This is a Non-final action for application number 18/410,783 in response to an original application filed on 01/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below. Claims 1, 7 and 14 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 07/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 02/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-16, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al. (US 2012/0122495 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 2014/0293942 A1).
Regarding claim 1, a method for transmitting paging message, applied to a base station, comprising:
determining one paging occasion, [transmitting, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, an early paging indicator indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion comprises transmitting an early paging indicator, (Weng et al., Paragraph 43)], wherein the one paging occasion corresponds to one terminal group, [a given paging occasion is associated with a group of mobile devices, (Wang et al., Paragraph 44)],
determining a plurality of terminal subgroups comprised in the one terminal group, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)],
and transmitting a paging message according to the one paging occasion and the plurality of terminal subgroups, [Figure 1A, Ref # 24, transmitting a page during the paging occasion, (Weng et al., Paragraph 89)],
Weng et al. fails to explicitly teach that paging messages of terminals in a same terminal subgroup are transmitted in a same search space,
Kang et al. teaches that the common search space of PDCCH may be used to transmit dynamic scheduling information or paging message for system information on all the terminals or a predetermined group of terminals in the cell, (Kang et al., Paragraph 128),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Weng et al. by including that paging messages of terminals in a same terminal subgroup are transmitted in a same search space, (Kang et al., Paragraph 128), in order to assigning a search space of a control channel to a subframe, (Kang et al., Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein determining the plurality of terminal subgroups comprised in the one terminal group comprises: determining terminals comprised in each terminal subgroup of the plurality of terminal subgroups according to identification numbers of the terminals, [EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor for an early paging indicator specific to the subgroup to which the mobile device belongs by accumulating a received signal on a tone frequency specific to the subgroup over a number of OFDM symbols that exceeds the number of tones in the plurality of tones allocated within the OFDM subcarrier band, (Weng et al., Paragraph 147)].
Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the one paging occasion comprises M time-domain resources, [Figure 13, paging occasion including multiple resources], and a one-to-one correspondence exists between the M time-domain resources and M synchronization signals, wherein M is a positive integer, [Figure 19, paging occasion wherein OFDM symbols correspond to subcarriers].
Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1, wherein the paging message comprises a control signaling indicating the paging message, [The PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control CHannel) carries control information to the physical layer describing how the traffic on the PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared CHannel) should be demapped and decoded, (Weng et al., Paragraph 226)].
Regarding claim 7, a method for monitoring paging message, applied to a terminal, comprising:
determining a terminal subgroup where the terminal is located, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)], and one paging occasion corresponding one terminal group which comprises the terminal, [a given paging occasion is associated with a group of mobile devices, (Wang et al., Paragraph 44)],
and monitoring a paging message according to the terminal subgroup and the one paging occasion, [transmitting, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, an early paging indicator indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion comprises transmitting an early paging indicator, (Weng et al., Paragraph 43)],
wherein the one terminal group comprises a plurality of terminal subgroups, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)],
and the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located is a terminal subgroup in the plurality of terminal subgroups, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)],
Weng et al. fails to explicitly teach that the terminal monitors the paging message in a search space corresponding to the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located,
Kang et al. teaches that the common search space of PDCCH may be used to transmit dynamic scheduling information or paging message for system information on all the terminals or a predetermined group of terminals in the cell, (Kang et al., Paragraph 128),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Weng et al. by including that the terminal monitors the paging message in a search space corresponding to the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located, (Kang et al., Paragraph 128), in order to assigning a search space of a control channel to a subframe, (Kang et al., Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 7, wherein determining the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located comprises: determining the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located according to an identification number of the terminal, [EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor for an early paging indicator specific to the subgroup to which the mobile device belongs by accumulating a received signal on a tone frequency specific to the subgroup over a number of OFDM symbols that exceeds the number of tones in the plurality of tones allocated within the OFDM subcarrier band, (Weng et al., Paragraph 147)].
Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 7, wherein the one paging occasion comprises M time-domain resources, [Figure 13, paging occasion including multiple resources], and a one-to-one correspondence exists between the M time-domain resources and M synchronization signals, wherein M is a positive integer, [Figure 19, paging occasion wherein OFDM symbols correspond to subcarriers].
Regarding claim 12, the method of claim 7, wherein the paging message comprises a control signaling indicating the paging message, [The PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control CHannel) carries control information to the physical layer describing how the traffic on the PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared CHannel) should be demapped and decoded, (Weng et al., Paragraph 226)].
Regarding claim 13, a device for transmitting paging message, applied to a base station, comprising a processor and a storage device, wherein the storage device stores processor-executable programs, and the programs are configured to, when executed by the processor, implement the method for transmitting paging message of claim 1, [The memory 74 may include a ROM (read-only memory), a RAM (random access memory), a flash memory, a memory card, a storage medium, and/or other storage devices, (Kang et al., Paragraph 186)].
Regarding claim 14, a device for monitoring paging message, applied to a terminal, comprising a processor and a storage device, [Figure 2, mobile device 10 comprising processor 12], wherein the storage device stores processor-executable programs, and the programs are configured to, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to execute operations comprising:
determining a terminal subgroup where the terminal is located, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)], and one paging occasion corresponding one terminal group which comprises the terminal, [a given paging occasion is associated with a group of mobile devices, (Wang et al., Paragraph 44)],
and monitoring a paging message according to the terminal subgroup and the one paging occasion, [transmitting, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, an early paging indicator indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion comprises transmitting an early paging indicator, (Weng et al., Paragraph 43)],
wherein the one terminal group comprises a plurality of terminal subgroups, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)],
and the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located is a terminal subgroup in the plurality of terminal subgroups, [the group of mobile devices comprising a plurality of subgroups of mobile devices within the group, (Weng et al., Paragraph 44)],
Weng et al. fails to explicitly teach that the terminal monitors the paging message in a search space corresponding to the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located,
Kang et al. teaches that the common search space of PDCCH may be used to transmit dynamic scheduling information or paging message for system information on all the terminals or a predetermined group of terminals in the cell, (Kang et al., Paragraph 128),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Weng et al. by including that the terminal monitors the paging message in a search space corresponding to the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located, (Kang et al., Paragraph 128), in order to assigning a search space of a control channel to a subframe, (Kang et al., Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 15, the terminal of claim 14, wherein determining the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located comprises: determining the terminal subgroup where the terminal is located according to an identification number of the terminal, [EPI detector function 13 is configured to monitor for an early paging indicator specific to the subgroup to which the mobile device belongs by accumulating a received signal on a tone frequency specific to the subgroup over a number of OFDM symbols that exceeds the number of tones in the plurality of tones allocated within the OFDM subcarrier band, (Weng et al., Paragraph 147)].
Regarding claim 16, the terminal of claim 14, wherein the one paging occasion comprises M time-domain resources, [Figure 13, paging occasion including multiple resources], and a one-to-one correspondence exists between the M time-domain resources and M synchronization signals, wherein M is a positive integer, [Figure 19, paging occasion wherein OFDM symbols correspond to subcarriers].
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 14, wherein the paging message comprises a control signaling indicating the paging message, [The PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control CHannel) carries control information to the physical layer describing how the traffic on the PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared CHannel) should be demapped and decoded, (Weng et al., Paragraph 226)].
Regarding claim 20, a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, implements the method for transmitting paging message of claim 1, [The memory 74 may include a ROM (read-only memory), a RAM (random access memory), a flash memory, a memory card, a storage medium, and/or other storage devices, (Kang et al., Paragraph 186)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SHUKRI TAHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478