DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Susukida et al. (US 2002/0030728).
Regarding claim 1, Susukida et al teaches an insulating substrate (figs.10,11, 14-16), comprising:
a ceramic substrate (42 figs.10,11,14-16), including a main surface (paragraphs 0128,0144); and
a planarization layer (41 figs.10,11,14-16), covering the main surface,
wherein the planarization layer (41) is a ceramic layer (paragraphs 0127,0137).
Regarding claim 2, Susukida et al further teaches wherein a recess (recess formed on 42 figs.10,11,14-16) is formed on the main surface, and the recess is filled with the planarization layer (41).
Regarding claim 3, Susukida et al further teaches wherein the ceramic layer is a sintered ceramic powder layer formed by sintering a ceramic powder having a particle size less than a size of the recess (figs.10,11,14-16; paragraphs 0042,0127,0137). Note: the limitation “…sintered … formed by sintering a ceramic powder…” is manufacturing method step limitations, and thus the above limitation is not given patentable weight in this structure claim.
Regarding claim 6, Susukida et al further teaches an electrical wiring substrate (figs.10,11,14-16), comprising: the insulating substrate of claim 1; and a wiring layer (23), disposed on the planarization layer (41).
Regarding claim 7, Susukida et al further teaches a thermal print head (fig.13), comprising: the insulating substrate (insulating substrate in figs.10,11,14-16) of claim 1;
a glaze (24), disposed on the ceramic substrate (42);
a wiring layer (23), disposed on the glaze and the planarization layer; and
a heat resistor (22), placed on the glaze and connected to the wiring layer (figs.10,11,14-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susukida et al. (US 2002/0030728).
Regarding claim 4, Susukida et al substantially teaches the claimed invention including ceramic powder particles contained in the recess (figs.10,11,14-16; paragraphs 0042,0127,0137).
Susukida et al does not explicitly teaches wherein the particle size of the ceramic powder is less than one-third of the size of the recess.
However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use optimum particle size of the ceramic particle for a given recess for instance based on desired physical features in the substrate such as strength, size, etc., since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Susukida et al substantially teaches the claimed invention including recess and ceramic powder particles having predetermined sizes (figs.10,11,14-16; paragraphs 0042,0127,0137).
Susukida et al does not explicitly teaches wherein the size of the recess is greater than 10 μm, and the particle size of the ceramic powder is less than 2 μm.
However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use optimum recess and particle size for instance based on desired physical features in the substrate such as strength, size, etc., since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853