Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 10/7/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 3 and 6 have been cancelled. Claims 1,4, and 5 have been amended. Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7-20 are pending with claims 15-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
In light of cancellation the 112(b) rejection towards claim 6 has been withdrawn.
In light of amendment the ODP rejection has been withdrawn
In light of amendment the rejections based upon BACKMAN and LIND as primary references have been withdrawn.
The Examiner maintains the BHATT rejections as the applicant failed to argue them and the amendments did not overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As for claim 14, claim 14 depends from claim 3 whi8ch has been canceled. For the purpose of examination the Examiner interprets the claim to depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT, as evidenced by Handbook for Pulp and Paper Technologists by SMOOK, hereinafter SMOOK.
As for claims 1, 4 and 8, BHATT discloses an aqueous mixture [col. 6 lines 52-55] comprising an aluminum salt [abstract] and a cationic polymer with anionic and cationic groups [abstract, col. 3 lines 50-60]. BHATT discloses acrylamide [col. 3 lines 64-65]. BHATT discloses 1-10% anionic units which can be acrylic [col. 3 lines 60-61 and table 2].
Alum when dissolved in water hydrolyzes to form aluminum hydroxide as evidenced by SMOOK [pg. 222 col. 2].
As for claim 2, there are more cationic units on the polymer of BHATT than anionic units [col. 3 lines 50-65].
As for claim 9, BHATT discloses acrylamide and APTAV and DMAEM.MCQ, DMAEA.MCQ, and DMAEM.MSQ [table 1 and col. 3 lines 64-65].
As for claim 11, BHATT discloses 10 to 50% cationic monomer units which falls within the claimed range [col. 3 lines 57-60]
As for claim 12, there is 0.2 to 10% parts aluminum sulfate octahydryate per part cationic polymer [claim 1]
0.2 to 10 parts Alum (Al2(SO4)3)⸱18 H2O * 1 mole Alum (Al2(SO4)3)⸱18 H2O/666.4 g * (2 moles Aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3)/ 1 mol Alum (Al2(SO4)3⸱18 H2O) * (78 g /1 mole Aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3)) = 0.09 parts -2.3 parts aluminum hydroxide per part polymer which falls within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT.
As for claim 7, BHATT discloses about 8.6 [col. 7 line 61] which the Examiner interprets to fall within the range of about 6 to about 8.5 sufficient for anticipation. Alternatively BHATT discloses a pH of 8 to 9 which overlaps with the instant claimed range [col. 7 line 62] making a prima facie case of obviousness.
As for claim 13, BHATT discloses 1 to 10 % anionic units which overlaps with sufficient specificity to the instant claimed range or in the alternative makes a prima facie case of obviousness [col. 3 lines 60-61]. The anionic unit can be acrylic acid [Table 2] which comprises a carboxyl group.
Claims 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT, as evidenced by CN109355017A WANG et al., hereinafter WANG.
*The Examiner has attached the English Machine Translation of WANG.
As for claim 14, BHATT teaches PAMs as per above that are made by free radicals [col. 10 lines 5-15]. Free-radical made PAMS are linear as evidenced by WANG [polyacrylamide (PAM) is a water-soluble linear high molecular polymer formed by polymerization caused by free radical acrylamide (AM) monomer, according to the ion performance can be nonionic, anionic, cationic and amphoteric types]. In the alternative there are finite options for the polymer to be (linear, branched, cyclic). At the time of the invention it would be obvious to try from the limited number of possibilities (3) the structure of the polymer. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect for the same MW for the branched polymers to be more compact and less viscous than the bigger more viscous straight chain polymers. The person of ordinary skill in the art would also balance the as of formation of both polymers.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT, in view of WALDMANN, hereinafter WALDMANN.
As for claim 5, BHATT teaches the features as per above including the polyacrylamide/polyacrylic polymer with cationic groups. It gives the viscosity of the polymers of [col. 5 lines 57-62] which is directly related to the MW. WALDMANN discloses detackifying amphoteric polyacrylamide polymers of 20,000-25,000,000 (20-25,000 kDa) [pg. 17 lines 15-pg. 18 line 2] which overlaps the instant claimed range. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to apply the known MW that polyacrylamide amphoteric polymers work in paint degasifying to the amphoteric polyacrylamide of BHATT. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as MW can vary over a large range and be effective.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. 5,215,668 BHATTACHARYYA et al., hereinafter BHATT, in view of WO2015/145479A1 ITO et al., hereinafter ITO.
*The Examiner has attached the English Machine Translation of ITO.
As for claim 10, BHATT discloses the cationic portion of the polymer can comprise multiple groups. BHATT discloses acrylamide and APTAV and DMAEM.MCQ, DMAEA.MCQ, and DMAEM.MSQ [table 1 and col. 3 lines 64-65]. BHATT does not disclose GPAM, PVAM, PEI or PAE.
Examples of paint non-sticking agents include sodium hydroxide, sodium silicate, sodium zincate, alumina sol, silica sol, sodium aluminate, polyaluminum chloride, aluminum sulfate, ferric chloride, polyferric sulfate, melamine-formaldehyde condensate, phenol-formaldehyde condensate, bentonite, sepiolite, higher alcohols or their derivatives, higher fatty acids or their derivatives, polyethylene wax or its derivatives, paraffin wax or its derivatives, polystyrene or its derivatives, polyvinyl alcohol or its derivatives, diallyldimethylammonium chloride-acrylamide copolymer, and the like. Among these, alumina sol, sodium aluminate, polyaluminum chloride, aluminum sulfate, melamine-formaldehyde condensate, phenol-formaldehyde condensate, higher fatty acids or their derivatives, and polyethylene wax or its derivatives are preferred for their effects in supplementing the anti-sticking and clarifying effects
.
Among these, polyacrylaminoethyltrimethylammonium chloride, dicyandiamide-formaldehyde condensate, dicyandiamide-diethylenetriamine condensate, dimethylamine-epichlorohydrin condensate, dimethylamine-epichlorohydrin-ammonia condensate, diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymer, diallyldimethylammonium chloride-acrylamide copolymer, diallyldimethylammonium chloride-sulfur dioxide copolymer, polyethyleneimine, and polyvinylamine are preferred due to their high cationic strength.
ITO in the same art of polymers for no-sticking agents for paints discloses that polyethyleneimine can be used as a preferred cationic group. At the time of the invention it would be prima facie obvious to substitute one known cationic monomer for another known cationic monomer intended for the same purpose as a non-stick (detackifier) agent [see e.g. MPEP 2144.06 (II)].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748