Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 10/7/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 15-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 10/7/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/456,818(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application also claims a colloidal aluminum hydroxide [copending claim 12] and a polymer which comprises anionic/and cationic monomers [copending claim 10]
Instant claim 2 see copending claim 10 the polymer can be cationic.
Instant claim 3 see copending claim 7 (acrylamide).
Instant claim 8 see copending claim 12
Instant claim 9 see copending claim 7.
Instant claim 10 see copending claim 8
Instant claim 11 see copending claim 10.
Instant claim 12 see copending claim 1.
Instant claim 13 see copending claim 11.
Instant claim 14 see copending claim 11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As for claim 6, it is not clear the scope of micropolymer, what encompasses a micropolymer or structure thereof. The specification does not give any clue or definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2022/0234923 BACKMAN et al., hereinafter BACKMAN, as evidenced by Handbook for Pulp and Paper Technologists by SMOOK, hereinafter SMOOK.
As for claims 1 and 8, BACKMAN discloses a mixture of aluminum-based coagulant, aluminum sulphate, a cationic polymer and an anionic polymer [abstract, 0049]. BACKMAN also discloses polyaluminum chloride [0028]. Alum when dissolved in water hydrolyzes to form aluminum hydroxide as evidenced by SMOOK [pg. 222 col. 2].
As for claim 2, BACKMAN discloses a solution of primarily cationic alum, a cationic polymer and a small amount of anionic polymer [0044] which will therefore be cationic in overall charge [Table 1].
As for claim 7, BACKMAN discloses the pH during operation is 6.9 within the claimed range [Table 1].
As for claim 9, BACKMAN discloses that the cationic polymer can comprise DADMAC, MAPTAC copolymerized with meth-acrylamide [0030].
As for claim 10, BACKMAN discloses polyethyleneimine and polyvinyl amine [0030]
As for claim 12, BACKMAN discloses 200 ppm alum and 10 ppm of cationic polymer FF C50 [Table 1].
200 ppm of alum becomes ppm of aluminum hydroxide
200 ppm Alum (Al2(SO4)3) * 1 mole Alum (Al2(SO4)3)/342.15 g * (2 moles Aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3)/ 1 mol Alum (Al2(SO4)3) * (78 g /1 mole Aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3)) = 91 ppm aluminum hydroxide
91 ppm/10 ppm ~9:1 aluminum hydroxide:cationic polymer which falls within the claimed range.
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 5,766,485 LIND et al., hereinafter LIND, as evidenced by Handbook for Pulp and Paper Technologists by SMOOK, hereinafter SMOOK.
As for claims 1 and 8, LIND discloses alum, an anionic polymer and a cationic polymer [abstract, col. 3 lines 44-45, and claim 8] which form colloidal particles in situ [col 3 lines 50-55]. Alum when dissolved in water hydrolyzes to form aluminum hydroxide as evidenced by SMOOK [pg. 222 col. 2].
As for claim 2, in LIND the alum is in a much higher weight than the anionic polymer and the anionic polymer is of low charge [abstract and col. 3 lines 45-47].
As for claims 3 and 14, LIND discloses the anionic polymer is polyacrylamide [claim 6] which is a linear polymer.
As for claim 7, LIND discloses a pH of 7 [col. 4 line 20-25 and claim 8].
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT, as evidenced by Handbook for Pulp and Paper Technologists by SMOOK, hereinafter SMOOK.
As for claims 1 and 8, BHATT discloses an aqueous mixture [col. 6 lines 52-55] comprising an aluminum salt [abstract] and a cationic polymer with anionic and cationic groups [abstract, col. 3 lines 50-60].
Alum when dissolved in water hydrolyzes to form aluminum hydroxide as evidenced by SMOOK [pg. 222 col. 2].
As for claim 2, there are more cationic units on the polymer of BHATT than anionic units [col. 3 lines 50-65].
As for claim 3, BHATT discloses acrylamide [col. 3 lines 64-65],
As for claim 4, BHATT discloses 1-10% anionic units which can be acrylic [col. 3 lines 60-61 and table 2].
As for claim 6, the Examiner interprets the polymer as a micropolymer until the applicant shows otherwise.
As for claim 9, BHATT discloses acrylamide and APTAV and DMAEM.MCQ, DMAEA>MCQ, and DMAEM.MSQ [table 1 and col. 3 lines 64-65].
As for claim 11, BHATT discloses 10 to 50% cationic monomer units which falls within the claimed range [col. 3 lines 57-60]
As for claim 12, there is 0.2 to 10% parts aluminum sulfate octahydryate per part cationic polymer [claim 1]
0.2 to 10 parts Alum (Al2(SO4)3)⸱18 H2O * 1 mole Alum (Al2(SO4)3)⸱18 H2O/666.4 g * (2 moles Aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3)/ 1 mol Alum (Al2(SO4)3⸱18 H2O) * (78 g /1 mole Aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3)) = 0.09 parts -2.3 parts aluminum hydroxide per part polymer which falls within the claimed range.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT.
As for claim 7, BHATT discloses about 8.6 [col. 7 line 61] which the Examiner interprets to fall within the range of about 6 to about 8.5 sufficient for anticipation. Alternatively BHATT discloses a pH of 8 to 9 which overlaps with the instant claimed range [col. 7 line 62] making a prima facie case of obviousness.
As for claim 13, BHATT discloses 1 to 10 % anionic units which overlaps with sufficient specificity to the instant claimed range or in the alternative makes a prima facie case of obviousness [col. 3 lines 60-61]. The anionic unit can be acrylic acid [Table 2] which comprises a carboxyl group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,766,485 LIND et al., hereinafter LIND, in view of U.S. 3,578,587 KEMMER, hereinafter KEMMER.
As for claims 4 and 5, LIND teaches the features as per supra and an anionic polyacrylamide [claim 6]. LIND does not disclose the MW or the percent acrylic groups. LIND discloses at least 10% acrylic acid [col. 2 lines 47-50] monomers which overlaps the instant claimed range and the specific point of 30% acrylic acid (acrylate) in the anionic polyacrylamide [col. 2 lines 60-63]. LIND discloses at least 10 kDA, and at least 1,000 kDa for the anionic polymer both of which overlap with the instant claimed range [col. 2 lines 30-39].
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to substitute one known anionic acrylamide for another known anionic acrylamide intended for the same purpose of removing color. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as both remove color from pulping waste waters.
As for claim 6, the Examiner interprets polymers with only 10 kDa as micropolymers until the applicant shows otherwise.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 5,766,485 LIND et al., hereinafter LIND, in view of U.S. 2022/0234923 BACKMAN et al., hereinafter BACKMAN.
As for claims 9 and 10, LIND teaches the features as per supra including a cationic polymer. LIND does not disclose the specific polymers of the claim. In the same art of water treatment BACKMAN discloses that the cationic polymer can comprise DADMAC, MAPTAC copolymerized with meth-acrylamide [0030]. BACKMAN discloses polyethyleneimine and polyvinyl amine [0030]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to substitute one known cationic polymer for another known cationic polymer absent evidence of unexpected results. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as both BACKMAN and LIND treat water with cationic, anionic polymers with alum.
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748