a side vertical face (of 110a) of the structure (170) that is perpendicular to (at least portion 240) the front vertical face (of 110a) of the structure (170); and coupling (Fig. 1-2) a side cover (200) to the second side clip track and the third side clip track (left/right 220); wherein the second side clip track (right 220) includes a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to (Fig. 2) the front vertical face (of 110a) of the structure (170), and a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) of the second side clip (right 220) and configured to receive a first lip (250) of the side cover (200); and wherein the third side clip track (left 220) includes a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to (Fig. 2) the front vertical face (of 110a) of the structure (170), and a retaining portion (240) extending outwardly from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) of the third side clip (right 220) and configured to receive a second lip (250) of the side cover (200).
Re claim 17, Gosling discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the retaining portion (240) of the top clip track (220) extends at approximately a 90 degree angle from (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (left wall of 220) of the top clip track (top 220).
Re claim 18, Gosling discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the retaining portion (240) of the top clip track (220) includes a plurality of barbs (top/bottom protrusion on 240 in Fig. 2) to retain the topside lip (250) of the top cover (top 200).
Re claim 19, Gosling discloses the method of claim 18, Meadows discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of barbs (35, Gosling: top/bottom protrusion on 240) are made of a resilient material (Gosling: [0049] disclosing thermoplastic, plastic being resilient), and are oriented toward (Fig. 2) the mounting portion (250) of the top clip track (top 220) to resist removal of the topside lip (250) of the top cover (top 200) from the mounting portion (240) of the top clip track (top 220).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosling et al (“Gosling”) (US 2014/0215939) in view of Anderson (US 5,222,343).
Re claim 20, Gosling discloses a clip track (220) for securing a trim piece (200) to an existing structure (170), the clip track (220) comprising:
a mounting portion (left wall of 220) configured to be affixed to a surface (of 170) of the existing structure (170);
a retaining portion (240) extending from (Fig. 2) a front side (right side of left wall of 220) of the mounting portion (left wall of 220), and configured to receive a lip (250) of the trim piece (200);
a seal portion (270, as 270 is a seal portion because it flushedly affixes 220 to the sidewall) made of a resilient material (the language does not define “resilient” and 275 are screws, screws being made of a material and being resistant to removal) affixed to a back side (right surface of the left wall of 220) of the mounting portion (left wall of 220) of the top clip track (220); and
a plurality of barbs (top/bottom protrusion on 240 in Fig. 2) disposed within the retaining portion (240), and configured to retain the lip (250) of the trim piece (200),
but fails to disclose a seal portion configured to engage a face of the existing structure to form a moisture-proof seal therewith.
However, Anderson discloses a seal portion (40) configured to engage a face (Fig. 4) of the existing structure (Fig. 4) to form a moisture-proof seal (40 being a gasket) therewith.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clip track of Gosling a seal portion configured to engage a face of the existing structure to form a moisture-proof seal therewith as disclosed by Anderson in order to prolong the life of the structure by preventing damage from the elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Claims: Applicant’s argument with respect to the claim objections is persuasive and objection to the claims is hereby withdrawn.
Objections to the Drawings: Applicant’s argument with respect to the drawings is persuasive and objection to the drawings is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 112: Applicant’s argument with respect to the claims rejected under 35 USC 112 is partially persuasive and rejection of the claims pursuant to 35 USC 112 is hereby partially withdrawn, but for those that remain in the above.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 102/103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that Gosling fails to disclose a “topside lip configured to fit within a groove.” Applicant contends that coupling feature 240 is not a groove. The previous office action and the above do not cite 240 itself as a groove. Each recites, “a first topside lip (250) that is configured to fit within a groove (on 240)” (emphasis added). In other words, there is a groove on 240 which receives 250. For clarity, the image is reproduced below, detailing the groove thereon.
Next, regarding claim 6, Applicant argues that Gosling does not disclose a seal portion made of resilient material. Gosling is no longer relied upon disclosing this feature rendering these arguments moot.
Next, regarding claim 9, Applicant argues that Gosling does not a plurality of barbs made of resilient material oriented toward the mounting portion. Gosling is no longer relied upon disclosing this feature rendering these arguments moot.
Next, Applicant argues that the “intended use argument” is improper for a method claim. Applicant appears to contend that intended use does not apply to method claims. Method claims are defined by positively claimed steps. Method claims may also claim structure that is associated with those positively claimed steps. The claimed structure may still be accompanied by intended use, that is not claimed as a positively recited step. There is no requirement that intended use only be cited in apparatus or product claims. Intended use is capable of being utilized in every manner of claim. The only positively recited step to which Applicant argues is disclosed in claim 15. As detailed in claim 14, Gosling discloses affixing (Fig. 2) the top cover (200) to a down-facing surface (left surface of 110a, as no language is included which provides a point of reference, and the left surface of 110a extends downward with a face) of the structure (170) above (Fig. 1) the structural opening (10). The feature in claim 15 to which Applicant argues is directed to the mounting portion itself, and not to a positively recited step. Thus, Gosling discloses the argued features of claims 14-15.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2, 4 and 5 are rendered moot in view of the indication of allowable subject matter above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635