Applicant filing of claims 1-21 on 1/11/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-21 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/24 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “configured to” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “configured to” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the horizontal beam has at least two rows of through-holes arranged along its length (claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liqi (CN 107126997, cited in IDS).
As to claims 1 and 8, Liqi discloses a retaining apparatus configured to secure minicolumns in a holder plate, the retaining apparatus comprising:
a pair of laterally spaced apart upright supports, each upright support comprising: a downwardly facing surface configured to slidably rest upon an upper surface of a minicolumn holder plate; and an upwardly facing surface configured to slidably contact a lower surface of the holder plate; and a horizontal beam spanning between the upright supports and holding them in the laterally spaced apart relationship, the horizontal beam having a plurality of vertical through-holes along its length, the through-holes having a diameter larger than an aspiration needle and smaller than an outside diameter of an upper portion of a minicolumn, the horizontal beam having a bottom surface spaced apart from the downwardly facing surfaces of the upright supports a distance that is greater than an amount that a minicolumn would protrude from an upper surface of a holder plate, wherein the apparatus is configured to contact the holder plate only along peripheral edges of the holder plate and is configured to slide along the holder plate after minicolumns have been inserted therein, thereby retaining the minicolumns in the holder plate but allowing access to the minicolumns through the vertical holes in the horizontal beam. See annotated drawing below from fig. 1 of Liqi. For the “configured to” claim language, see claim interpretation above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liqi in view of Johnson et al. (“Johnson,” US Pub. No. 2016/0096179, cited in IDS).
See Liqi above.
As to claims 2 and 12, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose the apparatus is integrally formed from a single piece of material. See e.g., [0048] et seq. of Johnson. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the apparatus from a single material for cost efficiency.
As to claims 3 and 13, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose the horizontal beam has at least three through-holes arranged in a single row along its length. See e.g., fig. 1 of Liqi.
As to claims 4, 5, 14 and 15, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose the horizontal beam has at least eight through-holes arranged in a single row along its length; and has at least two rows of through-holes arranged along its length. See fig. 1 of Johnson. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include additional through-holes to hold more components. Also, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless new and unexpected result is produced.
As to claims 6 and 16, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose the pair of upright supports each comprise at least two pairs of downwardly facing and upwardly facing surfaces, thereby allowing the horizontal beam to be positioned at at least two different heights above a minicolumn holder plate to accommodate different lengths of minicolumns. See e.g., fig. 1 of Liqi.
As to claims 7 and 17, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose the downwardly facing surface of each upright support is formed by a first inwardly protruding flange, and the upwardly facing surface of each upright support is formed by a second inwardly protruding flange, each pair of first and second inwardly protruding flanges forming a gap there-between that has a thickness that is greater than a thickness of a minicolumn holder plate. See e.g., fig. 1-3 of Liqi; and [0046] et seq. of Johnson. it would appear that such dimensions are result-effective variables. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the claimed dimensions because discovering the optimum or workable ranges of the thickness flanges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to claim 9, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose standoffs configured to position the upper holder plate a predetermined distance above a lower horizontal surface. See upright legs 2004 in fig. 21 of Johnson. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include standoffs to provide additional support.
As to claim 10, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose a lower holder plate which forms the lower horizontal surface, the lower holder plate having a recess or hole directly below each vertical hole in the upper holder plate, each recess or hole being configured to receive a bottom portion of a minicolumn in order to constrain it from lateral movement. See fig. 1-3 of Liqi.
As to claim 11, the combination of Liqi and Johnson disclose a plurality of minicolumns. See e.g., [0031] et seq. Johnson.
As to claims 18-21, the combination of Liqi and Johnson teach a method of retaining a plurality of minicolumns, the method comprising: providing a holder plate having a plurality of vertical hole there-through; placing a plurality of minicolumns into the plurality of holes in the holder plate such that at least some of the minicolumns are in a first row; sliding a retaining apparatus along the holder plate until it covers the first row of minicolumns, the retaining apparatus having a vertical hole therethrough above each of the minicolumns; inserting an aspiration needle through at least one of the vertical holes in the retaining apparatus and into at least one of the minicolumns in the first row; withdrawing the aspiration needle from the at least one minicolumn and the at least one vertical hole in the retaining apparatus; whereby the retaining apparatus has a lower surface that contacts a top surface of any of the minicolumns in the first row that rise during the withdrawing step, the lower surface serving to retain the rising minicolumns in the holder plate. See figs. 1-3 of Liqi; and [0031] et seq. of Johnson. Also see MPEP 2112.02 for claims 18-21.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
8/22/26